Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Balito

Κεντρικός δρόμος, Kato Galatas, 73100, Greece

#1 of 4 hotels in Kato Galatas

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 304 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.2
    Friendly and helpful staff, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen facilities are quite basic. We had to cook things separately as there was no space for 2 dish on the cooker, which doubled the cooking time. Oven or microwave would be quite essential too in a kitchen. We didn't have any sharp knives only the dinning knives which made food preparation harder than it should be.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. In addition, they were flexible with our check in time. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great view from the balcony (we chose sea view). Overall, great value for money. The accommodation is a short bus ride to Chania for only 1.70 Euro if you buy tickets beforehand (bus 15). The beach is about 15 min walk but we ended up using another one which was on the way to Chania (on bus route 21) There were 3 nice beaches next to each other. Friendly cats and dogs in the neighbourhood made our holiday even more pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    5.4
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too noisy during night. Facility in the hotel was not enough for families with small kids such as washing machines and ironing. They charge €10 per one load of washing machine.

    Nice and friendly staff. In terms of cleaning they did their best to make us feel comfortable. Swimming pool looks nice if someone want to use it. Location wise is good if you have your own mean of transport. Price was reasonable for Chania.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    9.6
    Thank you George and family!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic stay. Cannot recommend George and family enough!!! Thoroughly enjoyed our few days there and would love to return. Perfect for a few days relaxing and enjoying exploring in Chania!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    great comfortable budget apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a great stay at Balito. It was a short ride from Chania. Within 3 min drive there were: - a great local Gyros place for a late good meal. - a travel agency where we could book out tour to Samaria Gorge (even at ~8:45 PM) The staff were helpful and provided contact to the travel agency.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    Nice Spacious Room with Kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Almost nothing to complain. Only thing we hoped to have would be a full double bed (The bed was two mattresses combined). Nonetheless it was still big & comfy enough for good night rest. We loved the hotel as much as we loved Crete. Would hope to stay here again next time.

    The room is very spacious with sofa, dressing table, dining table and kitchenette. Very lovely small balcony to chill. Compact but beautifully tiled toilet. Swimming pool area is nice and perfect for relaxation. Big free private parking just beside the hotel. We loved the place very much. Superb value for money. Staffs and owners were very helpful and friendly too. Room was made up daily. We printed our air tickets at the reception with ease and got good information on attractions & restaurants. Really appreciate the hospitality. There is a restaurant nearby called Pita Grill with the fluffiest Pita we had ever eaten in Greece. Their vegetarian burger pita was delicious! Beside the restaurant is a convenient mini mart with good selection of fresh produce. Relatively brief walking distance to the nearest beach. Chania Old Town is a short drive away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Had a wonderful time here. Staff very helpful and friendly. Chilled and relaxing environment. Room was clean and cosy. Nice bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast was delicious. Really nice pool. Great location, nice and quiet but also close to everything. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and will recommend to others

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Awesome stay in Chania's area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unfortunately, the road is pretty loud bring your earplugs for sleeping. On a kitchen side, an oven is missing there is enough space to have it in my point of view and tea towels to dry dishes were missing as well.

    The flat was big and comfortable with a huge terrace. You can prepare nice Cretan salads or cook and enjoy your meals in the balcony. We went only once but the swimming pool is small but big enough because we were only two of us there to enjoy it. The place is well located few KM by car to Chania and allow you to visit easily the west part of Crete. The cleaning was made everyday #nosandunderthefeet #nocleaningtodo :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely recommend! Great bang for your buck in Chania region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful property tucked away in a quiet area. About 1km from the sea, and a main stretch of several restaurants, cafes and bars. Staff was very accommodating, and helpful in figuring out how to maximize our short 6 day stay in Crete.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    6.7
    Staff was very friendly and helpful but there was several problems that occured.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a noisy neighbours for half of our stay, that was vomiting all over the stairs, and did not let to sleep and rest during the night time. Double bed was two joint single beds. Basicaly double bed was just two single beds but room cleaning lady always left just one double bed sheet to share and that was just not possible because there was a gap between those two single beds. Air conditioner was broken half of our stay too but nobody fixed it.

    Privacy at the apartment, staff that was very helpful and friendly. The staff solved the problem that occured during our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Relaxing and very enjoyable 2 weeks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quiet location but walking distance to the beach. Very helpful and friendly staff. Felt quite at home. Comfortable one bedroom apartment with private balcony. Excellent housekeeping services. Great pool area with bar. Breakfast and lunch available. Thanks Kati, George and Alexandra.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.9
    Satisfied with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom could be planned better (the shower was very small). We also didn't have sofa in our room (which was mentioned in our booking.com reservation).

    Really good for the price. Room was comfortable and clean. The pool was perfect and the owner was very nice and helpful. Every day room service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect choice for our one night stopover in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're an early morning sunbather, sun didn't hit the pool area til mid morning!

    Great place. Man was very friendly and accommodating - we arrived late and he cooked us some food and let the kids go in the pool at nighttime. Rooms were lovely and clean, nice pool (kids like the lights), an especially nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.1
    Close to city center and main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor wifi. Really dark room in daylight. Wrong location in google maps when you search 'hotel balito', it is defined as hotel valito.

    Close to city center and main road. It is in peaceful environment. The room is organized everyday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    10
    Great family friendly stay in Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the staff were so lovely. Very helpful and always willing to offer advice on where to go, where to eat and best beaches etc.the children were made to feel very welcome and George was happy to let them use the pool after dark.the food at the pool bar was very welcome after a long day treking down Samaria gorge. breakfast was on offer everyday at the pool too.the room was cleaned every day and fresh towels/bedding provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2017

    10
    Best accommodation we had in Greece!
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best accommodation we had in Greece! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were fabulous. My mum had an apartment and my partner and I had a studio. Both rooms were bright, clean, modern and very spacious. I particularly loved the rain shower we had in our bathroom. Our rooms were cleaned and we were given fresh towels everyday. I really enjoyed hanging out down by the pool, chatting to the owners and staff. The food at the pool bar was excellent and very fairly priced. The location of the hotel was perfect, close to really good restaurants and beautiful beaches. The city was a short bus ride or taxi away. The owners and the staff went out of their way to help us. Thank you for everything George, family and staff. Can't wait until we visit you again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor wifi connection No 4G internet connection Poor TV signal No private parking

    Room spacy, comfortable Staff friendly always ready to give all the necessairy information

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Great stay with our dog!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi-Fi wasn't great in our room. However we did get good Wi-Fi on our balcony so this wasn't an issue.

    Very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. It was also great value for money! Lovely apartment which was much bigger than we expected. Great pool area too. We adopted a dog while out here and needed a dog friendly place to stay. This was a great choice as they were very good about us having our dog with us! Great location - a 10 minute walk from the beach and there were shops even closer. Overall, a great visit!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    More choice for food would be nice. The walk to and from Kalamaki for the beaches and bars etc. Was quite away, especially back up as the hill was long and quite steep. Maybe a shuttle bus a few times a day would be very helpful. Although you could get a taxi for around 5 euros.

    Very friendly, and helpful staff. Made you feel very welcome. Nice pool and bar area. They gave lots of information on where to go and how to get there. Rooms cleaned every day. Lovely restaurant just up the hill from the apartments.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    amazing host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The island crete itself is very beautuful and if you choose balito hotel for accomofation then you win a jackpot😀seriously,our family highly recommend it!we miss you all guys.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and quiet apartments just a few minutes from center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Apartments are super nice and quiet. The bed is very comfortable and you have everything you need such as a small fridge and cooker. The pool is also nice and there's a bar next to it. I enjoyed my time there drinking beer and talking to the owner who is very friendly and always in a super good mood. I am very satisfied with Balito apartments

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    10
    Best holiday ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar man was so welcoming & helpful, the trip wouldn't have been the same if we hadn't met him! Everything was great, nothing to fault. We would all definitely be back to visit if we could!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a quite villa/hotel settlement away from Chania crowded city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extra comfort room, big bathroom, large comfort beds with nice linen. Rooms are cleaned every day, with towels changed every two days. Very friendly staff who will help you and provide info for whatever you might need.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2017

    9.2
    Great end to my vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hard to find negative points worth mentioning!

    This place is slightly off from the touristic area of Kalamaki Beach. For me this was its strength, the apartment area was more like country side with a hidden little church on opposite side of the street. It was easy to walk either down to Kissamos-Chania road or up to the Galatas village where you can also find less touristic local restaurants with good food. Distance to both places about one kilometer from the apartment. Bus nr. 15 takes you to Chania center and back, bus stop is near Balito. My 3-week trip to Crete included three different hotels and Balito was the last one. George and his ladies (staff!) were extremely social and helpful. This was good choice as my last hotel leaving once again really good feelings about Crete - still after about my 30 trips to Greece! I reserved a room with a sea-view and I can not complain! The apartment was spacious, all the kitchen facilities and dishes needed were there. Sun was shining to the balcony during the morning coffee time (sea is located to the north of Balito). I suggest to rent a vehicle for a few days to see other parts of the island, there is quite good parking place in front of the apartment. This because the area from Chania to Platanias is directed to tourists and really beautiful villages can be found just by driving towards the mountains. As an example to mention Vakolakkos or Botanical Park - just remember to take enough drinking water with you!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    10
    We really recommend Balito!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great breakfasts (6 Euro)! Super helpful and nice hotel’s staff, very clean rooms and clean swimming pool. 15 minutes’ walk to nearest beach and 30 minutes’ walk to beautiful beaches and to shop like Lidl. Great place – we have spent here a lovely time with our 2 years old daughter. Best recommendation!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    10
    The best value for money and the most friendly staff:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The staff were really nice and helpful and they spoke English fluently. They offered many places to visit and gave us maps. There are thousands of beautiful places, beaches, botanic gardens, restaurants, ports, museums and mountains to visit both for elderly, adults and those with children. The apartment was clean, it included lemon-squeezer, fridge, freezer, electric cooker, water heater, saucepans, frying pans, cutlery, bowls, plates, soup bowls, dish soap, soap. We found an extra bed, on which we could pack our luggage and stuffs. We didn’t have a microwave oven and we asked for the reception if we can get one. They said they ask someone. On the other day, there was a microwave oven in front of our door  In the bathroom, there was always hot water, just you have to wait for it in the last apartment. We got two mini travel shampoos and two mini travel soaps. They cleaned the apartment, changed the towels, changed the bed-linen, gave the room a sweep, washed up and also washed the dishes for no extra charge each or every second day. Once we left our key in the apartment and 8.20pm they walked with us to the apartment and opened it without asking, it was really kind of them. There was a quite big pool outside, with a separated pool for children. There were sunbeds, bar and grill. And also two toilets next to the pool. We came in the end of October and the weather is amazing. We swam almost each day in the sea. However, it isn't too hot and it isn't too crowded, so it's just perfect. In the beginning of November, it rained. The shops are open all day, the little ones as well until minimum of 10 pm. The roads are really wide and if there aren't too much tourists you can park everywhere. They told us on the website that there is no parking space and we asked them to have one and they ensured us parking place next to the apartment The wifi works well, even on laptops.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2016

    10
    Excellent service, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom needs updating but they are in the process of renovating and we were told everything will look even better by summer 2017.

    Breakfast was excellent. Service was great and rooms were spotless

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good apartament, amazing and really helpful staff made this week as perfect as we could imagine. Apartament was cleaned every day, new towels every day, bedclothes changed every 2 days.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel with wonderful service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The only not so great thing for those who do not like walking, is the location, meaning that the hotel is some 800-1000m from the sea, and it is a little bit up the hill, but we even liked this because it provided us a nice and healthy walk, and after a few days we crossed this distance in around 10 minutes, so it is really not a problem. If You have a car than this is a perfect location, only 4 km from Chania and with nice beaches nearby.

    This is an excellent hotel in quiet neighborhood with spacious rooms, good furniture, wi fi is available in the room and is excellent, perhaps the best wi fi we have ever had on our vacation. The service is extraordinary, rooms were cleaned every day, towels were also changed daily and linen was changed every 3 days. There is a safety deposit box provided in the room. The breakfast was delicious and all the staff very kind, helpful and professional. This is a great value for money and we would definitely recommend it for those who visit Chania and do not want to be situated in the city itself. If we decide to come to Chania region again we would definitely stay here again. There are 4 nice beaches at walking distance which are sandy, with clean cristal water, calm sea (Iguana beach, Agio Apostoli, Kalamaki, Stalos), and a bus stop near the hotel with regular line to Chania in every 15 minutes that goes till midnight so You can easily reach Chania. There are also bus lines to other places in Crete but we did not use them.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    9.6
    Balito, great family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    If you are not a party animal all night the noice from drunken young men returning from the bars in the middle of the night is a bit irritating. The standard of the bath rooms in the hotel needs to be upgraded / renovated.

    The breakfast was great. George, the bar man / pool keeper made us a fantastic breakfast every day. And the pool area was most of the time very quiet, some times our family had the pool all by our self for several hours.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2016

    10
    Absolutely love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Within the complex everything was close ie pool, bar, kitchen etc. Not over crowded, all staff very friendly and helpful! Several beaches in walking distance, everything you need at the bottom of the hill. Excursions can be booked with an agent just down the road, cheaper than in the main town. Short bus into Chania, the then buses run late coming home or short taxi back. (Ps. We loved all the walking but it may be difficult for those with disabilities - although staff mentioned there may be mopeds available to hire next summer)!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay, beautiful and comfortable place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great staff, bed and pillows were good, shower was good, room quite spacious and comfortable. All really good, highly recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice helpful people, quiet place, good food for good price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2018

    10
    Excellent and very comfortable. Very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very good shower equipment. Easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything

    Clean / Good facilities / Great value for money. Very polite and efficient staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    it was full appartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was full appartment!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    9.2
    Would recommend it to friends and family really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. Pool and bar was a lovely bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    8.8
    Great value accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the bedding uncomfortable

    The swimming pool and staff is the highlight of this property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    10
    Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing wrong.

    Gerat location and super-friendly staff. Rooms are spacious and beds super comfy!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2017

    9.6
    Very good localisation for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All was ok

    Very good localisation for me.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful owners. A good basis for exploring Chania. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    10
    Room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Big clean comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2016

    9.6
    We are very thankfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice studio and pool, highly recommend. Very frendly owner and staff. Answers to all questions where to go and where to eat. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2016

    4.6
    No air condition in the main bedroom !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No air condition in the main bedroom ! Offered a fan!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Spacy and clean room, quiet place near a traditional village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Need to have car or to use public transtortation or taxi, to go to Hania center.

    Spacy and clean room, quiet place near a traditional village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    10
    Friendly owner, everything was spotless and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was too small, during our one night stay it did not matter, but in long term it could be bit annoying.

    Friendly owner, everything was spotless and nice! We arrived bit sooner and it was not a problem.

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2015

    7.5
    Clean and spacious room, good beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Something was wrong with the man at the reception he was rude and seems that he don't understand what to do. I will never return to this hotel just because of this person

    Clean and spacious room, good beds

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    3.8
    Very noisy room which was near the street, was not possible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy room which was near the street, was not possible to sleep, as well you could hear everything from neighbours room, problems with the water system in the toilets, very big noise when water is filling the tube, some frequent sound from there as well, it should be fixed. In the booking it was said that we can check in from 13:00, but we were able to do this only about 14:30, so had to wait.

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    10
    An amazing pool, amazing staff, amazing view, amazing room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing.

    An amazing pool, amazing staff, amazing view, amazing room, etc... We had nothing to complain about, they received us very well and told us about all the places we could visit. It was the best stay we ever had. It's a quiet neighborhood and it's not that far from the beach by foot. Also there were a lot of very nice restaurants in the surrounding. Balito has a very nice pool if you want to relax for a while. I recommend this place to everyone who wants to visit Crete. I also want to thank the owner and her daughter for their hospitality.

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2015

    9.2
    Room was spacious and clean and had a small balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes all parking spaces are taken, but parking in a distance of about 50m from the hotel is always available.

    Room was spacious and clean and had a small balcony. The location is good if you have a car, Chania and the nearby beaches are reachable quite easily, it is literally 3 mins to the big road. We got information about the area and could book a trip to Balos at the reception.

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2015

    7.9
    They have complimentary wine, 2 water bottles, coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is hard to take a bus. Better to have vehicle so you can go wherever you want. Old style of bathroom. Some staff is not accomodating.

    They have complimentary wine, 2 water bottles, coffee. Tasty breakfast and it is buffet. They let you borrow adaptors. Nice caldera view. Infront of bus stop, they know the hotel.

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2015

    7.1
    clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    i pay for double bed and they give me two single. i book for car park and i never find place.the place for cars is only for 3 cars.the wi fi is poor to nothing.

    clean

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2015

    7.9
    Clean, friendly staff, great location if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is no aircondition in the bedroom, The ac is only in the living room. Shower door was broken

    Clean, friendly staff, great location if you have a car.

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    9.6
    Really friendly stuff, nice, quiet, clean and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really friendly stuff, nice, quiet, clean and comfortable hotel. The wifi was working properly and we had no trouble regarding the small dog we had with us. The swimming pool area was nice and the small bar also.

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    9.6
    Extremely clean rooms with sheets and towels changed daily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Extremely clean rooms with sheets and towels changed daily along with friendly staff. Always there to offer tips on where to go and what to see. Not far from Chania taking 10 minutes in a car. There is also a bus route with a bus stop right outside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    7.1
    The family was very nice and helpful and the rooms were all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was rather far from the old port and central town and most of Chania's attractions, so renting a car is recommended. The bus stop nearby rarely saw any buses stopping so in reality the closest bus stop is at least 12 min away walking. The family suite is advertised as being air-conditioned however the bedroom itself is not, only the main living room is.

    The family was very nice and helpful and the rooms were all kept very clean.

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at Balito.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had a wonderful stay at Balito. Kathy the owner was so very attentive and couldn't do enough to help. After our check out we were allowed to use another room to rest and shower before our flight. Excellent hosts.

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2015

    9.2
    We had a room for 4 people, so it was quite big and comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi was working quite poor (not working at all sometimes). The hotel is located on the hill, so prepare to walk up when you come from Kato Galatas (keeps you fit though).

    We had a room for 4 people, so it was quite big and comfy for 2 of us. Kitchen facilities are good, include kettle, oven, cutlery. Changed towels and cleaned room every day. The staff is nice and friendly, always ready to help. The bus stop is just 30 meters away. All in all, it is a great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2015

    10
    Great facilities,nice&friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great facilities,nice&friendly staff!:)

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    It was difficult to find the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was difficult to find the hotel. The location is very good, but the details given in the reservation do not help find it unfortunately.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    10
    Very nice people at object :) Super family :)
    • Couple

    Very nice people at object :) Super family :)

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    10
    Nice friendly staff, Lots of space, clean and good location.
    • Group

    Nice friendly staff, Lots of space, clean and good location. Would recommend.

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    9.2
    Really good hotel for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really good hotel for the price

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2015

    8.8
    clean nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit far from the city

    clean nice hotel very nice owners

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable to stay at this place, very kind and helpfull...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Comfortable to stay at this place, very kind and helpfull owner.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    9.6
    Very nice people, nice pool, nice view, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Very nice people, nice pool, nice view, clean

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2015

    7.9
    Very kind personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very kind personal. Big nice room. The bathroom not excelent.

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2015

    9.6
    Very nice apartment for 3persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice apartment for 3persons. Good located in quiet neiboirhood!little bit far away from nice beach it is not a problem!nive stuff and pool;-)

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2015

    10
    Clean and quiet place, nice swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean and quiet place, nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    9.6
    Katie is so friendly and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Katie is so friendly and kind.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Browse Balito Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: