Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Heraklio hotel reviews
  4. Gouves hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Reviews of Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Main Street, Gouves, 711 10, Greece

#8 of 35 hotels in Gouves

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 41 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    10

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2019

    3.8
    Overpriced, definitely not value for money, rooms are old and dirty, would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are outdated, everything in the hotel besides the lobby and the restaurants is old, rooms are not clean, rather dirty and dusty, bathroom is old and has a bad smell, everything in the hotel is old and used.

    Staff was nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    10
    Excellent spacious contemporary hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a charge of 11 euros an hour for the tennis courts in the day time. I've never stayed in a hotel where there is a day time charge. The hotel waived the charge the 2nd time we booked as it was not clear on the website.

    Returning guests. Very spacious attractive contemporary hotel. Excellent breakfast in a wonderful open dining room including shallow pools. (weather permitting). They have inside dining as well. Generous free bottled water.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    Pricey, but an absolutely top hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Though an expensive hotel, once you get there, you realise what you pay for. The hotel is stunning with fantastic amenities. The staff are absolutely the best! The photos all looked Photoshoped...I uploaded one to prove that it really is that stunning!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing place and feel very chilled and relaxed going home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom was very dull boring and not attractive. No room to hang my clothes after hanging my husbands clothes, my clothes remained in my case all week as no drawers in room also no iron so my clothes looked very wrinkled all week

    Very clean throughout

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    10
    This was the perfect holiday! Thank you very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I’m not sure if it happens behind the scenes but there are a lot of plastic water bottles given to guests in the room, beach and pool. Is there a recycling facility available? Or could the hotel provide a water bottle to each guest with water fountain facilities around the hotel to top it up themselves? The restaurants are higher end prices but I expected that given the hotel rating and price.

    Everything at the Grecotel was perfect! The staff are wonderful, provide excellent service that rivals other five star hotels around the world, and were only too pleased to help with any query. The hotel itself is beautiful - lovely white, wood and stone decor with a beautiful large central water feature that you overlook, it’s impressive upon arrival! The room was lovely - ours had a beautiful garden view of the mountains and partially of the sea. The beach, pool and spa areas are also great! Good choice of restaurants. There are a lot of activities the hotel puts on which you can get involved in (for free) such as activities for children, tennis and football facilities, movie nights, yoga and fitness classes. All round this was one of the most fantastic and relaxing holidays I’ve had. Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing, with no need to leave the hotel for anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room layout was quirky to say the least. I'm hoping the trend for hotel rooms with bathrooms inside bedrooms passes soon. Our room was not cleaned until mid to late afternoon most days. As a hotel of its ranking I think the rooms could have been furnished with more style and comfort.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and always obliging. The breakfast in the morning was incredible, the best I've had anywhere, with plenty of choice to suit everyone. Lots of healthy food ( lots of unhealthy but amazingly delicious food too). We ate in most of the restaurants on site, and the food was excellent. When we ate out, the restaurants recommended by the hotel were all good . Although we stayed during the peak holiday season, the hotel never felt crowded, and there was plenty of shade on the beach. Previous reviews mentioned the hotel being under a flight path, but I didn't find this a problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    8.3
    A beautiful place for relaxation and weddings....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room service wasn't that great. It took too long, and the food was always cold. I also didn't like the fact that the reservation team accidentally charged my credit card with someone else's booking & caused me a lot of problems with my bank.

    We had a beautiful bungalow right in front of the beach ! It was incredible !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    8.3
    Proximity to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Indoor pool

    Proximity to beach

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room is a bit small

    staff was amazing. service is far too good to be true. great welcome , very relaxing. Perfect 10.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet is very good and the hotel is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The restaurants are a bit too expensive for what they offer

    The breakfast buffet is very good and the hotel is very beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    9.2
    For some vacation this is a dream place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything. The place is wonderful as the service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Best family friendly hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There are no ramps for strollers

    Everything and everyone

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    To be done again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Guest Room Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was great .Paradise place to visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    7.1
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Bungalow Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The garden bungalows

    Great pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    9.2
    Great place for an exclusive retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Guestroom with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is costly, but it is top notch

    Great location, fantastic breakfast, excellent hospitality, well designed and with great rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2016

    10
    Although I didn't expressly tell the hotel, it was my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No faults really. The hotel is 15 minutes from Heraklion airport - great for UK flights. However, my return flight was to Cyprus which is from Chania, two and a half hours drive from the hotel. I hired a car and made a day of it, visiting Knossus on the way.

    Although I didn't expressly tell the hotel, it was my birthday. They upgraded my room to a gorgeous beach bungalow and gave me a lovely cake! The breakfast buffet was excellent and the food at the a la carte restaurants was very good. The staff are delightful.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    9.2
    The staff were lovely and courteous and happy to help at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Entertainment in the bar could have been better. The seating area in the bar not comfortable enough.

    The staff were lovely and courteous and happy to help at all times. The buffet was excellent and the room superb.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2016

    3.3
    Design of the property, beach, weather, food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Horrible stay, easier to write what we like, only the architecture of the hotel. The moment we checked in, was horrible! Promised to take our luggage to the room and one hour later luggage was sitting outside, where lots of people leaving and arriving by bus. Irresponsible. Manager right away was lecturing us that our kid cannot stay with us in the room we booked ( I had to repeatedly stop her talking storm) and she said she will charge us 165 EU on top of $400 we already paid per night!!!!! No other hotels ever told us that our kid cannot stay in our bed. And it's not Greece because we moved to another 5* hotel near by, for 1/4 of the price with much better staff and service, and there was not a problem. Amirandes even advertises that kids up to 12 years old stay free! Really? Manager said it's free after you pay for all 3 of us! What a joke! After we wanted to leave, she offered to just pay 27.50 EU for our son's bfast, even it says on their hotel info that kids stay free! Just like everything else in the hotel, they advertise but don't deliver. Time to get to our room. It's absolutely horrible! Old smelly furniture, broken closets, not well planned brooms. We tried to turn on AC, and guess what? It didn't work. Keep hearing promises that they will fix but people keep running and nothing was done. We didn't sleep night traveling, and the first night at the hotel it was impossible to sleep in such hot room. My husband woke up at 3 am and called reception to move us or fix the AC. They fixed the next day, but who will reimburse us for wasting the whole day being tired and exhausted from not sleeping?! We both couldn't sleep at this hotel as BEDS WERE HORRIBLE! Old, worn out mattresses. You would think for $400 plus 165EU (kid) per night per room they should afford to put better furniture. But it's all about outside look and impression. Nobody really cares about you.

    Design of the property, beach, weather, food.

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel with lots of different places to hang out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful hotel with lots of different places to hang out (from cozy to breathtaking). Nice restaurants and great food! Extra plus for childrens' corner, serving free kids lunches every day. We got a free upgrade from family room to suit with our own pool. Much appreciated by the whole family! Children allowed in the spa pool (in parents company) which was great on a windy off season day. Very friendly and service minded staff.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.3
    Staff are welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool needs heating. Music round pool a bit dismal. Gym needs to be open earlier. Not much to do outside of the hotel unless you drive.

    Staff are welcoming and very helpful. Food is very varied and plenty of it! Fabulous pool but needs heating. Good entertainment.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    9.6
    the amazing location, staff and the overall atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a "sea view room" which in the description of booking.com means a room where you can see the sea from the balcony, if you bend over and peep out ;)

    the amazing location, staff and the overall atmosphere

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2015

    9.6
    The whole hotel set-up is very cleverly done: it is quite,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No bad experience whatsoever.

    The whole hotel set-up is very cleverly done: it is quite, excellent architecture, very well thought, always nice views on sea & sand The hotel staff is extremely kind and helpful: the service to hosts is really a top priority for the management of this hotel. Thanks to Mary, the hotel manager, for her fantastic & helpful presence; whether you see her, or in the backstage! Warm thanks to Angelina that provides wonderful hint to have the very best stay in the region: visits, restaurant, boats, guide, dives...

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2015

    10
    All staff are so friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed is not comfortable. It is two piece mattress together as one. I prefer to have iron in the room and bathroom need a garbage can under sink will be more continence for me.

    All staff are so friendly and kind. The hotel is gorgeous.

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2015

    8.8
    Kids club is excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant for breakfast has only one coffee machine and we sometimes waited 20min for a coffee (it wasnt near high season at that time)

    Kids club is excellent; staff are great, know every child's name and work to find something to entertain even 10 yrs olds. Evening entertainment is good.

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2015

    10
    This resort leaves nothing to the imagination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This resort leaves nothing to the imagination. All the staff are so attentive tour your needs and nothing was too much trouble. They arranged a driver to take us around to other towns on the island and he the best. They arranged an excellent guide for the Palace of Knossos. There are 7 excellent restaurants and the food at each one was exceptional. Yes we throughly recommend this five star resort which wants you to plan another trip back!

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    9.2
    the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small moan, the pool could be heated, but I guess in the middle of summer it would not be a problem.

    the friendliness of the staff

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2015

    10
    The Pool, Kids Club, Restaurants, Nightly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Complaints.

    The Pool, Kids Club, Restaurants, Nightly entertainment, Very hard hotel to fault. Very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    9.2
    great service food and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    great service food and facilities

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    9.2
    Facilities, staff & food were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities, staff & food were amazing.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    10
    Great service, gorgeous setting and enough to keep our young...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great service, gorgeous setting and enough to keep our young boys entertained.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    10
    Everything was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing - it was all awesome.

    Everything was brilliant.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    9.2
    - staff is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - cleaning ladies were wakening me every morning before 8 AM. - evening buffet is not reaching standard for such facility

    - staff is excellent

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: