Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Asterion Hotel Suites & Spa 5 stars

Pirgos Psilonerou, Gerani Chanion, 73100, Greece

#19 of 22 hotels in Gerani Chanion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 214 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Honestly couldn’t fault the place, staff where super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Blue Executive Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anyway worried that it’s a little out the way do not worry, there is a bus stop about 400m from the hotel on the main road and will take you anywhere you need within 30 hour.

    Honestly couldn’t fault the place, staff where super friendly all the way though, helped us get around, and booking trips. Food was pretty decent nothing special mind. The room was absolutely lovely! We had the room with the private pool and was a dream. Hotel was clean and tidy. Would happily stay here again. Lovely private beach as well. Lovely holiday

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Amazing staff and a good hotel slightly let down by the accomodation standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Aqua Junior Suite with Swimming Pool (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The accommodation wasn't as good as the pictures suggested. Continuous sound of flushing from other apartments/rooms. Noisy sound of people walking in the stay above and you could hear everything in the adjacent rooms. The rooms were not as relaxing as they should have been. The bathroom was poorly designed and shower water sprayed all over the floor when in use unless you angled it off centre. The swim up pool was great to have but none of the water that splashed from the pool ran off to the drain but gathered elsewhere. The room also had a lot of ants which we could not get rid of. It did not ruin our holiday but it was very disappointing given the cost of the stay.

    The staff were very helpful and very polite and attentive. The main facilities for the hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful stay and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was a little bit worn and could have used an update.

    The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. I had written beforehand to tell them that I wanted to have a special time with my daughter. When we arrived it was arranged beautifully in our room with chocolate , pastries and wine. At dinner they had arranged our table with flowers for my daughter. The spa experience was superb!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    We would like to come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Asterion hotel is a real oasis of comfort and peace. The sea and beaches near are nice, and the gardens are lovely. The hotel offers all kinds of services and the staff is very professional. Breakfasts were rich, the bar outside is a good place to have a drink or a really tasty snack. Suitable for families with small children as well as couples of every age.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, great location 😁Crappy housekeeping 😕
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 2 rooms were located on separate floors, even though we requested they be close or next to each other. We also requested king size double beds, but got single beds. We're we're promised that we would be moved next to each other and the beds rectified the next day, but the housekeeping staff said "it's not worth it for 1 more nights stay". It would have certainly been worth it to us, the PAYING guests...

    Beautiful resort, lovely pool. The beach is VERY close.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly personnel, always at your disposal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very friendly personnel, always at your disposal. Very clean property, fair breakfast. Excellent location near by Chania Town with easy access to the city. Fully recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.9
    Very old hotel which needs renovations it's just only 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Separate Bedroom With Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were misrepresented from the website pictures and descriptions booking a 5 star hotel which is only a 3 star old outdated hotel . We are not the first customers complaining regarding the state of this hotel. We booked for 4 nights and asked for a refund for 2 of them based on the misrepresentations however the manager didn't care neither apologized for the dirty old rooms ( see pictures). We left earlier and booked another hotel. The management charged our credit card for the bar expenses The location is just at the end of the village you need a car to get around. Oh and if you want to have a decent coffe for breakfast you need to pay! So our criticism is not based on the hotel but based on the misrepresentation of the hotel which is not 5 star The manager fails to accept that despite the fact we booked a non refundable room it was based on the representation that the hotel resort is of a five star standard which clearly is a lie and false and a misrepresentation

    The staff at the restaurant was polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    The hotel itself was very pleasing to the eye.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room With Open Air Jacuzzi Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My partner and I booked this hotel as a weekend get away and we wanted to treat ourself with the jacuzzi. When we first got there they showed us how to use it and stated it took about 2-3 hours to heat up. We left it cooking and decided to go take a walk on the beach and relax in it once we got back. Well we returned a few hours later and the jacuzzi was still freezing. We talked to management and they stated to give it a few more hours or just check in the morning. We get up in the morning and it's completely dead not working at all. So we talk to management again and they say they will send someone. By this time I'm upset because we purchased this room on the fact that it had a jacuzzi and it was not working the hotel was pushing us off. They did not care at all. By the third day we asked to talk to the manager directly and the only thing he could do for us was give us a free meal. I didn't want a free meal I wanted a working jacuzzi like bought or else to get compensated for a room without a jacuzzi. The manager did not care at all and kept saying if only I knew about the situation but we went up and talked to the staff and they talked to him. We didn't feel like they actually cared only that we gave them money. I was extremely unhappy with the experience here. I would not stay here again. There are far better hotels in this area that have staff that actually cares about their customers enjoying their stay.

    The hotel itself was very pleasing to the eye.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    2.9
    3 dirty star hotel not 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality of cleaning Poor level of furniture Bad maintenance Gym room dirty and under ground level Really so far a way from a 4 (continental) stars level hotel My running shoes disapeared from the room (stolen or thought away into the robbish by cleaning staff)

    Appena sufficiente il buffet della mezza pensione.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Staff was super special the waiter in the buffet he was great and other staff were helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location little bit far from other places. The city bus was on main road and in the night you had to walk in darkness, there would to be nice to have cultural night food and dances. More information about the nighbourhood, trips and much better benches-sunbeds there were hard and uncomfortable

    The staff was just super, beach was nice and relaxing groundings. The food was alright main options both for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    3.3
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Separate Bedroom With Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff were the rudest I have ever encountered. The room cleaning was very poor. The beds were uncomfortable. The food was average. Defiantly not 5*

    The view was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.3
    There is room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not attention to the cleaning of the room. The bath towels provided had holes in some cases (over-used). Once they did not clean the room or changed the towels without even providing with sampoo/shower gel so we needed to ask to the reception separately. Sun beds in the beach were really old and dirty.

    The bed was very comfortable. Room was spacious. Breakfast with big variety of food. Staff in the reception and in the pool bar very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Relax and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Aqua Junior Suite with Swimming Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early breakfast coffee would have been appreciated. Cleaning of room should be more accurate some lack of attention in there.

    Room very comfortable with nice private pool, breakfast rich and various with good quality quietness of the hotel that allow perfect relax. Is not a 5 star but price is not as 5 star so good value for money spent. Efficient check in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi signal in the bedroom. Very few towels in the bedroom (1 swimming pool towel, 1 bath towel while there were 2 of us). Also, we found strange the policy that we can't use said swimming pool towels in the beach, but had to purchase new towels at the hotels mini-market. Staff is overwhelmed with client demands/complaints. When we tried asking for one more towel we ended up giving up because the receptionist was so overwhelmed she didn't have time for us and we were just left waiting indefinitely after what we though was a very basic request. The food was the worst we had during all our stay in Crete. The breakfast fruit salad was straight from the can. We didn't find any of the breakfast buffet enjoyable. This is the first time I give a bad review on booking.com and I feel bad for it because the hotel staff were nice. Perhaps the issue is that the 5 star rating of this hotel made us expect better. When we arrived for check in there was a family ahead of us arguing with the staff that "they paid for a 5 star hotel room and they did not get a 5 star hotel room". We smilled back then, little we knew how true that was. Looking back, their comment summarises our experience very well.

    The staff are nice. On Friday nights they have a live band performance which we found very enjoyable. The beach is a few steps away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.8
    Great holiday at Asterion Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Blue Executive Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 10 nights

    For this standard hotel glasses (wine and water) should be provided in the room.

    All the staff were friendly and very accommodating when asked for anything. The views are fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Quiet and relaxing vacation at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location is really really quiet. Not many places to eat within walking distance. Don't rent a bicycle at the hotel. If you walk out of the main hotel entrance, turn left and walk about 600 m, there's a rental shop and it's twice cheaper and has better bikes.

    I saw in other reviews that the breakfast wasn't good and there was a lot of extra payments, like for beach towels or kitchen utensils. I didn't really see that. The beach towels are in your room when you come and they are free. The breakfast is great, quite a wide selection with local specialties (pastries, cheeses, jams, olives etc) sprinkled here and there. They make up the rooms every day. There's a good swimming pool if you're not a fan of the beach. There's some suites with their own small pools, and some with their own hot tubs. If you want to do any sightseeing you better rent a car or a bike. The hotel is between the two villages, Gerani and Maleme. The larger town, Platanias, is close by and has a lot of shops and restaurants. Maleme has a great hand-made and hand-painted pottery shop. With the bicycle, you can easily get to Platanias or Gerani to eat, or for example to Kolymbari where there's a nice old monastery to visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Good accommodation, friendly staff and ideal location some someone that wants to explore the western
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Very good accommodation, all the staff were polite, friendly and professional. The swimming pool has the perfect proportions. The half board was the best option for me. I do recommend to rent a car if your plan is to discover crete, no much to see within walking distance from the hotel. Lots of parking space available. Good restaurants around the area. Easy travel distance to Chania. Also with good connection if you plan to visit Elafonisi, Balos, some gorges etc. Will definitely recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    2.9
    Don't stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    This is not a 5 star hotel! If you are a 2-3 star Hotel, you must tell customers that you are such. We came expecting a 5 star hotel and found a 3 star hotel at best! Room was very cheaply furnished The bed was uncomfortable Pillows were very bad It was cold in the room Sometimes there was no hot water! (in a 5 star hotel!) Food selection during breakfast was very poor The beach was dirty with rubbish lying around The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, you have to walk at least 10 minutes to get to a restaurant.

    The hotel is far from the main road so it is very quite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    2.9
    A great little hotel for relaxing in a quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was a bit isolated for evening activities

    The peace and quiet ,the direct access to the sea. The personal décor in the hotel lounge. The friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.3
    Good place for quiet holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot call it 5 stars hotel but not so bad. Lower range staff (like waitress) was good but receptionist blond ladies (had a chance to meet 2 of them on arrival and check out) rude and grumpy. Really not a suitable person to welcome people on their holidays and hotel (seems very disgusted of their job and communicating with people at all). Everything was good except welcoming (if it's possible to call that) and leaving.

    Location is good - quiet place (like small village). Wifi was good and stable. Tidy and clean areas. Buffet breakfast included in price was quite good. Rooms are tidy and spacious. Got a bottle of wine in the room for welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Far from a 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to mention their names but 2 of 4 ladies at front desk were downright rude and very unfriendly. Very unbecoming of what should be a 5 star hotel. This is not even a 4 star as they are told by owners to gauge for everything. This is disgraceful and completely unacceptable to charge 14 euros per night for a key to the safe which is in your room as well as charging for cutlery, which is tantamount to asking you to pay 35 euros for a 5 night stay .... for knives forks and a kettle...The room had a stove and needed a pot to boil water as ut had no coffee maker. Why in a million years would a hotel owner force its staff and management to charge for these items? Again, the manager was helpful in these matters but the owners are forcing all staff to work for peanuts while burning them out in their schedules. This, coupled with the fact that the economy has almost collapsed is why a lot of their staff appear to be unhappy. Its the owners at the top who are completely to blame. Subsequently the hotel suffers immensely. Just couldn't help feel badly for manager and staff when I came to the realization that these variables are at play. All negative aspects of this hotel are completely the result of ownership fron the top. Most unfortunate. Grounds were fair. Pool good. Food at buffet fair to good. Rooms good. Beach would have been outstanding if it were swept every day. Obviously there is not enough staff and again, the staff that were there try hard but are brutally underpaid but this was unfortunately not our fault. And so I would not recommend it to anyone....unless I had an enemy or two.

    2 of 4 reception staff were excellent. Spiros in the early morning was very helpful and extremely professional. Manager, Ares was also very respectful courteous and attentive to our requests. When we arrived we were unhappy with things so he helped as much as was possible in his position.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    3.8
    disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Blue Executive Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this hotel is no more then 3 stars the privete pool is only 1.3 meter the color of the pool was green because nobody clean no one change the bedding all week and its took them 2 days to suplly blanket the beach is very dirty the water cost money i will never come back to this hotel again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    The servers are amazing and very comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need better Reseptionist!!!!! very poor customer service at front desk Very dissaponting !!!

    The servers are amazing and very comfortable beds!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    8.3
    Strategic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was great. It was quite close to Chania center by car so we could go there at night to have dinner. Also relatively close to Kissamos bay where we could take a day cruise to Balos Bay. The location also favored us to go to farther beaches in different spots and directions in the island. The room was really spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    8.8
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not very professional, especially at the front desk and those who took room service orders.. They were unefficient, hung up the phone before im done talking and i felt like they did not understand half of the things i asked for. A little training for them will be good.

    I loved the location, the facilities provided and the top notch ambience of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    5.0
    No signs of luxury, just very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Receptionists too grumpy The use of the word 'Luxurious' is wrong Smelly waiter Afternoon barman played awful music too loud My room looked tired

    Food at A La Carte restaurant, freshly cooked No problem finding a sunbed Cleaners kept room tidy Pleasant public areas

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.3
    Not a five stars at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's absolutely not a Five stars hotel! Apart from some of them, generally the staff were not professional and very poor. The receptionist who met us on arrival was just like (a sour passport control guy), no smile, poker face and upset for nothing. They provided us a Room (402) with a defected keycard system and the aircondition remote control. It was preset on 32 degrees and the push bottom didn't work, at 3:50 pm we phoned her and been told ( the mechanical ) went home but may be the can fix it later on. At 7:20 pm we asked again, we got another answer (we can't do anything tonight but we can offer you a fan). When I asked her is that a five stars hotel, she said Yea it is! I asked to talk with the manager, she told me tomorrow morning he will come and talk to me. We came back and found a wonderful fan in our room ( see the picture). They didn't say sorry or compensate us for that and guess what? The manager never showed up! Many of spotlights inside the room were broken, a poor and dirty minibar. To sum up the story, it's not up to the five stars hotel standards, the staff are not professional, very expensive for that service we had.

    The suite is large, comfortable beds, nice private pool. Good breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.1
    This is not a five star hotel as it is now a little dated and it is consequently too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to believe it was five star. Our main problem was the incessant music at the pool bar. It was very loud and meant we could hardly use this area at all. The lack of shade at the pool is also a problem. The restaurant is too expensive

    Most of the staff are lovely although there was a very stroppy receptionist. The breakfasts were delicious with excellent choice. There were some beautifully behaved young children staying with their families.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    5.8
    This hotel should be a five star, but I coudn't wait to go away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality breakfast Low quality cleaning Awful decoration on the walls Staff definitely not in line with a five star hotel White light: definitely cold and not cosy

    Large room Bed Silence, even with the entertaining outside the window

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.9
    Great suites, but fairly slow staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Blue Executive Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried giving us a different room than booked - the manager corrected and compensated as soon as we told him. Not a lot of good restaurants within walking distance, but 15 mins away by car there are plenty (in Platanias).

    The suites with private pool are great (we stayed in room 406). plenty of space by the main pool and on the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    5.0
    3* Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Separate Bedroom With Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor service from the Russian-speaking staff - Galina in particular was repeatedly rude, unhelpful and unprofessional. The beach is rocky and the waves quite wild - it's not suitable for young families or anyone very keen on a beach holiday. Breakfast had a large selection but it was all very bland and clearly of poor quality. Using sugary orange concentrate at a supposedly 5* hotel in a region known for fresh fruit and juice... not great. This hotel also charges for many, many things that are typically free of charge in hotels - use of safes, use of cutlery in rooms (!), use of towels for the pool (!). Again, this is not behaviour appropriate to a 5* hotel. The manager insisted on payment in cash from us, which seemed incredibly "off" in an established hotel. The hotel receives a lot of package tour guests from TUI and similar. Gym and children's play area are in very poor repair. In summary, there are other, better, cheaper hotels in the area, where you will get a warm Cretan welcome and good service. This is one to avoid.

    The hotel room was large and pleasant, and the pool area was clean and enjoyable. The hotel is not in Platanias but a few km away. You do need a car here, but the environment is calm away from the hustle of Platanias.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect A to Z perfect Staff we love them

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    It was in a lovely quiet area and had direct access to a...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in a lovely quiet area and had direct access to a pretty beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant staff with the exception of the manager who was amazing were rude.

    reception staff were amazing... Catered to all our needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room With Open Air Jacuzzi Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average and the shared pool was not great but we had a private one.

    Upgraded

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.8
    Very quiet hotel and area which was ideal for us, more like a retreat. Not a party pad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panorama Blue Executive Suite with Private Pool
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom, quite basic facilities for a hotel that’s got ‘luxury’ in it’s title

    Nice hotel, comfortable beds. Great cocktails

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A clean luxury comfortable stay.food was amazing the staff were so friendly & you must give the spa treatments a go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about the Asterion hotel & spa.

    It was clean & had a luxury feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    Had a great stay here - easy access to all that West Crete has to offer & plan to be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over bath shower would benefit from shower curtain

    Lovely room, exceptionally friendly staff, great food and right on the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Facilities breakfast spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not changed towels of the room and for the pool even with 3 nights stay

    Facilities breakfast spacious rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.2
    Not nice at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Separate Bedroom With Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was 400 per night

    Nothing , it was too expensive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Everything from the staff to the facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Everything from the staff to the facility

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    swimming it nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beakfast is only at 10am :(

    swimming it nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great hotel! I would love to come back there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    check in, cleanliness, family room with separate bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    floor cracked in lift, coffee by pool, breakfast

    check in, cleanliness, family room with separate bedroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    After all was a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbeds and sunumbrellas look cheap, not like a five stars hotel. A more variety of food would be nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Aqua Junior Suite with Swimming Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything. Great value for money, beachfront, great facilities and delicious food, friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    We had a great stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was awesome. We rented a car, free parking at the hotel, a nice and warm welcome, good buffet restaurant, good service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    4.6
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,beach was horrible.

    Not much.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    I recommand it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite Seperate Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach

    The service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    2.9
    If you are looking for southern hospitality or any hospitality you will NOT find it here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists at the front desk were extremely rude from the very beginning until the end. The beds were hard and made me very sore.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    The rooms were big, bed comfortable, breakfast was fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside for some is that it is a little isolated from other facilities, but that's not the fault of the hotel its a fact of life that due to the economic climate other developments have not been completed

    The rooms were big, bed comfortable, breakfast was fantastic a wide choice to suit every taste. The staff were excellent, and friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    8.3
    Located in a quiet area very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bathroom with no curtain and a broken door handle.

    Located in a quiet area very close to the beach. 15min drive from Chania's center. Great breakfast with a Cretan corner. The value for money was excellent (33eur per night with breakfast included). The room was huge and the bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    5.8
    Hotel was clean and the food was generally excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apart from one or two, the staff were very poor. Each day we stayed there, something cropped up which we felt was not good enough. For example being told no room service because they were in a meeting. Everyone felt on edge due to the ever watchful eye of the manager who seemed to get involved with everything and over complicate the situation. Staff seemed scared that they may get something wrong and often wanted to avoid any questions for fear of being disciplined. Which is also very unprofessional when it happens in front of guests.

    Hotel was clean and the food was generally excellent.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    3.8
    The view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rudeness, bad attitude and aggressive shouting from the proprietor and staff. No sun on balcony as asked for. No robe in room as stated in welcome brochure. Conflicting information concerning breakfast service. Cold food supposed to be hot at breakfast. Poor quality loungers and parasols on beach. Signs of wear and tear on exterior of hotel. Staff not 5* trained.The Fawlty Towers of Greece including its own Basil!

    The view

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    7.1
    The staff were absolutely superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very bland, needs more colour apart from Magnolia, the 1st "suite" we had to change was horrible with a random mattress in the living room. For a 5* hotel this was shockingly bad. We got an upgrade and although an improvement it was no where near a 5* quality.

    The staff were absolutely superb.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    Great food both @breakfast and buffet diner at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We considered the drinks to be to expensive, 5 euros for a glas of poor wine is really over the top. The fitness facilities need some overhaul and repairs.

    Great food both @breakfast and buffet diner at night. Great location close to the sea in a quite area not to far from places with some more action!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    7.5
    Hotel is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No curtains in bathroom shower, shower was broken. Music was too loud for Easter celebrations. Food at Easter celebration was not very good. Your Private beach is not a private beach, very poor organization there. Number of chairs were only 4 at the beach. Was bit disappointed.

    Hotel is very nice. Staff was amazing and your strong point. Very helpful and caring, so would be good to Keep them 😊

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Great place with a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything. All positive

    Great place with a fantastic location. Very nice swimming pool, and literally 20 mitres to the sea. Staff is excellent and always willing to help. After 3 nights we extended our stay for two more nights. Food always fresh and a really good selection. We'll be coming back here soon.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    I loved the private swimming on the rooftop of our suite, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved the private swimming on the rooftop of our suite, it was a luxury treat. If we will get back to Crete we will definitely pick the same room again. We had dinner and break fast, food was of good quality and we felt spoiled for choice. I saw many other reviews complaining for the location, too far away from the centre, it' not true, we had a car because quite frankly who goes to Greece without renting a transport should plan their holiday better. There is plenty to see in Crete and the Asterion was the pringboard of all our excursions. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of light for reading in bed and poor light in bath room. no Bacardi when first requested but available on another day. Food was dreadful and certainly not 4*. eg POACHED SALMON was salty and floating in OIL Why? No variety at breakfast and no nice fresh fruit. Tinned fruit served every day was the same. Cereals were tasteless.

    See above. Excellent coffees.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay at that Asterion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The mattress was a little hard for me but not my husband so this might just be a matter of habit. Prepared coffees and freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast was wonderful but there was a bit of a wait.

    We enjoyed our stay at that Asterion. Friendly staff, Nice, quiet hotel yet 5 minutes car ride to Platanias. We were given a family suite with a pool which was a wonderful surprise. The à la carte restaurant served quality meals and the pool bar made some tasty cocktails. Our teens were able to play pool and air hockey, and had an ok wifi connection...more was not necessary. We thought the location was perfect for visiting western Crete; beaches and towns. The guests are a nice mixture of all nationalities and no big tour groups. Everything happens at the guests' pace and efforts were always made to make us comfortable and meet our needs.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    6.7
    They asked to charge from the beginning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They asked to charge from the beginning. The room, although with sea view, far away from the sea. The beach equipment not in order and dirty.Generally expensive for what offers

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.5
    The staff are friendly andhelpfull even they are overwhelmed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The showers are really hard to use,needs maintencance. The hotel's food is not tasty at all, and we have to get out to the city to have our meals

    The staff are friendly andhelpfull even they are overwhelmed with work due to the limited number of them.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel. Great location in the city and close to the old town. Friendly staff especially receptionist Mr. Giannis Livadiotakis willing to help,clean and modern. The rooms were spacious clean. Definitely recommend it. It was quiet and ideal for couples.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    3.3
    Very kind and polite person on restarurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location it is near by fields Desing - it is a long corridor like prison. WiFi very poor Staff on the reception are not polite It is not as it is advertised on the web page. Not value for the money Always missing things on the breakfast like plates, eggs, tomatos or yogurt etc Very slow reception facilities Tried to charge extras which is not used by us

    Very kind and polite person on restarurant

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.1
    The staff are very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi is terrible! Frustrating at best. The room need a coffee/tea making facility as I do not always want to go to breakfast.

    The staff are very helpful and polite. Plenty of room around the hotel to have your own space.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, peacefulness, staff, cleanliness, nothing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The signpost to the hotel was difficult to see and car park dreary when arriving at night

    Location, peacefulness, staff, cleanliness, nothing to dislike.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    The view was great, right on the beach, the restaurant was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food on the buffet was always warm at best but mostly cold. Needs attention. Need better signage to reception we had no clue where to go

    The view was great, right on the beach, the restaurant was very good and the bartenders made a mean mojito ;-)

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff really helpful, friendly and knowledgable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault the hotel for anything, however nearest shops and restaurants are a 20 minute walk away.

    Staff really helpful, friendly and knowledgable. Luxury hotel, accommodation spotless and surrounding grounds beautiful. All 3 restaurants had a great selection of traditional Greek and international cuisine, delicious and reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.1
    Spacious tasteful & clean room with nice bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only the main (buffet) restaurant was open for the duration of our stay which was annoying given that it was advertised as having 3 restaurants on it's website. Seems it was not finished or was just completing refurbishment before high season starts. Annoying given that the hotel is in the middle of nowhere with nothing else within walking distance. The gym was locked on several occasions or the lights not working. (And it's in a very dingy basement with no windows) Beds not very comfortable. And there was little or no hot water. They also charge an outrageous 2 euro per day for the privilege of obtaining a key to the safe deposit box in the room. There was a fridge/mini bar but it was never restocked during our stay (we bought our own water & beers elsewhere as a result). There is a convenience store on site but it was unfinished and therefore closed during our stay. I guess the price we paid of under £500 for the week reflected all this and it was very good value at that rate but I think it's unfair to mislead people with what facilities are actually available. I would have rather paid more and had all the facilities.

    Spacious tasteful & clean room with nice bathroom and large balcony. Comfortable loungers, nice pool. Nice pool bar menu and good service

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    Pool is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At mornings was a little noisy on corridor, because of flagging. I hear everyone, who moves around our flat.

    Pool is awesome. Close to the beache.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee facilities in our room.

    Great facilities. Good price. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    9.6
    Great personnel, good value for money and a good base for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great personnel, good value for money and a good base for excursions.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    It was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was amazing!!!The location was excellent.Also great staff as well!!!Everything was fantastic.....

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, breakfast, free upgrade of a room due to low...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of anything in the kitchen, except glasses

    Friendly staff, breakfast, free upgrade of a room due to low season

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: