Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aquila Rithymna Beach 5 stars

Adelianos Kampos, Adelianos Kampos, 74100, Greece

#10 of 24 hotels in Adelianos Kampos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 95 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.9
    Nice Beach hotel without adults only space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms too small for a beach hotel. Needs to be renewed, mainly the rooms and the bathrooms ( still a curtain in the shower). Adult only space would be recommended due to the high amount of children. If you look for relax, remember you will have children running all around. Internal gardens very nice and big, but could be used better.

    Nice location very close to the beach. Breakfast buffet very good. Very professional service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    stay was nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The resort has tried to hard to be a 5 stars resort. Some of the house rules perhaps not practicable ie men had to wear long trousers in any of the restaurants. We are also surprised to find that many of the restaurants are empty during evening, only the main restaurant are occupied. This resort is marketed as a family resort, perhaps more to be invested into children friendly activities within the resort. The current activities for children are limited, not practicable, outdoor based. I would suggest utilise some of the rooms in the main floor for children friendly activities so parents are not required to leave young children to strangers to take care of. Most of us parents are not comfortable to leave very young children to carers.

    The staffs at the hotels are friendly enough. But i did note that bar staffs were abrasive - perhaps under staffed. The swimming pools were very basic, we have expected more from a 5 stars resort . The food in the main restaurant was good,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    the bungalow we stayed was great, with the sea right in your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bungalow we stayed was great, with the sea right in your feet. Thw stuff was very professional and thw cuisine was very good. We will definitely visit again :) :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Has everything in one location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities and daily program are fantastic ! The breakfast buffet is vast and has lots of options to choose. The Tavern provides theme nights and live entertainment ! Overall very pleased with this choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and relaxing and would certainly return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom was fairly basic compared with other facilities within the hotel. Shower was over the bath and there was no shaving/make-up mirror. Additionally on two occasions there were ants on the spare bed in our room.

    Excellent staff and facilities. Various venues in the evening, to suit all tastes. Extremely good variety and quality of food and drink available on the AI option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff did their best to make the stay pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little outdated. Cleaning staff have a policy of placing the shoes in the shoe section which we found really hard to find as it is under the safe. Hence, we left the hotel without 3 pairs of shoes. However, the hotel staff did a great job of sending us the lost items. The matter was handled in a helpful and professional manner. Thank you!

    Staff did their best to make the stay pleasant. The facilities and the beach were also quite nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough electric sockets in the room. Needed to use the kettle so had to unplug the fridge. Only one other socket behind the T.V.

    Beautiful view and lovely room decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing and treated like a king
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Bungalow Suite Water front
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beach itself isn't that great, it's not very child friendly. Although, that's not entirely the fault of the hotel. As an alternative, the swimming pool is big and children will not get bored soon there. I personally wasn't impressed by the area outside of the hotel, it contained an ok boulevard, but that's about it. Again, the hotel has everything you need, so not really a big problem if you are planning to stay for around a week.

    When you book a suite you are treated ridiculously good. The attention to detail on a lot of things is very good and most facilities have a good lay-out and are easy to find. The hotel grounds are big, which makes you feel like you don't really have to leave. The all inclusive facilities are complete and there's plenty of choice throughout the day. The food wasn't amazing, but good enough. I liked the themed nights a lot, especially with live music and dancing: something you shouldn't miss! Our bungalow had a garden with direct access to the beach, which made the whole experience so much better... I'm not sure if we would've liked it as much if we would've booked any other room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Good for a short stay out of season
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Bungalow Suite Water front
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a more expensive garden bungalow with direct access to beach. On plan on site indicated a private deck and garden attached to the room. Not the case. Each room had a small patio with table and chairs which then opened up to a communal grassy area with some lounge chairs. Also these rooms were described to us as ‘traditional Cretean’ by the person showing us the room. What that meant was “in need of modernization”. Actual room was comfy and clean but bathroom needs updating. Couldn’t take a shower without flooding the whole floor. Small window needed a new/smaller mesh insect screen, since the bugs came in every evening if we left it open with the light on. My other negative were the massage facilities. Massages were basically given in outside tents - probably great in the summer, but in April I found it unpleasantly cold.

    Staff were wonderful. Buffet food was great and they kindly ‘comped’ our daughter the night we ate there. Other dining options also looked good, but in the evening it was all rather pricey. Most people seemed to be on a half board deal which probably made it less expensive. Proximity to Rethynon was good. Pool facilities were good although being April we didn’t get to go in (though a few hardy souls did!). Great store on site selling beachwear, snacks, souvenirs, ice cream etc. Kids club also seemed like a great deal with free food, drinks and ice cream available to all the children.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect and better than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The strip of road near the hotel isn't very pleasant, but there is a very good restaurant just 100m away, and a very nice bakery a few minutes walk away.

    Everything was perfect and better than expected. The staff were very friendly, the grounds were extensive and very-well maintained, and the kids club area was huge and full of activities, with separate areas for babies and older children. The breakfast buffet was enormous with lots of variety and different local specialties to try each day. And even though we went in April, we could still swim a bit because the indoor pool is heated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool is a bit dated and small with no changing facilities. I guess in the summer most people would stay outside where the pools are much nicer, but the water was really too cold at Easter.

    Excellent food, very well worth taking the all inclusive rate!Large complex with lots of gardens and by the beach with sun beds. We were there over Easter and it was quiet enough, sunny and breazy, lovely and calm, very relaxing for parents and children. We had a great family room with a separate children space, living room area and a garden, very comfortable. All staff are extremely kind and helpful, especially in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel a perfect family destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything is perfect about the Hotel. The hotel is on the beach, where all the water sports are available. The hotel has 4 swimming pools and all are excellent. The hotel is very spacious, clean and nicely located. The support staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a lot of in-house games and competitions to entertain entire family. The rooms provide very nice beach view. Overall it's a perfect hotel for entire family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful experience, will visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Complimentary white wine was not good, wifi connection was poor - Aquila should switch to google wifi. Special mention to Balsam shampoo that irritated my eyes, not sure if it was me or the shampoo. But a good idea for travellers to carry their own shampoo!

    Breakfast, greek night theme dinner at restaurant, all swimming pools including the indoor one, spa and salon, beach and related activities were all excellent. Reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff were super polite, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic staff and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly disappointed that the indoor pool was not heated and I would have liked a hot tub.

    Excellent Staff who seem to genuinely care about your stay, even the gardener went out of his way to say hello. Stelios the Captain in the restaurant was a standout. Very clean with great facilities with a private beach and indoor and outdoor pools. Great wifi connection. Fantastic breakfast with lots and lots of choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    5.0
    Nice and quiet hotel, very nice view, good food
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, 10 kilometers from Downtown

    Nice and quiet hotel, very nice view, good food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Location of bungalows
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Bungalow Suite Water front
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks overpriced. Not the nicest beach

    Location of bungalows

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff, the food was fabulous and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff, the food was fabulous and the resort all around very comfortable and enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The room 119 is above the bar and the bar terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room 119 is above the bar and the bar terrace! It is noisy!!! Avoid this room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    What's not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent facilities lots of choice for swimming pools and right on its own beach. Staff were helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.7
    good for children, but choose only mythica rooms (all incl)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Bungalow Suite Water front
    • Stayed 8 nights

    not enough sun-beds for everyone, swimming on the beach is not supervised

    a la carte restaurant is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    4* hotel with 5* prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    4* hotel with 5* prices

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely grounds, great breakfast, animation staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    children not allowed to play in pools.

    Lovely grounds, great breakfast, animation staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Overwhelming choice of food at breakfast and dinner, lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I can criticise is the smell of drains in the bathroom and shower, which was fairly unpleasant, and smelled unsanitary. Needs to be investigated I think, and limited channels on tv, mainly news channels in different languages. Otherwise everything okay.

    Overwhelming choice of food at breakfast and dinner, lots of activities for every age group, good nightly entertainment, comfortable room. Hotel provided everthing you could wish for to make the holiday a great experience. Staff were very caring and friendly, always smiling and helpful, with a really positive attitude towards guests. Could not really fault it.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.2
    Really good breakfast with fresh orange juice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We would prefer they heated the water in the swimming pool.

    Really good breakfast with fresh orange juice Nice rooms with beautiful sea view. Swilmming pools are terrific

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    9.6
    Mentioned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rithymna Beach has a challenge; the WIFI is not working as it should. Told people there, talked with a technician, who asked me to change my resettings. No I said, why should I change something working without problems from a/the same 4G iTab, in Washington DC, London, Milan, Copenhagen hotels. The connection at Aquila is unstable (and works slowly even in the reception are): thus I am told there is no connection, at the same time:you are connected to the ARB hotel WIFI. Neither did my App for email work, not for sending email, and not for sending answers/returns. It gave me no satisfaction to tell them, that in Rethymnon, by random sample, I found in the down-town area a pizzeria, a fish restaurant, and a net corner where it all with my permanent settings all worked perfectly.

    Mentioned above. The breakfast is always a very good start of the day. We look forward to coming back.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    7.5
    Very clean and Beautiful beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water was stopped without any notice while I was shower with bubbles...:(...in the afternoon! But too far from Heralion port. It costs almost usd100 to seaport and airport, no shuttle bus available!

    Very clean and Beautiful beach! professional staff there offer very kind help!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    6.7
    The staff and the beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The issues with Wi-Fi Having paid more than 200 euros per night for bed and breakfast you would expect to at least have access to wifi. We asked on 3 separate occasions to speak to general manager and were declined this opportunity.

    The staff and the beach location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Facilities in the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All is good... but pools need to well served. There was only one person to serve large pool

    Facilities in the hotel Staff in play room for the Kids Location

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location about 6 km from Rethymno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't stay here if you are a young coupe without children. Very small rooms.

    Excellent location about 6 km from Rethymno. Very good beach. Great food.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Staff was extremely helpful and provided great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Indoor pool was heated, but still not very warm. Buffet dinner was overpriced (35 Euros) for the level of quality.

    Staff was extremely helpful and provided great recommendations on outside restaurants and other activities. Breakfast had great variety of items. Property was very well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, great service, excellent breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, great service, excellent breakfast & fine dining

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Location , Service amazing everywhere, especially lobby bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location , Service amazing everywhere, especially lobby bar with Afroditi, and Clio and the bar supervisor.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Bathroom is dated and there is limited storage space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom is dated and there is limited storage space

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic resort, beautiful pools, so relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic resort, beautiful pools, so relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel if you just want to chill out and have some luxury

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.2
    Excellent swimming pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent swimming pools. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great good choice of good food. Clean and spacious throughout.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.3
    Off season so no alternative but to use the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Off season so no alternative but to use the hotel. The catering was mediocre and expensive if not included

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    Location just 3k from the venue of a family party
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had one evening meal only. It was disappointing and not good value

    Location just 3k from the venue of a family party

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: