Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blue Horizon 4 stars

Ferenikis - Beach Of Ialyssos, Ialyssos, 85101, Greece

#17 of 43 hotels in Ialyssos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 152 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi-fi

    The rooms were clean and comfy. The staff was not polite and the food was average quality. There was no free wi-fi. Had to pay for 90 min and it finished like in 20 min.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi should be free

    Very nice place,excellent hotel.Staff is simply excellent,cooker is the best.All services are very professionally . Wish we could stay much longer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Excellent view from the upper floor, excellent breakfast and dinner, good place for swimming and surfing, fast WiFi but it is not 'Free', friendly hotel staff..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has come for nto the years and urgently needs renovation. Even though staff is very friendly and tries to help, steady decay is obvious everywhere!

    Location, friendly staff, beach park;

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer bigger area for swimming in the sea. It was quite small due to area booked for surfers. Wifi is too expensive.

    Nice bungalows with sea view, tasty food,good sporting facilities at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor evening animation

    nice area on the beach with grass and palms.Breakfast and dinner very good variety of delucious foods.nice restorants and bars in front of the hotel.Windsurf spot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    What was not so perfect - water should be given for breakfast, but not sold. And Wifi! 32Euro per week - isn't it too much?!

    You see and hear the landing planes above the beach. It is noisy, but you get used to it, for little children it is even interesting. The restaurant is quite ok. They do all their best. The location is super - see, wind and wind-surfing. Two stations are at the beach. Because of wind-surfing priority the swimming area is a little bit small. The hotel has the best territory at this see-side - it is green and you can find the shadow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Land View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like how the common areas are so unbearably hot. I also hate that the lights to the lobby areas and parking lot are off at night. It's very dangerous leaving in the dark dragging luggage and not being able to see where you are going. Not a single light was on in the parking lot.

    I've stayed at a lot of hotels in Rhodes and this one actually had air conditioning that delivered cold air.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant too small for volume of people, not enough staff to man it. Food very average.

    Great location, on the beach, lovely breeze all the time. Fabulous view from our room, (booked a room with sea view).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Sea View ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The hotel was very clean, good towel (beach and bathroom) service. Very friendly staff, special mentions to the pancake chef, the breakfast waiter and the pool animation guy, all excellent and made a big effort with everyone. Great location, right on the beach, yet very close to the shops and quality restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Your advertisement as well as Blue Horizon's web site are complete BS. You lied about the rooms, no mention that they charge you $25/day for wifi when the rest of the island is free. Just one big fat lie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Not a fricking thing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is rather old, it hasn't been renovated for ages. Everything works but look a bit shabby. The food is bad! There isn't a good choice and you get almost the same food every day. If you choose half board, you can exchange lunch with dinner only once during you stay. Some waiters at the restaurant were ill-mannered. Sometimes they even cracked jokes which sounded stupid.

    It's conveniently located next to the sea. there is a good surf station which is situated on the premises of the hotel. That was the only reason why we chose this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything!! The food was very diversity and delicious. The staff was very friendly. The location is great! Restaurants, gift shops and food markets are very close by, which is very convenient. We took a car and went through the whole island do we were able to see other hotels and their locations. Apparently , if we ever decide to travel to Rhodes, we will definitely stay in Blue Horizon again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rhodes as much as the rest of Greece has now become to expensive.

    A good clean hotel but given its location it was rather over priced (as was much of Rhodes).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have been going to the Blue Horizon for 10 years. Nothing is any trouble for the staff and in the dining room Dimitis and Froso are a great double act with Lefteris keeping everyone entertained. The food has improved over the years and management have made great strides in improvements to the property. The basics are great - location, hotel standard, food and folks working there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    beds were disaster. No king size bed, but two separate narrow beds. Not comfortable at all.

    good place for your stay, perfect for windsurfing, nice people in local windsurfing station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi-fi should be free, specially in an area where 3g coverage is not that good

    it shows its age, but it's still in a very good shape. Staff is simply excellent; whoever you meet, you get a smile first. All services are professionally provided. Wish we could stay much longer.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    one of the receptionist, named Sofia. Absolutely ill-mannered to be in front desk (I am an avid traveller in Europe & USA both for business & leisure, I spend 50+ night in hotels every year. I have rarely came across such rude & ill-mannered receptionist in any hotel.)

    The hotel staff, (1) specially receptionist Ms. Malina (very helpful), (2) staff at restaurant (caring & friendly) and (3) the talented & fun-loving entertainment team (hosting water gym, beach volleyball & evening entertainment program) And the food :: wide choices & variations in Dinner buffet (different menu every night) and delicious food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beachfront,uppgrade.beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best place for windsurfing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Land View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi must be free as it is so in all other hotels.

    Location is nice. Personnel is very friendly and informing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    they charge for the wifi and also for the umbrelas and the sunbeds at the beach and close to the beach .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Additional charge for wi-fi is nonsense today. It's a shame for such big hotel not to have free wi-fi.

    Windsurfing facilities on site

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very small bathroom. The no toilet by the pool.

    The see view from the bungalow. The little garden. The beach bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windy for swimming, paid wireless, paid umbrella 3€, paid safe

    Not very crowded, restaurants close to hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WLAN should be included in the room Rate

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    super friendly team , nice hotel always !!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked one night for my partner and me. But when we arrived we paid and then they told us they did not have enough rooms and as we only had one night we would be moved to a "similar" hotel.The hotel was in front of this one, and was not what we had booked. The hotel hot water did not work, the dinner was totally digusting and the bed was undone, no shampoo samples...very dirty..., So we were told to go to Blue horizon to have meals instead. We went there for breakfast only and we were interrogated why we did not have our room key with us, if we were really booked in the hotel...very embarrassing situation. They should have given us a letter/notification to justify us having meals in Blue Horizon. Very bad experience

    The facilities, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach is pebbled and the hotel charges you to use the sunbeds both on the beach and on the grass near the beach.

    Very friendly staff. Meals and breakfast had quality and variety. There were activities both for youngsters (water polo, beach volley, etc) and the more experienced travelers (karaoke, bingo..) available. Room was very clean and comfortable. Overall the half-board was great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast-dinner could have been more diverse.

    Great location, close to the airport and also to the capital, nice animation activities, half board for a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Big variety in the buffet, but very poor quality. After the second day of our stay we decided that we cannot eat anymore inside the hotel even though we have paid for it. The cuisine is international, nothing to do with tasty greek food. We had to pay for the sunbeds for the beach in front of the hotel. We had to pay for the internet too.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    food was really really bad. just don't go for half-board/ full-board or anything of the sort. the restaurant felt like an overcrowded cheap buffet. there are plenty nice places to eat in the surrounding area.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we had 2 single beds put into one, not comfortable nor ideal and the fact that we had to pay for the wifi.

    We loved the breakfast and the very polite staff, our gorgeous view on the sea and the hotel in general.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free wifi is a must nowadays in hotels. Never had to pay recently. Sunbeds -never paid those either in hotels so far! Should be free of charge.

    Nice location, nice view.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Evening entertainment (mini disco for kids then something for adults) is very noisy. Starts 2030 until 2330. Whole hotel rooms suffer from loud noise. We have changed rooms but no change. Not suitable for families with babies or light sleepers. + they charge a lot of extras. Even the sun beds at hotel grounds and beach are extra 3€ per head! (Except ones around the pool). Water, tea, coffee at dinner are extra. +Extras are expensive. 3€ for 1lt bottle. It's 1.40€ for 6 at the market! +it's always windy and wavy at the beach. Not bery auotablr for young kids

    People working at the hotel are very very friendly and nice. Good service. +it's basically a good windsurf hotel as it has prosurf in their grounds +bungalow rooms are probably better to stay at

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms need updating. Some exterior building work required. The Taverna restaurant is closed. It really should be open as the beach bar gets very busy and over crowded.

    Hotel gardens, and peaceful surroundings. Not a noisy hotel. Animation very good. Great beach for windsurfing. Clean beach and plenty of sunbeds. Breakfast good quality produce served.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paid wifi, not good at all, should be free. Limited vegetarian breakfast menu. Not allowed to order an expresso (even though willing to pay).

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor wifi and not free

    clean rooms and bathroom, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great value for the money. Very nice personnel. Nice entertaining for the kids during evening.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss

    Perfect location for a great windsrufing holiday with the whole family having a fantastic time

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: