Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes 5 stars

100 Iraklidon Avenue, Ixia, 85101, Greece

#8 of 25 hotels in Ixia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Bar prices very high. (We weren't full board). The gym was good but some equipment was broken and the rowing machine was a joke. Needs replaced. Also two of the treadmills (the newer types) had a mind of their own and stopped suddenly or increased up to full speed without any reason or interaction. Many people we spoke to commented on this. Frustrating and potentially very dangerous! The hairdryer in the bathroom was ancient, was very poor to use and not in keeping with the other facilities. Also we booked a taxi to return to the airport for our flight home and it didn't arrive after 20 minutes. We checked at reception and the receptionist was very indifferent and asked if we still wanted one and had to book again. I asked why it hadn't been booked and she just shrugged and said that it was an online booking and probably didn't go through. This was frustrating as several other guests who booked well after us got their taxis. It caused some problems as obviously we kept asking if the booking was for us. This caused us to be stressed unnecessarily and we felt that just because we had checked out the receptionist was no longer interested in being helpful. This was a very disappointing end to our holiday.

    Choice of pools. Comfortable clean rooms with good facilities and well maintained., robes, towels and good sea view and balcony location. Fridge available was useful. Majority of staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5 star hotel anymore. Rooms looked very tired. Needs good refeshment to be a 5star again.

    General hotel concept was good. Staff friendly. Food ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I book a room for three persons, myself and two children, the 3rd bed was a sofa folding out, the mattress was so bad the springs could be felt when sleeping on it

    Breakfast was good, the spar excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was such an amazing hotel. Staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and was absolutely outstanding. Couldn’t have asked for a better accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The water in the pools was cold, it would have been nice to have heated pools outside.

    Everything was great! Location, view, food at the restaurant, cleanliness of the room, comfortable bed.... We celebrated my daughter's birthday, there was a cake in the room when we returned after breakfast! Thank you! It was very much appreciated!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * The food was not that good. It was edible, but other all-inclusive hotels we visited in the past had much better food. In particular, it was VERY salty, and otherwise pretty much tasteless. Variety was OK, but could also be a lot better. Don't get high expectations in regard to the food. * There was a waiting line to the restaurant. Sometimes we had to wait around 20 minutes to be seated. The reason could be that the weather was not hot enough to seat people outside in the mornings\evenings (lunch was served in a different area and not all the guests had the lunch included so it was OK). Hopefully during season it will be better. * No one troubled to explain to us what exactly is included in the All-Inclusive package (called Premium Package in the hotel). The receptionist gave us a sheet with some explanations, but it mostly specified the meals hours, and not the extra stuff we are entitled for with the package. We later discovered that the last page of the bar's menu specifies what is included in the bar, and we sort of assumed it applies everywhere else. * The All-Inclusive deal is less convenient than other hotels we have been to. You have to ask for everything that you want, and sign for it (even if it is free), instead of just self-serving yourself. You always have to inquire whether what you ask for is actually free or not. This was really annoying. * WiFi is bad, especially in the rooms. We were able to use it, but usually it didn't really work. * There were no double blankets, but only single ones. We asked the reception and room service if they can provide us with double ones, and they just said there are no such blankets available, and this is because it's off-season time and the weather is not warm enough for their regular blankets. We ended up using our two blankets horizontally so we could actually sleep together.

    * Restaurant staff and bartenders were nice and attentive. * Sea view room was nice. * Hotel is pretty and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too large of a property for my liking. The fitness centre was a ways away from the bungalow area and it didnt open until 8, which I didn't like. When on vacation, you have things planned for the day usually, so an earlier gym opening would be beneificial to those who use it. We stayed in a bungalow, which was clean but always had a musty smell. The beds were just ok for me-harder than usual.

    It is a beautiful property. The property offered everything from spa, a complete fitness centre, multiple pools and a lovely breakfast buffet. It was clean and well organized and for the most part, staff were friendly. I liked that they had a store in the hotel where you could buy water and needed amenities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First and foremost, the wifi, it is atrocious. It is basically impossible to connect to the wifi. Even if connected, we could not use the internet. At most, we could linked to google but required about 10 minutes to get connected. So we are elementarily out of wifi in our room. The aircon is quite noisy and there is no noise cancellation in the room. The cleaning service is subpar, we used some in-room cutlery and we expected them to change it for us the other day. However, they just placed all the dirty cutlery back to the original positioning without changing a new one. Also, they left a relatively smelly and dirty wipe in our room. The hotel and room itself is quite outdated. Overall, the hotel is nice except the wifi and the cleaning service.

    The location is a 20 minutes ride from the airport, the taxi fee is about 25 euros. The hotel is adjacent to Ixia Beach, which is a pebbly beach, but is is indeed relaxing with lots of people there. My partner and I also played some watersport at the beach such as jetskiing and stand up paddling. The neighbourhood is safe. It is a 10 minutes taxi ride to Rhodes town, about 10 euros, which is convenient. The room is decent in size, and has good facilities, and quite comfortable. The staff at the reception and dining area is really nice. The breakfast has lots of varieties and the quality is good. I enjoyed it quite much. It also offers outdoor dining which the view is awesome. The room service is convenient and efficient. The room service food is great. The air-conditioning has great coolness and the shower is strong with great consistency of water hotness which I like it very much. The best part is the spa facilities, the staff in the facility is courteous and helpful. We tried some packages in the spa and they are all very relaxing and awesome. The steam room, jacuzzi and sauna is marvellous. The facility design is very modern and neat, which is quite contradictory to the hotel itself.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Top shelf hotel, seaview rooms, magnificient restaurant,what ever you can thgink of, great service, beautifull private beach, pools, bar, cafe, room service, list goes on.bus stop at front, cheap car hire in lobby,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment in the evenings could be a lot better. The sun beds on the rooftop pool need cushions like the ones at the adult only pool on the ground floor. They need toilet facilities at the beach and a beach bar would be perfect. Men have to wear long trousers in the evening which is fine but the women can almost wear what they like?The women should have to make that extra effort too. It's also a bit of a drag everyday to the Spa for pool towels. The hotel is a bit old now and needs upgrading. For a 5 star hotel I think it's only 4.5 star right now.

    Hotel location is perfect. Sea view rooms are a must and you are on the doorstep of an amazing Rhodes town. The staff are brilliant and always friendly and cannot do enough for you. Food is very good no complaints on quality and if you don't want the buffet selections every night you have good other choices. Views from the restaurant and rooftop pool make you not want to leave. Hotel is very clean too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to get a light meal at the hotel. Seems to cater more to family groups buffet style. When we tried to find a cafe in the evening we were told we would have to book and another was not open. Also no bottle opener or room service menu in the room, we had to hunt those out for ourselves and then wait for them to be brought to our room. Something small I know but this hotel is rated 5 stars so we expected more.

    Breakfast very good, staff serving breakfast very friendly and efficient. Staff behind desk at reception at times very unhelpful, others were more efficient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch was mediocre, and a lot of the salads, vegetable dishes had meat in them( problematic for vegetarians)

    The sea view, the pools, close to beach, staff were amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    1. The hotel feels a bit dated in some aspects. I.e. our room was well-furnished, but it didn't feel 5-star level. Same goes for entrance hall - it is spacious, but furniture is old and general look of design is more of a 4-star. We visited our friend in Sheraton next door and the difference was quite clear (but Sheraton is more expensive, so the balance of cost-benefit is there for both hotels) 2. The hotel beach is probably the best they can do in the area, but overall it isn't anything to talk about. It is narrow, mostly small stones mixed with sand. Sunbeds and umbrellas are there surely, but it is a must nowadays. Overall, if you want a large sandy beach with clear water - this is not your place. 3. There are mosquitoes after the sunset. 4. WiFi was a bit unreliable.

    1. The facilities were quite good. Excellent spa and gym, large outdoor pools (including one w/o children) with plenty of sunbeds, small shops, ice-cream parlor, etc. 2. The sea-views from our room were stunning. You could just sit on a balcony and enjoy the sunset with a cold drink or ice-cream (which we did). 3. The location isn't far from Rhodes city, just 5-10 minutes by taxi. It's reasonable priced - 20EUR for a round-trip. For some reason all the taxi-cars we saw in Rhodes were premium-class (think Mercedes or similar). Alternatively, there is a bus stop next to the hotel, but you will have to wait a bit, because the timetable is flexible. 4. Room was ok. Nothing fancy, but everything needed for a nice stay. 5. Restaurants are available in hotel or you can walk 5 minutes along the road to the left and you will find plenty more. Again nothing fancy, but we were quite satisfied with the choice. 6. We were offered to switch from BB to AI for additional payment, but we didn't and practice showed that it was a good call. We usually went out for dinner, or ate during our trips to Rhodes city, or bought fruits, water and chocolates at shops. It's cheaper and more versatile. 7. Staff was friendly and helpful. We got a tour around the hotel on the 1st day and all the service we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    People used to reserve sunbeds around the pool, with towels, for sometimes the whole day and I didn't see anyone come until the very end of the day. Staff maybe could have been a bit more proactive in this regard.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful. Very relaxed atmosphere. We were only there for 4 night but we felt very rested on our return. The kids also had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    pull out out bed is not suitable for adult male (unless like me you reinforced with several pillow , and settee cushions )

    staff very friendly, breakfast good , pools very good and choice of adult pool, main pool, then beach grassed area and beach all within the complex is great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decking around the pool was poor quality and kept splitting. Informed hotel who were surprised and claimed to know nothing about it BUT you could see places on the decking where they had repaired previous problems with glue...... Also had problem with lights stopping working twice but when I reported it to the management I received a visit from 1 of their maintenance guys (long wave hair) who waved the card at me, shouted a little, shrugged his shoulders and walked off muttering to himself. Not the way I expect to be spoken to by their staff after paying over £2000 For a room for 7 days

    Nice Rooms inside

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It being low season, all of the nearest restaurants were closed, the closest one was in 1 km

    Amiable personnel, some of them speaking many languages. Nice rooms, good service, great views from the roof terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many restaurants nearby to eat, but it was the end of the season so may have been because it was quiet. Outside pool water very cold. Decor is a bit tired but didn't really bother us.

    Great location for getting into Rhodes, €1.80 on the bus right outside the hotel. Lots of choice for breakfast and the buffet dinner, €20 extra if not included. Pool area very clean and plenty of sunbeds. Bathroom and bedroom comfy, powerful hot shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and out dated decoration, not like a modern 5 star hotel

    Convenient location, nice view at the breakfast, lots pools and private beach, close to local shops and heaps of restaurants around, beautiful view at the upper level of a family suite

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jacuzzi pool area was not good and not fixed it

    Excellent hotel. very high level. Looks exactly like the pictures. Courteous staff. Tastings and meals at diverse. We were a couple for five days and did not want to return

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the 'common' toilets near the pool were very dirty the wifi signal was bad

    the outdoor pool area which is perfect for children also the large room with nice sea view the super breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the discrimination of ordinary and elite visitors. The buffet was not well organized in terms of placing the visitors. My beloved nightwear was stolen from the room, lol. Everything was too expensive and didn't match the quality. The beach was not sandy full of stones that hurt my feet.

    I like the sunset from my window, the roof pool bar and the spa facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and friendly staff. The pool area on 11th floor is a good place to spend the late afternoon - not to hot, very calm compared to the ground floor pool area and with an excellent view overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Group
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the evening entertainment could have been better. Also there was no late night entertainment such as vibrant bar area, disco or night club for extra socialization.

    Very friendly staff. Location of hotel is excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Super comfortable beds, conveniently located, amazing staff! Evi poolside was amazing and restaurant manager was EXTREMELY engaged, dedicated and awesome. Front desk amazingly helpful and friendly 10+

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this hotel. Great location, most delicious food, friendly staff and fun activities for adults and kids at pool. I highly recommend Amathus Beach Hotel!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Communal areas and rooms were all carpeted so no sound of high heels when you are trying to rest. Excellent food, and the staff were so lovely, each and everyone of them. And the fact that reserving of sunbeds was prohibited was sooo refreshing as was 'Adult only pool'.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, great food with plenty variety! Staff could not be more pleasant. We had a lovely week with family and friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area on the roof Proximuty to rhodes old town 10 mins on bus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor for the declared five stars.

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great hotel, fantastic staff, excellent value

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Pink wave animation team was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is very good but not 5 star .

    View , location, great facilities , staff is wonderful .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Open buffet breakfast and dinner can be better Staff should smile more

    Near beach, Clean room, Good sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Great room, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our daughter's iphone was lost/stolen the first day we were there. Possibly at the pool.

    Excellent stuff! Breakfast with a view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the room was awful.

    The staff are superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food

    Room Service All inclusive

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of Pool staff seemed unhappy. Situated on busy, noisy road

    Pool, drinks package reception staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 - 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Twin beds pushed together in the bungalows.

    Food was excellent. Location very handy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    breakfast could have been even better, given quality of everything else

    pools, ala carte restaurant, view at breakfast. Sebastian's down the road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel with great facilities and a fantastic breakfast. Good happy hour drinks and great pools. beds were also comfy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (2 - 3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Row for meals.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi rarely worked and the pool area was very busy

    The spa was lovely. Views great. Room spacious.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevators Internet connection

    Breakfast Clean Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed B&B and found lunch options for non all inclusive guests were limited / expensive. As were drinks although you could buy all drinks for a day for €15.

    Loads of facilities (eg. Free wifi, free air con and even an umbrella!), the spa is amazing (but does cost) and lots of sun beds.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is amazing and so kind !!! The location is goog 5 minuets driving from new town and 10 min from old town. In the dining room the sweet manager dimitra take care that we will have gluten free food and even got us thing that the hotel didn't have like special fish and cheese she deserve a raise !!!!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff were extremely friendly & attentive. The breakfast buffet was one of the best i've seen & our children loved it. The facilities were of a very high standard.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOTHING!

    everything was excellent ! we had a sea view room ,the view was breathtaking location is good 10-15 minutes to old town by car,variety of food , staff were very friendly, kind and helpful. VERY RECOMMENDED!

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where shell I start? This hotel in theory is a 5 stars hotel. Well personally I think it is not. The pictures on the website about the rooms were all about the elit suites(but of course this fact wasn't highlighted) so I was a bit surprised when our room wasn't look like the pictures but nevertheless it wasn't a major issue I just felt myself a bit tricked. The shower was very small and when we arrived,the bed sheets were dirty we had to ask for change them. I wasn't really happy with the receptionists either. We haven't been informed what so ever about anything when we arrived. We just got the key and the floor level. For example about the safe in our room what was working with a key (not even a safe with code option) what we had to ask later,but we had to keep it with us all the time, we couldn't leave it on the reception because they don't take the responsibility for it. We haven't been informed about men need to wear long trousers for dinner time in the buffet area so it was a bit weird that on the first evening my boyfriend's been told to go back to the room and change. (The restaurant staff was very professional though but if we would know about this in the first place we could just spare the embarrassment)On the 3.day we asked on the reception for advice what we could do on that day arround the hotel or the other direction on the island because we discovered already the old town and we were curious what else is in the area.The answer was 'well there is darts' so we just left for the whole day again and we spent every day away from the hotel. The water in the pools was so cold, the sea was even warmer. However the beach of the hotel not really good for swimming because of the wind the sea is very rough - which is around the whole island - perfect though for wind surfing if someone into it. So we went to the old town every day because we found a nicer beach there.

    The buffet was awesome and the staff in the restaurant area was very kind and professional! There was opportunity to rent bicycles. The room was clean apart of the bed sheets.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked the layout of the hotel. It is a big hotel - but the original way the hotel has been built meant that it didn't feel like being in a huge hotel, it gave the impression of being in a much smaller personal hotel. But having all the options that big hotels can offer ie various swimming pools,sauna,gym,beach and attractive gardens as well as an excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel needs refurbishing, room was old fashioned and shower was mouldy. The pool area and spa seemed run down, sun beds dirty and floor in spa needs cleaning. Definitely not 5 star, more like 4 compared to other hotels I've been too.

    We were upgraded to a sea view room which is definitely worth paying extra for, breathtaking! Lovely bar area on 10th floor with excellent views! Couldn't complain about the standard of food and drinks on all inclusive package.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    - rooms and inside area of the hotel needs renovation - chargeable late check out

    - free wifi everywhere - perfect spa - very friendly and helpful staff - facilities wonderful

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fırsat day our room was Thé worst in Thé hotel facing rocks behind Thé hotel.following day they changed Thé rooms after Wè claimed.but Wè booked Thé rooms two months ago.not understandable.

    Location anda Facilities excellent.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is very well kept, clean and filled with amazing and helpful staff. The pools and spa were incredible and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At dinner and breakfast, hotel staff guides you where to sit. This procedure causes very long queues waiting for to eat. Sea was great but entrance of the coast was really stony. So you have to bring your swim-shoes

    breakfast and dinner was great, there was lots of variety to eat. Hotel has own beach and nice, comfortable sunbeds.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception staff a little starchy, too many rules e.g. I left a bag with laundry for collection twice outside our room. The second time there was a curt message asking us to contact the staff immediately. On doing so it was to be reprimanded for not leaving the bag in our room! The bathroom was anything but 5 star.Poor wi fi

    Most of the staff were quite friendly & helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dress code for men in restaurant - very hot and having to change into jeans or trousers (while women walked around in shorts or short dresses)

    Everything - amazing food!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We felt the additional cost for the BBQ evening and Lobster evening were far too expensive and put people off. After all, you would only be substituting a dinner for a themed night meal. This wouldn't be in addition to your normal dinner.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only "problem" I can find is smoking policy. People were allowed smoking at the pool or during dinner (only outside). I have to change place several times when somebody was smoking in front (esp. pipe). It's strange because nowadays smoking is strictly forbidden almost everywhere. BTW: I didn't know that so many people are still smoking...

    This hotel is amazing. It was our first time in Greece and expectations were really low. Everything in this hotel is perfectly managed. I travel a lot and been in 5 star hotels around the world but this one is really something.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beach had rocks and it was windy. We couldn't swim and the children could not play with the sand. It is a very nice hotel but I believe it needs a renovation.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, great view from the 10th and 11th floor restaurants, the location is good, 5 min from the old and new city. We were staying with our 2 year old babies and we were upgraded to a junior suite. We really appreciated it because we had a very comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Queuing for breakfast can be avoided I think. The hotel suggests to guests to try to save water but the cleaning personnel is not trained to apply those savings (i.e. not to change linen and towels)

    Swimming pools, service, sea view, breakfast, staff friendliness, spacious hotel, only 10 minutes from Rhodes center

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Needs more toilets around the pool area and air conditioning while waiting in the lobby for the restaurant!

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The location , food and pool areas. Very good idea to have the restaurant and bars on high floors to get the views.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some staff at the reception desk were clearly unfriendly. This is totally unacceptable. No wifi connection and air conditioning doesn't work during summer !!. Finally, Amatus restaurant asks customers to pay 2,5€ for 1 liter whereas Water price is 0,5€ for 1 liter in the closest supermarket is intolerable. Many customers choose to not order any drink during their meal.

    The situation and comfort of Amatus hotel were nice but just normal for a five stars Hotel. Nothing special.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free-wifi was too bad in our room ( but better in other places of hotel ) Balcony was not being cleaned. There were always bird droppings around. Queue in front of restaurant at meal times can be a little annoying especially on those hot summer days. Altough personnel is quite helpful, i saw there were lots of places to sit but they dont let you in before the table is fully ready. Perhaps it could be better if they'd let people sit before the tables are totally ready in order to prevent long queues..

    Hotel is located close to city and places to eat. Our room was old fashioned but spacious! It had 2 floors, 2 bathrooms and a big balcony with gorgeous Ixia sea view. Free and big car park. Quality of food is awesome. Beach is nice. Sea is one of the best in island altough it is wavy. Water is quite hot and clean. Beach is not crowded. Entry to sea is pebbly but then it is full of sand, similar to beach. Pool is huge and joyful. Food served in pool area is nice and affordable. Roof bar has a nice view and now has a special part in my life :)

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some staff at the reception was unfriendly. Many of beach towels and poolside chairs were too old. Wifi did not work at all in the room. 何人かの受付スタッフが不親切。ビーチタオルとプール椅子が古い。Wifiが部屋で全く使えない。

    Breathtaking sea view from the room and the breakfast restaurant. Enjoyable pools also for small kids and wonderful sea through the underground passage from the hotel. Close to Rhodes town, 10 euro by taxi. 部屋と朝食レストランからの素晴らしい海の眺め。小さい子供も楽しめるプールと地下通路で簡単にアクセスできる綺麗な海。ロードスタウンからも近くてタクシーで片道10ユーロ。

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dress code during diner was totally weird and strange. Take a trouser with you only for dinners in the hotel! Sea was a bit wavy, due to high wind. Wifi was poor.

    Hotel was amazing, quality food and service, good and windy location eased our stay during hot weather. &Quot;AI" concept was acceptable, cocktails were better than average. Seafood was delicious on the buffet.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool toilets were inadequate and not very clean.

    The staff were wonderful and the hotel very good. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nobody mentioned the road with heavy traffic between the hotel and the beach. It was terribly noisy. The interior in the room was so shabby. In family suite children had to sleep on an openable sofa?!

    Staff was so kind and nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for 4 nights during our honeymoon through Greece. It was really nice to have the opportunity to relax at the adults only pool. The food and drinks at the pool bar were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lots of winds in this side of the island, causing the sea to be stormy almost all the time

    Clean rooms, nice view, free Wifi, well maintained facilities such as childrens club and childrens activities. Good food and responsible and welcoming personel

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    reception staff - 4 people - 1 couple and 2 friends. 1 room should be with King size, anothe one with 2 separatyebeds. Everything was described in Booking form. it took us 1,5 hiurs to explain who slepps with whim on which beg with what window view. Bearuing in mind that we arrived at 20-45 after terrible flight.

    food, pool, distance to the sea, comform

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    As usual WIFI was average

    The staff were brilliant and always happy and helpful. The activities organised for kids and adults was great, our two boys had the time of their life going from event to event. The food selection was huge and very good along with lots of places to eat and drink

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: