Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartments Xenophon

Main Street, Matala, 70200, Greece

#7 of 21 hotels in Matala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 apartment reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Room was out of Date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location? I actually don’t know what people are looking for at Matala. A tourist rip off. Has seen better days with back packers who made this place.

    Room was out of Date. Everything needs to be fixed. Old stuff but clean. There are better and cheaper places like this in Crete.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Great value, hospitality and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very little. I prefer a softer bed but that is entirely personal. Most of the people I know would love a good firm mattress. A lovely stay.

    Sophia, her husband (and the extended family - brilliant restaurant in Malala) were fantastic and could not have been more helpful or welcoming, in spite of our late arrival. Anything requested or asked about was done/supplied and the location is away from the summer throng but still only ten minutes from Matala so you get the best of both worlds. Malala is beautiful and conveniently close to lots of places of interest from walks to markets to history. The apartments have a great shaded area at ground level and each apartment has a private place to sit outside, which was great. We had eggs, honey and bread delivered, which was an added bonus and breakfast downstairs is available on request. For those looking for helpful hospitality at the more budget end of the market this would take a lot of beating. Note: Sophia speaks several languages and is extremely efficient, so communication is easy and the service is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.1
    A place to hide from winter and people. Yes, it's Matala in November:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We struggled for internet almost all the time. If you need wi-fi you'd better take it with you (mobile, whatever). Though the hosts were helpful (via phone) we were surprised to find nobody at the reception (winter season traits%)).

    Location and comfortable seclusion. Helpful hosts.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.1
    Plenty of space and confortable but very noisy road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is jammed between the rock face and a busy road, so the noise is intense during the day, even in october. It is better at night but you still have the occasional motorbike or scooter. The noise reverberates against the mountain-side when the vehicles accelerate.

    The apartment for 3 is spacious and comfortable. The hotel is within easy walking distance from the village and the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    I just came to wash-up and sleep: it was very quiet, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just came to wash-up and sleep: it was very quiet, which was good. I think there were more facilities, but I didn't see or used them, just went to my room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Good value with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff can help you anytime except siesta) special thanks to Sofia) Great location (about 400m from beach) 20 min to bus stop (4 bus per day)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Perfect place to stay in Matala!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sophia is super friendly and attentive host!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    The description of our first booking was not correct,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The description of our first booking was not correct, compared to the room we got. The staff met our desires of a new room very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.9
    Good value 4 money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 30 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the main road very load noise from traffic especially motor cycles.

    N/A

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled badly.

    Friendly staff. Nice and well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    EXCEPTIONAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The quality of service, the room comfort, proximity to the beach !!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    8.3
    Sophia is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting the shower hot takes time, (best is to open te shower tap, not the shower itself, and let water flow abundantly until it heats up eventually. There's an oven but no glass or stone recipiënts to use in it. Rooms are a bit dark.

    Sophia is very friendly and helpful. When we arrived we had good communication how to get the key and so. When the kitchen stove malfunctioned Nikos immediately brought us a spare one. Wifi was good.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.3
    We had a friendly welcome and enjoyed a three night stay in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property is quite close to the road, but since the road stops at Matala, there was not too much traffic and it was quiet at night.

    We had a friendly welcome and enjoyed a three night stay in a neat studio. Whilst compact, we had everything we needed, and liked the shaded outdoor patio. A short walk into town, with its beautiful beach in the bay, and interesting rocky headlands each side.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    7.1
    Sophia is nice and flexible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked 2 nights, had to spend the firts in a cramped room scented with a strong humidity smell. Fortunatly Sophia had a healthier room available the next day. The equipment is quite aging.

    Sophia is nice and flexible. The village is not far at all by foot, the view on the mountain is nice from the first floor and beyond. The yard with the hamac is pretty nice for a quick nap or just chilling. Matala is a lovely little village

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.9
    The room was nice, it is located just 10 min walking from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too small for two people and the toilet didn't work properly. The bed sheets were not so clean, with some blood spots

    The room was nice, it is located just 10 min walking from the town.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Excellent, helpful, polite, cheerful, accommodating stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    5-10' walk from everything. Needed to leave water running for 5 minutes to get hot. Poor room arrangement. All lights switches on the wrong side of the door (opening the door blocks the switch), the only annoying thing.

    Excellent, helpful, polite, cheerful, accommodating stuff. I'd book again just because of them. For the price, the bed was more comfortable than expected. Totally silent yet efficient air-conditioning. Cozy décor. Much softer towels than the average cheap hotel.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff was super friendly and we got an upgrade in a better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was super friendly and we got an upgrade in a better room for free :)

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    Short walk from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Short walk from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    lovely place to go friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely place to go friendly staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: