Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Aphrodite Beach Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Vatera, Vatera, 81300, Greece

#1 of 5 hotels in Vatera

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 111 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    8.3
    Ideal place for a peaceful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds can be more comfy. The facility is clean in an overall evaluation but can surely make better.

    Very nice family business with kind and helpful staff. Simple but healthy breakfast. Good snacks. The beach is very clean and peaceful. Ideal place if you would like to stay in peace for a few days.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    8.8
    Remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost no public transport from the port, you have to take a taxi for 70 kms.

    Tranquil, empty beach, hotel beside the sea, toys for the kids at the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    New American travellers should be aware of how typically in Greece and much of Europe how small both the rooms and bathroom/showers are. Toilet paper is not flushed. Our room in Artemida also had no place to hang/store clothes, though our room here did. We had the best balcony overlooking the beach and bay, but there wasn't a way to fully close the balcony door from the outside. Typically, then, we had to hunt down 4 or 5 mosquitoes in the room afterwards.

    What's not to like here? This was a wonderful stay. Tops for us was the down home experience we had with the owner, Ionnis, and his family and their locally grown and home cooked Greek food, with special dishes from Ionnis's mother. The beach area is the best in Lesbos though we weren't here for that. Outside dining is fabulous. Critical was our being able to rent a car from Ionnis as the airport companies wouldn't do so without an international driver's permit almost ruining our trip there. That and other concierge services he provided were invaluable. We were here during the shoulder season of late May. It's definitely warmer and more pleasant on the south side of the island, where this property is, as the north winds will make the north side of the island cooler, a critical factor for my wife this time of the year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.2
    Family run hotel with very helpful and accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite noisy at the pool with lots of children running and yelling around the area along with loud music being played at the pool bar.

    Family run hotel with very helpful and accomodating staff. Directly opposite the beach with included sun lounges and beach umbrellas. Good sized pool. Hotel is bright, clean and airy. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    10
    Relaxing and fun vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment [max. 4 guests]
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a great holiday! Foods, pool, the sea, music,room they all provided us an excellent holiday to my mum and my 4 year old kid. We wished we could have stayed longer there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    for those wanting a true taste of Greece...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    all was wonderful...

    a perfect Greek holiday... wonderful hotel in a wonderful setting where the sky and sea meet... owners friendly and helpful... room all you could ask for with a beautiful view of the mountains and sea... we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, would recommend the place to friends and wish to go back...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing family vacation destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room they gave us (a triple) was in the same building as the reception, and it was not up to the same standards as the other rooms in the hotel. We were eventually very happy with our accommodations, but it took a little work. Yiannis bent over backwards to find us a solution, though. I really appreciated his attitude.

    The food, especially the fresh vegetables, was amazing. The staff was warm and helpful, and the facilities (esp pool and beach) were great for the whole family. Everything was very well thought out so that the place felt relaxed even on the days the hotel was fully booked. Though it's not a fancy place, great care was given to every aspect of the experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    10
    Aphrodite Beach Hotel: Family Devotion Makes Exceptional Hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service at Aphrodite Beach was phenomenal and the food was exceptional! To be fair, we went before the season actually started, so it was quieter than it would be during the June-August season, but Yiannis was the perfect host and his Mom was an excellent chef. He even called to nearby pharmacies to be sure they had the medication I needed for a migraine so that we wouldn't drive over unnecessarily! The property is beautiful and the family built it themselves, with each of them - three generations - still working devotedly at their lovely property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    9.6
    best as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is our secind time in Aphrodit Beach and it was like heaven again. If you're not a all inclusive type (whick you shouldn't be in Lesvos at all) this hotel has the best beach' cleanist rooms and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    10
    Greece at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Would have liked access to a guest computer.

    Lovely sea view from bedroom. Excellent breakfast. Just across the road from the beach. Everything about this hotel made it the perfect place for a wonderful relaxing week.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    10
    Great for families and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment [max. 4 guests]
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Right next to the sea and also has a pool. There is a taverna attached to the hotel which had a good range of options to choose from. The family who run this hotel were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2016

    8.0
    Really enjoyed my stay. Nice hotel and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi poor in certain areas but do we really need it when on a sunny island? The weekend is very noisy with lots of traffic but hardly the hotel's fault. Also, crossing the road to get to the beach is very perilous for young children.

    Bang on the beach and not too far from the resort's bars and restaurants. Staff very friendly and always available if only for a chat! Sun loungers on the beach free of charge and lots of seating around the pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, relaxing stay. Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment [max. 4 guests]
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Leak in bathroom, but suspect this was because the room hadn't been used since last season.

    Great pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Delicious food, beautiful beach and very comfortable hotel...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2017

    7.5
    Problem with luggage due to lack of elevator .
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Problem with luggage due to lack of elevator . but staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2016

    8.8
    Strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    wi-fi could be better.

    Service quality is excellent. The meals are well. The beach is marvellous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    8.3
    Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are bit small (double rooms)

    Location, pool bar, food and kind staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2016

    10
    If you are looking for sun,sea and sea foods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi could be better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful piece of the Mediterranean Sea to swim in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2016

    9.2
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Guests)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms need to be renewed (beds,floor,Wc etc.)

    Close to the beach Friendly staff Reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    9.2
    I have been to the aphrodite hotel three times now, and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the Aphrodite is located on a quite stretch of beach, so I would recomend a rental car (which they can arrange for you) so that you can explore other areas of the island.

    I have been to the aphrodite hotel three times now, and we are always welcomed warmly by the owners and staff! Everyone is warm and friendly and helpful. the food is great and the pool is Amazing! i would recomend The Aphrodite Hotel with no hesitation.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    6.7
    The pool was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi fi poor. Service on beach very slow. Lack of assistance in trying to get facilities to work eg air con and safe. No batteries. They didn't care that wifi didn't work. They had a not my problem attitude if something wasn't right. Breakfast would have been better using fresh local produce instead of tinned peaches and pineapple. Poor quality tomatoes on animals stay has great tomatoes.

    The pool was good. Position was good. The bikes were good. Car hire good.

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2015

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pebbled beach.

    Location is perfect. Just at the beach. Sea is a bit chilly but crystal clear. Breakfast is above standart. Hotel team is friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    5.8
    Located right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are small. Furniture is too old it feels like 80's. Breakfast is mediocre. Children running around and crying all the time. Yes,it is optional but we do not advise you to eat at the hotel's taverna. Air conditioner in the room is a bit old and does not work with full performance.

    Located right on the beach. Personnel.

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2015

    10
    The family run hotel was very relaxing but offered a lot to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The family run hotel was very relaxing but offered a lot to do. The restaurant was a great amenity as we ate our well prepared meals right on the beach. Location was a perfect getaway.

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    10
    The staff were so friendly, great authentic food, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wish I stayed an extra week

    The staff were so friendly, great authentic food, fantastic pool area with play facilities on the beach, rooms comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    9.2
    the location: is the perfect quiet place if you want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location: is the perfect quiet place if you want to relax and have the beach almost in your room the staff is very helpful and extra nice

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly and very accommodatating

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    7.9
    beautiful beach in front
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms are too small and old furnished shower is small and unconfortable

    beautiful beach in front

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2015

    9.0
    The beach very close
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beach very close The very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    10
    Staff and facilities cannot fault
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff and facilities cannot fault

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2015

    7.5
    People were very nice and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool had no water. Needed a part from Athens. No view of the sea.

    People were very nice and attentive.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: