Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aquila Porto Rethymno 5 stars

Sikelianou & Venizelou 52A’, Rethymno Town, 74100, Greece

#30 of 50 hotels in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too long list - staff very arrogant would not let us see the manager. We booked a superior room and they ried to give us a standard room, had to pay more for upgrade, although they did not charge this when we checked out, (one day early - could not stay the full 3 days) NOT a 5* hotel! They need to check the Galaxy Heraklion - that's what a 5 * hotel is supposed to be- No excuses about Greece being different - the hotel is a fraud!

    Truly - nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Seafront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had an unpleasant experience regarding the service of the breakfast , that was up to 09:00 am , instead of 09:30 ( although 09:30 is also very early for the W/E ) as it was written in the elevator . They advised us that thay had rescheduled the timing , due to an early morning program of a german group . We asked if we can have the breakfast in our room and their reply was that relative service was not available for low season period . It is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel , either to depend the time of the service on a group program or to offer lower services without giving clear notice of the status.

    Excellent location , very nice room well equipped , large with nice design public spaces . Unfortunately we didn't succeed to visit spa area , in order to have a full view of the services. The breakfast was quite good but not enough for 5 star level.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice hotel, very comfortable, nice sized room with a comfortable bed. Nice leasure areas around the hotel and very helpful staff. Good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For a 5-star Hotel the food is not good enough. Almost no greek food avalable! And not enough service people at breakfast and dinner - we had to wait a while, until the dirtiy dishes had been removed from a table.

    The Chief Waiter Theodoros was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointing design of room (room 336). Had stayed at this property 9 years ago, room was a lot more comfortable then. Although meanwhile renovated, the room extremely lacks of showing harmony & character. The whole property does not make one feel welcome. Everything resembles a 3*Hotel, not a 4* one. Bad value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Busy and very noisy traffic outside. If you want to keep open your window you must suffer the volume. Rooms need an upgrade. Style a little bit old fashioned and photos are misleading. Also, a hotel don't have a private parking area. It is good for old people or for those who are traveling without a car and just stays in the hotel all the time. But if you want to get know more about Crete and travel with a car it is a big problem to find a place around.

    Good location, 2 min. walk to the beach, friendly reception staff, good breakfast and dinner. Very comfortable and large beds, clean and light. Nice sea view and big balcony!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Showers over bath in standard rooms need modernising a little (Too Dark & Small)

    Excellent Breakfast, ALL staff very friendly & helpful, All areas perfectly clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No dedicated parking for cars. Public Parking slot available around the hotel but can be painfull to find parking slot during high season

    Great location to reach city center - front of the beach - view of the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The real downside is the lack of a real parking. You need to leave your car out in the street if you find a spot - but they have staff to go park your car. The opening times of the hotel restaurant are a bit weird, as in strictly northern European and not Cretan at all. Lunch from 12:30 to 14:00 and dinner from 19:30 to 21:30. Basically it closes exactly at the time the Cretan start their meals, which we thought was a bit weird. Anyways, the restaurant just outside is open at more reasonable timing, and the food is delicious! The pool is nice but crammed so the space around it is very limited and the lounge chairs are in the shade in the afternoon. They do have a second smaller pool on the other side that's fully exposed though!

    We had a standard double room with sea view. Not a huge room, but the view was great and the bed was extra comfy. The breakfast was incredible with a lot of options. We had a great discount the day we booked it so the value for money way pretty good. The staff was extremely nice! The onsite fitness room and spa were also great. You get a complimentary 15 mins massage that you can also use as a discount on longer massages (which is what we did).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Seafront Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe seafront rooms were elegant & very comfortable with a good sized balcony with table, chairs & very useful drying rack - worth paying extra for the Med view. Food good, especially the a la carte restaurant & the great choice breakfast. Staff so friendly, helpful & efficient - especially as to our shame we speak almost no Greek. The spa was lovely with excellent massages - Efi has magic hands. Really enjoyed exploring the Old town a short seafront walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing for the price.

    Loved the side-on sea view. Beautiful bathroom with a Great shower with loads of hot water. Lots of sun beds on the beach with umbrellas. Good breakfast with a machine to make fresh orange juice from oranges.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room turned out to be not a full sea view but overlooked buildings with a partial sea view. Reception was not willing to help in this matter which really offended us. We paid for a room with sea view but we're not given what we paid for.

    Location and staff willingness to help at all times.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Opening hours of the swimming pools too restrictive: with kids nap times, we could not actually use them in the afternoons. Facilities for kids: old and not maintained; no staff to take care of kids

    Amazing staff, spacious room, everything is very clean. The beach is just outside (you need to cross the road, but it's the same for all hotels in the town) and is super clean and just gorgeous. Very good buffet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs an upgrade. It was old and very small, not like a 5 star. It was clean, just old.

    Very good location, few steps to the beach , many restaurants and shops around, few minutes walk to the old town. SPA facilities and offers are very good. Very good restaurant. The room was big and clean with a lovely view. We will definitely come back to this hotel if we are in Crete again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty old carpets and rude attendance from reception to room maid

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big refurbishment needed

    Old and overrated property, ageing rooms, outlets look tired, and elevator makes scary sounds!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Seafront Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Accommodation and staff.Spectacular views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger swimming pool, slightly closer to town centre

    Very helpful and considerate staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Seafront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A surprise birthday cake was placed in our room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Inland View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel description on your website is very misleading. Nothing that looks like the hotel. The indoor pool is cold.

    Reception Staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great variety on the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Much confusion over trying to eat in the a la carte restaurant. My daughter just wanted a snack from one menu, but they would not serve me off the dinner menu and her a snack in the same room. Just crazy, so we found a great restaurant down the street.

    Everything here is great - first class from check in to check out! Close to Old Town shopping, and great restaurants. Took a bus one day to Chania for another fun day of shopping and eating!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was quite noisy

    The location with the beach just across the street was fantastic. Our balcony looked out at the beach also. Shops restaurant and the old harbour were all a very short walk.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ????

    The breakfast and the staff

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    showers, desk staff, didnt appreciate the massage scam

    not much. breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor soundproofing failed to keep out traffic noise from busy road.

    Short walk to town. Lovely private beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coming home

    Room,free Wi-Fi, food, staff, extras in the room nothing was to much trouble.views were wonderful,staff were so friendly and helpful.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: