Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Balos Beach This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Main Street, Kissamos, 73400, Greece

#43 of 95 hotels in Kissamos

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1068 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great location to explore Balos Beach and nearby beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location to explore Balos Beach and nearby beaches. The room was spacious and comfortable. It also had a kitchenette which was perfect for us to make simple meals during our stay, though we did have breakfast one day at the buffet which was delicious. The pool was lovely for relaxing by as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel, beautiful beaches nearby, feeling very relaxed and in love with the beauty of Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach at the hotel could be better, it could use a bit more sand and some nicer sunbeds.

    The staff were so kind, which made the whole stay very pleasant! Breakfast was delicious, especially the Greek pastries! Sea view from the room was amazing. The location is very quiet and felt very local. Nice beaches nearby were Balos and Falassarna (closer than Elafonissi and just as beautiful, good for windsurfing also).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was on a picturesque beach away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff were amazing. And they had great little perks. They gave us a free mobile for our stay. With internet and international calls free. They served an amazingly delicious breakfast and dinner buffet for a very very cheap and affordable price. We had a lovely stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    9.6
    Don't hesitate! Everything was perfect! Would go back anytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the beach in front of the hotel is not good to swim because of the rocks, but the hotel is very close to Balos beach (the closest one!) the loud music at the pool in the afternoon

    We stayed 7 nights and everything was perfect. Clean room and comfy beds, staff very helpful, very good restaurant and nice pool. The view from the balcony is incredible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    10
    Calm getaway in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is fantastic, in a very unique place. Really calm atmosphere , access to the beach and beautiful walks around. It's a bit remote so be prepared to use your car a lot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.2
    wonderfull hotel in an middle-interesting region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the immediate suroundings : Kissamos coastal region is not attractive

    beautiful hotel along the beach, beautiful swimming pool, good restaurant quite cheap

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    6.3
    Good but a little overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom very poor design. Water travelled everywhere and made the whole bathroom wet. Sink plug not working. Buffet dinner was disappointing. The hotel was good but a lttle over priced by comparism to others we stayed.

    Size of room and view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    We will come again, they made our family holiday perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, there is everything absolutely fabulous.

    All was superb. Exceptional friendly staff made us very welcome with special little treats for our son.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect hide out and exelent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was reining one day :)

    Absolutely perfect breakfast and the view is magnificent everywhere. Specific thanks to our cleaning lady who was always smiling and doing fine job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Great value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing place with a great view. It is very clam and peaceful place to relax and enjoy. Private beach just outside the hotel. Very close to the 2 most beautiful lagoons in Crete (Balos and Elafonisi). Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. It is a bit of a drive from Heraklion and Chania. You definitely need a car to reach here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is very rural and you definitely need a car something which is not made very clear when booking. Nearest restaurants are a good 20 minute up hill walk. Buffet breakfast is an expensive extra at €9 per head. Under 2 years are free. Buffet dinner is €14 per head and in my opinion not worth the money. It was not very tasty and the food in the local restaurants is far nicer. There is a pool bar which did not open until the day we left which was very disappointing.no ice creams in fridge either. Thankfully we had a car to make trips into Kissamos for supplies. Overall a lovely location but very poorly stocked and didn’t seem quite ready for guests.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The cleanliness was exceptional and we had the most lovely lady, Helen to clean our room every day. Beautiful views. Very peaceful and relaxing. Nearest restaurants are fabulous and food was cheap and typically Greek.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    10
    A lovely quiet hotel (low season) away from the hustle and bustle which is what I wanted and needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No real provision for a gluten and dairy free diet so a bit of a struggle at times for me

    The room was spacious and well equipped. The housekeeping staff were efficient and friendly. Any problems were rectified very fast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    Great location if you want to be in a quiet place with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast buffet was quite basic, avoid the orange juice (when there are so many good places for fresh orange juice in Crete.. too bad). Sunbeds and umbrellas in the pool area are quite old and look a bit worn out.

    Great location if you want to be in a quiet place with really nice sea views. Basically located at the entrance of the road to Balos beach so quite convenient after spending the day there (but a bit isolated otherwise so you definitely need a car). Our room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchen space and nice balcony. Good dinner options in the village nearby or in Kissamos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    Breathtaking view that opens directly from your bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breathtaking view that opens directly from your bed. The location is isolated but next to a small village. This hotel is the last stop on the way to Balos beach. Good food, beatiful facilities and once again amazing view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    6.7
    Good and clean hotel, friendly staff. The closest hotel to the best beach in Crete but still 40m dri
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    End of October is not the right season to visit Crete, most places are closed and the weather is not good. The hotel was consequently on a shutting down mode.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2017

    10
    Perfect place to stay to visit west part of Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great WiFi connection in the whole hotel resort. Awesome breakfast buffet and omelette made by the cheff. Really friendly and helpful staff. Cleanness in top level.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.3
    Perfect, relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 101 was a standard apartment. The bathroom was terrible. It was tiny, very dated and mouldy. The water would overflow from the bath up through the drain in the floor resulting in flooding which was evidently a regular problem due to the fact the wooden doors and furniture were showing signs of water damage. The kitchen was also tiny with no overhead cupboards so all crockery and cutlery was kept under the sink which was located directly outside the bathroom door. We personally found this unhygienic. The bedroom didn't have air con, just a ceiling fan. We were told however that our room was one of the last waiting to be upgraded which should be happening over the winter so hopefully next year all rooms should be perfect. Half board didn't include drinks (which we expected) but they refused to give a copy of the drinks bill that you signed for each night therefore you had no record for yourself what you were spending which when you are staying a week or two makes it difficult to keep track of. We had to take a photo of the bill each night. The restaurant didn't always have any background music in the evening so it did feel very much like eating in a school or hospital canteen and the hot food wasn't particularly hot even at the beginning of service. The show cooking was Italian Pasta every day. It would have been nice to have another option occasionally for people who don't east pasta. The swimming pool was freezing cold but it was October. The beach although pretty was too rocky and the sand very dark, almost mud like. We had to travel to visit much nicer nearby beaches. Nothing other than the swimming pool to occupy children and as the hotel is in a remote location at the end of a terrible road a car is definitely needed with a young family. This hotel would not be suited to people looking for a lively holiday with lots of nightlife, there is nothing happening here, but that's why we loved it!

    The half board deal we got was very good value for money. We got upgraded for the last few days to a junior suite (room 507) due to the problems experienced with the bathroom in the apartment. The suite which had been recently updated was very spacious with excellent sea views. Unlike the apartment it had a huge modern bathroom, air con in the bedroom and a better equipped kitchen. The balcony was however smaller than the terrace in the standard apartment and the shower water was surprisingly not as hot or powerful as in the shabby apartment! The food was excellent. There was a huge selection every day for breakfast and a lovely lady would cook fresh eggs, pancakes and omelettes to order. The evening buffet had a different menu every day serving a great variety of tasty salads, hot dishes, fresh fruit and desserts. The restaurant had a large terrace with magnificent views where we could continue to watch the sunrise during breakfast. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    10
    Lovely view from room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lovely view from room. Staff very kind and helpful. Fresh food. Room was very clean. Car is necessary if you want explore Crete- there is no public transport. Very peaceful area. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    10
    Absolutely amazing holiday made even more perfect by the wonderful staff at Balos Beach Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, all perfect for the 13 nights we were there.

    Everything was excellent, the staff were so friendly and just amazing. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The location for my partner & I was perfect as we like quiet, relaxing holidays. The beautiful beach of Falassarna was just a 10 drive & the sunset from the Mouraki restaurant at the top of the hill was amazing. We also travelled to many other beaches which were further away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    4.6
    great pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    were charged as 4 adults even though we had a 2-year old and a 3-months! old children. The beach is rocky and unpleasant. Kissamos has great sandy beaches, and is a couple of minutes away. They charge extra for the safe. At the restaurant, which is always in extra charge, the host pries around to look for a way to charge for some more.

    great pools

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location the rooms were as we expected ( which is rare) and we had an unobstructed view of the sea! the breakfast exceeded our expectations the staff were very friendly and helpful relatively close to some breathtaking beaches Superb tavern within walking distance and with a fantastic view we loved it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2017

    7.9
    Too far from everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too far from everything... Taxi to Kissamos with 11€ one way And the beach is not a sandy beach you need to walk 3 kms to the nearest beach and it is not that good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    8.3
    Nice enough hotel but not very lively
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel lacking a bit of atmosphere Pool bar was closed Bar is staffed by the receptionists on an as-needed basis Only buffet options for dinner after 6.30pm

    Breakfast was great Very nice pool Room service is very good and thorough Great views from most rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    7.5
    On the whole we were satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom could have been more confortable The dinner wasn't very good Garden could better kept The hotel is far away from restaurants

    Bed was confortable Big room Nice pool Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    It was a real peaceful oasis with a great balcony view,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was a real peaceful oasis with a great balcony view, lovely staff and nice pool. It is very near to the Balos beach. The hotel is best for travelers who want tranquility and relaxation. Cannot comment on the meals as we always went elsewhere to explore.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay in Balos beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Flooding in the living room from the shower (no coaming in the shower, only a 1/2 cm non efficient gasket to watertight the shower...) Location : despite a very nice environment (seaview from everywhere, lovely garden and swimming pool), the only point of interest in the neighbourhood is balos lagoon and beach (awesome too!)

    Wonderfull bedroom : awesome bedding, very clean and classy decoration, nice view from the balcony Attentive and really smily staff Gigantic and tasty breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    10
    worth the drive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This little gem is tucked away from the busy city. It offers breakfast and dinner options that are a great deal. Private beach or beautiful pool take your pick. Friendly staff Great Omelets

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent small resort close to fantastic beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was missing some basic equipment in the apartment kitchen - electric kettle, pans. Expected this given the price. The beach of the hotel itself is not suitable for kids, especially when it's windy. The pool compensates..,

    This hotel is located at the outskirts of Kissamos, the last property on the road leading to Balos beach, which is a 25 min drive away. The hotel is very nice, outstandingly clean, with a very nice pool. Staff is very helpful and nice. There's a restaurant serving all meals, but we stayed in an apartmant with a kitchen so we cooked and did not try it. Nearby beaches of Balis and Falaserna are amazing. Atmosphere is very calm and relaxed, evenin mid August. Our apartment was comfortable. We had a great time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    6.3
    The room was cleaned everyday and it was clean, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    food was awful considering the hotel was on its own the quality of the food ws very poor

    The room was cleaned everyday and it was clean, the staff were helpful and polite but nothing wow about it they do have to remember that guests are there on holiday and a smile goes a long way

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    10
    Peaceful restful holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent clean well cared for property staff friendly and helpful food and facilities good Beds comfy linen clean and changed very regularly Quiet location great for a restful break with more lively areas not far away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect place to relax. Very good location, nice swimming pool, a bit rocky private beach nicely quiet.In addition, it is the best spot to start a trip to Balos Beach by car. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and peaceful stay near the beautiful beach of Balos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It was a bit isolated and you need to have a car to go around! No supermarket or Shops or restaurants within walking distances.

    Breakfast and dinner were very good. Genuine food and abundant! I miss the place! The staff was super friendly!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2017

    7.1
    Excellent Location. Nice Room. But not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room filled by water from the bathroom due to poor construction. Although brekafast/dinner was included in price, they hadn't drinking water so we had to pay for a bottled water every time. Such a shame for a room that costs 210€/night.

    Wonderful sea view. Nice breakfast & dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent small resort within short driving distance from fantastic beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    For the price we paid I would have expected to see the kitchen better equipped: electric kettle, microwave, pans, more cooking utensils. The hotel beach could be more accessible.

    Very nice hotel on the outskirts of the last village you go through on your way to Balos Beach. The staff keep this hotel so clean it is amazing. Pool was very nice and nearby beaches at Balos and Falasarna are top in Crete. We stayed in a very nice modern and spacious apartment. Wifi was fantastic. Staff was helpful. Laundry service worked well. Nearby village is easy source for basic groceries, and in nearby kissamos there are many stores.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The condition of the toilet- and it was too little for 4 people. it should have also a window

    Half board food was amazing and the staff was really helpful to help me with my dietary requirements. Niki and Anna at the receptions were great! They were able to speak each language.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    10
    Best of best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    Best of best. Perfect location and perfect view. Especially for relaxation purpose, this is the best place ever. Cannot write everything. Just go there and experience everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed the short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel could be much better, if done with more care, e.g. regarding the equipment in the bathroom, the keeping of the beach etc. A car is needed. There is a lot of traffic outside on the street to the famous Balos Beach.

    The hotel is well situated. The beach is reasonable but not suitable for children. The offered buffet dinner is nice, the breakfast rather modest.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2017

    9.6
    Quite remotely located overlooking a gorgeous beach and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite remotely located overlooking a gorgeous beach and very close to Balos beach natural lagoon and park. There is a restaurant on site and a few great restaurants a few hundred metres up the road. Grocery store a little further away. Comfortable rooms and such lovely staff. We really enjoyed our time there. If you are looking for a place to relax for a few days, Balos beach is so great. Also close to other amazing beaches in the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2017

    10
    Comfortable stay and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beach in front of hotel is rocky and windy, not suitable for swimming. Refrigirator was too noisy to sleep at night.

    Good location, staffs, and facilities. Large room with veranda. Base area to Elafonissi beach and Balos beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows are rock hard (Found this problem all over Greece whether it was 3 star or 5 star). We had to rent (1 EUR per day) some rather tatty looking beach towels which was a bit wierd. You would have expected that in the price.

    There is nothing particular spectacular and nothing bad about this property considering the price. The food is ok. We had dinner and breakfast there once.The beach in front of the property is rocky and not really worth going to. Plenty of space at the pool. There is a very good beach (Falassarna) about 10min away by car. Beach beds are good at 7 EUR for 2 and food is reasonably priced. The hotel is not particularly close to anything so a car is needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    7.5
    Overpriced but excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overpriced. We stayed in a suite. The space is good but the quality is bad and not comfortable enough. Very simple. Swimming area and swimming pool could be improved. Food quality is not as expected, they seem to have a restricted budget for food which is really a pity. We went to tavernas in the village nearby (5 minutes by car) where the food was absolutely delicious!

    Amazing staff, from the cleaning ladies to the kitchen staff. Location is absolutely fantastic with Falassarna beach our big favourite for the whole family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2017

    6.3
    It is the closest hotel to Balos beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible food and very uncomfortable beds. Unfriendly staff, lackluster design if you can even call it a design. Everything is dated and needs to be renovated.

    It is the closest hotel to Balos beach. There is also a secluded beach by the hotel but it was too windy to swim when we were there. Location is excellent!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2017

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Very well kept hotel with friendly staff. The rooms are quite spacious, clean, airy and with large balconies. The bed sheets and towels are changed every day. The buffet breakfast is varied and well presented. It's close to the famed Balos Beach and just a 20-minute drive from Falassarna beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2017

    5.4
    Great location to get to Balos Beach disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The general upkeep of the grounds and beach was very disappointing considering the price and what we got else where on our travels in Crete. It was encapsulated in the poor quality Greek yogurt for breakfast. Come on it's Greece don't mess that up!

    The position of the hotel was great to get to Balos Beach itself which is stunning and well worth the bumpy 40min drive. Also the local walkable restaurant was fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money ! Recommended for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kitchen is a too basic.

    Staff are super friendly. Location is amazing. Good pool and priviate beach. Very good breakfast and dinner - great value for money. Close to balos beach which is a beutiful beech. Don't be afraid to go there with kids - it's not an easy drive and walk but worth the effort!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    10
    WOW!!! (besides dinner..)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dinner is pretty poor. Simple dishes, dry chicken and even worst fish. Little on offer with one "chef" (more of a simple cook, nothijg personal) trying to make it look nice but... for the same price they charge for dinner (14€ per persom) you can eat and drink like a king just 1 km away..). Breakfast was better but still not up to the level of the rest of the facility.

    Simply Great! Location facility staff everything is great (besides dinner..)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    8.8
    Honeymoon in Balos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we were given was right next to the restaurant and the sea view was obstructed by a lift. They moved us however very quickly when we explained we were not happy.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2017

    10
    Lovely accomodation, excellent location. Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing we did'nt like and are hoping to return next year.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room comfortable with fab views and cleaned with fresh towels and linen every day. Breakfast excellent, good variety offered worth the 9 Euros. Beautiful and quiet location with amazing beaches but need car hire. Lots to do in area which is outstanding beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a bit "off" if you want to eat somewhere else or do some quick shopping you need to have a car or take a taxi E10.

    Fantastic view and location for a calm stay. Pool was really nice and also the breafast and dinner buffee. Clean, modern room and great wifi and aircondition. I sat at the balcony and watched the sunrise, what a great start of the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    6.7
    Relaxing, friendly staff but s bit out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was small and dinner at the hotel was over priced, parking was out front on a narrow strip of dirt road. It was sometimes a little difficult to get to and from this hotel trying to pass a 1 lane very narrow road and other cars coming through.

    We chose the breakfast buffet included option. Breakfast begins at 8am, selection daily was a good variety. Amarya the Chef making the eggs at the cooking station was super friendly and kind to the guests. Dining room Hostess was friendly too. They did their best to keep up with removing finished dishes from the tables. Stray cats wondered around the large outdoor breakfast dining area but they weren't a problem. Dinner was a bit over priced and drinking were not included in that meal. Room was ok, housekeepers left nice towel decorations like swans and animals. Over all a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    7.5
    Overpriced but nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The airconditioner was blowing in our face, because of the position of the bed. The shower was flodding every time you showered. The light was coming inside from the corridor all night, I had to cover it with a towel.

    Clean, nice hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, close to some fantastic beaches. Extremely clean and with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok but not to the point that I was tempted to dine there.

    The room was very comfortable, clean and with new towels every day. Small kitchenette a real plus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    just relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is a little bit "in the middle of nothing" but in our case was what we needed! achievable only by car

    the residence is close to balos beach one of the most beautiful beaches in the world I suggest this accommodation for relax there is nothing around the hotel. Just sea swimming pool and hotel restaurant. laundry service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Balos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave!

    This is our 3rd year in a row and it just gets better. The owners and staff are lovely and the hotel reception, bar and dining areas have all been renovated. The views are stunning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    8.8
    Great location, peaceful between sea and country side, great restaurants in near by small village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sun beds on beach were broken and the beach needed a clean up . so we didn't use the beach at Balos Hotel

    The views from our 2nd Floor apartment were great, good pool area. Staff very nice and friendly , great breakfast. The pool bar wasn't open first week of June

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    10
    Fabulous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like the fact that we didn't spend more days there.

    Loved the room with a view of the beach, the breakfast and closeness to Balos beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.1
    - Well situated on the road to Balos beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Super noisy place. I could not sleep and mainly due to local staff, pulling chairs all night - hotel looks nicer in the photos then in reality - we were there when it was raining and there is nothing to do in the hotel - a car is - rocky beach necessary

    - Well situated on the road to Balos beach - Nice seaview swimming pool - very spacious room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    Great place with a wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit windy but nothing big

    The calm of the hotel, the wonderful seaview from the rooms and from the restaurant and bar. The apartment was brand new, very clean and very well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2017

    4.2
    Not the worst, but value for money could be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - "Beach" is a disaster, rubbish, stony and a huge, ugly drainpipe right next to the "beach". - Some rooms are really bad, right at the pool (hardly any privacy). - Rooms seem empty and cold, not like warm and with plants on the pictures. - Evening buffet is the worst!

    - Closest Hotel to Balos Beach (12km). If you leave early in the morning you can avoid the (other) tourists. - Breakfast is okay / but not the best!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2017

    8.3
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fittings in bathroom eg. no toilet roll holder, no towel rails, no soap/sponge holder for shower, no robe hooks. Very minimalist, no pictures on walls, paintwork looked tired in need of refurbishment. Outside was being decorated and there were paint spots all over tiles, stairs, terraces and plants.

    The location, wifi,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    9.6
    Good 'village style of life' hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Uncomfortable pillows, The drain in the shower is made so that it floods all bathroom

    Fantastic view, really tasty breakfast and food in the restaurant, nothing near this hotel and if you want to relax and spend a few days in silence - this hotel will be nice variant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was looking better in pictures. You suppose to put gel&shamool every day you clean the room , not 2 bottles on arival for 3 people for 5 days.. It's really messy around the hotel It's a bit too far, not a great journey during the night as there are no lights around

    Stuff was great, really healpfull . Thanks!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great place with beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would be nice to have private parking (there are places to park car on the road next to hotel, thus it's not a problem). I would also appreciate some shampoo and shower gel (soap was provided).

    We had a great recently refurbished room with a huge bathroom and seating area. Clean and spacious. We had a beautiful sea view from our bedroom. Breakfast buffet offered a variety of fresh products, including pancakes and fried eggs made at your order, fresh fruits, yogurt, dried fruits, cereal, and local dishes. You can enjoy your breakfast on a terrace with the sea view(or inside, still with the view) Private beach, pool with the sea view and

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    5.0
    Too secluded and you are then stuck paying ridiculous prices for water, soda, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Saw too many bugs in the room

    Lower the prices on bottled water, bottled soda and buffets since you are held prisoner without any other options near the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    8.3
    Amazing sea view room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The washrooms needs a bit of renovations. Requested an iron but only available as a service.

    The size if the rooms and the sea view. The breakfast was good and had different options.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Very spacious, clean, friendly staffs, amazing food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very spacious, clean, friendly staffs, amazing food, Can't think of anything that could have been better. One of the best places I have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2016

    9.6
    Always rent a car in advance, it was easy but expensive to do it at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To get boiling water for a cup of tea took nearly 30 min. The small "kitchen" needs renovation or an electric kettle would be great.

    I stayed there for 6 days end of October and it was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2016

    7.9
    Hidden gem of tranquility near the paradisiac landscape and beach of Balos
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the beach right in front of the hotel is dull and access at sea is difficult because the rocky formation but is enough to take a short walk to enjoy the beautiful cretan water or to walk or drive to Balos to find paradise. upon check out i made a remark about the final bill and unfortunately i have noticed a mood switch of the receptionist showing the lack of capacity to handle a request related to this issue. pity that she has preferred not to greet upon my departure obviously annoyed about the issue. a minor issue but that could have been handled more profeesionally

    As a last post this Hotel is located about 10 km. from the stunning Balso Beach from which takes its name. The staff is very freindly and speaks several languages beside English and is always there to assist. It is very quite allowing for a good restful holiday and is beaufitully located to best enjoy the amazing sunrise from your room since most or all of them have sea view. Rooms are simply decorated but with the beautiful nature around the comfort is complete.wi-fi worked well

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2016

    7.9
    It's ok, fine for the type of hotel it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to hand hold the shower as the attachment was loose - easy fix, bed wasn't particularly comfortable, and the food is over priced, although you can eat as much as you want so value there if you're a big eater.

    Good location for Balos beach. Staff are really helpful and friendly. Big bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    4.2
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    we reserved a room in a high floor but got a room just opposite the pool at the 2 floor - no privacy at all we booked some meals ahead as the hotel is in a distance from town.the restaurant it self is very uninviting and lacks cosines and greek welcoming feeling we got everywhere else in Crete we prefer to eat gluten free food but the variety was very poor , it was all bread and pastries. we tried breakfast once and the staff did not speak English. so we didn't feel like trying again. then we asked for a refund for the rest of the meals . but of course received a refusal We will not recommend any one to go there

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2016

    7.5
    The hotel is just like the pictures show.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had read in a comment that the hotel beach was excellent, I completely disagree. There was hardly any sand, the beach access is very difficult, not easy to go in the water. Don't buy the half board as food at night is not very good, the waiters are almost never there, and it is SO expensive considering how cheap it is to eat out in Crete.

    The hotel is just like the pictures show. The room was very big and comfortable, breakfast was good too. Nice pool. If you're driving to Balos Beach the location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2016

    8.8
    Mostly, everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The entry door to the room has a transparent slit in it. I had to put a towel on the door, to reduce the light penetrating to the room via that slit (in the night, of course). 2. Also, there is the emergency light just above the door (inside the room). It has two bright diodes (lamps) in it. Bottom line, the room remains too illuminated during the night due to the slit and emergency light.

    Mostly, everything. For example, big room, very clean. Nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    10
    Θαυμάσιος, wonderful :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to not like.

    We love the location, you see a stunning sun rise over the bay every morning. The location is peaceful, tranquil and all round fabulous. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Our second year here and we shall return. A wonderful place to base your exploration of this part of Crete. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we love to eat in the local tavernas, of which there are lots and we have good friends in a couple of them.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    10
    The best place to have a wonderful vacation .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    What did I like? I liked everything: the pool,the beach the wonderful staff. The breakfast, the clean rooms and around. The smileful service. I enjoyed every minute of my stay

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive drinks in the pool bar. The area (tiles)around the pool not as clean as the rest of hotel. But dont get me wrong-it was still very pleasant to be arround the pool.Only a minor thing.

    Very clean nice spacious room with fabulous sea view. Very comfortable beds. Fantastic peaceful and scenic location.Crystal clear water in the pool and the sea. Amazing aboundant breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Very very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: