Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5 stars

Main Street, Gouves, 711 10, Greece

#4 of 27 hotels in Gouves

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 50 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    This was the perfect holiday! Thank you very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure if it happens behind the scenes but there are a lot of plastic water bottles given to guests in the room, beach and pool. Is there a recycling facility available? Or could the hotel provide a water bottle to each guest with water fountain facilities around the hotel to top it up themselves? The restaurants are higher end prices but I expected that given the hotel rating and price.

    Everything at the Grecotel was perfect! The staff are wonderful, provide excellent service that rivals other five star hotels around the world, and were only too pleased to help with any query. The hotel itself is beautiful - lovely white, wood and stone decor with a beautiful large central water feature that you overlook, it’s impressive upon arrival! The room was lovely - ours had a beautiful garden view of the mountains and partially of the sea. The beach, pool and spa areas are also great! Good choice of restaurants. There are a lot of activities the hotel puts on which you can get involved in (for free) such as activities for children, tennis and football facilities, movie nights, yoga and fitness classes. All round this was one of the most fantastic and relaxing holidays I’ve had. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing, with no need to leave the hotel for anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room layout was quirky to say the least. I'm hoping the trend for hotel rooms with bathrooms inside bedrooms passes soon. Our room was not cleaned until mid to late afternoon most days. As a hotel of its ranking I think the rooms could have been furnished with more style and comfort.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and always obliging. The breakfast in the morning was incredible, the best I've had anywhere, with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Lots of healthy food ( lots of unhealthy but amazingly delicious food too). We ate in most of the restaurants on site, and the food was excellent. When we ate out, the restaurants recommended by the hotel were all good . Although we stayed during the peak holiday season, the hotel never felt crowded, and there was plenty of shade on the beach. Previous reviews mentioned the hotel being under a flight path, but I didn't find this a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful place for relaxation and weddings....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service wasn't that great. It took too long, and the food was always cold. I also didn't like the fact that the reservation team accidentally charged my credit card with someone else's booking & caused me a lot of problems with my bank.

    We had a beautiful bungalow right in front of the beach ! It was incredible !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Very attractive modern luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything.

    Very attractive luxury hotel & leisure facilities. Outdoor pool huge & sophisticated design. Main dining area situated around shallow pool also exceptional. Service excellent especially outside areas. Generous supplies of bottled water. Plenty of sun loungers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful property, great with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The luxury rooms with sea view we got at first happened to have a lagoon view and sea view from the balcony on the side... but they changed us the next day. Lagoon means seeing a building from your bed. I think there should be lagoon view rooms and sea view rooms explicitly. The asian restaurant was very disappointing. 60 euros for airport transfer is wayyyy to high.

    The property is beautiful, the staff extremely nice, and the greek restaurant as well as the grill are really delicious. Room was spacious and pretty, bathroom perfect. The spa offers high quality treatments.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    The hotel was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...all was perfect

    Customer service was excellent, the staff. The hotel was very accommodating. The scenery, the facilities, the food was above expectations !!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Best Resort in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must rent a car if you want to see the city .Musik occasionally by the pool will make it more interesting.

    Staff are amazing and profesional caring about every detail that can u imagine even a small snack for my flight Back To home. Breakfast with musik was wonderful.A full program in this resort starting from Yoga at 7 30 to Aqua Gym, tennis,football,and night live musik shows will make it very difficult to leave the Resort you will not need the outside world .Outstanding sea and pool views a real relaxing getaway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent approximately €23,000 for a 10 night stay (€16,000 on 3 rooms for 10 nights (incl breakfast) & €7,000 on restaurants). The rooms were small, dated, baddly lit, I'll considered and dirty. Specifically, the curtains did not fully cover the Windows, so the mornings were vey bright. The rooms included a DVD player & a B&O telephone but no music docking station. There was no pay TV. We were eaten alive by mosquitos & when we asked the cleaner to keep the door closed whilst cleaning this was ignored; so the army of mosquitos in the corridor would fly in uninterrupted. The floor was always dirty & under the bed was filthy (I found this out on one of my many mosquito hunts!!). The bathroom was very dated & badly constructed. The bath mixer leaked for our entire stay but despite my asking on 2 occasions was never repaired. The tennis courts were in an incredibly poor state. We played on court 2, which was covered in a tatty carpet, which was torn in many places and the lines were raised; making a game of tennis impossible. To top this off, I found a charge of €11 on my bill for the hire of this horrible tennis court for 1 hour.

    Most staff were friendly, professional and courteous. The hotel is well located & with the exception of the rooms was beautifully designed. The restaurants were nice, but the menus were mostly very limited & the wine lists were very basic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit small

    staff was amazing. service is far too good to be true. great welcome , very relaxing. Perfect 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet is very good and the hotel is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants are a bit too expensive for what they offer

    The breakfast buffet is very good and the hotel is very beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    For some vacation this is a dream place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything. The place is wonderful as the service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Best family friendly hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no ramps for strollers

    Everything and everyone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    To be done again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great .Paradise place to visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.1
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Bungalow Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden bungalows

    Great pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place for an exclusive retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is costly, but it is top notch

    Great location, fantastic breakfast, excellent hospitality, well designed and with great rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Had a pretty good time with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was AAA

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing staff, beautiful beach, lovely facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricy...

    Amazing staff, beautiful beach, lovely facilities.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Great Family Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was good but good be improved

    Amazing Staff and facilities

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Although I didn't expressly tell the hotel, it was my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No faults really. The hotel is 15 minutes from Heraklion airport - great for UK flights. However, my return flight was to Cyprus which is from Chania, two and a half hours drive from the hotel. I hired a car and made a day of it, visiting Knossus on the way.

    Although I didn't expressly tell the hotel, it was my birthday. They upgraded my room to a gorgeous beach bungalow and gave me a lovely cake! The breakfast buffet was excellent and the food at the a la carte restaurants was very good. The staff are delightful.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff were lovely and courteous and happy to help at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entertainment in the bar could have been better. The seating area in the bar not comfortable enough.

    The staff were lovely and courteous and happy to help at all times. The buffet was excellent and the room superb.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    3.3
    Design of the property, beach, weather, food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Horrible stay, easier to write what we like, only the architecture of the hotel. The moment we checked in, was horrible! Promised to take our luggage to the room and one hour later luggage was sitting outside, where lots of people leaving and arriving by bus. Irresponsible. Manager right away was lecturing us that our kid cannot stay with us in the room we booked ( I had to repeatedly stop her talking storm) and she said she will charge us 165 EU on top of $400 we already paid per night!!!!! No other hotels ever told us that our kid cannot stay in our bed. And it's not Greece because we moved to another 5* hotel near by, for 1/4 of the price with much better staff and service, and there was not a problem. Amirandes even advertises that kids up to 12 years old stay free! Really? Manager said it's free after you pay for all 3 of us! What a joke! After we wanted to leave, she offered to just pay 27.50 EU for our son's bfast, even it says on their hotel info that kids stay free! Just like everything else in the hotel, they advertise but don't deliver. Time to get to our room. It's absolutely horrible! Old smelly furniture, broken closets, not well planned brooms. We tried to turn on AC, and guess what? It didn't work. Keep hearing promises that they will fix but people keep running and nothing was done. We didn't sleep night traveling, and the first night at the hotel it was impossible to sleep in such hot room. My husband woke up at 3 am and called reception to move us or fix the AC. They fixed the next day, but who will reimburse us for wasting the whole day being tired and exhausted from not sleeping?! We both couldn't sleep at this hotel as BEDS WERE HORRIBLE! Old, worn out mattresses. You would think for $400 plus 165EU (kid) per night per room they should afford to put better furniture. But it's all about outside look and impression. Nobody really cares about you.

    Design of the property, beach, weather, food.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel with lots of different places to hang out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful hotel with lots of different places to hang out (from cozy to breathtaking). Nice restaurants and great food! Extra plus for childrens' corner, serving free kids lunches every day. We got a free upgrade from family room to suit with our own pool. Much appreciated by the whole family! Children allowed in the spa pool (in parents company) which was great on a windy off season day. Very friendly and service minded staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Staff are welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool needs heating. Music round pool a bit dismal. Gym needs to be open earlier. Not much to do outside of the hotel unless you drive.

    Staff are welcoming and very helpful. Food is very varied and plenty of it! Fabulous pool but needs heating. Good entertainment.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    the amazing location, staff and the overall atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a "sea view room" which in the description of booking.com means a room where you can see the sea from the balcony, if you bend over and peep out ;)

    the amazing location, staff and the overall atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    The whole hotel set-up is very cleverly done: it is quite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad experience whatsoever.

    The whole hotel set-up is very cleverly done: it is quite, excellent architecture, very well thought, always nice views on sea & sand The hotel staff is extremely kind and helpful: the service to hosts is really a top priority for the management of this hotel. Thanks to Mary, the hotel manager, for her fantastic & helpful presence; whether you see her, or in the backstage! Warm thanks to Angelina that provides wonderful hint to have the very best stay in the region: visits, restaurant, boats, guide, dives...

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    10
    All staff are so friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed is not comfortable. It is two piece mattress together as one. I prefer to have iron in the room and bathroom need a garbage can under sink will be more continence for me.

    All staff are so friendly and kind. The hotel is gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    8.8
    Kids club is excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant for breakfast has only one coffee machine and we sometimes waited 20min for a coffee (it wasnt near high season at that time)

    Kids club is excellent; staff are great, know every child's name and work to find something to entertain even 10 yrs olds. Evening entertainment is good.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    10
    This resort leaves nothing to the imagination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This resort leaves nothing to the imagination. All the staff are so attentive tour your needs and nothing was too much trouble. They arranged a driver to take us around to other towns on the island and he the best. They arranged an excellent guide for the Palace of Knossos. There are 7 excellent restaurants and the food at each one was exceptional. Yes we throughly recommend this five star resort which wants you to plan another trip back!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small moan, the pool could be heated, but I guess in the middle of summer it would not be a problem.

    the friendliness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    The Pool, Kids Club, Restaurants, Nightly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Complaints.

    The Pool, Kids Club, Restaurants, Nightly entertainment, Very hard hotel to fault. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    great service food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great service food and facilities

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    9.2
    Facilities, staff & food were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities, staff & food were amazing.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Great service, gorgeous setting and enough to keep our young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great service, gorgeous setting and enough to keep our young boys entertained.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Everything was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing - it was all awesome.

    Everything was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.2
    - staff is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - cleaning ladies were wakening me every morning before 8 AM. - evening buffet is not reaching standard for such facility

    - staff is excellent

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: