Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort and Spa, Crete 5 stars

Plaka, Elounda, 72053, Greece

#3 of 53 hotels in Elounda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 645 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Stunning location but not worth the price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Accomodation was very over priced. Stunning location and views but overall staff service was a let down.

    We stayed in a room with private pool and sea view. The view to Spinalonga Island was stunning, and the room was very nice. We didn't use the other hotel ammenities, but we did eat at three of the restaurants. Buffet breakfast was great with many options. The Asian fusion restaurant was also delicious but we were not impressed with the Italian restaurant and their staff. Food was quite over priced here with not very welcoming staff considering these are guests of a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    The view is amazing, the staff are so friendly, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was sometimes a bit cold..

    The view is amazing, the staff are so friendly, the food was good and the rooms are spacious and clean, it’s very quiet. A perfect get away vacation for couples :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Simply stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey Beach has large peddles, impossible to walk without spraining an angle

    Stunning views Great facilities Friendly stuff Amazing breakfast Amazing clear sea water Great restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Luxurious, relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to call the hotel 3 times to book a transfer from port to hotel. I was asked to called again both the times, then I was told double the price because it was from the hotel. I googled and booked my own transfer which was easier than calling the hotel which you wouldn’t expect from a 5 start hotel. I booked a Mercedes van for 80 Euros which only had me and my partner and the driver was amazing. Stopped to show us few other things on the way and still cheaper than what the Hotel quoted me. I didn’t even want to go to the hotel after this experience. Hotel itself is amazing but the person who picked up my phone didn’t do justice to the quality of the hotel.

    The hotel is huge and luxurious. Facilities were really good. Breakfast buffet has huge varieties.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator availability was low. access with kid troys was low.

    The hotel location is great. 5 min drive from the center of Elunda. Accessibility in the hotel is a bit troublesome for moving around with child trolly's. the elevator avaliability is low since there is only 1 elevator serving from the reception to the beach with no easy access to stairs to move up and down the hotel. Breakfast was great with excellent view. The Italian restaurant menu was not up to par and we had to return 1 dish due to the taste and content. The Greek menu was ok-ish but the prices were higher than expected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Rooms were excellent, although drawers would be helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music at the beach bar was both awful and too loud. You could hear it if you were lying on the beach sun lounges! I don’t believe the management have ever eaten at the bar because if they had, they would have changed the music. It ruins a nice lunch as it is so intrusive.

    Rooms were excellent, although drawers would be helpful rather than just shelving in the wardrobe. Staff were also brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If I had to pick one thing, the beach did fill up and guests were reserving sun loungers by leaving their possessions there for hours despite signs telling people not to.

    The staff were fantastic and very happy to help. The breakfast and on site restaurants are also very good. The infinity pool in the room was great!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    It was a few days of opulence, comfort and total relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its quite expensive.

    Best buffet breakfast. It was a feast of fresh food. The pools were gorgeous. You can walk to the town Plaka. There are some fantastic restaurants there with good fresh fish. You have perfect view of Spinalonga, formerly a lepar colony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    I liked almost everything, expect the closure to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Didn't like: - the closure to the main road - it is very noisy for my standards - lack of nespresso machine - in every 5* greek hotel there are such machines - beach hasn't got sand, but only big stones - people should definitely wear water shoes (I hadn't got and therefore didn't go to the sea)

    I liked almost everything, expect the closure to the main road. The road actually splits the hotel into two parties - hotel and restaurants/beach area. Hotel itself is big enough, well organized, with all necessary for a holiday without kids. My opinion is that the hotel is suitable for couples or singles. Provides excellent conditions for full relax, IF you are upper than 3rd level of the hotel and you have no neighbours on the upper floor. I liked: - food - excellent quality - service - very good one - facilities - all necessary for good vacation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    The best resort we have stayed at by far. Professional and friendly staff. Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    The best resort we have stayed at by far. Professional and friendly staff. Everything works perfectly, the food is great with a variety of cuisines to choose from. Spectacular views and a great beach :-) we didn't want to leave the resort or the area.unforgettable experience!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean rooms, spectacular view, incredible staff, awesome spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little remote. The need to take a furnicular up and down the property was a little exhausting

    Clean rooms, spectacular view, incredible staff, awesome spa. Stephanie the trainer was just exceptional. Maria the waitress at Flame was amazing! Great restaurant choice. Fantastic beach. Superb water sports

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Paradise escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could improve the capacity of financial operations on reception :)

    Wonderful personnel meeting every expectation. Daily compliments and small details that make the experience unforgettable. Clean beach with a sensation of privacy. Blue door restaurant is of a great quality. Breakfast buffet is rich and various.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Great few days away and would come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes immeditely to mind for improvements to our stay. Maybe having a Neo Expresso machine and milk in the fridge for coffee after my early morning pool dip (rather than the priovided instant coffee with long life milk).

    Great view from room and loved having our own dip pool. Liked the option to have a later breakfast (7-11 am breakfast). The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Liked the generous spacing of beach umbrellas and the different ‘spaces’, the big pebbly beach as no sand to blow in your eyes and the beautiful clear water to swim in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent property ,super clean, pro staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't stay longer

    Super clean Staff was excellent ,kind and professional. Stefanos, manager of the beach club simply the best. Water pool near the sea was great ,we spent a whole day there ordering coctails and food. Breakfast was very good. We had a great time there ,we've been to a lot of places around the world but (again) first time we met such a professional staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Relaxation at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Blue Palace is simply amazing. Fantastic atmosphere, food and staff. The many pools and the beach feels like you have escaped to another world. The views are stunning! Great location with easy walking or a short drive by car to many of the wonderful local restaurants. A really great place to relax. I will be back next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Great pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all was not 5 star but instead was 6 star Was a very big property which made getting around a bit difficult but staff provided golf cart transport around the hotel

    Great pools Magnificent breakfast best I have experienced anywhere in the world Very good and professional staff Excellent food and beverage Great beachside facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice staff, badly designed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a long check in process. It took about one hour from the time we arrived to get to our rooms. The hotel is very large but extremely confusing to get around. There is no way to get from your room to the lobby without walking a short way in the sun or calling for a club car (they didn’t always answer the phone). The walk to the elevator is a couple minutes in the sun but it takes a very long time to come because there is only one and because of the design. There should be an easier more convenient way to get around the hotel. You have to walk on the very steep sidewalk of the road if you want to walk from the lobby to your room - there are no stairs. We were traveling with our 4-month old baby and my husband and I tried to bring him to the fitness center while he was asleep in his stroller but they wouldn’t allow us to because it was next to the spa. Very inconvenient for us because a large part of our vacation is being able to work out together! They do not warn you on their website that they are not entirely kid friendly. Ok hotel but I would not go back again.

    The staff were very polite and helpful and the rooms were clean with a lovely view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel offers amazing view, the breakfast was awesome and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was simpler than we expected for the price. We could not buy any magazines/books and change them in the room and obviously on the way to the hotel pool/beach people don’t necessarily carry cash or cards.

    The hotel offers amazing view, the breakfast was awesome and the pools were very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful time. Beautiful location. We left feeling like we had made new friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t t book for longer!

    The facility was marvelous. The beach fantastic but nothing compared to the warmth of the staff. George, the food and beverage manager was always on site acting as host and friend. His attitude was reflected by Nina and his entire staff. We travel worldwide and this might be the best service we ever had. Don’t bother eating off site. Every restaurant was better than anything you can get in town. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    A week of bliss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the beach club in particular is overpriced - does taste great though. The bay is particularly windy, reaching 50mph winds on some days, which is OK if like to keep cool whilst sunbathing (just bring a bobble!). Couple's massage at spa wasn't worth the price.

    Private pools are absolutely gorgeous. The view is incredible and everything at the resort is irresistibly luxurious. Housekeeping come to your room twice a day, really making sure you're looked after. Breakfast is so delicious with fresh omlettes, pancakes, pastries everyday amongst all the savories. The Tuesday BBQ night at Isola is definitely worth it! We also enjoyed visiting Ostria in Plaka, Kanali and Despina in Elounda. We recommend that you hire a car!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    This is a wonderful place to relax and I would definitely recommend to anyone who visits crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate at the asian/fusion restaurant and we didnt find the quality of food in par with the hotels high quality. The sushi rolls we’re plain with very little variation between rolls and it was definitely not worth 100euros for this meal. The quality and value didn’t meet the price. I would not recommend trying that restaurant. We had some issues contacting room cleaning. We called 3 times to get our room cleaned after being forgotten one morning for room service.

    The location and the view of spinalonga surrounded by mountains is really picturesque. The property is beautiful with attentive and friendly staff. The bed is very confortable and above what you find in most european hotels. We had a complimentary upgrade to a heated pool which was very nice especially seeing how we had a 4mth old travelling with us. The resort is stroller friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Terrible service. Welcome to club med.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signature restaurant Flames service iwas extremely bad and does not worth it. Very rude and unprofessional staff. One of my worst nights. Flame suppose to be the signature restaurant but service is worst than a kebab shop. Dont go. Although they advertise that they do nights we tried to have a drink and they closed early. No bar after 1:00 and is a signyure hotel. Room had ants and they came sprayed with pankill while i was in the room and no warning not to wear sleepers as it is a type of poison. Very bad experience. Very bad. The second time i ordered a burger in room service the bread was not fresh and it was cery hard. In general this was a club med hotel and does not worth staying and paying and it is not a 5 star. Breakfast very average and a typical club med. Plus i paid 451 euros per night and room service was charging an additional 5 euro for service. Its a steal. Overall ruined my holidays.

    Sea and bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    There was too much noise in our room from the surrounding -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was too much noise in our room from the surrounding - we were woken several times by loud guests or by 'good morning' wishes from people close to our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great full service resort close to Heraklion to have relaxing time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival we requested for an upgrade, and it took first at least 30 min to get back to us with an answer, and with some additional inquiry another 30 min. Shouldn’t be that difficult to find out the booking situation. Spa facilities (sauna, showers etc.) start to require an upgrade.

    A very nice resort for those who like resorts. You can spend your whole holiday in the resort (but don’t!) with nice upper pool, sea water pool and nice pebble beach. Everything works really well and staff is extra helpful and polite. Food and drinks are good, but come with ”touristic pricing”, but you get what you ask for. Quite decent gym combined with spa facilities gives you an opportunity to have an active holiday as well, if you wish.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Awesome experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wife’s only dislike was there was not enough coffee in the room. But we managed to get great service at breakfast

    Coming from the United States the biggest thing we know this was hospitality. We will definitely be coming back in the future with family.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Really nothing! best!)

    Location, views (WOW!), territory (gardens, cascade of different levels, nobody bothers anybody), infrastructure (pools for every member of the family, lobby, sunbathing at different levels, splendid beach, and beach infrastructure), highly welcoming and educated pesonnel (wow!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing luxury hotel with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinner was very disappointing. Certainly not the standard of a 5 star hotel or even a 4 star.

    Very well designed attractive hotel. Luxury spacious spa. Luxury sun loungers on beach. Beach staff serving complimentary drink & snack every morning. Large heated outdoor pool. All staff exceptionally friendly & helpful. Hotel situated within 10 minutes walk of the picturesque village of Plaka where there are little shops & many local tavernas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - made the trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurants closed too early. Thalassotherapy spa needs a renovation - tiles coming off in the pool, lights not working etc. Too many added extras when it came to price - even with half board, had to pay extra to use other restaurants and then extra again for items on the menu there, felt like they were trying to get every penny out of us. Should be flat rate to use other restaurants with no further charges on specific food items.

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - made the trip. Room was clean and exactly as stated in the pictures. Plenty of facilities to do lots of things. Food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful accommodation, clean, had just all facilties...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful accommodation, clean, had just all facilties you’re looking for on a honeymoonlike vacation, spa gym, nice beach and most of all very friendly service minded personell who make you feel welcome every time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    This was by far the best hotel I have stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was by far the best hotel I have stayed in! The staff members were so helpful and extremely nice! The view is breathtaking...the rooms are spacious! Everything is fantastic! I will be going back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beach staff could be a little more attentive regarding cleaning up after guest leave the area.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the facilities and room were exceptional (and clean). Good variety at breakfast and plenty of great places to hang out and relax. Concierge was especially helpful suggesting great restaurant options outside the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Exquisite resort in a spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's just the beginning of the season and our room was not aired properly when we entered. This was rectified to some degree later on but the strange smell lingered. Grayish towels and robes -- they were still ok, but definitely not five stars. Linen were impeccable though and changed daily. Thank you.

    Impressive design of the hotel, spectacular location and very helpful staff. Very good food also. All our needs were met if not exceeded. We loved the cable cabin taking us to our apartment! This hotel is able to accommodate dietary requirements to a large degree.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Amazing stay at an incredible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful and has amazing views over the bay and the Spinalonga island, the staff was incredible and you feel like they really care, they also had great recommendations for us for places to go and where to eat and they went above and beyond when I asked for a nice flower bouquet to be in the room when we arrive for my wife's first mother's day. It really was a perfect vacation for us and we would love to go back in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    A beautiful way to end a short trip in a brilliant luxury hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was quite small in size for a man. Drinks and food in hotel were a little expensive even for a luxury hotel

    Fantastic views, excellent attentive staff, size of room and comfort of bed, pillows and seating in room. Fantastic range of facilities on offer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    A fabulous , luxurious place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    thought the restaurants were a bit pricey.

    Spacious, really comfortable room. Fantastic view of Spinalonga. Staff were excellent and couldn't do enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    **We were half board and there was no monetary value trade of buffet for the restaurants, you had to pay a supplement of £26 each and choose from selected menu. Anything over you paid for. The restaurants were all pretty expensive - 20E for a burger?! **Also be aware this is only applicable in the restaurants in the evening and there's no lunch buffet so you have to pay for your lunch each day either way - same high prices for snack food, which is nicely done but crazy money really. The best value food we found was the tacos (10E) down on the beach or pizza in the Italian - 12.5E - big enough to share with a salad making it better value. **We ate in the local town - Plaka - if we wanted a change from the buffet, fantastic tavernas and restaurants with excellent traditional food, value for money. **More information needed in the rooms or on boards around the place about trips and excursions, local towns etc. You had to ask to find anything out. **Housekeeping times were really inconsistent, sometimes we'd only just come back from breakfast to get ready and the Housekeepers arrived, sometimes we came back in the afternoon and they still hadn't been! Consistency just helps you plan your day and not get in the way of the team who want to get the room done asap.

    **The staff are amazing!!! So friendly and geniuine, they couldn't do enough for us. I would say that was the stand out part of this hotel. Especially in the bar - Maro and Margeruita in particular are so charming and friendly. I got a cold a few days after arriving, noticing I was feeling unwell Maro brought me some herb tea with honey, completely unprompted and "on us", such a nice gesture which really made me feel at home! All the staff really can't do enough to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible, they work really hard. **Spacious clean rooms. **Good buffet dinner and breakfast - great selection. **Plenty of sunloungers on the pebble beach when we were there but it was starting to get busier as we left. **Nice pools both indoor and outdoor. **Complementary bottled water in the room each evening was a nice extra and the bathroom products were nice. **The first night we arrived late and the hotel had arranged cold plates to be sent to our room without us even asking, really excellent service after a long journey. They also put a sachet of face pack on our pillows to revive us after the journey. Just little touches which were so thoughtful. Maybe a couple more of these gestures throughout the stay would've been nice, had it before in hotels when they leave you some macaroons, or truffles etc when they turn down each evening. **Do not miss Plaka it's great and only 5 min walk away! You can get boats from here to Spinalonga, but be aware the boats are just charging you to go on the boat, to walk round the island is extra!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb accommodation with high value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heated pool was not warm enough for spending time in the water on a chilly evening so I wouldn't consider paying the extra for it.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The spa treatment we had was excellent. Hotel's greek restaurant served a very satisfying dinner with local specialties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could add a nespresso coffee machine in the room instead of instant coffee. Should not cost much, but would leave a much better impression. Also a TV is from mid 2000-2010...

    Rooms with private pools have the best view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location, excellent breakfast, great staff attitude & service - no complaints would return. Only thing that would improve for us would be some sort of screening between the plunge-pools attached to apartments i.e. a bit more privacy. All-in-all, terrific stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, pampering, delicious and safe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a bit grim to learn that the island in front of the hotel was a leprosy colony until 1950s. Not uplifting to me. I had hoped for an idyllic view of the sea to lift the spirit. The restaurant near the pool area had an issue with chairs constantly scraping along the floor and echoing around the room. I mentioned it at the reception area as it is easy to fix. The sound system did not seem so clear and the choice of music was not great sometimes. But after five days my impression is that it is a wonderful hotel run by very nice people and close to cute villages with cute shops and nice people.

    Staff were very friendly and professional. The hotel is very attractive. Not just an impressive lobby, but there are little 'private' Moroccan style rooms to sit in at cocktail hour and the bedroom was very spacious and bright. In the buffet-style restaurant it is possible to get away from the noise of a canteen and the endless movement of people and sit outside on the large terrace. The was valet parking. Many pools and a good gym.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we have our own car, it is parked for us and delivered to us when we ask for it. However sometimes this can take longer than it should... if we are in a hurry it can be a problem.

    Very confortable and wonderful views from everywhere in the hotel. Also great with kids but there are areas just for adjlts to relax in peace. We would love to be back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Facilities were luxurious and staff very welcoming and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything but an opportunity would be to offer some of the buffet style breakfast options at lunchtime - fruit, pastries, cheeses etc. Couldn't do them justice at breakfast!

    Facilities were luxurious and staff very welcoming and courteous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing break with fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one tiny negative I can think of was sometimes there was a long wait for omelettes because there was only 1 lady running the omelette/crepe/waffle station- but she was working as hard as she could!

    Fabulous service- reception staff so welcome and super speedy check in. Large beautiful, very quiet room with comfy bed. Food was delicious and excellent restaurant service. Incredible pianist in the bar with yummy cocktails. 2 huge swimming pools and super helpful pool/beach staff. We had such a relaxing trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic stay. Overall the hotel/service was well worth the price. I would absolutely recommend tho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private pool was cold. They should be heated to a warmer temperature.

    The food was amazing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable. The property was gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Our stay was absolutely fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing negative to say about this hotel!!

    All of the hotel staff were welcoming, professional and courteous. They could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was gorgeous with a fantastic view and a lovely balcony (where we enjoyed our breakfast). The facilities were very good, especially the spa area. I would not think twice about visiting this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Everything was good, the suite was fantastic, the bed great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was good, the suite was fantastic, the bed great, the breakfast really good, the service excellent, and the private pool which went with our suite was heated. you got what you paid for. The location overlooking Spinalonga was terrific.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely hotel with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The suite was amazing, very comfortable bed and the views were really pretty. The half board option was excellent value and the buffet food choices were delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Food choices in the restaurant were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wind whips round the location so chilly at times

    Food choices in the restaurant were great. Room with a view to Spinalonga Island was fantastic. Staff were hugely helpful and polite. Spa was excellent. Blue Door restaurant was the best

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    A quiet place to get away from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beach snacks are too expensive, it's easier to stroll in to plaka for a light lunch/toastie

    Very comfortable beds. We were left alone to get on with our holiday. Details of evening events were left in your room so you could choose to attend if you wanted to without being hassled by hotel reps. A very quiet, luxurious place to stay but not sure it's for families with small children.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful, relaxed holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very little to criticise.

    Lovely position overlooking the bay and the island of Spinalonga. Spacious, well appointed room with comfortable king size bed. Our room had a private pool which, though we didn't actually use it, provided a beautiful setting for the outlook. It's worth waking up early for the most spectacular sunrises.... A relaxed Greek lunch at the Blue Door next to the sea is an exquisite experience, (as was our meal at the first taverna on the right when entering Plaka). The spa is excellent too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced Room was not the same as the booking.com photos Extra 50 euros per night to have the private pool heated, but it was freezing All the pools (heated or not) were too cold to swim in (especially for the kids) and indeed were all completely empty our whole stay In room breakfast was very poor

    Staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Heaven in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from Heraklion and have to visit by taxi or bus, it's take 1.5 - 2 hours. But anyway, worth while visiting.

    We saw heaven in this hotels territory, I mean ultimately comfortable room, breakfast, confortable walking, beach, and so on. Staffs are very kind. Very recommend to visit this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    nice. nothing more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    breakfast - crowded and noisy, food and beverage department not flexible, unwilling to try and accommodate the guests. hotel too big and very chaotic in August.

    nice beach. good pools. spacious room. beautiful view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    The best holiday we have ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Blue Palace is the best resort we have ever been to. The people are the friendliest, the facilities are extraordinary and the food / drinks are amazing. We have been to the Blue Palace 4 years in a row and will definitely be rreturning next year as well. Blue Palace is the best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    We stayed at the hotel for five days, perfect hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the hotel for five days, perfect hospitality! Great room, spacious and most importantly very clean, in general, every place in the hotel is really clean and polished. Amazing view from the room and from all areas of the hotel, large, clean and so nice pools,no feeling of density. Very nice beach area, good food and good service at all the resturants, and most importantly - amazing team, smiling and a so kind !! We will definitely return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    Best resort in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    One of the best resorts i came through among all my travels, i would like the staff who made this happen. Special thanks as well to gents/ladies at concierge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    The best five-star hotel to stay in Elounda: amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best five-star hotel to stay in Elounda: amazing location, stunning views of Spinaloga, excellent service, ideal for relaxing and recharging. Wonderful experience. Only minus: the hotel's beach (beautiful but not sandy).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Flame and Isola are great restaurants; Beach is not sandy, but with the wind that is actually a good thing; bar- and lunch-service at the beach is great!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    The resort is simply perfect, but the spa is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mediterranean Maisonette Suite with Swimming Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa doesn't fit the standards of the resort. The showers there are old, the cleaning is not at the same level of the resort, the towels don't smell that well, the stuff isn't that good. Also, my wife got stuck in the showers there and the employee didn't help fast enough and didn't inform me although I stood in front of her.

    Excellent,, superb, heaven.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superb stay at Blue Palace. The facilities, service, rooms, location & restaurants were first class. And the staff both friendly & efficient. The sea views across to Spinalonga from the hotel are simply stunning & was the icing on the cake in what was overall an extremely wonderful holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    A holiday of peace and rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were amazed to hear that there is a law in a restaurant near the lobby that an elderly person can not order a children's ration. The first time I hear anything like that.

    Hotel location is outstanding. The landscape is unique and offers peace and tranquility. The service at the hotel is excellent. Everyone is attentive and smiling. Breakfast is the best meal I've ever had. In-room cleaners are able to enter several times a day to organize and clean the room. The products of the soaps and creams are excellent. The hotel is very large and not noticeable that there are many people. There is a bar that opens in the evenings with a great atmosphere. The hotel is romantic and magical.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    a most peaceful and relaxing week in one of the most beautiful locations in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Italian restaurant, Isola, where the cooking is mediocre at best. The presence of a fur boutique within the hotel we both found extremely offensive.

    Stunning location, beautiful view to Spinalonga from our terrace and private pool , the wonderful sense of calm and tranquility, the fabulous (and happy) staff for whom nothing is to much, the pristine environment. The charming and excellent Greek restaurant, the Blue Door, authentic and delicious food served by lovely people.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    Great rooms and a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heated pool at the room was not very heated. The price of everything around the resort including the food is very overpriced. 7 euros for a beer near the beach and 26 euros for a bottle of sunscreen seem a bit much. The rooms were expensive but worth it. The food and drinks were not.

    The room was amazing. We had a room with a heated pool and a view to die for. The bathroom was large with a nice shower and great soaps.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in very comfortable rooms with private pool, sea view and excellent food and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Heated Pool
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I fear that the hotel has and will continue to lose some of its charm through corporate bonus schemes. It is now affiliated to a well known hotel chain frequented by business people with the ability to collect point awards. These schemes do not favour the holiday traveller who does not also travel for business. Part of the beach is segregated for preferred guests. As a 5* hotel room rates are already high; it appears that what is better than a 5* guest is a 5* preferred guest. I trust that the personal touches will not be affected by its corporate identity.

    Returning to this hotel 10 years after our first visit, it still has the wow factor. We had a room with a private pool and views of Spinalonga. The spa facilities are excellent although starting to show some signs of age. Most of the staff were very friendly. Food at the Blue Door and Flame restaurants excellent. Excellent breakfast. Sunny!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Great facilities and amazing view. The location couldn't be better, just opposite Spinalogka island and just 5mins walk from Plaka village. The breakfast was excellent with large variety of food. The stuff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. But you get what you pay for.

    Fantastic hotel. Very good facilities. Great restaurants. Really looked after us on the last day of our honeymoon.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    what a view!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - private pool wasn't exactly private - checkout was very slow

    the location of the hotel was fantastic. next to a small village and near a small town. it also wasnt that far from the main area on the island (st nikolas).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Not worth it at all , especially for SPG members , you can find this place anywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fridge was broken (door fell off) , TV was broken ,Internet was useless , food was not good , way overpriced, They did not honor my SPG status whatsoever because i used booking.com Did not have anything i ordered . I spent 400L on dinner and they said i couldn't have a cappuccino because the machine was already clean for the night (ive worked at a restaurant, when you have guests that is not an excuse) The tram started shorting out and stopped in the middle. Doors would not close. The other guests were rude , serving staff for the most part was rude and inconsiderate . Not worth the price ... I wanted to see crete , this hotel could be anywhere . Hotel wanted to charge us $160 to eave the property and drive 1 mile . They dont want you going to town.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    A great spot to chill out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't quite as good as its sister property, Romanos, at Costa Navarino. The teleferique taking guests to the beach is slow and a bottleneck.

    The location is excellent, the style and comfort are great, the views are magnificent, the pools and the beach facilities first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Luxury luxury luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked this property I had no idea it was going to be so luxurious. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were greeted by the valet who helped us with our bags and swiftly looked after our car. The reception staff were fabulous, we arrived 3 hours before check in but this was no problem and we were shown to our room. We were lucky enough to secure an upgrade to a room with a pool. Spectacular!!! The rooms are beautiful, spacious and luxurious. All the staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Georgina at guest relations was fantastic. She gave us great tips and restaurant suggestions for authentic traditional meals. The beach was well organized and although large pebbles they have placed timber boardwalks leading to the waster which makes it easier to walk. The water was crystal clear. Getting to spinalonga from the resort was a 5 minute boat ride from the water sports area for 35 euro for 4 people. Great value and convenient as we could pick and choose when to go. Restaurants are e pensive but if you are by the beach or pool and eNt a nice lunch you can easily walk for less than 10 minutes along the wTer to the little village of Plaka for a great meal. A great resort to relax and be pampered. Wouldn't stay too long . We stayed 3 nights then moved to Chania for 4 nights. Ok it's not a little Greek village but we got the Greek experience by driving into a different village each evening walking around and having a great dinner. If you wNt a fancy resort to spoil yourself for a few days then I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Get me a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View and Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked and paid for 3 adults The third bed was unacceptable to sleep in A hotel like this should have a proper 3rd bed not a fold up camping bed.

    Well organized private beach Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous restort accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Badly designed lift system to get around the property. Needs some steps so it is possible to walk down to the beach.

    Wonderful View. Great pool and beach. Lovely friendly staff. The restaurants on site offer very good quality cuisine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.3
    Amazing breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to us a funicular to go up to breakfast, lobby, car, beach, spa. It was inconvenient and at times did not work. Once we tried getting down to our room from breakfast when it wasn't working and got lost in the property, jumping walls and going through trees to trying to find our room with no staff in sight to guide us. Our room had nice view but not much privacy on balcony if neighbors are on their balcony. Was very disappointed with spa treatment. Paid for deep tissue and felt like masseuse did not deliver at all even asking him to focus on areas and go deeper. He completely ignored requests and basically gave little more than a back rub.

    Amazing breakfast buffet. Our room had a nice view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful view, friendly staff but a little over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks were very expensive. A club sandwich was €15. The only way to reach the different levels of the hotel was by a lift that was very slow. There should be the option of stairs. The lift also overlooked a few rooms - the pricier ones with private pools. The heated outdoor pool was quite cold. I was charged for the hotel before arriving which has never happened before when booking through booking.com. The on site Greek taverna was closed the whole time which is where we really wanted to eat. The surrounding areas were very touristy.

    The room was very nice - spacious and comfortable. Bed was super comfy and huge. The view from the room was beautiful. Breakfast had a huge selection and was very tasty. The staff were friendly. The hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Mostly good but a couple of areas need attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants available for evening meal, either not available because of weather (Taverna) or already booked on arrival (steakhouse). Food and wine overpriced, insufficient variety of options of food and price points. Out of three nights we ate in hotel restaurant once, local village, Plaka, once and had room service Some spa facilities needed a little more attention to detail e.g. not having housekeeping carts on show outside locker room

    The bed was light floating on air and the breakfast could not have offered any more delicious options Massage in the spa

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: