Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Athina 3 stars

Main Street, Karavomylos, 28080, Greece

Review score

Based on 42 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The owner and manager, Makis is the perfect host and nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The owner and manager, Makis is the perfect host and nothing is too much trouble, a perfect gent! The bedrooms are a little basic, but you only sleep there, they are very clean and tidy. You can use the pool at the more expensive Ionian Emerald hotel at no extra charge, its next door. Everything is perfect, you are made most welcome and it has a very friendly family feel. Everything is spotless and Sami is a very relaxed town with many taverners.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was Fawlty Towers on steroids. Rooms have not been renovated or maintained since it was built. The first room was not what we booked. The “balcony” furniture was ancient plastic chairs, one so badly cracked you couldn’t sit on it. Our second room, the “shower”, built for a small child, floods the floor, while water spurts everywhere (including on the door and wall mounted 1980’s hair dryer). The curtain rail is wider than the base, but at least you then get an indoor pool! The small bubble box tv is also from the 80’s and pointless. The bed creaked so badly you woke every time someone moved their little finger. When trying to talk to the “manager”... he will talk over you, while smoking, talking on his mobile and talking to other guests at the same time... and telling you your issues are just your opinion, and he thinks it’s definitely the best room and he chose it juuuust for you! Would never stay here or recommend anyone stay here!

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not big enough, with plastic courtine. That's the only negative of the hotel...

    Mika hospitality was amazing! He received us with a big smile and gave us a room upgrade because it was our honeymoon, a front Seaview room!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay, ideal location on beautiful island we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room we booked was fine with a lovely view across the bay. The only issue was the shower which being 6'5" and 17 stone I found very cramped and impossible to keep the shower curtain within the 2' x 2' base.

    The hotel revolves around the owner who appears to be on duty at all times and does his very best to make everybody welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    6.7
    Position of hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Bathroom facilities

    Position of hotel. Relaxing atmosphere. Use of pool and beach sun beds at neighbouring hotel. Very friendly and helpful owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    A great holiday in a good location, with the lovely town of Sami a very walkable distance away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts could have been better, despite no cooking facilities eg greater choice of fruit, olives, nicer bread. Mattresses were uncomfortably hard.

    Mike greeted each guest each morning which was so nice and he always greeted us. He also didn’t hesitate to give us a better room when asked. We very much appreciated the use of Emerald’s facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Strategic location, nice structure, friendly host, a bit outdated infrastructure
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel looks like it has been build in the 80ies and has never been renewed ever since. The fixtures and infrastructure are a bit outdated (i.e. bathroom could use a refresh, rusty tub; old, tiny TV) and also the breakfast was a bit low standard (with small adjustments they could offer a nicer buffet for the same cost). In general cleanliness is OK, not excellent, in both room and common areas (breakfast buffet, etc). Hotel guests tend to be mostly people over 50, nothing against that per se, but I felt a bit like in the wrong crowd.

    The position in Karavomylos is strategically perfect, as it allows you to reach many beautiful areas of the island in a reasonable amount of time (of course, a car is a must!). Beautiful location of the hotel with view on the bay of Sami (which I saw from my balcony). Very friendly owner and staff. Generous parking lot, never had issues to find a spot. Beautiful architecture of the hotel with a scent of jasmine flower welcoming you every time you walk up the stairs. Living room area with books and a guitar that encourages guests to hang out with each other, if they like. Walking distance to an OK beach, for a last dip in the sea before getting ready for dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In fact, we were very disappointed with the acommodation: the ONLY 1 photo of the room at the website wasn't the photo of the room that we stayed. The acommodation was big, but old, the bathroom was small, the bed wasn't comfortable, the minibar very very noisy and the shower wasn't working very well. When we asked to change room, the staff was very receptive, but offered us 2 options that werent according to the reservation we made (Double room with sea view): 1 of them with two single beds, and the other with side sea view, not front. The quality of these rooms was better, but we really wanted a front sea view, so we did not change. The price we paid was expensive, considering the overall experience we had. Resuming, we expected so much more, considering the Booking.com review rate and the price of the Hotel. In our case, it did not worth it.

    Nice and sympathetic staff (very friendly and happy), nice sea view, breakfast and location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Incredible island and every hotel should have a Makis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing we had a great time

    Makis the owner of Athina was the best host that we have ever come across he couldn't do enough for us. He even installed a hairdryer into the room as I had asked for one. A good bonus is that you can use the pool, spa and bar at the Ionian Emerald Hotel next door with no fee as his brother runs that resort. The hotel is a great base to explore Kefalonia especially if you hire a car. Room was simple but absolutely spotless

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel, with everything you need to relax a few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    A very nice hotel, with everything you need to relax a few days. Makis makes everyone feel at home. We will be back!.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Makis is phenomenal and made sure we had everything we needed and more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good!

    The owner is very sweet and caring and the location is really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Great fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little small and mattress a bit thin

    Friendliness, cleanliness views all wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    So Warm and Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully friendly staff that inspires the guests to become Freinds. Very unique. Great beach location with the use of the sister hotel facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Awesome host an hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non applicable

    Superb location. Walkable to Sami and Mikis is an awesome host. Definitely going back 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, welcoming and so friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Really beautiful place to stay, felt so welcome and at home. Such friendly staff and beautiful views. Thank you for a lovely experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    makis the owner is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi not working well

    the staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner of the hotel is very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere in the hotel was really good. I arrived on my own and left with many new friends

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Exceptional hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intemitant wifi

    The hospitality is exceptional. Location is perfect for a quiet, lazy holiday. Pleasant 20 minute walk to nearby Sami for tavernas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location and use of sister hotel next doors pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Perfect location and use of sister hotel next doors pool and bar

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic & Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic

    Friendly host & use of sister 5* hotel facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location, very friendly owner and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bar a bit noisy, could hear it in our room but not really a problem

    Great location, very friendly owner and staff. Good value bed and breakfast. Full use of pool and sun beds at hotel next door

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    4.2
    The owner was very attentive and remembers everybody's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very isolated with hostel quality rooms. The bed actually broke on us, there was no tv in the room, the shower curtain had holes and the music from the bar was very loud until the late hours. Would not stay again due to quality of hotel and isolated location.

    The owner was very attentive and remembers everybody's name.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    The staff were so welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were so welcoming and helpful. The location is great: a beautiful view of the bay from our balcony, a short wander to Sami proper and a stone's throw from Melissani Cave.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    8.8
    We are just back from an amazing 10 day stay at Hotel Athina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are fairly basic but this is reflected in the price you pay. I would have liked a bath but that's a luxury not a necessity.

    We are just back from an amazing 10 day stay at Hotel Athina. We had the best holiday and will be booking to go back next year. Makis (the owner) is an excellent host and we met some fabulous people. Counting down the months to the next one already!

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    6.3
    Very welcome and friendly staff, the staff are wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room is pretty small and the sheet and towel are not so clean, seems like an renew hotel. Wifi is fine.

    Very welcome and friendly staff, the staff are wonderful. can see the sea but not very close. Very good breakfast. Kitchen is OK.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Friendly welcome, very helpful staff, clean and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome, very helpful staff, clean and comfortable with excellent facilities

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Host was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Squeekie bed!

    Host was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved this place! Mr. Makis, the owner, is a sweet heart and the hotel is just a few steps from the beach!

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    7.5
    Matis is an excellent host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Matis is an excellent host. Peaceful setting

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    Great friendly owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy till late

    Great friendly owners

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: