Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avalon Hotel 4 stars

Airport Area, Thérmi, 57001, Greece

#1 of 4 hotels in Thérmi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1239 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location for the purpose of travel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room at the basement floor of the property which would be fine if in the room there was no need to keep an air freshener plugged in (probably to compensate for the basement location); the smell even when unplugged was lingering in the room until the morning. The pillows and mattresses were extra hard and did not feel that we really got some rest through the night. The most annoying thing for sure was extreme noise and doors slamming until 3am. When we managed to get some sleep then the breakfast trolleys/doors opening/closing started at 6am. Overall did not manage to get a lot of sleep...

    The shuttle driver was extra friendly and made us feel like home and welcomed. It was close to the airport and close to the hospital we were going in the morning. Breakfast was good with a lot of selection. The hotel is very well designed with a nice rustic feeling and a very nice pool area. Also welcome wine and free bottled water was greatly appreciated, especially under the remote location the hotel is located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable for a single night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no balcony, because we stayed in the basement. There is no surrounding area were you can walk, so you are a bit isolated at this hotel. Anything you can do is to take a taxi and drive to the Thessaloniki center.

    The breakfast was very good and the coffee was refreshing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Friendly and effiecent staff, comfortable and clean room, reasonably priced. Great for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited pool opening (1100 - 1900 hours), should be open earlier for guests. Mixed drinks from bar overpriced.

    Free and prompt pick up and return to airport. Very clean room. Free bottle of wine and x2 bottles of water in fridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant overnight stay near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool opened by 1100, but we had to leave earlier.

    Convenient shuttle from and to the airport. Reception with wine in the room. Nice breakfast with pleasant view of the pool area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place for an overnight stay near the airport including free shuttle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was a budget room it was in the basement. Fine for one night but worth bearing in mind if you need somewhere longer to stay.

    A great place for an overnight stay if you are using Thessaloniki airport at a very reasonable price. Free airport shuttle available. The food and the service in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Perfect service and comfort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Spacy room with a lot of Business Class comforts, fridge and perfect breakfast: both continental and Greek; - Very very very nice staff: my best friend from Holland came by plane (we arrived by car from NL) and alltough she didn't stay at the hotel she was picked up and enjoyed breakfast with us, as she came with some budget Airliner; - Great pool with great staff: we got a big fruit salat as a present! And we had a great and sunny day; - Perfect to park your car, hotel is very well organised and maintained! - Nice lobby and restaurant to sit and dine! Prices normal! Well done! - Thank you all, for a great stay: most hotels do not offer these services and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Handy location for night before flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was below grade ie. basement even though booking request was for an upper floor. Noisy at night if someone in corridor as it was tiled and sound of luggage rolling, voices etc echoed.

    Close to airport with free shuttle

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Good for short brake or couple days stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is open for public access which is not stated in hotels facilities description. Therefore is very crowded and all those people are walking in the hotel to use the toilets. Not impressed with that solution for 4 star rated hotel. Also bathrooms really need an upgrade including plumbing, shower head didn't work properly and if you want a longer shower form is coming out from drain in bathroom floor. Also fire exit doors in constant use and open next to my room plus very lud lorry on the back of car park during the night.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    to catch a flight in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel location lost in the middle of nowhere, cut off everything. nothing in walking distance. do not stay without a car. restaurant menu limited and not good value. swimming pool menu limited too if more appealing by sight. be sure your palne leaves in the morning or waiting could become hard.

    standard modern hotel with professional management. comfortable lounge, big parking. swimming pool attended by locals and good refreshments service. shuttle service to airport perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Very bad hotel in a good location. Better stay away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a non smoking room and got a room that smelled like an ashtray. When I asked the reception lady she admitted they dont really have non smoking rooms and no smoke detectors so guest can do what they want.. and believe me they did... was very hard to sleep, not to mention the very old furnitures and beds. Shower hardly worked and matress was as hard as it can get. This hotel is NOT 4* hotel but rather 2*-3* max

    Good location close to the airport Decent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice! Very close to the airport...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like some strange smell in the bathroom. Otherwise, everything was perfect.

    Breakfast was nice. Bed was comfortable. Very close to the airport. Hotel does arrange the shuttle to the airport on time.....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Just what we needed, close to the airport and a good standard of hotel for an over-night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area was a little remote and not somewhere you would walk at night.

    Closeness to the airport, clean room and excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Ideal location for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The loud thumping music by the pool

    Very comfortable room (although not 'Greek'... ie carpets etc ;) ) Nice bar and great food in the restaurant. Very friendly waiting staff. Pool area busy with non residents, and VERY loud thumping music non-stop piped over the pool, so not very relaxing! Very close to the airport, so great if you have an early flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation all round. Would definitely stay there again. Shuttle service is terrific!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit difficult to find and get there; but once there, great!

    Brilliant accommodation. Very friendly staff, spacious rooms with lovely bathrooms including hot water. Excellent WiFi and Breakfast. AND, excellent shuttle service with a lovely, helpful driver.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely Kastoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything is totally perfect

    We liked totally everything. The host were very nice. The bed was so comfy. The breakfast tasty, fresh fruits, eggs, strawberry, parma, cheese and delicious bakery. What else needed? The location is in the best area-quite and near the lake. This hotel made our trip and we will stay again once come back to this lovely city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    very nice, comfortable and rightfully four stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could provided more assistance to coming and leaving guests

    very nice, comfortable and rightfully four stars hotel very clean, quiet and pleasent in spite of closeness to airport - airplanes noise is not heard very good breakfast, you can eat outside In front of the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Surprisingly good and excellent value considering the location in a rather run down location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had difficulty locating the hotel and our sat nav led us down a potholed lane which seemed unlikely to have a hotel on it but we did find it after asking for directions. We discovered there was an alternative route.

    Rooms were in the basement but there was a large window so was pleasantly surprised. Room comfortable and well appointed. Lovely terrace with planted area close to the pool with surrounding trees so the busy road nearby was not an issue. Shuttle service excellent, we used it to return our hire car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel over-rated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty old hotel that need to be refurbished. Old and used carpet in the room, bed hardly comfortable. Not that clean... Though this is a hotel airport which means you need sometime to get up early, the breakfast restaurant only opens at 7h30. There is no official arrangements to get some breakfast earlier though the room rate includes breakfast. We could however grab some food before official opening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Only one night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the airport altough it was difficilt to get there from the airport by car.

    The room is ok with comfortable bed. Nice staff, good service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    Ok for the reason i was there defo recommend for business users or very short stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little more selective, more fruit, proper scrambled eggs. Beds a little softer. Didn’t see if there was an option to eat st hotel, no pen or paper or Menu in room.

    The room I had in the basement was a little dated however the tv and bathroom were modern. Bed was a little hard but was good for my back. Would prefer a double As opposed to 2 singles pushed together. Towels were hard need softer towels. Layout was good . Good value for money would not say 4* but a 3* Great service with the free transfers. Staff was good and polite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Great place for a few days of business stay for a conference.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Far from everything, you'll need a car to even get to the closest supermarket. It was good because I was only there for business, but for your holidays I would only recommend going here if you plan on staying in the hotel, by the pool, and eating hotel food. Also, not vegetarian-friendly at all. And of course, the hotel WiFi is abominable

    Free shuttles to and from the airport were great, as well as the option of free shuttles to and from our conference centre. Friendly staff, decent prices, very quiet and serene location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed our sleep over
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for hotel transfer 40 min instead of promised 5. Had to call 3-4 times before we were picked up even though came late and with a baby.

    We enjoyed our sleep over

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Liked it so much that I could of quite happily spent a week there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is outside of the city and local town and I was told they would drive me to the local bus station so that I could visit. The restaurant was good and good value. The service superb. The complementary wine and bottled water in the fridge were nice touches. Christmas decoration elegant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place with good atmosphere and delicious food.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful and welcoming, even when our flight arrived in the middle of the night. The room was super clean and the beds and bath and all was well-kept and comfy. The ambiance is nice and food delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Quite happy staying in the hotel, very good!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough soap in the disperser. The towels could have been a bit softer. All minor though.

    Modern, clean, good breakfast, restaurant on site, close to the airport yet quite, located within green countryside, free airport transfer. I will stay there again. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value, excellent location for airport.Would recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived in the evening. If I was on the room in the daytime I would have been unhappy with the 'view'.

    Excellent value buffet dinner. The welcome drink was a nice surprise. Green tea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Good for one night stay over night with no time for entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During warm shiny days first part of October, the pool was empty, garden without sitting possibility. Rooms in the lower floor - not soundproof - noise from the hall

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Good place near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was hard.

    Good hotel for one night. Located near the Airport with shuttle service. Good Wifi connectivity, good food at the restaurant. Good breakfast selection. Good value for the money. Staff people were OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    All in all, can't complain :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony from my room is not facing the pool, but the road and open mark, not as attractive as I thought. I waited for more than 30 minutes for the shuttle bus at the airport late at night. Given that the distance from the hotel to the airport is only 10 minutes according to Google Map, I think the service response time could be improved.

    My room is on the 1st floor, clean and quite. The staff is helpful and friendly. They arrange a shuttle bus to accommodate all my needs completely for free. They not only pick me up from the airport to the hotel, but also take me to Europcar office the next day. Top excellence!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    wery nice place if you need rest near airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wery nice place if you need rest near airport.Staff take you from airport, just need call (wait 5 min) and when you left hotel get where you need . Nice breakfest. Thank You for everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Value for money, outstanding breakfast included in price , excellent evening dinner with good choice of menu and very good value both in price and quantity. Very helpful and caring staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Tremendous value for money one night stop over after the flight. A return gig is on the cards!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The free airport shuffle was most welcome but late arriving for some reason, for which the manager apologised (to a complaining guest)

    The draught beer was great in the bar and served with free savoury snacks. Very good breakfast excellent bedroom and staffing of bar and reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location. The free shuttle bus to the airport is very convenient! my room was located in the basement, but there was a window, so it was comfortable. Very good value of money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    Good terrace and swimmingpool, breakfast and food oké (wine...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bad wifi - If you rent an 'economy room' you will have a room in the basemant

    Good terrace and swimmingpool, breakfast and food oké (wine expensive).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    Location close to the airport as well as off the highway...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The potential is great but small maintenance issues could make it slip...

    Location close to the airport as well as off the highway therefore easy to get to Thessaloniki. Breakfast was reach and diverse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Smiling face at end of long flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little hard to get to in the dark when you haven't been before as you can see it from the main road but can't get directly to it.

    The staff were very friendly, the meals were beautiful and the taxi service to the airport was prompt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect. Only there is nothing to see close to the hotel, but the hotel transfer works perfectly and free. The hotel restaurant was very good and with tasty food and good prices. Thank you, will visit again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Staff, transfer service to nearby airport and gardens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room require urgent renovation. It was like going back 20 years in time, though everything was not in the original condition, of course

    Staff, transfer service to nearby airport and gardens

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    My husband and I enjoyed our stay, very friendly staff at front desk. Would definately go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too far from Thesselininki, but it was our chice to stay close to airport.

    We enjoyed the quick shuttle service pick from the hotel and the breakfast had a good variety of choices. Will definately recommend to friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Super hotel and great value room in the basement.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel and great value room in the basement. Very helpful staff and the free shuttle service by car to the airport is an absolute godsend. The setting may be practical rather than picturesque, but the grounds and pool are attractively designed and well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    Avalon has excellent breakfast choices, however the fried...
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avalon has excellent breakfast choices, however the fried eggs this morning were overdone, and the bed very comfy. It is agreat hotel near the airport for all o casions. We always stay at the Avalon, before we continue our trip to Larissa. The area is a little difficult to navigate, that is why they have the shuttle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    The transfer is a huge advetage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is closed from 7 p.m. It would be nice to have that evening swim.

    The transfer is a huge advetage! We had to go very early, at 5 a.m., and the hotel arranged the trasfer for us with no problem. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good Hotel for a stopover in Thessaloniki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good loaction for a stopover in Thessaloniki on the way to Chalkidiki by car. Friendly staff, nice Swimming pool with free deckchairs and water for guests. Good on site restauarnt. Overall good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money at a stone's throw from the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in the room had two mattresses of differing quality. One was very nice, one mediocre. We could have used an early breakfast, since we were leaving on an early morning flight.

    Very close to the airport, only five minutes by car. The price includes free shuttle service, which will save you 15€/direction when compared to taxi, which is a good deal. For its price, it's a good choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Great hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very polite and helpful. The free transport service was great. Except for picking us up and driving us to the airport, they also drove us to the bus stops (30 minutes by foot). They had two small bottles of welcome wine in the room. The room and bathroom were clean and in good condition. The breakfast had a large variety to choose from and everything we tried was delicious. We were all in a very satisfied even though we didn't get to use the pool which looked great. Very convenient location and a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Workaday hotel convenient for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior a little tired, could do with some new carpets

    Busy airport hotel with usual facilities and pool. Evening meal adequate and breakfast filling

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Suited our needs very well. A pleasant and enjoyable last day of our holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little oasis very near the airport. Helpful staff - allowed us to remain after check out which made our last day enjoyable rather than a hassle and so near the airport but with no plane noise. A great breakfast - excellent choice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Excellent hotel near the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Excellent shuttle service to and from the airport. Even took us to collect our hire car. Very friendly family run hotel. Good evening meal and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Good for overnight stop on the way to something ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is opening very late and is closed very early which is not very logic for Greece ( 11 AM and 7 PM ) , last order at restaurant at 21.35 ??!

    Just very closed to airport , free transfer in 5 minutes , good value for money , great for coming on the way from airport or to start holiday , fair pool , good food at restaurant , nice and clean hotel , helpful personal . 15 minutes with taxi from center at 20 euro . free welcome wine in the room ...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.3
    It was great for overnight, good food and shuttle was great !
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c. And no soaps, shampoos, etc as I didntvtravrl with toiletries , they provided none so had to do with liquid soap in shower .also that they allow outsiders to use pool . So pool was packed.

    Needed to update mattress and a/c , shower head wouldnt stay in holder, bathroom needs alittle fixing. Soap shampoos etc, no supplies at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff, close to airport, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far from anything else other than airport, so I would expect more facilities in the hotel, other than a single restaurant which operates from 14:00 until 22:00, having in mind that this is a 4* hotel. Also the smell in the rooms was not that good.

    Helpful staff, close to airport, clean. Basic facilities ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    It was nice. I liked it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the ground with view to the parking. Noisy at night... no balcony...but for a 2 nights staying it was not a tragedy.

    Extra comfy bed. The room was very clean. The breakfast was fantastic! A lot of variety and very tasty! The girl from reception is very polite. When i needed a shutle to the bys station (Ikea) or airport - organized it immediatly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Ideal stop prior to flying out - close to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    got a little lost finding the hotel- directions could be improved. Room had no view only 4 hangars in room

    staff where friendly and helpful. good size room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    NICE HOTEL, RUDE STAFF (EXCEPT THE NIGHT BARWOMAN, A KIND GIRL WHO WAS THERE ON 4/8/2017 NIGHT)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WE DID NOT LIKE THAT AS WE HAD TO LEAVE THE ROOM AT 12.00 O'CLOCK, IT WAS 12.05' AND THE STAFF KNOCKED THE DOOR THAT WE HAVE TO LEAVE. WE WERE READY TO LEAVE BUT IT WAS RUDE TO KNOCK THE DOOR AS ONLY 5 MINUTES HAVE PASSED!!! ALSO WHEN WE LEFT THEY GAVE US THE RECEIPT AND THEY DID NOT SAY ANYTHING, NEITHER GOODBYE, NOR THANK YOU!! ALSO THE BREAKFAST WAS UNTIL 10.30 am. WE WENT 10.15am. AT 10.30 am THEY COLLECTED EVERYTHING!!! WE WERE THERE TO TAKE OUR BREAKFAST AND WE HAD TO HURRY UP TO CATCH SOMETHING TO EAT!!! TERRIBLE BEHAVIOUR

    PERFECT BREAKFAST, NICE CLEAN ROOM.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value and comfortable airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't stand having to throw toilet paper in the basket next to the toilet. Septic system update can do them good ;). Also couldn't figure out how to use their shower gel wall dispenser for the life of me ;), am sure there is a simple solution there I just couldn't see

    Clean and nice high end hotel close to the airport. Last minute booking felt cheap, great breakfast is included too,food at the restaurant is great! Room was large, comfortable and nice. Shuttle is actually just a car which is better and picked us up at car rental and dropped off at the airport when needed, all friendly and efficient. Restaurant downstairs is excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I might be too picky. But one thing I didn't like is that pool opened too late in the mornings (at 11) and closed too early in the afternoon (I don't know at what hour, but when I arrived at 20 it was already closed). Other than that, everything was fine... well you need a car to get around. We didn't like buffet dinner in the hotel, but 10 minutes drive away there are amazing restaurants by the seaside :)

    We stayed only one night, but everything was fine - good value for money really! Airport pick-up was quick and smooth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel near the airport in Thessaloniki
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really liked this hotel. They were incredibly nice. We arrived late but were greeted with a bar and some sandwiches. The sandwiches were'mt great,but the whiskey tasted marvelous. Rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was marvelous. Price was under 50 euros for 4 star hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Perfect for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't imagine staying there for a few days - it was perfect as a stop over en route to elsewhere in Greece, but whilst being near the airport, didn't seem to be near much else !

    Ideal stop over for a late arriving flight. Considering the cost, the hotel was very luxurious, and the staff very helpful. As well as the usual shuttle from the airport, we were also given a lift to the place we were picking up our rental car. Also, at the end of our holiday in Greece (we were in Thasos), we had a few hours to kill between dropping off the rental car and our flight. They hotel staff picked us up from the rental office, brought us back to the hotel, let us use all the facilities for a few hours (swimming pool, towels etc) and then took us to the airport. Nothing was too much trouble !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel with pool close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't send the shuttle to pick us up from the airport - they said that they didn't get the request, even though I requested it twice. But they did take us back to the airport with the shuttle.

    Close to the airport. Only stayed overnight. Hot and cold buffet breakfast which had a variety of hot and cold foods including Greek style scrambled eggs (had tomato in it). Optional buffet dinner for 12 euro with a great selection of food - try the pastichio you won't be disappointed. Room and bed were comfortable and a good size. Air conditioner works well. Pool and pool area looked great but we didn't use it due to lack of time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    Close to airport. Beware of mosquitos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had mosquitos in our rooms. The beds and pillows were too firm. When we spoke to reception and informed them of the mosquito issue she told us it was our responsibility to get mosquito repellent for the room. For a 4 star hotel, you expect better service from staff.

    The breakfast was really good. The distance to Thessaloniki airport is convenient, as well as the free airport shuttle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    A Great hotel for convenience to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better access to swimming pool

    The pool looked good but was not open while we were there, I was a little disappointed that its opening hours were so restricted. The airport collection and delivery service was Excellent. breakfast was also good with a very good selection items available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Warm welcome and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning didn't work properly.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. We liked the welcome drinks as well. On some evenings the hotel restaurant offers a delicious buffet inclusive of a glass of Champagne!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Waiting for the flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have a shower and a window in the bathroom.

    It is an elegant place to stay, very closed to the airport, half an hour distance from the city center. Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Good option for those traveling through Thessaloniki airport, to stay 1-2 nights nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location: 10 min drive from the airport with free parking on sight make it a good choice for those traveling by car, as well as flying via Thessaloniki airport.

    Good location: 10 min drive from the airport with free parking on sight make it a good choice for those traveling by car, as well as flying via Thessaloniki airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Great place not only for a stopover !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing bad here !

    The only answer to the question whether this hotel is worth staying in is YES !!! There is everything you need for great stay not only overnight / stopover. I would stay there with pleasure for few days because: the hotel is very nice, the rooms are large and comfortable, there is large swimming pool here, the dinner was extraordinary including several small extras ( for free !) the prices were VERY friendly, the staff was professional and friendly .... simply nothing to claim or question. The only "weakness" is the location of the hotel. It really is in the middle of nowhere ( yes, it is close to the airport ! ) but it was very easy to take a taxi to go and visit Thessaloniky nd come back the same way. And this hotel is indeed much better than many similar hotels down town. Conclusion - should we / I go back to Thessaloniky This hotel would be immediate choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Great for late flight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE PILLOWS... everything was good, breeakfast was nice but the PILLOWS give me a bad d Headache

    They provide fast and efficient shuttle service from/to airport/ bus station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and friendly. Unfortunately I only had one night stand and had to leave at 5 am for my next flight. The airport shuttle worked perfectly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Outstanding hotel near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not the most comfortable And sheet should be softer.

    Friendly welcome late at night. Gave us two bottles of coke cold water without charge. The rooms were large and very nicely appointed, powerful shower and more water in the the fridge. The only negative was the sheets were pretty rough but everything was very clean. Breakfast was outstanding and included in the room cost. Huge buffet with plenty to choose from. Strongly recommend staying here, pool Andrew area looked lovely to too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff provided a great service, went out of their way to accommodate us and let us use the hotel, even though we have arrived only in the morning, as missed our flight. They have extended our check out time, and also it was really nice to find a complimentary wine in our room. They have provided the transfer to and from the airport free of charge, which we found really nice as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money for a business gtraveller
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Make sure you ask for an electric mosquito killer for your room (in case you do not have one) because at the end of May mosquitoes were plenty. I did not find the bed very comfortable.

    Facilities are good - there is everything you need for a short business trip. The free airport shuttle services was very much appreciated. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    A great location if youre have a late night arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great location if youre have a late night arrival They have a free car service from and to the airport which was great. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was great Verity of food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Super friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for 1 night before moving onto another holiday destination, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Super hotel, and breakfast was nice in the morning too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice airport hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is near the airport but in the boonies. Driving to the Avalon would be a challenge. There's nothing in the area to walk to. The outdoor patio is great but the pool wasn't yet open. You do wake up to chickens crowing but that was nice.

    The facility was as advertised. Staff and all services are exceĺent and speak English. Restaurant was great and the full free buffet breakfast was super. I highly recommend the Avalon as an airport hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Comfy hotel close to Thessaloniki Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel offers the perfect location for travellers arriving late at or flying early from Thessaloniki Makedonia Airport. The free shuttle service is a great plus and can be organized at all times, the drive to the airport takes less than 10 minutes. The staff were extremely helfpul and they organized coffee and snacks for my friend who had to leave before 7 am for the airport. I could enjoy the breakfast buffet and was not disappointed. We were quite happy with our choice and will book again if we go back to Thessaloniki.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.4
    Meals were good in hotel restaurant fortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING to do at the property!!

    Meals were good in hotel restaurant fortunately. No other restaurant within 2 miles+, so it helped that it was god. Pool not open but 90 degrees.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avalon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: