Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arion Athens Hotel 3 stars

Ag. Dimitrou 18, Monastiraki, Athens, 105 54, Greece

Review score

Based on 620 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Higly recommended - quiet and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we had booked for a budget price we got one of the best rooms with a balcony and sensational view at the Acropolis. The hotel is situated in a quiet but central location. Room service was very professional. Breakfast was included and substantial. All in all highly recommended. The hotel was booked out at the time of our arrival.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Great location, clean and comfortable. plenty of food for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely helpful and polite staff who went out of their way for us. Very good hearty breakfast. Great location in a very energetic part of Athens. Many restaurants and cafe's with live music within 1-2 blocks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast staff shouldnt complain because we understand what youre saying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travellers were very loud on our floor running and slamming doors sounded like teenagers. Breakfast room was completely full and tables that were free were covered in plates so kitchen was very busy and no one maintained the eating area...staff were complaining about their guests making a mess with the coffee

    I liked the overall service and breakfast buffet. The view was amazing from top

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tissues in the room, safe deposit box opens with door key so if you forget the key in the room it won't be safe. Facilities are poor. The rate should be way less for the quality of the rooms

    The staff, cleanliness , staff at breakfast area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Easy access to the Acropolis and good food and coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tight squeeze for a family of 4 and suitcases but we did manage.

    Easy access to the Acropolis and good food and coffee. Simple but fine if you are just wanting a place to lay your head while you explore Athens. Brekkie was good and the staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    It's not super fancy, but does the job pretty well. For short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture could use a little update. Rooms look better in the picture. We needed a twin room, however it's not confirmed until you reach the hotel, so we had to book a room for 3 persons just to make sure we'll have two separate beds.

    Hotel is well-located, basically in the city centre (50 min by metro blue line from the airport, Monastiraki station, then 4min walking to reach the hotel) There are few restaurants with local food in the hotel vicinity. Staff is cheerfull and friendly. Nice window view -Acropolis looks amazing at night! Basic breakfast-hard boiled eggs, cheese, few salads, some fruits, tea, coffee, juice,..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice..!Thank u. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 3 persons. Third bed was not a bed.

    Excellent location..! Good selection at breakfast 🍳 Staff always willing to help and answer to your questions. We were 3 persons in a room. The room should be bigger for a 3 bedroom (size & price) 2 beds were normal the third couldn’t sleep for 5 days it was a cambed and the size-length was for a kid, my legs were hanging on the other side!!!! :) :/ But in general nice, clean and fresh..!!:)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect location.We didnt have to take taxis to go places. Almost all attractions were at walking distance. Breakfast was amazing!Dont miss the oat meal with yogurt and honey!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Even though I had two separate reservations thy made sure I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Even though I had two separate reservations thy made sure I didn’t have to move rooms each night. Additionally, they made it possible to surprise my girlfriend with roses and sparkling wine as well as an in-room massage. They upgraded us to a view as well which was so impressive. Could not have asked for more!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Stavros was absolutely incredible and went above and beyond...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better.

    Stavros was absolutely incredible and went above and beyond to help me surprise my girlfriend on our stay. I could not say enough about how lovely the staff was here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent time, will definitely use it again if we visit Athens in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Occasionally it was noisy outside during the night especially on Monday night, ? Concert going on in the locality.

    All the facilities in the hotel were excellent, the staff friendly and helpful with any questions. The location excellent for all the sightseeing. No need to use any public transport. Lovely terrace to watch the Parthenon as the lights come on and the sun goes down, you can take your own drinks and snack and sit to enjoy the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall pleasant stay. I would consider staying here again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always seem to be long hair on the floor, shower didn't drain well

    Good location, close to many shops and restaurants, close to train station, nice rooftop view of Acropolis, free breakfast was enjoyable,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Greatly situated hotel with professional and kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved a kettle in the room for afternoon teas ;)

    Very nice hotel. Very nice and helpful staff. Beds very comfy. Breakfast plain but fine. The rooftop terrace was wonderful with GREAT views to the Acropolis. The area is perfect and everything is easy to reach. Could easily walk to Acropolis and Syntagma with kids (7 and 10 years old). I can warmly recommend it. I would choose it again next time in Athens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect located and newly equipped
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hotel bar, but bars are round the corner.

    Perfect located, 10 meters from Bars and restaurants, 5 minutes to central plaza and Akropolis view from rooftop garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    good mixture between sightseeing and nightlife
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a bit noisy during the night (music) - although i have to say it was carnival time during our stay.

    The hotel is situated in a part of the old town: small alleys, walls sprayed with graffiti but on the other hand it was the hotspot for bars and restaurants. They´re all just few meters away (so in the night it can get a bit louder). For people who want to enjoy Athens nightlife, this is your choice. Streets seemed to be pretty safe, also during the night. Metro is just a 5 minutes walk away. Many of the sights can be reached by feet as well. Breakfast was OK regarding choice and quality, only the olives were pretty bad althoug we were in Greece; Coffee was OK either; (don´t expect too much);

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located at a quiet alley and not on the main road.

    The location which is near Monastiris square and within walking distance to tourist hotspot

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel. Close to historic centre and Metro. Close surroundings could be cleaned up
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast very basic, but acceptable. Close surroundings could be cleaned up to make the area nicer.

    Quiet and silent. Very good free WiFi. Cool view from top floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Comfy central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm at times in the breakfast room

    Arion hotel ticks all the boxes if you want to stay in downtown Athens for a very reasonable price. Close to Psiri Square which has a vast selection of great Greek restaurants, 5 minutes away from Monasteraki Square and metro. Plenty of cafes and shops in the area and easily connected to the rest of Athens. Savas and staff were extremely helpful, rooms were clean and some have a view of the Acropolis. Breakfast is decent and included in price but the heating made it a bit uncomfortable if you feel the heat like I do. Overall happy to return next year. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    The room was quiet and modern.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better. The orange juice and the yoghurt should be upgraded to a better quality.

    The room was quiet and modern. Excellent location in the centre. 5-10 minutes from the metro station. Superb view from the 7th floor terrace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Extremely pleasant, have been before will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    Ideal location in Athens, very clean room, good breakfast included with room rate. Incredible views of the Acropolis from the room and roof top terrace. Very nice and pleasant staff, very helpful, 2 minute walk from Monastiraki Square with numerous shops, restaurants and museums and ancient monuments within walkin distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Super friendly staff and great breakfast included in room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A roof bar would have been very nice but you could bring beverages up and enjoy the space.

    Super friendly staff and great breakfast included in room price. The roof has a nice deck area with tables and chairs with an excellent view of the Acropolis

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money for family with older kid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More space to put clothes in and a water cooker+coffee and tea in the room would have been great. Spare bed a little small and heating not possible to control.

    The window all the way to the floor was great and the room was good size. Close to nice restaurants and friendly staff! The window opens, always good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    all was excellent.
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    need more curtain for the windows because the morning was get in the sun

    all was excellent. the location,the room, the bathroom, the breakfast. we will choose it again for sure.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice view of the Acropolis from the rooftop terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instead of double bed it was 2 singles beds together. Not very comfortable.

    Nice view of the Acropolis from the rooftop terrace. Staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Hotel design in Monasteraki district
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The exceptional view from the roof top on the Parthenon, the geographical location in the district of Monasteraki in the city center, the cleanliness and comfort, the design of the hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Very close to the center, Acropolis, metro, restaurants,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite small.

    Very close to the center, Acropolis, metro, restaurants, shopping areas nearby. View to Acropolis from our room. Nice bathroom. The breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable in a nice, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood was full of graffiti, which seems to be a disease particularly bad in Athens.

    The hotel is well located to access the popular sites. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean. Just down the street are several Greek restaurants with tables in the street and live music.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.1
    I'd stay again if the booking price stayed consistent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price I paid on booking.com increased by more than 10 euros when charged to my card ... the breakfast was mediocre and the breakfast room far too hot

    Great location, comfortable and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Was overall a fantastic place to stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was hard-not much give but I slept.

    Breakfast was the best of any hotel we stayed in- the beds were a bit hard-view of Acropolis from room an added bonus and location to metro, Acropolis, flea market and other shopping was fantastic. Place was clean, sparkling, and helpful staff. We were able to walk to most everywhere we wanted to visit in Athens. Nice hidden square below us for eating and musical entertainment at night just a 2 blocks away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    NIce place in the center of the pulse
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice location a stonethrow away from the touristical areas. Friendly staff, good WIFI and OK breakfast. Hotell renovated and nice, the pulse of Athens close, but not at all disturbing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Served its purpose for a short break very well.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The area immediately surrounding the hotel looks quite run-down; lots of graffiti, but I didn't feel unsafe, and the food in local eating places was excellent.

    Very friendly, helpful staff; cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    4.6
    Not what I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room that I booked online wasn't the room view that I got, the picture looked really nice but the place really didn't do justice to the images. Badly renovated and beds we're not comfy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, bedroom was nice and clean and reasonable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No in room kettle with coffee/tea making facilities and kitchen not open after hours. Also some mould on bathroom ceiling fan.

    Great location, bedroom was nice and clean and reasonable facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Great views, right in the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all.

    Fantastic location. Short walk to all of the major sites, great restaurants and bars nearby. We found we hardly had to leave the area as it had everything we needed. The rooms were really comfortable with beautiful views of the acropolis. The breakfast buffet was also delicious. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Very helpful staff, adequate breakfast and good value for money; thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The graffiti around the streets near the hotel but that seems to be a Greek habit.

    The Arion Hotel were super helpful; after I had booked I realised I had made a mistake so I called the hotel and they changed the date with no quibble. As it so happens I then spent an extra night. The hotel is situated close to a couple of rather pleasant little squares which light up at night time and much outside dining occurs; hence from that point of view it is well located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and very helpful , it's very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the main streets however the area where it is situated may be a little difficult to find the first time. At night the streets are a little quiet and dark.

    The staff were friendly and very helpful , it's very close to the center , only a 10 minute walk to syntagma

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful hotel, great location, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful hotel in a very vibrant area of Athens, full of cafes, restaurants and shops. Very easy access from the metro (direct line to the airport). We had a room on the top floor with a view to the acropolis - priceless. Room was modern, clean and comfortable with all the ammenities needed, wifi connection was excellent, breakfast abundant and hotel staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area where the hotel is can look run down with graffiti etc but once you are in side the hotel it is fine.

    Great area for restaurants, site seeing etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Really good hotel combines efficiency and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we were on the floor beneath the terrace and there was some scratching noise from chairs being moved over head.

    The reception staff are so friendly and helpful they really make you feel at home and even though we arrived early they and the cleaning stafff made sure we had a lovely clean and cool room - brilliant!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    For the price this hotels location was great, it's right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When they told us that we would have a double bed we were given to single beds pushed together with separate sheets. The beds kept coming apart and were not that comfortable.

    For the price this hotels location was great, it's right in the centre of Athens. The streets don't look all that inviting in the day but they do light up at night. Just don't expect luxury as it's a basic hotel but again great location. Also the yogurt at breakfast was to die for and the staff are nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Very clean and convenient, near sights, metro, shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and convenient, near sights, metro, shops, restaurants. Area is seemingly not the best but lively bars and rstaurants nearby mean it is ok during the day and evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.5
    Central hotel right in the heart of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price per night was high for what you got - 230 euro per night. However it was the beginning of the peak season and very centrally located in the heart of Athens. Comparable hotels (room size, location, facilities) in Thessaloniki and on the islands were cheaper. There was no shade on the roof top terrace - which had an amazing view of the Acropolis. This is an easy fix and one I suggest the hotel installs so guests can enjoy the amazing view - especially as the hotel advertises the view. Directly in front of the hotel running alongside the church is a street that I wouldn't recommend people walk down at night - there were some unsavory characters lurking around when we were there. However the hotel is merely one block (to the left as you exit the hotel) to the main street that leads to Monastiraki Square or . . . if you turn right as you exit the hotel then one block to the right there is a lovely strip of tavernas and cafes that come alive at night in summer.

    A conveniently located hotel to the hustle and bustle of Monastiraki Square. We had an extra bed in our room for our son, which fitted snugly into the room - albeit a bit tight between the end of the bed and the cabinet housing the fridge and TV. The bathroom was a good size - with easy access into the combined bath/shower. The buffet breakfast had a good selection and there was a lovely lounge area on the ground floor where you could sit out of the heat of the day if you didn't want to be in your room. Great view from the roof top terrace but simply too hot to be out there without shade (and ideally fans or air-conditioning).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and helpful staff, very clean room and nice common area, good breakfast with wide selection, perfect location a few steps from Monastiraki, Plaka and the Acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Arion = basic hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had missed our flight from Athens to Santorini, so we had to book a last minute hotel for the night. This hotel was fine for one night. The room was tiny but we had a nice view of the Acropolis. The staff was very helpful telling us dinner suggestions and ordering us a cab. We were steps away from a little town that had a ton of restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    5.0
    Athens city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture, the hotel need a renovation, no air condition in the hall. Dirty blanket. Bad surroundings. Slow check-in.

    The view from floor six -Acropolis

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, somewhat tired rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought it was a little strange that a couple on their honeymoon (that's us!) were given a room with two twin beds, both with different levels so they couldn't even be pushed together. This is despite specifically booking a double room. Bathroom had paint falling off in parts, and the shower constantly sprayed water on the floor.

    The staff were helpful enough, and let us check in early .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Within walking distance to everything, great rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't very comfortable (but good sheets)

    -Staff was very friendly and accommodating! -we had a view of Acropolis from one of our rooms -the rooftop views were amazing!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While not the hotel's fault, the neighborhood was noisy until 2am with the music next door and also from conflicting music blasting from a mysterious storefront cafe on a tiny street by the hotel. Crowds of young people gathered on the street outside of that bar until 2:00 am. We never figured out the attraction. There was no indoor seating and everyone just sat on the filthy curbs. Hmm.

    The included breakfast was great. Lots of choices: Greek salad ingredients--olives, feta, peppers cucumbers, dill beans, tomatoes; deli selections; yoghurt with choice of fruit, seeds, honey; pasties. The location was great. It's in an old neighborhood very close to sites. There's a lovely restaurant/bar next door where saw musicians perform for locals and travelers (not a tourist place at all). The neighborhood seemed a bit scruffy, but I felt safe all the time, even late night. People were out late walking around or spilling out of bars and restaurants. There is graffiti everywhere, but it is more like art or political statements than gang territory markers. We had a sweet view of the Acropolis from our room. There is a roof top terrace to enjoy. The rooms were nice with A/C as needed. Everything was up to date. TV had local channels and BBC news, DW(German/American, and Euro 5 (French). The hotel has a beautiful reception room that is furnished in new mid-century modern style.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Clean, modern and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a normal nice quality hotel just lacking character like all normal modern hotels. Some people might not find the area so pleasant, street is a little run down. But seemed perfectly safe to me.

    Location on a quiet street just out of very busy and popular hipster bar and restaurant area. 5 mins walk to taxi rank and metro stop. 10/15 mins walk to centre of Plaka and Acropolis entrance. Top floors have acropolis views and over look old church but no balcony. Clean comfortable and modern. Helpful and pleasant staff and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    Nice hostel, poor hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely was not an English breakfast as advertised. It was a poor continental breakfast. To iron a shirt I was made stand in the corridor by the car park-no facilities in the room. Hard bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location but some misgivings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and was happy. This time was given a very small room below the roof garden and when this was watered, soil and water from above were deposited on our balcony. As we left our balcony door ajar several mosquitos found there way into the room and we spent an uncomfortable night. Should have complained at the time but as was only one night stay did not bother. Furnishings beginning to look a little tired. Felt was not good value for price paid.

    Good location near Monastiraki metro. Balcony with views of Acropolis. Near to bars and restaurants in Psirri. Clean bathroom and reasonably comfortable beds. Very good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    View and balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are awful, the staff is not helpful, the hotel can be hard to find because on a quiet street. The hotel doesn't try to accommodate their guests and breakfast was disgusting.

    View and balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Money well spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very hard to get there by car. No parking in a very crowded old neighborhood

    Hotel is very close to Motasiraki square, which is an excellent location to reach many sites by just walking 15-30 min. The staff speaks good English and very willing to help

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    The desk clerk was very nice and made sure we were set with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The desk clerk was very nice and made sure we were set with anything we needed. Breakfast was great with a variety of Greek dishes (spinach pie, cheese pie, yogurt, cheeses, etc.). The location is well set but can be a little creepy at night if you're unprepared.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    helpful and friendly service at a short distance to all we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the temperature in the room could not be self adjust as central heater, which seems fine but did not understand why it was so warm.

    special early breakfast because we had to leave (for our boat) very early.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.8
    perfect hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was in front of a church and the bell starts ring at 7..., during the night is impossible to open the window, too much noise from the street.

    near the acropoli (15 min walking) bar,caffé, resturant, metro next to hotel. staff is kind and helpfull. The room was clean. safe neighborhood. Direct connection to the airport by metro. Perfect hotel for a weekend and to visit the center walking

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    Easy access to sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    View of Acropolis from rooftop. Simple hotel with no frills so was OK for an off- season cultural trip to Athens. Metro close by as were stops for hop on/ hop off buses which are a good way of getting the layout of the city. Nearby streets have some good cafes and restaurants to try while the flea market and a street of restaurants facing Acropolis/ Temple of Hephastus was lovely as they are outdoors with heaters in evenings.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked and payed for a double room, at least 2 weeks before our trip, nobody informed us, not even at the reception, when we have arrived and they gave us a twin room, with 2 separate beds.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.1
    Easy access to the main attractions and a range of great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities at the hotel are limited there was no bar and only a small guest lounge.

    Easy access to the main attractions and a range of great tavernas just down the road. The view from the roof top garden on a clear night is amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.5
    Our stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cracked glazing on our balcony window. Nothing in the fridge, would be nice to make a cup of tea or coffee in the room.

    Nice area, near all facilities such as restaurants, bars etc. Public transport 4 minutes walk. Balcony with a view of the Parthenon.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Ideal location, best views from the roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Limited privacy in bathroom; only a glass wall/door separated the main room from the bathroom, and while frosted to give some privacy, light goes straight through it, and frosting had come off in places so you can see through. Makes a late night visit to the bathroom very difficult (this lights up entire room, and kept our son awake) and also there is next to no sound proofing.

    Even from the second floor room (the building has 7 floors) part of the acropolis was visible; the roof patio has top notch views of acropolis and surrounding hills; we were there for New Year's eve and got a great view of the (fairly simple) city fireworks display over the acropolis. Location is precisely on the border between the nice part of the city around Monastiraki and a sprawling dilapidated area to the north around Omonia. Walk south to main attractions, taxi north to Archeological museum (not much else to see up there). Tolerable for a 5 day stay for a family of 3, but we spent most of the time out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.1
    Good option near Acropolis area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Neighborhood might look unsafe, however there's no security issues whatsoever.Good area. Not many international channels in the TV.

    Small hotel near the historic area. Very good breakfast Nice rooftop views Well equipped rooms Convenient price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Perfect choice in the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception area was undergoing renovation just as we arrived, so it was a bit noisy and dusty downstairs.

    The personnel is amazing, going way beyond their daily duties to help customers. Our room had a breath-taking view towards the Acropolis.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Very good price-quality hotel in the heart of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was not that nice, but that wasnt so important

    Walking distance to all turist atractions Very nice neighbourhood, a lot of nice bars, hip and cozy Nice roof top terrace Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the second time we stayed at Arion Hotel. The hotel is near the tourist attractions of Psiri,Monstiraki and very close to restaurants,bars,cafes and of course the metro station. The room was comfortable and the wifi connection pretty good for someone that needs get some work done. The receptionist was very helpful in keeping my travel bags during check in and chekout. Actually I was granted an early checkin by one hour without even requesting it during the booking (thank you!) Breakfast pretty nice! I recommend this hotel also for families since the rooms are quite spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Good base for short stay in Athens but don't expect too much of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very basic and hot. Too much street noise to open the window. Breakfast plentiful but average in quality.

    Great location for bars, restaurants and sights. Staff v friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent roof top view of the parthenon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds weren't super comfy, but we didn't mind with the view outside!

    Excellent roof top view of the parthenon. Perfect walking location to all the main sights in the city. Close to delicious restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    An excellent, convenient place. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is well located, in an area of small shops, off the main roads. It's convenient to the Monastraki metro, walking distance to important sights. The facilities are modest, but recently renovated and very clean. Good breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.0
    Very second rate everything
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No trays to carry breakfast to the table. Breakfast was a whole lot of carbohydrates. Only scrambled eggs, where was the bacon and eggs? Terrible tiny Frankfurt's, there was only instant coffee , what halfway decent hotel does not have filtered coffee. I've stayed in may hates this was the worse breakfast. For what I paid for the room room and breakfast it was to expensive.

    Nothing much just love Psyrri.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location with Akropolis views from upper floors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some noise from a party on a neighbouring balkony in one of four nights - nothing really unexpected in a city like Athens

    very central location, practical and comfortable room; we had a great view over the city and towards the Akropolis from our balcony on the 6th Floor; breakfast choices included fresh vegetables and fruit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    I'll be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Comfy bed and quiet private room. Great decor throughout and nice chilled rooftop. Friendly & Helpful staff great discount at really nice bar/restaurant attached.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    4.2
    The staff may have been friendly but my judgment was blinded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and I had requested a non-smoking room. It was clearly a smoking room and smelled awful. We were so exhausted and decided to just tough it out since we were checking out in the morning, but I ended up feeling very ill from it. We probably should have requested to move to at least see if it was possible but it had been such a long day of travel, so we didn't. We wanted to leave our luggage at the hotel while we went sight-seeing. The storage for the luggage is just a room with a key and no supervision. Any guest can go in and out and there is no guarantee for the safety of your luggage. Lastly, I expected a room with a view, the view was just in the top corner of the window and had a small piece of the Acropolis. Very disappointing compared to the photos advertised for the room. Not worth the cost at all in my opinion. I apologize for those who want photos, I didn't take many photos since I didn't bother to take pictures of a lack-luster experience.

    The staff may have been friendly but my judgment was blinded by the bad things.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although in general the hotel is well presented and clean the bed was quite firm and uncomfortable, and I usually like an extra pillow however there was only one provided which was quite small.

    The hotel location is fantastic, a short walk to a wide selection of food and beverage outlets. shopping and transportation options also very close and easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    5.8
    Unpretentious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lovely roof balcony but one cannot get a drink or a cup of coffee up there. In fact it appears one cannot even buy a beer on the premises.

    There is nothing pretentious about this hotel, it offers a room for a fair price. The breakfast is quite adequate.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit weak. Breakfast would have been better served at the rooftop.

    Location is perfect. Clean and comfortable. Very nice view from the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: