Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila 5 stars

Main Street, Elounda, 72053 , Greece

#13 of 53 hotels in Elounda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Very nice upscale hotel with a nice pool and beach, get a Mythica Deluxe room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Junior Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    In short: Premium All Inclusive is not what it's meant to be, and there is a sunbed reservation prohibition which is NOT enforced. In long: We booked a premium All Inclusive room (Mythica). This term implies it's even better than All Inclusive - but again it proved to be a "somewhat inclusive". Wenever we book a holiday, we're perfectly willing to pay more to get All Inclusive, especially in 5-Star-Resorts. But again we found menus in every bar and restaurant with certain drinks and dishes excluded from the Premium All-Inclusive Deal. This is annoying especially because the free dishes were usually smaller, almost pushing you to get the paid ones. The lobster and firepit specials were ok - I'm perfectly willing to pay extra for these, but not for a tuna salad if I'm booking not only All Inclusive, but PREMIUM All Inclusive. Mind you: I'm perfectly willing to pay for this, but rather up front than having to see a price next to ever item on a menu! If I want this, I book half-board... The other issue we found is one that I always fear when going to beach / pool hotels - tourists reserving sun beds. You might expect this in a cheap 3* hotel on Mallorca, but not a 5* like the Elounda Village. I have to admit that after about 4-5 days it got better because somebody probably complained about the people who reserved sunbeds at 8 AM despite there being notes and info displays EVERYWHERE, noting that it's absolutely prohibited to reserve sunbeds. The problem was, that staff never enforced this rule for the first couple of days. Very, very annoying as it adds unnecessary stress if you just want to casually get your breakfast and then enjoy the sun on a sunbed - impossible if some idiot blocks from using them only to show up three hours later. This really needs to be properly enforced.

    The location was very nice, away from the cities and therefore quiet. Elounda doesn't have sandy beaches, so we didn't expect a nice beach but the artificially created little beach was just fine. The staff are very attentive and extremely friendly and nice. They fulfilled every wish we had, even excelling and offering additional service such as bringing a decanter when we ordered a wine that simply needs to be open for 15 minutes before you want to drink it. Staff at the restaurant was execptionally proficient when it came to wine, food and just being attentive enough without overdoing it. Compliments! I have to mention that we booked a Mythica room allowing us to dine in the à la carte restaurants every night (without Mythica, I believe you can only go to the main buffet restaurant, and that makes a difference). The room we got was a Mythica Deluxe room facing the Aegean, and the only one with no adjacent neighboring rooms - exactly what we were hoping for. Being one of the luxury rooms, it certainly had all it needed, a nice big walk-in shower, a very nice terrace and a balcony overlooking the sea. Just perfect. The food was excellent as well, not only the breakfast (which was great because there was an egg chef etc.). The hotel pool was nice too, but a tad too cold compared to the sea water temperature. There are multiple locations to settle down and enjoy the sun and the architects of the hotel made sure that even though the hotel is not exactly West / sunset-facing, there's enough sun wherever sunbeds are located. The beach bar and also the lobby bar invite to relax and are very nicely situated, providing nice views and generally being very enjoyable - again also because of the friendly staff of course.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    JUST PERFECT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort is located at a magnificant facing the sea area . Due to the restriction on children's addmission - public areas are quite as well as properly mainatained. Lovely, comfortable and clean rooms. .Perfect place for couples. Very kind service by a professional crew

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, superb staff, Elounda and A.N are where the “Greek” is at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel wasn’t very Greek....it was a very international/generic hotel which we appreciated in many areas but not so in the menus offered. We think they missed a trick as we could have been on any island, anywhere.

    The staff are great, nothing is too much trouble. The facilities are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, fabulous holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Junior Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was ok and probably good for strong swimmers, but I felt a bit uneasy

    We liked everything especially the friendliness of the staff. We had two massages and the girls were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.9
    Very good resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked whether I would like to change room on my last night as someone had booked to stay in my room.

    The all inclusive was very good. Facilities are good and good restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good Breakfast Buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom in the room is not separate. WC door cannot be closed. Door that is suppose to separate the sleeping area from the bathroom was not working properly.

    Very good Breakfast Buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Deeply relaxing and peaceful location, friendly locals , superb and efficient hotel reception servIc
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable and there was a kettle in the room so we could make our our own refreshments. A free bottle of wine and water were also included. Will return!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow Sea view with Sharing Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel. Stunning location. The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The hotel go the extra mile to make sure your stay is the best it can be.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Room and whole hotel was really beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was unfriendly. My friend booked me the room which is allowed through booking. They checked me like a thief in unpleasant way.....

    Room and whole hotel was really beautiful. It was very nice and relaxing time for us. We also enjoy really tasty breakfast. We can reccomend that hotel for romantic escape ;)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    The food in all restaurants was generally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Rooms are old, with ugly furniture and often dirty. Even though the common areas, such as the main restaurant or lobby lounge for example are well preserved, the entire structure is dated. We had to complain several times in order to get our room cleaned in a proper way. The all-inclusive plan is done without a logic and is extremely limiting for most things you would eat or drink. If I would ever go back to this hotel, I would never choose the all inclusive plan again. The service at the beach was extremely slow!

    The food in all restaurants was generally good. Staff was generally good as well: Zia at the beach bar has been amazing and extremely kind! The greek night at the Culinarium restaurant is really amazing as well. You could easily find a place at the beach during all day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    A true luxury hotel with a magnificent view of the Mirabello bay Elounda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some things for improvement: Easier access to the beach. For elderly and handicapped it is not recommended. Steep uphill climb after a swim. Room needs a magnifying mirror and a convenient plug to be able to use a hairdryer. A full-length mirror is needed in the bedroom area. Lighting is a bit poor. With the winds we experienced, clothes pegs would be useful to avoid swim suits flying away. Not enough hooks to hang towels. Access to the hotel by the only road parallel to the coast which serves several 4 and 5-star hotels is disgraceful. The road is too narrow for the constant traffic and not in good condition. It is extraordinary that planning permission was granted which didn’t take into account the access. The empty hulk of an enormous unfinished hotel next door is a big blot on the landscape.

    Arriving at Elounda Village early morning we were greeted by a very welcoming elegant hotel manager. He proposed that as our room was not yet available whilst waiting we have a buffet breakfast. Stepping into the reception area we immediately knew we were in for a treat! The design was splendid. The hotel complex is built on a hillside overlooking Mirabello bay. Nice lines, furnishings, choice of colours and materials, open views towards the sea through many windows, the list is long! Above all though the impeccable quality of service. Staff were very professional, spontaneously kind and smiling, ready to oblige, elegantly dressed and gracefully mannered. There were 270 staff for 480 guests! We admired the breakfast buffet presentation. The choice was very large, beautifully presented, very fresh, unfortunately too tempting to resist … After our very enjoyable degustation we were shown to our infinity bedroom suite by the manager. The feeling of tranquillity and quality was immediately felt as we stepped in. Room number 013! Comfort was assured by the good design and amenities. The hotel offered various restaurants and bars, all very well run. The grounds were very well looked after. Valet parking was offered. Small electric buggies assisted movement of guests and luggage. The small sandy well organised beach was well protected. For more adventurous swimming the diving platform was convenient. We enjoyed some great swims as the water there is very clear and an intense blue. Our stay was memorable and our impressions of this hotel very high.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Amazing stay at the deluxe bungalow with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Bungalow Private pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough public space at the pool, windy wether is a general problem at Elounda

    The sea view from our room- deep blue deluxe bungalow plus the relaxed vibe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food very expensive

    Quality of food very good. Staff helpful and would go out of their way to assist you. I would strongly recommend a rental car for the duration of your stay so you can easily get to Eluonda town/village 3 km away. Over 100 restaurants there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Bungalow Private pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fitness center is very small but has some basic equipment.

    All staff are friendly, very nice location, room with the swimming pool and amazing view is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.8
    blue sea deluxe room is worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Bungalow Private pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we find the staffs a little bit pretentious and impatient in dealing with issues we had during our stay. Food at the resort is quite expensive, about double the price we would pay at recommended restaurants in Elounda or Agios Nicholas.

    the view from our deep sea deluxe room was spectacular over the sea, mist and the island in the far distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location and Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location was just superb, breakfast was too good, and all the facilities were upto mark. everything in hotel was excelletnt , the view from room was like dream come true

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    6.3
    Just avoid the buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was awful - buffet's are never a good idea (except for breakfast which in this case was OK if you forgive the crap coffee) we were charged the equivalent of a high class restaurant for limp sweaty buffet food. The restaurant had all the atmosphere of a wet weekend in Blackpool.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Spa was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    .brakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small inside pool. not heated.no jakuzi inside. sauna under payment.no espreso machine in room.it not realy resort.it is very good 5 stars hotel.

    .brakfast.deck bed on beach.clean.stuff.very big and comfrtable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Overall, a lovely week at Elounda Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow Sea view with Sharing Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given that it's a 5 star resort with a lot of English guests, we thought they could have done with more English language channels than just CNN and BBC World (not that we want to stay in and watch TV all the time but we stayed when I was 20 weeks pregnant so a film in our room rather than sitting in a bar would have been a good option). Either better channels or a DVD player and the option to borrow. DVDs which other resorts have. And in-room dining would have been a nice option.

    Lovely hotel in a beautiful location. We don't normally stay in hotels this large but all the different terracing options and places to sit or sunbathe made it feel less crowded (although we went in October anyway so it was not completely full).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    2.5
    cretan pearl or how to have 5 stars in greece...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything this is definitely not 5 stars dirty noisy

    nothing...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent room and breakfast. Shame about resort facilities when hotel is packed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty swimming pool and crowded facilities as resort packed...just too small to accommodate the numbers of people

    Great breakfast Quiet bedroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were exemplary. Nothing was too much for them and they were always ready to assist

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I knew that it was an upmarket resort but it exceeded my expectations in quality and services.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    We will be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We enjoyed everything about our stay. The hotel was fabulous and the staff were very helpful. The setting was magnificent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed every aspect of the property!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Bungalow Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, attractive, welcoming, beautiful setting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A car is needed to visit Cretegood

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    We Loved the resort and relaxing around the beach. The speed boat trip was also awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beach and resort beautiful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing stay with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of the "local touch" in the hotel.

    The room was spacious and Amazing view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Truly a magical, beautiful, unforgettable place. Go the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow Sea view with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault the place.

    The entire 'Mythica' experience was out of this world!! From start to finish could not fault this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic will return soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach

    Staff, food and entertainment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Really place for relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deep Blue Deluxe Waterfront Junior Bungalow Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Really place for relax

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.2
    The room was ok but not like a normal suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service was dreadful. We weren't allowed to carry a cold drink outside but I was expected to carry a boiling pot of water through a crowded restaurant! And complaining is a waste of time!

    The room was ok but not like a normal suite

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    everything - staff, comfort, meals, service, facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no Wi-Fi in the rooms, only in public area

    everything - staff, comfort, meals, service, facilities, environment, no children, guests (visitors), rooms, views, entertainment

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, Great service, nice view, almost perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slow wi-fi-, but from the other side it might be better not to have it at all during vacation :)

    Excellent location, Great service, nice view, almost perfect place for staying

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    The staff, the location, the restaurant with the ocean view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, the location, the restaurant with the ocean view and great cuisine. From the get go at the reception whd top quality service. the fact the the hotel is adults only make the experience very peaceful and quiet. Highly recommended for romantic vacation

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    The breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lack of internet access in the rooms.

    The breakfast buffet. The bar below Mirabello. The diversity of the evenings at the bar especially the quiz night.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    We were upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent

    We were upgraded. Staff were excellent and the amenities superb. Great location and a truly beautiful gem of a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    10
    Great location, staff, service, view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, staff, service, view.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    7.1
    Loved the Greek night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work very well

    Loved the Greek night. We danced and danced.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Great place staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No iron. Bad wifi access in rooms.

    Great place staff and location.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: