Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arolithos Traditional Village Hotel 4 stars

11th km of old road Heraklion-Rethimnon., Tílisos, 71500, Greece

#2 of 4 hotels in Tílisos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 362 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, pool and general environment only 20 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic accommodation. A little tired in places.

    Beautiful setting, pool and general environment only 20 mins from Heraklion airport. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    value for money and lovely accommodation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --- bathroom facilities (no good quality of shampoo and shower gel, very cheap) --- the mattress has to be new

    +++ large rooms +++ traditional houses +++ the reception check in +++ brand new air-condition +++ nice balconies

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    The pool area and the views were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst hotel I have been in Crete. I do not see the 4**** starts anywhere. Dirty bedrooms, no WIFI and very poor attention of the staff.

    The pool area and the views were nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    One night stay upon arrival or before departure is OK
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole complexe is not a village, as expected but bungalows put together. Looks cheap. The pool is not very deep so no joy to jump in. The breakfast was really poor. More fresh fruits and natural juices.

    The music and folklore show on the night of arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    I got here by car, really easy to find, 15 min away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are steps everywhere, keep in mind if you travel with lot of luggage

    I got here by car, really easy to find, 15 min away from the airport, and reception was open at 00:30, what was a relief. Car Park within the complex. Pool/ bar area lovely and really authentic. Perfect for getting into the Greek holidays mood. Cheap and good value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    This is a great place to start your trip especially just off of a 30 hour trip to get there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a new driver on Crete, signs along the road from 90 would have been helpful. We really were not sure if we were on the right track

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.3
    Arolithos Traditional Village is a great place to start your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is poor with little choice and really made for tourist groups.

    Arolithos Traditional Village is a great place to start your holiday when arriving in Herakleion especially late at night. It is quiet and away from the hustle of the city. It is easy to get to as well. Staying one night is fine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    A cherry on top of the cake :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi was not available in all locations, but there was almost no time for Internet anyway.

    Fantastic views from the restaurant! Nice food and breakfast! Very friendly staff! The facilities are quite original.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    timeless atmosphere, timely convenience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Story of every budget hotel - needs an extra shelf or two by the sink for toothbrushes and other sundries. Wi-fi only available in common/public areas, not in rooms, but honestly, if you can't get off your damn phone when you vacate work, don't bother leaving your cubicle.

    Amazing traditional style "village" and great views, with modern amenities and convenience. Clean, friendly staff, just far enough from town for quiet and privacy, close enough to zip there easily by rent car. Basic, unfussy rooms, friendly cats!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Great authentic place, very relaxing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this place is so cool ,very beautiful with flowers and trees everywhere and so relaxing, staff was super friendly and helped us book a car when we realized how spread out everything was in Crete! Dinner was delicious and the pool was perfect!!!! We loved it here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Unique hotel with friendly staff, and very tasty coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were uncomfortable, poor location. We only stayed for two nights but feel that if we had stayed for longer we would have gotten bored.

    Unique hotel with friendly staff, and very tasty coffee.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    An unexpected spot outside Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a reconstitution of a traditional village but it is not as kitsch as I expected. The gardens and swimming pool are lovely. The bedroom functional and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Quaint accomodations close to Iraklion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many amenities or activities very close. But only about 10 minutes to 20 minutes from those.

    Lots of free parking. Beautiful setting. Adorable village with a beautiful pool and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.0
    It's a traditional village style hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived on a Sunday and a wedding was taking place. I was told I couldn't go to a specific area but I could "watch" the party...... This is not what I was expecting. When it said a traditional village I thought the hotel was in a village, not the hotel was the village. It's quite far out of the way and the mini market don't have a great deal in stock so if you want to eat anywhere other than the reatruant or taverna then go shopping before you arrive. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere and the last bus is apparently at 14:30 so unless you want to pay €25 euro back to Heraklion you're pretty much stuck here. The rooms all have balconies but they don't have seats out there so a rearranging was required. Overall I think it is way over priced, it is definitely not 4* and I feel a bit robbed. I put it down to experience! Next time, I'll be more careful when I see traditional village!

    The staff were all very nice and helpful. The pool area was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.6
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole place felt very fake and quite run down. There was a smell of sewage in some areas which was off putting. We found the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom had rusty toilet paper holder and rusty shower curtain rails. The shower had to be held by hand the whole time and flooded the bathroom floor, which was practically useless with small children. We got half board, and both the dinner and breakfast were sub-optimal. Not good value for money at all, we stayed at much nicer places for the same price during our holiday in Crete.

    Good pool and good views from the village restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    A Wonderful Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool water was quite cool, but it was late May. Perhaps it's warmer later in the season.

    It seems that a car would be essential to reach this beautiful property in the mountains just outside Heraklion. Barring this, it is a little slice of heaven, peaceful with great views of the city far below. The property is beautiful, well-kept, and the style of the buildings and the property lends itself to the Cretan feeling. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Beds and bedding were fine. Internet is speedy but only available in a few common areas, not a major handicap, by any means. The pool area is gorgeous and clean. We spent a lot of time there, as a break from our touring. Don't miss the weekly folk show/dinner-- definitely worth the price. We will definitely return to this friendly non-resort resort.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    5.8
    It has a bit of everything and is away from the busy steets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was only available at the reception and not in the rooms! Nice set-up, but a bit away from the city. Shower curtains were too small and felt old. Also no feeling of privacy, as all sounds are audible from a few rooms away!

    It has a bit of everything and is away from the busy steets of the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice looking village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The village is interesting. Room are clean and very basically furnished. They have very good breakfast with a lot of different typical Greek food (especially very good sweets). The breakfast is also served at a great location, looking over the pool and the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality and service at the restaurant

    Nice location close to Heraklion and airport. An old village, converted into a hotel, also visited by buses with tourist and school children but nevertheless retaining some of the charm of a village.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    It is a tourist village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed there at least 5 times in the last 5 years...the breakfasts are always the same...and quite honestly are poor. You ask for a Greek coffee, and they bill you 2,50 Euros. It's a commercial entity..useful as a link to more fun in Crete..nothing else.would not recommend staying there for a week.

    It is a tourist village..sort of a club..good place to stay for one night when you arrive late at night or leave early in the morning from Heraklion Airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    Great if you travel by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bus connection with Heraklion and no choice of tea. Wi-fi only available in the doning area and reception.

    Lovely view, enjoyable swimming area and great service, especially reception- George and Marianne.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    beautiful Cretan village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If only we would have seen the sun; it rained cats and dogs for 2 days

    what we liked the most were the talks we had with the beautiful lady in the coffeeshop annex restaurant. We always find it so amazing how people open up and start talking. It was really an honour to participate in her thoughts about life. Despite the fact that it rained like crazy for two days, she proved to us that it is not only the sun that warms our hearts. thank you for the experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.4
    Nice location, nice idea but the rooms need some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are dated and a little tired. We went in very cold weather and our room was icy cold. We were changed to another room but we could never really move away from the fire - the bathroom was freezing!

    We liked the food here and the idea of the village. Also staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    10
    Worth every penny
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. But if somebody wants to be isolated from the town this is still pretty close.

    The coziness of the room. The staff was excellent and very professional. The room is larger than it seems.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    a good stay overall and appreciated the peace and quiet away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit tired and a little bit of neglect, worms in the pool

    Being away from the city for our first night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Vita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes

    Food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Very high value for money
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the room could be better (shower, air conditioning , beds)

    In a very good spot, very high value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms closer to the pool would be good.

    Beautiful village feel and views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not very clean and it’s a bit far from town so you need to hire a car to get around.

    Simple traditional rooms in a beautiful village.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Very traditional and old
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very simple traditional old equipment

    Very traditional and old

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. The stuff is very friendly. Great view to Heraklion!!! It was our 4th stay and it will be not our last

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Territory was big and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To far from Heraklion

    Territory and room were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Lovely and nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere was brilliant at the little village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    I would come back for one night visit
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    services need more care:)

    Nice and unique place,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Great Views of City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel desperately needs shuttle service. Public bus is unreliable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.7
    Authentic Greek atmosphere close to Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carrying the luggage trough the stairs.

    Atmosphere of the place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Really nice view from the terrace, good restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room

    Really nice view from the terrace, good restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice place, great view and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are very hard and uncomfortable.

    Nice place, great view and friendly staff. Everything was clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Originality
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was functioning only for short part of the time over night

    Idea to create the location People

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Noisy coachwork of students arriving at 11pm and leaving at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy coachwork of students arriving at 11pm and leaving at 3 AM

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.9
    Authentic Crete experience!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of the two rooms one shower didn't work properly and the other was okay!

    Location(view), staff, goats, food, the staff were so accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    Excellent meal in the cafenion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was rather tired.

    Excellent meal in the cafenion. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    To be recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard.

    Very friendly and cosy. And the room was already warm on an unusually cold and wet day in Crete.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    10
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place. Friendly Staff. Good parking place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Special area to see the reproduced old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was nothing special.

    The reproduced old town is must-see. The staff were kind and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.2
    Awesome place for an excellent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place for an excellent price. Slightly out of the town but that's not a problem if you have a car. Heraclion is not car-friendly btw.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    10
    Amazing, homely, great food, great village, greeeeeaaaat pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Breakfast was yummy, especially the fresh fruit. The pool was AMAZING! and the cats are so friendly- if you're a cat lover definitely stay here!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    8.8
    The architecture was brilliant - a lovely Little Assemblage.
    • Couple

    We don't like organized jollity, paid Cretan dancers, loud Music. But other Folks may.

    The architecture was brilliant - a lovely Little Assemblage. Friendly staff, good about our dog.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    7.9
    The front desk staff was very helpful in the sense that he...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had half board and wished they had showed us the menu for dinner of the night. As I don't eat beef, and dislike creamy food, we were served cabbage in creamy sauce, spaghetti in Carbonara sauce and meatballs in tomato sauce with French Fries on the first night. Fortunately, the dessert was a plate of fresh fruits.

    The front desk staff was very helpful in the sense that he gave us the extra things such as a kettle, mugs, and plates as well as a table and chairs for the balcony. We were touched by their loving gesture in celebrating our honeymoon. There was no problem when we needed a late check-out. Very quiet, peaceful atmosphere at this time of the year.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    8.3
    Enjoyed the traditional feel of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Enjoyed the traditional feel of the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and provided a snack even though the kitchen was closed. The museum is very interesting. We stayed in November and the weather was kind, the layout might be less convenient in the rain but we would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    6.3
    Nice traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Renovation needed. A/C didn't work properly and due to flies windows net is necessary. The breakfast was absolute basic. Weddings took place all the nights during our staying And we were not informed about that in advance

    Nice traditional hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.6
    The complex was a very short drive from Heraklion and made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing at all wrong with the hotel but it could be good if some of the furniture was updated and the wi if signal string enough to reach all the rooms. But none of this spoilt a very enjoyable stay in a place with a fascinating history.

    The complex was a very short drive from Heraklion and made it very simple to drop friends off at the airport . The hotel is unusual , with a very nice pool, helpful staff and good food. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The only thing that I didn't like was the fact that we didn't have wi-fi available in our room.

    The hotel was amazing. The whole traditional image with all the small shops was exquisite. The food was amazing as well.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    The place and the people were lovely, couldn't ask for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place and the people were lovely, couldn't ask for anything more. The hospitality and the service was great and i would recommend it to other pet owners.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    6.3
    Great and orginal place, like in my souvenirs from 25 years...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff seemed very tired. The cats were really annoying at dinner & breakfast

    Great and orginal place, like in my souvenirs from 25 years ago

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Great place for rest with an amazing view a very polite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great place for rest with an amazing view a very polite staff and very comfortable rooms!!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: