Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Archontiko Maisonettes 4 stars

Katastari, Alykes, 29090, Greece

#12 of 16 hotels in Alykes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 27 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is perfect if you really want to relax. Dimitris and Mary were perfect hosts and made our stay very comfortable. The pool and views were spectacular. The accommodation was very spacious. We felt the kitchen wasn't equipped with enough to cook proper meals, however i'm sure Dimitris and Mary would be happy to lend a few extra bits if requested. Alykes is a 25 minute walk away down the hill. The restaurant Tradition was delicious and authentic, we ate there twice. Make sure you say hello to Jess from Liverpool. Dimitris helped us to hire a car which was brought to the maisonettes making it so easy. It was very affordable and we would recommend it to explore other parts of the island. Our favourites include Port Limnionas and Makris Gialos beach. With the car you can also try some restaurants overlooking the ocean such as Taverna Xigia (highly recommended!) and Niko's, both of which have outstanding views. There are also shops within walking distance which was very handy for basics, fruit, breakfast things and bottled water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower hose was broken, unable to take a shower without wetting the entire bathroom. Did not bring us new towels the next day.... and since we used our towels to dry the bathroom, this was gross. 1 ac unit upstairs, lower floor was very hot. It was very hard to get taxis to pick us up and drop us off. No one seemed to want to drive up the mountains

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very friendly stuff, everything clean and confortable. Beautifull view, green, calm and clear yard. Also enough space for parking, situated in quiet region. Everything perfect, thank you! Strongly recommend :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the airconditioning is not working downstairs, this was the bedroom for the children. The bathroom is very small.

    beautiful garden, property and view. Nice people. You are outside the busy places, but you can find them easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are furnished with cheap and uncomfortable pieces of furniture. The daily cleaning (if it's provided) is very basic and insufficient, spider webs in every corner, the shower curtain does not get to the floor (so that bathroom is floaded at every showering), no TV or stereo are provided.

    Best location in Zakyntos, old Greek style house with beautuful view over the valley and the Ionian sea, quite relaxing swimming pool surrounded by olive trees well equipped bar where you can order cold beer and amazing souvlaki.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect for us but some may be put off by the steep walk back from the main resort. Our host (Dimitri) picked us up in the evenings if we wanted so that was a great help. Unusually, there are not many taxis in the resort.

    Traditional Greek property in a quiet village location. Tremendous views over the resort and the bay. Lovely family looked after us and made sure we had a great time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A fantastic welcome from Mary and Dimitri. The setting of the maissonettes is beautiful and has amazing views as it is set on the hillside. Such a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. Authentic and homely Greek style buildings. Lovely home cooked food and also plenty of restaurants to visit and a 10 minute walk to the beach downhill. Plenty of quads buggys and little cars available to rent would recommend to do this and explore the island a little.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is not powerful and doesn't come to the rooms No TV (maybe is it in fact a nice thing) A dusty place especially in summer as it's very windy at the fall of the night The beds are very hard. Better love this kind of sleeping. Be careful, often in the morning, the water is not very hot (but do we need it in summer?) The hotel is a high, so the view is beautiful, but coming back walking is sporty. So you'll need to rent a car. They are not very expensive in the city. Be aware that the mosquitoes there, are much like crocodiles! When they bite, you'll feel it hard. So bring with you some good stuff. The kitchen is enough equipped for a quick stand. Nevertheless, bring your own coffee machine (or Italian cafetiere). You can buy nice stuff to cook and eat not far from the hotel.

    Very nice staff. They're very friendly and ready to help, even taking you by car to the city. Nice guys and helpful. Beautiful view. Especially at the evening. And the air is fresh. Very welcome given that the summer is extra warm. A nice swimming pool. If you want some freshness without going to the sea. Very fresh in the morning. Warm as a bath on the afternoon. A nice apartment with good volume. A kitchen, a dining room, and a bedroom The restaurant is much nicer than it appears !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we were there the owner let herself into our apartment late at night unannounced. We were upstairs when the lights were turned off. We called out and the owner answered that she was responding to us calling to say we were locked out of our room. We found this explanation very strange. * the cold water tap fell onto my partners toe * the rod holding the shower curtain fell and hit me in the head * there was nowhere to prepare food, and the kitchenware was very incomplete * asked by owner to open all doors while cooking, as no exhaust fan. * sounds funny but toilet was very hard to flush-it hurts your finger * definately had potential, but has been neglected too long

    As we were up on top of the hill we had a really nice view from the pool area. The rooms size was very good for price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only thing are the beds. The mattresses are too hard and so it's a bit difficult to sleep comfortably and when improved would definitely make Archonticko one of the best place for vacation in Greece!

    We loved the place and will definitely come back. The family's hospitality was warm and welcoming. the place is so beautiful that we didn't feel like going out much. The small tavern has everything a family could ask for. The location is perfect and the view is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have unfortunately just finished our stay here :-( We have loved every minute, and have actually found it difficult to tear ourselves away from Mary and Dimitris's hospitality to go out and see anything else!..Mary's cooking and Dimitris's milkshakes are addictive!...If you are looking for a traditional Greek atmosphere with wonderful facilities and hospitality - don't bother looking anywhere else. Stay here and you won't regret it :-)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cleaning service was very poor.

    Very nice people, always halpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette (for 2 people)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities, value for money, lack of cleaning, dirt and wasps in the pool

    Mary the host

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi when it was advertised. Said it had gone out. Second story bedroom, first story bathroom. Narrow spiral staircase. Can't get suitcases to the bedroom. Rooms needed to be aired out.not

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I loved everything about this place. The setting is just stunning. The place is so beautiful. My family fell in love with it and our children adored it. But the best thing about it is the people. They are so caring and so friendly, it made our holiday. We are going back next year. Booked up!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The overall experience was relaxing. After a few days you became like a family member of the host and not a guest. Safe, secure, value for money, nothing to dislike

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16

Guests also reviewed these properties: