Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Areos

Boumpoulinas 19, Athens, 10682, Greece

Review score

Based on 984 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room wasnt great. It may seem a bit unsafe but once you go around the city, you see that Athens is a bit rundown so it is quite normal. There is graffiti everywhere and it is a bit unkept. Therefore it is quite safe.

    The location is ok. Its a short distance to the metro station and then it is easy access to all the sites. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioner worked very well. The size of the room was quite good. The hotel provided slippers and toothbrushes. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel for sure!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room wasnt great. The area seems a bit unsafe but once you visit the rest of Athens, you can see that most of the city looks like that. You shouldnt feel unsafe! Athens is a bit unkept and there is lots of graffitti everywhere.

    The location is ok. Its close to the metro station so once you get there all the sites are easily accesible. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. They gave toothbrushes and slippers for the room. The staff was very friendly. The air conditioner worked really well. The room was quite big for Athens. Breakfast was great and it was quite filling. I would recommend this hotel for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice for a night or two!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about.

    Excellent choice for a night or two in Athens! The bedroom was comfortable and clean. Spacious bathroom, modern and also very clean. Breakfast was great! Located at the city center, but a little bit far from the main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Good but location not ideal for tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it hard to find. Coming from the Metro at night on foot was a little unsettling, 1 or 2 very distressed characters, people we asked directions from didn't know the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A great find at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unappealing view from rear rooms. Locaction a little rough around the edges.

    Great level of service, excellent facilities and all round professionalism from the personnel. Wonderful value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel Aeros - good quality for the prices ! Happy to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Deluxe rooms are quite big with a large balcony. The personal -reception and service is always very helpfull and friendly. Breakfast is good . Aeros is a good deal quality for price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was very nice.

    unfortunately we only stayed one night. All the employees wete very nice and helpfull. Our room was very nice, very comfortable. And we even had a terrace (that we used just a little bit). The breakfast was great. The place is well located even though at night ee were advised not to wonder to some roads near.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes quite noisy in the street outside at night

    Room was clean and comfortable. Good range of foods for breakfast. 5min walk from metro and some lovely restaurants in the area. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and chatty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and chatty. They recommended several excellent restaurants nearby and provided information about sights, transport etc. We were given a room upgrade during this second stay but our room during our first stay was also excellent and good value for money. We were able to spend a comfortable afternoon in the lobby area while waiting for a late flight. Would highly recommend. Good value in Athens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is barely a two star property and not a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are located directly above a busy street and are very noisy. The third bed ( in triple) room was supposed to be an extra bed suitable for an adult - it was barely ok for a 8 year old child. The rooms are not sound proofed , can hear neighbours in corridor and elevator opening closing etc.

    The breakfast were good. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything about staying at the Areos was great for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about staying at the Areos was great for us. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, the buffet breakfasts were good (fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juice, cheeses, meats, eggs, pastries, etc) and the facilities were good. The main benefit, though, is that the staff were amazing - so helpful and friendly in every respect, from answering questions beforehand to advising on places to eat. The hotel is only about a 20 minute walk from the main tourist sites, so mostly we walked everywhere (it all felt very safe, even at night), although the metro is close by and we did take a taxi to the Acropolis on the day we were doing a walking tour (5 euros). All in all, we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for our first time in Athens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel with a good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room was a bit too small. The area of the city where the hotel is located in is not one of safest. The price for coffee at the bar of the hotel is unclear, as I have been charged 2€ once and 2,50€ another time, which is anyways super expensive for Athens cost of living (in a standard street bar you would pay 1,10€ for a coffee).

    Modern and clean facilities. Balcony in the room. Good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Upmarket facilities and ambience at very reasonable prices - a really good base for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To shower it was necessary to crouch in the bath which was a bit awkward but the bathroom and other facilities were otherwise excellent.

    The hotel was very comfortable and staff were helpful. Good breakfast. It was surprisingly central. I had heard concerns about the area and it is near a bus station where there are some issues but the area is otherwise excellent and it is easy to get around Athens from there. We were in a room with a terrace with a fabulous view over the area and Lykabettis Hill. All of my group enjoyed their stay and found Areos an excellent base.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was good. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful. The accommodation is not that close to the city centre, but it's near a metro station and the neighbourhood it's safe. The place is very nice to stay. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    I recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a deluxe double room, with huge terrace and bathroom. The room is very nice, clean. The hotel is very close to the boulevard, without the feeling of being stuck between the streets. Although, during the night, the area doesn't feel quite safe... At least it's easy to access the metro and you can also go by foot to the city center (if you're not tired)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    A relaxing and worry-free stay at an affordable but high-standard hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was room for improvement with the buffet breakfast, such as fresh juice and better coffee, more in line with the quality that they served at the hotel's bar.

    The hotel was extremely clean and the cleaning staff were very attentive to our needs. The bed was very comfortable and the shower very spacious (although it could have done with quicker drainage).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean, comfortable, near Archaeological Museum and Exarchia night life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only flaw is position of toilet bowl. I wonder what idea stands behind mounting in direction which make nearly inaccessible in quite spacious bathroom. 😜

    Personnel is simply great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, comfortable rooms. Great base camp to explore Athens from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Areos was comfortable and good value. Commend the staff for solving an air condition problem upon check in fast and efficiently. Though not in the center of tourist and historical sights it was easy to get to these places. Also, since it is located right next to the archeological museum, we where able to visit on our final morning (love a Bonus museum!). And, based on recommendations on where to eat dinner from the gentlemen at the desk, we ate like locals and had some of our best meals while in Greece.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel near the city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was good, but more choices would be nice

    Large room with modern furniture and bathroom, I especially appreciated the small details (single use toothbrush and a small room kitchen).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You could easily hear street noise outside, the local neighborhood in some parts was a little sketchy but this isn’t the hotel’s fault!

    Nice big modern room with a balcony. Super friendly hotel staff especially the receptionist who even gave us tips for Santorini. They even kindly gave us a late check out which was very helpful. Ideal for a one night stay in Athens!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Great
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful staff nothing was a problem. Can’t wait to stay again ina couple of nights. Would definitely recommend. Great breakfast. But staff were amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Very helpful staff in a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very hot in the room and we could not get the air con to work! Also very noisy as so close to the street.

    Very helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Nice room overall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Definitely take the deluxe room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the small double room was terribly dark, with one fairly small window and thick curtains, in the morning even on a sunny day it seemed like grey november outside. Also the level of noise. Also the repeatedness of the breakfasts.

    Very pleasant service, good quality bed and shower facilities. Good price/quality. Excellent view from the DELUXE room balcony. It's so much worth it taking the DELUXE room (the small double is really small and dark)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    A clean place, comfortable enough to make you want to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general the reception was fine. But one of the staff didn't seem to care as much as others.

    The room was comfortable. I was upgraded to a double room which was rather nice. Clean sheets, clean bathroom. Harry the at the reception was exceptionally good. he went the extra mile for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem just a short cab ride from the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were FANTASTIC. They went above and beyond to help us have a great stay. They made inquiries with tour companies, recommended great restaurants, and completely replaced the AC unit when it wasn't working properly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Bed was super comfortable, breakfast was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not perfect if you don't take metro, it's 20-25 minutes walk to the city centre(ermou street, sytagma )

    Bed was super comfortable, breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent highly recommend the hotel and the staff were respectful courteous and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road outside as was directly onto the road with hotel sign running down the side of the building lighting the room even when curtains closed

    The size cleanliness and large shower

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.8
    Ok-ish hotel, details often skipped over.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacking air conditioner controller, the fridge generated an unwelcome level of heat making it uncomfortable when waking up in the morning. Bath jacuzzi not functioning plus shower could not be used handsfree as well as lacking a shower screen which resulted in pools of water being sprayed about which had to be mopped up each time - safety hazard as it was far too easy to slip walking on the tiles. Small TV that didn't fully function despite retuning channels. Staff didn't appear to be all that concerned when reporting the issues choosing to answer the phone whilst talking to them, frankly, opting to avoid dealing with the complaint.

    Useful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Superb esp the staff!!!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear a bit of noise from outside road and no view but doesnt matter as we are only there to sleep.

    I like the room as it is modern, clean and comfy. Breakfast was great! Staff were all friendly and accommodating!!! Location was great as it is near to metro and hop on hop off bus stop(only few minutes walk!!!)!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Good quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, room was fine with fully equipped bathroom. Very clean! The location is good, walking distance to Acropolis and other interesting spots in Athens. Staff was friendly. In general, I would book it again if visiting Athens.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very friendly and warm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very warm, even the heater was off. I had to keep the window open time to time. The bath tub had no curtain! So when showering, whole bathroom got wet. There was no minibar. The hotel bar had just 3 types of snacks. The TV channels were very limited.

    Staff were very friendly and warm. Room and bed size was excellent and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was a little bit noisy. I think it was so because it was the period of new year's celebration. But the traffic in Athena never stops and is very noisy. So, worth it to pay a little bit more for a room on an upper floor.

    There is tea and coffee in the room, water and a small bottle of wine. The breakfast is ok and the staff is nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Our traveling was interesting. Thanks to areos staff also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was almost perfect but in our room was a little bit hot. the weather was sweet so we had to open the balcony door despite children(

    Our traveling was interesting. The staff were helpful and smiley) they gave us an advise about local restaurant which became our favorite ))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    The taxi which the hotel book for me is REALLY REALLY BAD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The taxi which the hotel book for me is REALLY REALLY BAD. The diver charged me much more than the deal the hotel told me before, and refused explanation or showed the prove, which ruined all the good impression about Athen at the beginning :( I have to reduce some point from the hotel because of that also. Otherwise is a very nice experience to stay there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    We are a retired couple and would have preferred a different type of location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location made us nervous and there was a poor selection of restaurants

    Staff were excellent, helpful and polite with a good workable knowledge of english

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not in a great area it’s a half hour walk to to centre through quite rough streets

    WiFi was good nice clean room friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel, very clean, friendly staff, overall very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, thank you Frank and Harris. Hotel is very clean, very much appreciated the balcony. Breakfast was good, with a good variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't shower the large spa bath as no fixture for the shower hose

    Friendly staff. Clean and modern decor. Very nice breakfast. Betty enjoyable stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance from the subway isn't far but the neighborhood, particularily in the evening, doesn't seem welcoming.

    Excellent standard considering the payed price. Very, very clean, equipped with all the needed facilities (cosmetics, dental and sewing kit, slippers), towels changed daily. Wifi and air-condition working well, good breakfast. Double small room is large enough for a comfortable stay for two persons.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel in a less good neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room at the first floor was very noisy as the street is trafficked all the time. You need to pay attention when you're around at night, it's a dangerous neighborhood and we didn't feel safe (as soon as we arrived people tried to robber us).

    Comfortable bed, big room well equipped, kind staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and warm, just like the Greeks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it may be a cultural thing or something, but no shower curtain = wet bathroom...

    The staff were very helpful here, we really appreciated them taking the time to help us figure out the bus schedule to our next destination, and their advice on sights and such as well. The balcony with a view of the Acropolis was fabulous, and the rooms were big as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.5
    Two days in Athens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was very bad. Occasionally, the AC dripped water on the bed.

    Very helpful and professional reception staff. Near Victoria Train Station. Atitamos, a nearby restaurant, was awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Decent price, okay location, good service, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was rated as fantastic on booking.com but I did not think it was great as it was a 18-25min walk to the main city area. The breakfast was also not great for vegetarians and if you get there early half the stuff isn't even set up which isn't great.

    The staff was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Good couple of nights in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is so-so. Some fresh fruit and better coffee could help.

    Quiet surroundings, pretty good bed and shower. Good location, we had a room with a great big terra overlooking Lykavitos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff were very friendly and answered e-mails about getting...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were very friendly and answered e-mails about getting there before I arrived. They were also good at helping me get around once there. Breakfast ok. Room comfortable and cleaned very well daily. Area is about 30 minutes walk from centre but also very near metro. Local area is 'alternative'. Some minor warnings about safety of the area in my guidebook (pickpockets) but I felt pretty safe and had no problems.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.1
    Overall a decent hotel for the buck. I could not rate the breakfast since we weren't allowed any.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception (the hotel owner) did not make any exception regarding breakfast. We had to leave for the ferry around 6:30 am and breakfast starts at 7:00 am. Not even for a glass of orange juice or small croissont. We did not feel welcome at that point.

    Centrally located. Only stopped by for an overnight stay en route to Santorini. Rooms are large enough and loved the rain shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff, clean rooms, and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area is a bit run down and at night still use caution when travelling around Athens.

    I'm got there pretty late and the area looked a bit run down; the hotel however is very nice.The staff is very friendly. Good wifi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    fine place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a lovely room with an enormous terrace which provided an almost 360 degree vrij of Athens. Breakfast was fine and the location very handy, close to all manner of public transport, at the edge of Exarchia neighbourhood, home base for protest rallies and at the same time very friendly area with great restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, the right price and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We miscalculated the location and, at first, wished we had stayed closer. The hotel is more in the business area so we were a little worried. But using the subway/metro system was easy - the Acropolis is only 2 stops away so traveling around was not a problem after the initial impression.

    The room was spacious and the bathroom was incredible. The price was great - we were on the "penthouse" and had the whole floor. It had a great balcony. The breakfast was perfect and the coffee was very good as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff specially Frank was super helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff specially Frank was super helpful and friendly. I felt like he s my Greek friend from the get go and answered to all of my countless questions with a lot of patience... The room and breakfast was also very decent comparing to even better room rate specially during crazy high season in Athens. Totally recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Great price, staff, and nice, clean rooms for our one-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a little surprised to see that there was not a safe in the room to keep our valuables. Also the neighborhood wasn't the best, but we did get there at night and it was pretty deserted. However, there was a very cute strip of trendy and lively restaurants about a 10 min walk away.

    We only stayed one night at the hotel. It was easy to fine and the staff was very friendly and attentive. The room was clean and modern--the a/c was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, clean and very comfy hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room small but they generally are in Athens! Balcony could do with a small table and chair

    Bed very comfortable. Staff on reception excellent, sorted out a rogue taxi driver and got me a receipt and 7 euro refund 2 days after the event! Nice bar sensibly priced. Good for metro, also some nice bars around but be wary late at night...fantastic shower too!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Almost perfect B&B hotel in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no curtain in bathroom so all water splashed on the floor and it was very slippery. I assume that hotel have to think about curtain or about floor mat because it's not safe. We didn't have so much time to watch TV but it was too small and quite old for a room with a 100 Euro per night rate. TV is not much important question but we didn't have possibility to use our portable drive to watch movies.

    Our 3 days stay at Areos hotel was perfect. We booked Deluxe Double Room and it was quite spacious with big bathroom and balcony with a good view on Lycabettus Mount. There is 2 elevators in hotel. Staff was very friendly and helped us much regarding information about nearest transport options and places to see in Athens. There are quite a lot of markets and catering places nearby. There is Victoria metro station 5 minutes walking from hotel so you can get to the Acropolis just in 15-20 minutes. As well as bus station and other transportation methods. Street around the hotel was quite and we didn't hear anything from outside with a closed balcony door. Streets around are safe and we didn't face with any trouble even walking at 10-11 p.m. Areos hotel became an excellent addition to our 3 days stay in lovely city of Athens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid for a triple because no other rooms were available when I made the reservation but we were initially assigned to a double with only one bed. They did move us when we asked for the larger room we had paid for. I love the neighborhood but it's probably not for everyone -- in the US we would assume it is a high crime area because of how it looks but it is not high crime. The decor in the rooms is a little dark for my taste but they were clean and comfortable.

    Areos is a nice hotel in Exarchia, which is an interesting neighborhood full of intellectuals, anarchists and graffiti. It is easy walking distance to cafes or shops but the feeling is residential (excellent bakery and wine shop about two blocks away). There is a nice bar and coffee house in the hotel. Breakfast was good with fresh vegetables, cheeses, homemade yogurt and fruits in addition to the usual array of Greek breads.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect hotel, bad location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although hotel looks close to city center, the streets leading to city center dont look safe enough to walk through. There was even a chase between police and rebels. The taxi driver refused to enter the streets:) so if you consider that you can walk the city center, think twice. But as soon as you reach the hotel, everything is perfect :)

    Personnel and cleanliness of the hotel is perfect. Breakfast is more than enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff and very nice big room. And the terrace off our room with loungers was very nice too! It's right next to the Archeological Museum, so convenient for that aspect of tourism. A fairly short subway ride to the other attractions of Athens. I would recommend that if you travel to or from the hotel at night to either take a cab or only get off at the Victoria station--I'd avoid Omonia station as it's in a bit of a rough neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff was especially helpful and the room was large, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was especially helpful and the room was large, and comfortable. The location was good for me, near a metro station, so convenient for everywhere in central Athens, and a few blocks from the wonderful national archeological museum.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    very good personal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    7 for breakfast; even the food was fresh, there was no variety on the menu; every single day same dishes. 7 for the room - it had a small balcony, but there were some problems on bathroom; on shower time the bathroom was full of water because there was no separation for shower; 6 for the area; the park near hotel is not vary safe to visit because of migrants;

    +10 for the personal. The entire team was very patient, helpful, smiling, no matter the guests or hour. 10 for cleaning

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Areos is not good --> it's GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is about 15 minutes walk from the Acropolis area. The surrounding area is a little rough, but we felt safe at all times due to a good police presence.

    The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Our room was very nice with a very comfortable bed and an awesome patio. The breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was super helpful and nice. The room had an amazing view and sun beds, huge space on balcony. The breakfast was delicious. We loved our stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    All staff very polite and collaborative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located in a troubled area because of the students riots near the Potitechnique Institute/University

    All staff very polite and collaborative. Recentely refurnished in a modern/design style

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    It was a lovely hotel and even though reviews were good it exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was terrific. Staff super helpful and courteous . The room was small, but a generous bathroom with bath and a very large balcony. Breakfast in the morning was fresh, good variety and plentiful. In all, this was a "find".

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel but make sure to get a quiet room away from road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice and comfortable but the road noise from outside was deafening - constant sound of scooters, cars and trucks driving by all night. Perhaps we were just in a bad room, but I got a poor night's sleep.

    Staff were friendly, rooms were clean, bathroom was nice, & hotel was quite close to Victoria station which is a direct route to Piraeus, where we went to catch a ferry the next morning. Also, we found restaurants outside Victoria station to be cheaper than in the more touristy areas such as Monastiraki.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Incredibly helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    A decently located hotel, 100 meters from the National Archaeological Museum. Nice clean, well-equipped Rooms. Outstandingly friendly staff. Vanessa couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. Harry, on the front desk, was beyond amazing - his advice was incredibly helpful. The staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, and to provide helpful assistance regarding sights, restaurants and ongoing travel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only negative: the bright emergency exit light above the door of our room. I can't bear light during my sleep, so I woke up a couple of times.

    The hotel is in a nice location, close to the many good restaurants and bars of the alternative area of Exarcheia. The room was great, spacious and beautiful. We had a very big terrasse all for ourselves, with a pleasant view. The bed was comfortable and there were two different pillows to choose from. Lovely bathroom, big and with a window. The staff was extremely kind and helpful and gave us good tips on things to do in the surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Our second home
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Its increasing popularity means that we can't always find a room here

    We stay here everytime we visit Athens. The staff are always friendly and treat us like one of the family. Nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    A simple beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a nice family owned hotel with good chic decor. The facilities are kept in good condition - it looks as good as the pictures. The location is good - in the heart of the city so moving around Athens is easy. The staff at the hotel are very warm and helpful from the receptionist to the waiters to the bar man. The staff will give you many tips on Greece (Athens).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Helpful staff, clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is disappointing in choice and food is laid out in a tiny corner: it’s a bit sad. Also, the breakfast room is gloomy, but I’d say this is a trait of the hotel: also rooms are poorly lit. On the bright side, the cappuccino is really good, although you have to pay and extra € 2,00. The area the hotel is located in does not offer much and is a bit run down, apart from a park where you can jog in the morning (if that’s your thing). The metro station is less than 10 minutes away by foot, but taxis are cheap and there’s always one passing by in front of the hotel.

    Staff is super-friendly and helpful (especially Giorgos!). Rooms are spacious (I had the suite, but one of my colleague had the small double room and it is also of adequate size) and clean. Beds are comfortable and linens are of good quality and so are towels. I had to look for a spare quilt in the closet and it looked freshly cleaned and did not smell of closed space, as spare blankets do sometimes. The curtains also had no funny smell and looked fairly clean although there were three layers. The bathroom also looked clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Tidy rooms, friendly personnel and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would expect more things in the breakfast, like better variety of cornflakes, nuts etc

    The room had a fantastic view and a big balcony. The room was really very clean and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood seems a bit unsafe. But nothing actually happened so not a big concern.

    Room was comfortable. Breakfast was rich and tasty. Staff was helpful. Has a easy access to acropolis.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay with helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't feel very comfortable/safe Walking around the area at night. Felt safe in the hotel itself but not walking to/from the hotel at night

    Staff were very helpful. Room was as advertised. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    All was very nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i would appreciate is a few more lamps on the mirrors in the room and bathroom

    All was very nice ...comfortable bed and a large bathroom...very nice breakfast The staff was very kind and hospitable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    9.6
    Accessible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu the same throughout my stay. Not so tasty. No other options to choose from.

    Accessible location. Staff were nice. Fast check-in eventhough we arrive at 2am from airport. Spacious bed & bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.8
    Boutique hotel that's a real gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk information & general aptitude to request details

    Buffet Breakfast was a good variety & unlimited coffee & juice. Room & bathroom were quite spacious, the bonus of a sun terrace was a hidden gem

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    Looking forward for my next visit in Areos
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is nothing i didn't like in Areos!

    No complains at all about Areos! it is very very clean hotel, nicely decorated, excellent staff, it feels like home and i wouldn't change anything in it. Congratulations to the owners and staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: