Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Axos 3 stars

Maxis Kritis 167,Platanias P.O.Box 101, Platanes, 74100, Greece

#15 of 28 hotels in Platanes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 107 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast, nice location. Looking for rooms/hotels in countries like Spain, Italy, Greecy you wouldn't expect too much when it comes to room cleanliness. This hotel was a good expection! Rooms where perfectly clean and very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not very comfortable and all the rooms do not have blankets (it got quite cold during the nights). Kitchenette was suitable but the cooking rings did not get hot enough for boil eggs for example.

    Location was just quiet enough and the rooms spacious and faitly clean. Reception staff was very welcoming. Pool area was nice and intimate, bar staff was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We stay at this hotel with the family 2 times. Beautiful place. I would like to express special gratitude to the hotel's owners for their hospitality !!! Very nice, and I want to return to this place again. The rooms are spacious, cozy, the beds are wide and very comfortable, there is a hairdryer, a small kitchenette with dishes, a refrigerator. Especially I would like to note the cleaning of rooms, cleaned every day, pastel linen changed 2 times a day, towels every day (when the weather deteriorated and the towels were damp, we changed them every day). Special thanks to the staff for the cleanliness and order in the rooms. The hotel has a swimming pool (there is never too noisy), a bar - in the evening there plays (quietly) the music that brings back the dance mood, sometimes there is live music, this is the place where you can have a good rest and spend a fun evening. The bar also serves delicious snacks and cocktails. The beach is 3 minutes walk. The hotel is located not far from the city of Rethymnon, you can easily get on the bus in 15 minutes and take a walk. Also, the hotel serves delicious breakfasts with dishes from Greek cuisine, the hotel has a summer cozy terrace where you can not only have breakfast but enjoy the views.   Excellent location, close to good taverns, restaurants, shops with souvenirs and cosmetics, supermarkets, bus stop. Despite the fact that there are a lot of bars and restaurants nearby, it's not noisy in the evening, and you can safely fall asleep. Thank you so much, Victoria

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were warm and very friendly. Could have been a bit more explicit about instructions like how to use the key for all the lights and how the exterior shades worked. But really, especially for the price, we were extremely happy with everything and figured things out in the end. We ended up absolutely loving Platanias. Axos is walking distance to practically everything, beach, restaurants, shopping. We'd go

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy bar, felt like they were plying people with raki. The insects coming in from patio windows and running around the room. Room needed updating

    The pool, location, breakfast, some staff really nice friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    poor wifi signal, even at the reception (that wasn't really an issue because we were on holiday, but as far as I know, Greece is not very known for its internet service, so it could have been because of the provider). although the bathrooms are a bit outdated, they were clean.

    although we booked a studio room, at the end of our holiday we realized that, actually, our room was an apartment. there were no extra charges whatsoever for this "upgrade". the rooms very clean, the service great, the staff very helpful. will return for sure.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I wish could be improved, is the wifi connection in the rooms.

    This hotel, where I've stayed many times now, does really offer (as stated on their website) 'affordable luxury'. The location is good, the breakfast excellent, the bed very comfortable and, most important of all, the family and other staff members are wonderful. It's the people that make the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more comfort in the lounge area of the room would have made all the difference. New comfortable patio furniture arrived one day before we left which was nice until then plastic chairs.

    Pleasant friendly staff lovely pool and garden areas, the bedroom /family area was clean but had dated decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first room was a nightmare, located between the kitchen, the stairs & reception, we hardly got any sleep, being on the corner of a people highway. The balcony was overgrown so no natural light came through and the shower wouldn't drain. I asked to move, which was obliged but I feel like we were second status to there regular and favorite repeat clients. With so many hotels in the area I feel like we could have been happier somewhere else on the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -Wi-Fi - this is one of the weak points at least for our room 229, we could catch signal only in some part of the room , so maybe more routers could be added for better coverage of the hotel

    -location - hotel is located in Platanes on the main street parallel to the sea, close to many shops and tavernas -parking -the hotel has probably around 5-6 parking places in front that are always reserved by some moving signs, it really depends on your luck to find one free for your car, in seven days I could find every day one place, if all are busy there are not many options in the near area -Room is very nice, very spacious with huge double bed and one aditional single sofa, there is a small fridge for your water or drinks, and even heaters and pots for those wo prefer to cook or have small kids etc . -There is a huge clothes closet where you can fit an entire garderobe, plus drawers etc . -Bathroom is nice, only funny thing is the bathtub which is very small and has a big step , so it is very funny to find a position to shower properly if you are not standing on that step -Breakfast was nice, there is a nice room inside where you can serve pastries, english breakfast ingredients, greek stuff, delicious koffee, fruits and so on . -The hotel also has a bar and some tables and sofas outside when people can chill in the night and seep a nice cocktail and listen to some nice music, there were nights when there was a party with dancing and so on . -The staff is very kind and tries to make your stay as nice as possible, this could be easily a 4 star hotel, there are other amenities that we didnt't try like the pool or some biliard, air hockey, table football etc .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We unexpectedly got charged 10 euro to use our room safe (for 1 week). Not found this in the summary of the hotel facilities and it was odd we didn't get a receipt. There are signs warning that people should be quiet in the corridors. Most residents complied but the cleaner cart was very loud (around 9:30 each day). It would be nice if something could be done to deaden this noise as it disrupted many lie ins.

    The staff were really nice & helpful - from the reception desk through to the cleaners and the people on the bar. Room was well positioned and good size - we didn't have any problems, even on nights when the hotel hosted music itself. Our flight back to Britain was late on the day and we paid 20 euro to keep the room until our bus arrived to pick us up (well worth it) - by the way Axos is on the route for the Hoppa Bus (under Platanes Axos) and the bus picks up right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to check out in the morning but our flight wasn't until evening. We have been offered to have a shower and ger ready before we go.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast could do with improvment

    Beds were very comfy and staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 21 nights

    pool area was a bit cramped

    the staff were all brilliant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything hotel weather great saff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our stay at Axos and stay here every year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was awful

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights

    No WiFi reception in room

    Everything was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    air conditioner was a bit noisy

    great staff, very friendly big room with full kitchen equipment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everiting was goooodddd :-))

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No wifi in rooms.

    Hotel was clean. Staff were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were amazing! So friendly and helpful and really made you feel at home. Great beach very close by - would definitely stay again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower

    Such friendly people. Apartment was spacious, comfortable and had everything we needed. Furniture was basic

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little disappointing.

    Staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful. The Apple martinis are to die for!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A longer stay.

    Everything, especially swimming pool, bar and live music.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like a little resort, staff are very friendly. Best spot on a busy street.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wifi in the room.

    Great staff - very helpful. The bar had a great vibe with reasonable prices. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large comfortable room with full kitchenette. Very clean. Staff great and helpful. Parking a short distance away. Beach 2 minute walk. The breakfast was substantial with added flavors of local cuisine. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room often smelt of drainage when you first walk in. Busy area so if you want somewhere a little quieter, this is not the right area.

    Staff were extremely friendly and polite. Room was a good size and clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only little minor issue is there's no wifi in the rooms, only available in the lobby, bar and swimming pool area.

    The hotel was clean and quit.The staff was also very sweet and helpful. When we had a question and needed something, they got on it right away. The location of the hotel wa also perfect if you want to visit most of Crete. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi doesn't work in the room. Noise from the bar beside hotel, (nice music etc but if if you prefer quiet evening could be hard).

    Good location if you have car. Free car park. Nice swiming pool area. Near a few nice restaurants, shops etc. Near to beach.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really close to the beach

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: