Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apostolata Island Resort and Spa 5 stars

Main Street, Skála Kefalonias, 28082, Greece

Review score

Based on 123 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room allocated bore no resemblance to the one advertised. It was very dated and just about qualified as a 3 star plus certainly nowhere near a 5 star. Cleanliness could have been better. Not enough staff in the restaurant to clear tables and reset them for meals.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    in general it was good, but the room is not modern. the staff are great and the hotel is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is old and not modern. You need to pay extra for the safe per day....

    The hotel in general was very nice, the amnities at the hotel are nice the pool is great. however the room we were given was a bit old, it was not modern. the food is great the staff are nice and super helpful but the room is not that good. The staff was nice and allowed us to have a late checkout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel. Will be coming back again next year to have fun again. First class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the evening entertainment should have been better. More DJ for 45 to 55 age range. Greek nights were not the best I have seen.

    Staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble, very friendly & polite. The swimming pool was the cleanest I have ever swam in and I have been to many elite hotels around the world.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with great service and very helpful staff. Great location and fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great service. Very helpful and polite staff. Great pool area. The only thing that was slightly disappointment was the food. We had 2 meals at the ala carte restaurant and both meals were disappointing. Service great but not the food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Lots of variety with great views and friendly staff, 😊 lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess the swimming pool would benefit from having a shallow end for the kids

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I even experienced a staff member, who drove us to see a doctor, refuse our tip! The hotel allowed us a late check out without charge and use of the phone to phone the insurance company, following one of the children slipping over and cutting open her knee. The staff in the hotel were very kind and supportive. The food was great! The night time entertainment was fab. The view was stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.1
    A necessary stay away from our villa which had lost its water supply, so not bad really.
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really didn’t like the room which was drab and dark. The pillows were chunky and hard and the beds weren’t too comfortable either.

    Food - loads of choice and well organised buffet style service. The shower was good too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi we didn’t think that was 5 star resort the furniture in the room was dated the walls needs paint mouldy in the bathroom needs coffe machine for breakfast .Location is bit isolated nothing around . The animation program very poor.

    We liked the friendly staff and the food was excellent the beach was amazing the water so clean excellent swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Definitely would come again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would definitely not recommend the place for people with functional disabilities. The hotel is situated on the small hill with many stairs. But, we liked that as well! No need for jogging :-))). OK, there is only one issue to mention.....wi-fi. The range is perfect, but it is extremely slow and many times crash down. But there is also a solution for that...go to Lobby :-)

    The Staff in the hotel are superb! Very friendly, always smiling and nothing was to hard for them to arrange. I believe this is the highest value of this hotel. Not to mention superb and very delicious, fresh food for breakfast and for diner!!! We liked the most the option of free hotel Mini Bus for daily connection with the city of Skala. Also the beach near hotel is very nice and clean, but take into consideration many stairs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful scenery and views of the sea from hotel.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unhelpful and unaccommodating staff. food was mediocre. quite money grabbing - having to pay deposit for towels, paying to use safe etc. hidden resort tax, only told about at checkout

    Beautiful scenery and views of the sea from hotel. Some nice drinks. rooms were pleasant, albeit two single beds pushed together.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is awesome. We had half board, dinner was every night different with Greek specialities and also international dishes. The staff was brilliant! We really enjoyed our staying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff are very friendly organised a bottle of wine to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly organised a bottle of wine to be delivered to room at the right time celebrating an anniversary definitely pay attention to detail Food was different every day as we had HB included breakfast +dinner quite nice if you like to explore during day grab something on the way exploring the island different towns Location was great,but if you are on a late flight arriving renting a car it’s quite tiring especially not knowing the roads and way to the hotel Room was as it was expected and as per photos apart from not having a double bed with my partner Overall, very happy with my stay and hotel facilities very

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    5 star customer service and beautiful swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work at all in the room, bad TV reception, some problems with the fridge and toilet flush (but the last one was fixed quickly).

    Amazing staff and customer service, very quick and positive response to my queries. Beautiful, long swimming pool and almost empty at this time of the year. Comfortable room with the sea and swimming pool view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    A maximum three stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lack of kindness of the staff from the main restaurant - Unstable and poor wi-fi signal - Cleanless of the room and bathroom - Problems with the sewerage - Unconfortable pillows

    - Sea view - Beautiful garden - Facilities - Food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing. Certainly not a 5* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated. Strange smell to the toilet. Was 'cleaned' daily but think it involved just a quick wipe of the surfaces.

    Pool area and food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but could do with a refresh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Place feels a little tired and needs a refresh. Toilet/shower set up is a little weird, not sure why they have these in the same space as toilet area always gets flooded by the shower. Breakfast is very average, with no fresh fruit or juice.

    Nice hotel but could do with a refresh. Pool is massive and even when really busy always lots of space to swim. Great access to the sea for snorkeling as well. Staff are nice and lunch was really excellent, much better than the breakfast. Skala is a lovely understated area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect combination of sun sea and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Walk back up hill from the sea!

    Great location. Nice facilities. Friendly staff. Breakfast was great. Dinner had plenty of choice. Big rooms with great views particularly sunrise - worth getting up for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Great resort, beautiful setting, shame about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food wasn't good at all. Because it's an all inclusive resort we expected food to be more quantity than quality but even simple dishes were tasteless. Considering the abundance of fresh produce in Greece the quality of the ingredients was pretty bad.

    We had a lovely stay. Staff were helpful. The resort is really luxurious and relaxing. Upon arrival we were taken to our room by golf buggy. The staff quickly changed our bed from two singles to a double upon request. The room had a great view of the pool and the sea. We also received good tips from reception on where on the island to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    A stunning holiday would recommend to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotels was 3 Km from Skala and shuttle bus stopped at 5.30. We thought the bus should cater for guests wishing to sample Skala at night.

    The hotel staff could not do enough to help. Because of the hotels location you should include some reference to slopes and no.of steps

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Hidden gem in Skala.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unable to fault this as it was just what we were looking for. Yep it was a 45 minute trip from the airport but worth it. Welcomed after arriving very late, room 508 perfect with a great sea view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provide cheaper options than taxis which in my openion twice charge for half an hour ride from the airport

    Friendly staff and clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Staff polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Staff polite

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Lovely place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect..! Can't wait to go back there !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.3
    Still love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to last year... the food wasn't as good.

    STAFF!! Some remembered us from last year & the view is fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Greta view and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a car and went only for the weekend.

    Greta view and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    2.9
    The food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, staff, location, rooms, bar prices, very old rooms, air condition very noise during night

    The food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Great pool and view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was very average and the rooms were dated, not a five star standard

    Great pool and view of the sea. Staff friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Relaxing hotel with Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps & no room service

    Everything apart from 2 mentioned above

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    The rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms Were spacious, with a nice view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Beyond expectations!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was extremely kind and helpful at all the times...the room was magnificent...an unimaginable experience!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Great pool and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite five star by international standards, but very pleasant

    Great pool and view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Thoroughly recommend this excellent resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Am excellent resort just outside Skala with great facilities and fantastic views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful and polite hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 single beds instead of 1 double bed. The bathtub was blocked.

    Very helpful and polite hotel staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing stay at the hotel would return again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for drinks water

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Maybe the best hotel in Kefalonia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was perfect comfy bed, large bathroom, amazing views of Ionian sea from our balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Ok hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 5 star Everything was too expensive Access to pool difficult

    Nice views Big rooms Shuttle to Skala.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Location, building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Food and service perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked an organised opportunity to play tennis.

    Food and service perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    The pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance, too many stairs.. needs renovating..

    The pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of steps Food could be more varied More fresh fish

    Beautiful views Great size pool Not too crowded

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Gem of an island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and island was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    poor Wi-Fi connection in the rooms

    Huge pool! Very friendly and helpful staff amazing location, delicious food, superb views!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    The resort was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food selection was a bit limited. Although they was hot food at breakfast they didn't have an egg station. The evening menu was very similar each night.

    The resort was very spacious. The pool area was very impressive with plenty of sun loungers. The resort was very clean and maintained to a good standard.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Everything from the room, bed and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower did not have a shelf to put my toiletries on and the shower and toilet were one room so I had to put my toiletries on the waste paper bin.

    Everything from the room, bed and food.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    7.9
    The staff generally and especially the receptionists were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet opposite the shower created water problems. The hours for use of the pools could have been extended. The 3 pools were all 1.4metres deep which meant that I could not use them.

    The staff generally and especially the receptionists were very polite and nothing was a problem for them. The general ambience of the resort.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice pool area, really helpful staff, would be good for an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is a fair walk into central Skala so I would recommend planning to take a cab on the journey back to the hotel especially if it is in the midday sun or at night time! the wifi is pretty patchy

    Nice pool area, really helpful staff, would be good for an easy family holiday. Great base if you have a hire car during your stay

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.8
    The private pool of the superior rooms was great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is definetly not a five star resort. Only few superior rooms could hardly reach the status of four star hotel. The standard room with the seaview where we stayed in the first night ( room 215 ) was incredibly dirty, the tv was not working and the balcony door was broken.

    The private pool of the superior rooms was great experience. Breakfast was ok, both continental and english. Juices were poor quality. Dinner was delicious with a lot of dishes to choose from.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    6.7
    Good hotel, but not 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the best location, away from the action, not even close to the bar. Very poor free wifi, can not pay for normal operation!

    Good hotel, but not 5 star. They offer free transportation, but in limited hours. Great pool!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved the surprises Apostolata has provided us with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The only bad experience was trying to slide open the heavy toilet door, that came without a handle of any sort. With persistence, the door will open. Wifi was slow but understandable, as we are on an island! We didn't need it during our stay anyway! Also the hotel doesn't provide toiletries, however it does have a mini-market that sold it at reasonable prices *phew*

    We loved the surprises Apostolata has provided us with. Not knowing dinner was included, it was so kind of the staff to point this out during our stay. Also to have €20 off the spa treatments was irresistible! There were also lively events that made us want to stay and not leave the hotel compound. The entire experience made us feel like we were having a weekend everyday!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    6.3
    Location is amazing with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms whilst large are basic (for the rice you pay). No kettle . Ants in the room- although they did come to sort this quickly. We booked a superior room with sea view - lovely but should have had bathrobes and slippers - we did not

    Location is amazing with beautiful views. Spa is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    9.2
    The sea view, pools, food and all the staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air con was not adequate in our room though quickly and satisfactorily addressed. Steps not ideal for all, but not a problem for us.

    The sea view, pools, food and all the staff were excellent. The saxophonist was quality.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Amazing views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel minibus driver was a bit grumpy and unfriendly... also wifi connection is really poor but most of the restaurants/bars in town have better wifi.

    Amazing views! The beach in town was great as well. Food was great, staff were helpful and polite. Really relaxing... we enjoyed every minute.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.5
    The hotel it's self very beautiful and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bit of lack of communication in what's in booking .com invoice on items provided for superior room and had to ask for dressing gowns slippers tea coffee facilities and also drinks arrangements with signing bill despite paying cash still tryed to charged drink bill because I signed I had a disagreement with this so if paying cash up front dnt see why signature is needed this needs changing.

    The hotel it's self very beautiful and clean

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    9.2
    Worth extra for upper level sea view room which included a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work from our room, we used own internet via phone. Had to pay extra to use the safe in our room! (20Eu/week to use the key) Shame that the quality of coffee and orange juice at breakfast was poor Overall the good ruled out the bad though

    Worth extra for upper level sea view room which included a super relaxing sea view from the glass sided bathroom! Friendly staff throughout, very helpful poolside staff. Good daily housekeeping. Meals were well organised with good choices and variation (thank you morning pancake man!) Useful complimentary minibus to Skala beach/town

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    8.3
    Good large pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food selection for vegetarians could be better. Putting little bits of meat and fish in basically vegetable side dishes is very tiresome!

    Good large pool.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.5
    Tons of food!
    • Couple

    The lady doing the cleaning in next room - during the morning - kept yelling to her colleagues - that was a conversation! they kept doing that for more than half an hour.

    Tons of food! You can choose whatever you like and how much you like! good desserts! Very helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Everything about this hotel was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price of drinks too high and would have liked tea and coffee in the room

    Everything about this hotel was fantastic. Staff couldnt do enough for you. Rooms were kept spotless as was the whole hotel. Pools were beautiful :only downside was the steps to climb back to the main part of the hotel. Perfect location. Value for money exceptional. Food great every day with so much choice.really cannot fault it.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    The staff of the hotel, the view from balcony, food, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff of the hotel, the view from balcony, food, the room, gym, pool... Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.5
    Night performances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough seating around pool area

    Night performances.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    9.2
    Amazing hotel, good location, friendly members of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing hotel, good location, friendly members of staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Perfect beach for diving, superb food, phantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WLAN slow, good for holidays

    Perfect beach for diving, superb food, phantastic view

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic pool

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.1
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The floor in the room wasn't clean enough

    Everything was good

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: