Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Athens Cypria Hotel 4 stars

Diomeias St 5, Athens, 10563, Greece

#115 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2205 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room is a bit dated and worn, One of our 2 rooms was not ready when we arrived and we had to wait over an hour for it to be prepared.

    The fabulous breakfast and roof top bar overlooking the Acropolis, along with the proximity to the shopping area made this hotel a great spot for us!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Thanks for looking after us during our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size and lack of natural light was disappointing. For €180 per night i did expect from the room.

    Breakfast buffet and roof top bar fabulous. Location fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    Location and roof top bar make this place a good place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were small and not much air, tiny window in our room which made it very claustrophobic. Beds are hard and uncomfortable.

    Liked the location, right on the main shopping street and very near to tourist attractions. Loved the rooftop bar, spectacular view and great staff. Staff friendly and helpful all round. The location and roof top bar made the place. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff was terrific and when I checked out and my ride...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Connected Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrific and when I checked out and my ride did not come they made sure to get me a cab to the airport. Their location was wonderful. Close to many good restaurants and the old part of the city. Loved the rooftop bar.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower area is really small and I don’t quite get the bathtub and shower. But it’s really clean.

    The staff is really patient and friendly. They are also helpful to my questions and booked my bus to another city and informed the best time and way to get there. I want to mention, Sofia (not sure if I spelled her name correct). Thank you Sofia. The location is like one of the best as it’s so close (less than 10 mins from Syntagma Station)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Location is fantastic and staff are extremely professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is extremely slow and at times unusable

    Location is fantastic and staff are extremely professional and always willing to assist. The room was very clean and you must visit the bar to see the awesome view both day and night. Highly recommend staying at this hotel :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hardly had any sleep. Extremely noisy: people checking out at 6a.m., the cleaners, and the delivery trucks in the street my room was facing to. The room door was rice-paper category - no soundproof of any kind. The room main door also allowed (from underneath) light from the corridor. The time spent in bed was also dramatic. Horrible beds!

    Central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Great location poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our family room was very basic, no window, felt claustrophobic and couldn’t hang out in it for any length of time

    Location, breakfast included and rooftop bar were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    The location is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is amazing! It’s literally in the heart of Athens. Few steps from Syntagma square and few steps from the shopping center. Very helpful staff. Ask for Dyonis the concierge very helpful and speaks good english.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant staff, excellent location, roof bar can be noisy if you are staying on the sixth floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Acropolis View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    May I suggest a carpet rather than wooden flooring in the rooftop bar? The noise of chairs scraping across the decking from morning (with the cleaners) to past midnight reverberated into the rooms on the 6th floor making it difficult to rest unless one kept the same hours as the patrons of the bar.

    I've travelled extensively and I have to say the staff at the Athens Cypria were some of the most friendly and helpful I have encountered in some time. Nothing was ever too much trouble and they went out of their way to ensure our stay was the best it could be. Thank you all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Excellent staff in all departments .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Policy of the hotel does NOT alow Greek music anywhere in the premises ,which ruins the point of having a view of the acropolis by having to listen to hip-hop or what ever music !!!

    Very good location , staff excellent !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and amazing rooftop bar. The cocktails were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we first arrived the receptionist (Margarite) was very unfriendly and unhelpful. When we asked her questions she was quite rude and dismissive. This initially made me think we had chosen the wrong venue, however, the rest of the staff were extremely helpful, especially the man on the door. He directed us to the Acropolis, helped us with our bags and was very pleasant.

    Location location location. Situated in the heart of the city, this hotel is central to everything. It also has the most amazing rooftop bar and at night you have the most spectacular view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we were in was previously broken into, wall was cracked door frame damaged door damaged shoddy repair done We did not notice when we checked in we when we came back from meal we barricade the door and have photos to. Prove. Mentioned it to lady on check out completely indifferent ?

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Right in the centre of Athens, near the main shopping street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the centre of Athens, near the main shopping street, handy for the bus from the airport, between the two main squares of Syntagma and Monastaraki, so handy for the metro to the port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    A nice stay in a historic city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was located in the Annex which meant using two different elevators and climbing stairs.

    The location is perfect for walking to the Capital building and the Plaka area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    In general good experience, recommended for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was clean but very old-fashioned, the bathroom was super small and abit uncomfortable!

    Good location, friendly staff, decent breakfast, good AC in the room and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    it was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    a lot of the furniture in the room was damaged and the same can be said for the walls

    there was a jacuzzi tub in the washroom which was a pleasant surprise at this price point

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    We were very happy with our stay in Athens Cypriot hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception when we were looking for police station to report my husbands wallet had been stolen from his pocket in Monastraki. They gave us a station that was closed. Then another station that did not deal with this. Eventually we got address of tourist Garda station to report the theft from someone on street. I gave them the address in case it happened to someone else and you could see they didn’t even take it down A restaurant serving a few more dishes in the evening would be nice

    Breakfast very good. Room and air con comfortable. Nice central location. Loved Acropolis bar view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room with small balcony, pleasant sitting area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable room with small balcony, pleasant sitting area on side street in front of lobby and very helpful staff. Location can't be beat and the breakfast was good too. All in all a great place to stay in Athens, if you don't need posh (though they do have a rooftop bar with a view of the Acropolis -- just like the posh places).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    Very close to the heart of the city, Syntagma square.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When I had to change my room for technical reasons I returned the key-card and its holder to the front desk. Next day I realized that two e-mail addresses with the holder which I wanted to keep. I reported the story at the front desk, I was told that the holder had been thrown out. Nevertheless the following day I found the missing card-holder in my room in an envelop. That was very kind of the staff!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Good stay at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room for the first night had a broken A/C. We could only change rooms the following day because the hotel was fully booked.

    Great location (on the shopping district, 5-7 min walk to the metro, 20 mins walk to the Acropolis/Flea Market) and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location, basic rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic. The lobby and the facade looks good, but the rooms are very run down sadly. Bed is unconfortable too. No way that the hotel 4 star standard

    Good location right next to the main pedestrian thoroughfare of Athens. Rooms have air conditioner. Okay breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I stayed here for 5 nights and loved everything about the property! The staff were fantastic, facilities excellent, very clean. The breakfast deserves a special mention as it was exceptional, hot and cold buffet with a great selection. Rooftop bar has a great view of Acropolis. location was really good, just off the shopping street Ermou, only a minute walk to syntagma square (the city sightseeing tours run from here which I would highly recommend) and walking distance to all main attractions. Note the acropolis museum is open late (until 10pm I think) on Friday nights and the restaurant on 2nd floor is open until midnight so this can be a nice time to visit. Lots of excellent restaurants within a few minutes of hotel, especially on mitropoleos street which runs from syntagma square to monastriraki - famous for its flea market. Have already recommended this hotel to friends and if I’m lucky enough to return to Athens would definitely stay here. On another note would just like to say that Athens is a beautiful city with lots to see and do, but the thing that stood out for me was the hospitality of the people everywhere we went. The Athenians are the friendliest, most helpful people I’ve ever met with a great sense of humour!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful Athens experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room’s furniture and design are old and the view was towards an interior poor empty courtyard. The breakfast was in all 3 days the same, with limited options.

    The hotel is well situated, very close to the heart of Athens, with a great roof view towards Acropolis. The lobby is new and welcoming, as well as the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice clean and convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not the comfiest and the pillows were a bit flat.

    Nice clean and convenient hotel. Easy and problem free stay and it was quiet too. Lovely cocktail bar on the roof.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Very good location, clean rooms, excellent staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, clean rooms, the staff was friendly, helpful and human. I have stayed there after surgery operation and they have let me check out late free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    A very good location but limited facility for the value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No double beds, twin beds only. Staff were mixed, some very helpful, some not so. The aircon in the room is centrally controlled, often room was too hot and you need to call the reception to change.

    The hotel is in a very good central location. The Parthenon and Syntagma Square are all within walking distance. Rooms are reasonable size but slightly on the smaller size for a family of 4.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Athens Cypria Hotel met all our expectations and more. The staff were kind and always took care of our requests. The location is great. Everything is within reasonable walking distance. The complimentary breakfasts was great, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location. Value for money. Rooms not fit for 4 person occupancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked a room for 4 persons. It looks like the room could only fit a double bed and a single one. Adding an extra camp bed to it left absolutely no space to move around.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, but rooms not as pictured
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room was very tiny and the only small window looked into another room across the way. It was very dark, cramped, and had poor wifi reception. I asked to switch and although one staff was not very polite about it, I was allowed to move into another room (same price) that was much, much better. I'm still rather surprised that they use that first room at all for guests.

    Roof top bar was very nice. Perfect location; walking distance to most sites, close to the metro and airport bus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Location is right at the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Connected Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is right at the center. No need of car, every touristic location is in a walking distance. Breakfast was very rich and good. The staff were always helping and with a smile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Good but the breakfast need to be improved.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast with not a big selection of pastry and croissant, no jam and no cappuccino ( The cappuccino need to be paid extra and is available only after the opening of the lobby bar at 9,00 am)

    Good Location and good internet connection. Very good view from the roof top bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was broken. Heater wasn't warm enough. Told staff but didn't do anything. Noisy next room and outside. Bed is hard and sofa bed is not comfy.

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Not as good as it looks online
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We wanted to go on the roof restaurant for a relaxing dinner with Acropolis view and they told us that the restaurant doesn't serve food until 19:00 and we can only have a drink or eat snacks... Are you kidding me? Why have a lovely restaurant when you can't use it for real dinner after 19:00??? This unacceptable. The rooms were not clean. the bathroom was nothing special and the breakfast should definitely be richer. There was no baked beans and the first day there wasn't any fried eggs or scrabbles.

    The hotel is in very good location. However the rooms are nothing as it looks in the pictures

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.5
    Not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast . Room large but not practical,Very bad smell in the room. Humidity on the walls ,Not enough electric plugs, Bed large but not comfortable.... considering that it was a Superior room

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has an excellent location near to the interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Acropolis View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the bathroom and the towels requires upgrading; the same breakfast every day but good the coffee at breakfast was very disappointing: we believe that an modern coffemachine would not be an expensive investment;

    The hotel has an excellent location near to the interesting points: Syntagma, Acropolis, Plaka, Monastiraky. We have a room vith superb Acropolis view ! Very friedly staff. A pleasant surprise - on 31 december the manager of the hotel offered to the clients a postcard and a souvenir representing the traditional pomegranate. The New Year with live music on the roof bar was nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Athens
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Perfect place to stay in the center of Athens. Very friendly staff, at the Reception, the Restaurants of the Roof Bar. We loved to stay in this hotel for New Year. We had a very great time. The breakfast (open buffet) in the morning is perfect to then start to visit the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    This our second stay, a nice clean hotel, right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here before in a different room with an extra bed which was same category but with a street view and it was fantastic. This time it was back yard view, and we asked for a double bed but got a twin room. The hotel was willing to move us to a double room next day but we had already settled and decided to stay in the given room. Not hotel's fault as we perhaps did not ask for a double bed specifically, but still, compared to the fabulous first time, this spoilt the impression a little. The worst, however, was that this room had very poor ventilation, all the humidity from the bathroom stayed in and we had to keep opening the balcony door. Not a major problem for 3 nights considering we were out all day but we will keep this in mind when making future reservation in Athens. Also, last time we had fruit in the room and this time, although for us it is not an issue at all, there was none and it felt a bit like a downgrade.

    This our second stay, a nice clean hotel, right in the centre, but for a decent price, easy to get from the airport with public transport. Located in a surprisingly quiet street just off Syntagma square and you can get good night's rest. The hotel is also being renovated and looks better each time. The attention of staff is just what you expect, hospitable without being overwhelming. Great places to eat nearby and you have choice of every kind of restaurants and tavernas there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room needs some updating. There is no privacy when you go outside the balcony as the guests from the next room can see your room and it is easily accessible with just a simple jump. Moreover, I found the breakfast OK, but not something special. Although, it is unacceptable to me , that "espresso" is not included in the types of coffee that they are served during breakfast (only greek, frappe or "French" coffee). For an espresso or anything similar you have to pay for it.

    The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre. The staff is really friendly and always ready to help you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Room needs to be renovated;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs to be renovated; otherwise, it is advisable the price to be reduced. However, the room was clean, breakfast sufficient and location and staff perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from the bar not friendly at all..and i wait for my drink like 25 min ...and nobody was out side only me ...is to much to wait for a drink..

    The room was very clean and nice!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Good location, excellent staff, spacious and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the property are two buildings connected, the corridor to the second building don't give a good impression, maybe better furniture and more comfortable reading areas will make it better

    Central location, clean and good sized rooms, excellent breakfast and very good staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is excellent- out of the tourist-tac of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were rock-hard and the rooms so pokey, we had to take turns to get up and walk around! It used to be a great value for money hotel but it's recently been up-dated with a roof-top garden with views of the Acropolis plus a more glamorous lobby so it's achieved a four star status, but it's not really what we'd call four star.

    The location is excellent- out of the tourist-tac of the Plaka, near Syntagma. When you're in an unfamiliar place you depend on the staff, and they couldn't do enough for us. There's tea-making facilities in the rooms and a bowl of local fruit that's refreshed every day. I'm gluten-free and at breakfast every morning I was brought extraordinary trays of breads and processed meats- all of which I found inedible - but the thought was there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    I’d stay here again, but may look around for someplace with a softer mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firmest mattress I’ve ever slept on, could be good for some but not side sleepers. Also, the WiFi was super slow, but reliable.

    The room was clean, the rooftop bar is super cool and does have a great view. Location is great, quick walk to the metro station and a ton of bars, restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great location, staff and value for the money.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi needs to be upgraded.

    Amazing staff (all), great location (stores, bars & restaurants are right around the corner), very clean, good breakfast. Rooftop bar has a great view and staff there is amazing. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Quaint hotel in central, safe location with spacious rooms, great spa bathtub and excellent service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not able to get the jets in the tub to work, but that did not matter to me.

    The enormous spa bathtub in my bathroom was amazing! I had just run the Athens Authentic Marathon when I checked in and spent two hours in that tub. The hotel staff was also very accommodating regarding drop off of my baggage earlier than check-in time. The location is excellent - central, close to Syntagma Square, in a very safe neighborhood with lots of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast is poor with awful taste, definitely overpriced!

    Great location, easy access to the metro station, airport and the most beautiful locations in Athens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Location to the sights of the city and transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room a bit dated needs renovation

    Location to the sights of the city and transport. Clean room and comfortable bed Good breakfast selection Friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    It was ok. Value for money but I wouldnt choose it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean bed cover. Dirty curtains. The a/c was not working properly and it was very cold during the night. Plus there was not a warm bed cover and the one that was available did not look clean.

    Good location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except for lobby rest of the hotel needs renovation.

    Location. Walking distance to all attractions and shopping. Many restaurants around. Walking distance to metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.1
    Location, location, location... but nothing more than that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was relatively big but had only a window to an internal shaft, and the mattress was very hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast was not good value and served in a crowded and windowless room, you can get a better breakfast in any of the cafes outside the hotel.

    Amazing location, a few steps from Athens main shopping street (Ermou St.) and very close to Syntagma Sq. and its Metro station (easy access from the airport).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.0
    a safe hotel, but hardly a four star hotel
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel room itself was rundown. The wooden cabinets where the closet is had not been cleaned and had smear/grease marks on it. Some heavy usage/wear on the headboard behind the beds. TV was mounted sideways (just minorly annoying). The Light sockets were coming out of the main ceiling, the towels in our room were ratty, and strings were coming off of them. You are to throw your toilet paper in the can next to the toilet, ours had drips from urine or other human matter dribbled down the front of it. We also left early in the morning by taxi and were misinformed as to the fee during the early hours (we knew it was more) but not as much as the front desk advised...our taxi driver got a VERY hefty tip. That was disappointing.

    Hotel was central to major Athens historical attractions. Common areas (lobby, cafe on main level) were updated, well lit, and comfortable. Nice buffet style breakfast. Staff was very attentive and very responsive when we had a request.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Hotel was difficult to find- even taxis had a hard time finding it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needed a blanket for sleep. The bed was covered with only a sheet with a small strip of decorative material at the foot. There was no blanket for sleeping warmth or comfort. The AC was used and set at a moderate temperature as the room initially was stuffy. However, I needed a blanket as I always sleep with one.

    The room was clean and nicely appointed. The staff was courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay, people very friendly and helpful, excellent services
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the hotel facilities are suitable for disabled people the bathroom did not have the necessary equipment required for disabled people. Also the elevators that lead to the breakfast area are very small and do not fit a wheelchair.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. Facilities were clean and neat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed that these events occurred, spoilt an otherwise great holiday with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you choose to stay at this hotel, make sure you lock your valuables in the safe. On two occasions within two weeks of each other items were stolen from our room. On the first stay, family jewellery with sentimental value kept in a jewellery box vanished with hotel management unsympathetic to our requests for answers, with photographic evidence that the item was in the room the day it disappeared. Unfortunately I had prepaid another booking to stay in Athens for one night two weeks later before flying home; I would not have stayed there again given the disappearance of our jewellery. On this occasion within 3 hours of checking out, at the airport I noticed that my iPad had been left in the room as it was not in our luggage. We had locked it in the safe overnight and had taken it out the morning of our checkout. I rang the hotel and asked them to check the room and the iPad had vanished into thin air as well. The hotel management even went so far as to accuse me of fabricating two stories of theft in order for personal gain. I was very disappointed given that up until this point I had stayed at this hotel on several occasions without incident, however the fact that this has transpired with hotel management denying any wrongdoing and unwilling to compensate us in any way leads me to give this hotel a score of 0 out of 10. In my opinion, having a safe in a room is a hotel's way of absolving themselves of any responsibility if anything goes missing. Everyone is entitled to feel safe in a room they are paying for and would expect that basic rights of privacy and respect are upheld. If I decide to take something from a hotel room for my personal gain the hotel will swiftly send me the bill to replace the item that has been taken. Yet the same doesn't hold true when a guest's personal belongings are taken without their consent. Bottom line, I will never stay at this hotel again. Good luck if you decide to.

    Location, close to city centre and attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    all in all it was quite an enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the small bathroom and the very old fashioned shower consisting mainly of having to stand in a not wide enough bath tub with side curtains and holding the shower head in my hand as it had no vertical travelling ability but just a single positioned high hook.

    breakfast and the hotel's position

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    We will definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Connected Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location with a wonderful view of the Acropolis from the room and rooftop restaurant! Staff were very helpful, and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Good base for Athens sightsseing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Quite noisy and grim view from the balcony of a run down office block opposite.

    Central location close to main shops, restaurants and all museums and historical sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    A hotel in two halves (make sure you get the good half!)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was old and tired and located in the the back half of the hotel which is run down and inconvenient to access. The air conditioner in our room leaked constantly into the room soaking the carpet. The staff were generally quite unapproachable.

    Hotel is in a great position close to restaurants and shops. Breakfast was really great, lots of interesting local options (vego and non veg).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant people in a central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not get safe to work.

    As always staff were very friendly and helpful. Very central with comfortable rooms. Breakfast buffet is very nice and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean but needed modernized. Hallways, walls, and woodwork needed painted.

    Breakfast was very good. Staff was friendly and very helpful! Lobby was tastefully decorated. Location was the best part!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The best 4* hotel I stayed before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best 4* hotel I stayed before. The location is very close to all you need to see in Athens. Also in 100 meters from the hotel there are plenty of bars, most popular ones. Fitness room working hours is 5-24, will be better to be 06-01, but anyway I liked it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Not even close to a 4 star hotel given the room accomodations, but a decent 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small, sparsely furnished without a good desk or sitting chair, bed past due for replacing, and connection between sections of hotel requires lots of steps or multiple elevator ride.

    Great location in shopping area with lots of restaurants, few blocks from antique market, 6 minute walk from Metro with 50 minute train from airport (allow at least 1-1/2 hours for train to airport).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Perfect to explore the central districts of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can hear a lot of what happens in the adjacent rooms

    The location is just perfect. We could reach on foot almost every attraction this wonderful city has to offer. It's really close to the metro station as well (directly connected with the airport).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great choice in choosing this hotel based on ratings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room, as well as the entire hotel, was extremely clean and the sheets and pillow cases were clean white. The room was spacious enough to accommodate the two of us and two suite cases. Breakfast was excellent. They had a variety of food to choose from every day. Location could not have been better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.6
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning didn't work in one room, was moved to another which was ratteling and worked partly in the third room. bed was terrible and hard as a rock, sheets didn't fit. shower was dirty and the sink was cracked. I'd rate the hotel 2*-

    Location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable....made it easy for my family to move around
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room balcony wasnt so good and there wad quite loud noise coming from the kitchens air extinquish

    I liked the position of the property as wel as the staff. The rooms were in great condition

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable modern hotel with good rooms and excellent staff, close to all the tourist sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor quibbles - safety deposit box (room safe) couldn't be made to work despite following the instructions to the letter. (Suggest this really should be checked each time a guest leaves.) Some dried toothpaste around the washbasin hadn't been cleaned off, and both teaspoons were dirty (but the room was very clean otherwise). NB if you want to use the minibar as a fridge, it isn't really cold enough.

    Superior double room is roomy with huge and very comfortable bed, good bathroom with jacuzzi bath. Surprisingly quiet at night. Location excellent, just a few steps from Syntagma, easy walking distance to Plaka (10 mins) and the Acropolis (15 mins). Staff on reception and at breakfast were really excellent - very helpful. Plentiful breakfast with 'international' choices but also a very good Greek selection - olives, cheeses, proper Greek breads, yogurt, honey, fresh watermelon, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to find the hotel; even the taxi driver struggled. Small lift.

    The breakfast was good. Staff very friendly Central location; close to the mall ( shops ) & restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.8
    It is not a luxurious hote, but it is a good value for the location and the breakfast it provides.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have been always staying in this hotel whenever we visit Athens. We were disappointed this year that the offering of coupons for a drink or coffee had been terminated, and although we did not use them all the times, it was a very nice gesture. Also, do not expect to have a nice view of the Acropolis, or any nice view whatsoever, from your window or balcony. It did not bother us, as we used our nice room mostly for rest from our wandering in Plaka and other nearby places.

    Excellent location, very good value. Breakfast is very good, a lot of choices, excellent if it had freshly-squeezed orange juice, but one finds that in much higher class hotels in Greece. For a typical non-Greek tourist, everything that needs to be visited is within a short walking distance, with the exception of a couple of museums, the archaeological most importantly, which is a bit further. If one needs to visit other further areas of Athens, the modern Athens metro is nearby, as are some buses. (Tip: if you do not have a lot of luggage and you arrive at the airport in non-rush hours, the bus terminal is slightly closer to the hotel than the metro station. However, in Greece, the definition of rush hour maybe different. It may be midnight and some roads look like LA at 8 am!) We have never had any issue with the cleanliness of the hotel or the room and with any interaction we have had with the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good hotel in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little old. Needs renovations.

    Very good hotel in the city center. A little rundown but everything you need is available in the room and other services like reception help and breakfast. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    An Overall Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a little dated. Although they are clean rooms, the dated carpets and furnishing don't give it a clean feel. The wifi was slow in my room, I don't know if it was because I was at the end of the hall or not, but I couldn't stream anything with ease. Emails and Facebook were ok to access though.

    The hotel is in a good location, in a side street off the main shopping mall from Syntagma down to Monastiraki. The hotel itself is well staffed and quite pleasant upon arrival. The room is a little dated, but it was large enough to comfortably fit 2 people, and have 2 very large suitcases open. The air-conditioning in the room worked well. The wifi was slow at times so don't expect to stream anything with any ease. It was OK for accessing emails and Facebook. The bed was comfortable and the linens were nice. The bathroom was a little bigger than the typical European bathroom, so that was good. The breakfast was pretty good. Eggs, Bacon, cheeses, fruits, etc. Had the lot. Overall it was a good stay and I'd consider staying here again if the price was right.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Location really central.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They say they recently became a 4 star hotel - well, the part where we stayed is no way 4 stars. Part of the furniture was rather old, and a corner of the ceiling was blackish (mould).

    Location really central. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise of the air conditioning equipment outside the room; light leaking from beneath the door; flooding of waste water on the bathroom floor after draining the bath.

    location; early start of breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful experience! I would go back, but stay at the back side of the hoetl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 2 nights, our rooms were facing the street and the noise was very loud. The rest of the stay we were at the back of the hotel and I slept well.

    Location and price!

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: