Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Astali Hotel 3 stars

1 G. Papandreou st., Rethymno Town, 74133, Greece

#32 of 55 hotels in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 83 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    I definitely recommend staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone who works there is super friendly and eager to help. It’s also very conveniently located to good restaurants, the beaches, the bus station and the old town. If you take the bus from Iraklio, you get off right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Great stay with Great staff to look after you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    My second stay so I knew what the hotel was like, it was every bit as good as my previous stay. Lovely people and a great location... everything you need to make a stay in Rethymno a pleasure

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    The location was convienent, but it needed some renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to switch my night's stay and they charged me for a different type of bed that was not disclosed until I arrived for check in.

    The location and the bowl of sweets by the reception desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    A very good overnight stay with great beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we felt that the breakfast was adequate but 'ordinary' and the orange juice was not good at all and tasted of chemicals! Since we were paying much more than we normally would for a room, and since the hotel was very smart and comfortable, this could be improved by providing either 100% 'squeezed' orange juice or even fresh orange juice.

    Lovely helpful staff and a bright clean room with wonderful beds.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for a Few Days, No More
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower and room were extremely small (although we knew that from the onset). So suggest it’s good for a few days but not for more as we were missing the comfort. Bit old school in terms of decor. Room was quite noisy...people were moving chairs upstairs and next door constantly. Hence, good for a few days if you want to explore the city but not really a place to relax. Breakfast was very basic (we would’ve appreciated some better, fresher bread or croissants).

    Very clean (proper cleaning). Relatively short walking distance to centre and just down the road from the beach and shops. Lovely big terrace - no sea view (we had room 101). Terrace seemed bigger than the room itself! Great for those who want sun in the morning and over mid day. Very friendly, family-run hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Lovely family owned and managed Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was good, but i also know the owners are always looking for ways to make continued improvements.

    first and foremost the staff and owners were fabulous. All very friendly and helpful. I would say this is a holiday that was made equally good because of the location and because of the hotel staff. Usually my hotels have been good or ok and serve a purpose, at Astali it is the owners that create a far better atmosphere and that radiates through the staff and it is what i gleaned from the other guests and that is why so many return. This hotel is doing a great service for Rethymnon town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Rethymno was perfect for holiday - it has all you need and is not remote. Cleanliness in hotel great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have been better if our double room had been bigger as the twin rooms opposite ours were. Bathroom was a bit small and shower poor - but this was mentioned to the staff on reception. Advise that book twin rooms if you want space as they are much better.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Very helpful with return journey home when transport was late. Hotel is kept very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Rethymno was perfect for holiday - it has all you need and is not remote. Cleanliness in hotel great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Could have been better if our double room had been bigger as the twin rooms opposite ours were. Bathroom was a bit small and shower poor - but this was mentioned to the staff on reception. Advise that book twin rooms if you want space as they are much better.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Very helpful with return journey home when transport was late. Hotel is kept very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Hotel with more than two stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Everything was perfect. Location is excellent, near old city and the beach. Hotel owners and other stuff are really friendly end helpful. We were with toddler and we got a room with big balcony. Everybody were very nice with our child. Bathroom and room are very very clean. We were getting almost every day clean bed linen and towels. Breakfast is gut, there is something for every taste. I would stay again and recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Top stay in Rethymno
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel because it said it had parking but it did not. Anyway, the staff in reception gave us very good directions to park and we were lucky to find a spot just around the corner. I would suggest they deleted "free parking" from their services because it may confuse other future guests.

    It is a very beautiful building. Looks like newly renovated. The staff were very nice and very quick for both checking in and checking out. Rooms and bathroom were fantastic and everything was really clean. I highly recommend this hotel. It is a quiet hotel outside the old town but only a few minutes away on foot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Superb city hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was quite small, but was very well designed.

    The bed was a little hard, but I was provided with a lovely mattress topper without any fuss! Bed linen was clean and crisp, with very soft pillows.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Super.👍 good, friendly family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay/ entaksi! !

    Very good, friendly family hotel. Very friendly family, where I already come for 9 times. And very, very clean.!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    location to beach & Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    shower was a bit small but was ok.

    location to beach & Old Town

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean room everyday. Lovely friendly staff. Close to beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Easy location to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minimum Linen provided, one towel which was not changed and 1 sheet on bed no cover

    Easy location to find Friendly service Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Very clean and comfortable hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at reception was very helpful and friendly. She made us feel special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    It was great and we'd definitely go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The showers could have been better. It was too easy to flood the bathroom.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Near everything Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if there was a pool and more rich breakfast but anyway everything was good

    The locarion and the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and well reserved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy when the balcony door was open

    Very clean and well reserved

    Stayed in August 2017

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21