Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bozzali

Sifaka & Gavaladon 5, Chania Town, 37100, Greece

#20 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 100 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Antonio, the owner, was delightful and helpful. Location in the old town opposite the Byzantine walls was very convenient. Breakfast in the courtyard with freshly squeezed orange juice was a good start to every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because power was removed from the room when the key was removed. The refrigerator in the room was turned off and every thing in the fridge was warm at the end of the day. Including the wine, beer and milk. Parking was a problem.

    Right inside the old town. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not a luxury property, but it's a decent affordable accommodation in a great location. Parking is a challenge—if you have a car, best option is free public lot about a 10-minute walk from the hotel.

    Great location and friendly owner. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here twice for several days and love its charming ambience and the warm hospitality of the owner Antonio and his staff. Perfect location a few minutes from the harbour but with the entrance tucked away in a pretty alley. Lovely breakfast on a street terrace under bougainvillea, where Antonio also serves delicious pasta. We enjoyed a daily swim at the nearby sea wall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though you can park on the street near the hotel, the parking is always booked out. Best bet is to park at one of the large garages outside of the city center. That said, this is something you have to accept if you want to stay right in the old town.

    The owner was so nice and helpful. He is very relaxed and casual and makes you feel right at home. The Hotel is located in a beautiful part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is centrally located and is just a few minutes walk from the Old Harbour, restaurants, bars and shops. Despite that fact, it is still very peaceful at night. The building is quite old and rooms are lovely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Very detailed decorations and nice plants throughout the building. reakfast is great with a good range of bread, jams, Greek yogurt, honey, fruits etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has really very good location. I the middle of the old city, but quite and very beautiful.excellent service with super breakfast and staff. Antonio the owner and manager of the hotel is brilliant very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My wife found the stairs to our room very steep.

    Arrived from the airport at 0700 on Sunday morning to be welcomed and find that our room was ready for us. Excellent brekfast served every day 0800 to 1100. Very helpful and friendly service from owner Antonio. Hotel location was good and room was quiet. Good tavernas nearby and ate in the Bozzali on two evenings - very good. Eficient and flexible car hire arranged by Antonio with Reisen. A very enjoyable week's stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful owner. Lovely room. Less than 5 minutes to the beautiful harbour and situated on the edge of the old city. Perfect for exploring Chania on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This is a gorgeous hotel, situated in the old part of Chania right near the Venetian harbour. This means that it's right in the middle of all the interesting bars and restaurants, but you'll still get a good night's sleep. It's in a beautiful old building, and every room is different, but right in keeping with the age and style of the building. Last year, I wrote a review saying the hot water wan't always hot - this year, there was a plentiful supply of hot water, which was just right after hiking the Samaria Gorge or swimming at Elafonisi beach. The breakfasts are excellent, the wi-fi reception is great and the small staff are really friendly and helpful. There is no lift, and the stairs are steep, so I wouldn't suggest it if you have tiny children as it's not exactly buggy-friendly. If you're looking to stay in the heart of Chania's old quarter, however, or use it as a base for exploring Western Crete, then this hotel is perfect and perfectly situated. I particularly notied that although the weather was hot and sunny, my room was quiet and cool at all times.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Antonio the owner is an absolutely delightful person, always helpful and really made our stay. He helped us find the place when we arrived after the last plane from Athens and a useless taxi driver lady dropped us in middle of street in old town and simply emptied our suitcases out of the boot! He also helped us with a difficult car hire situation by negotiating for us with the firm for delivery. The place is really cosy and authentic and just what we prefer to stay in. Only downside is that it is close to the buzzy centre of the old town where there is a lot of music noise late at night ... not a big problem, but not exactly a peaceful late night if you're not out on the town yourself in the bars!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect, as is the view from our room balcony. The owner was very kind and helpful. The room was small, but the balcony made up for that. All facilities were very clean and pleasant. We were leaving early in the morning, so we did not make use of the breakfast, but I can only recommend the hotel and would love to come back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the stairs. It's not easy to go upstairs with luggages. But Antonio is always beside his guests to help for everything.

    Perfect location, nice traditional hommie breakfast, warm hospitality, excellent wi-fi, very clean rooms. Everything was excellent. I will choose it to stay again in a future visit .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet but close to harbour front

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The odor from insect spraying was a bit strong

    Excellent location, great value, very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sound of cafe around the corner till 1:00 might hinder in some cases.

    room on de corner direct above the entrance, with view on blossom tree

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Antonio was a great host. Very clean and the breakfast was great! Close to everything in Old Town Chania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard for me but that may just be personal preference

    Lovely place with lovely owners

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole style

    Booking.com

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the parking is not so easy

    the People very sympathic, the breakfast excellent, the accomodation very good, the Location suberb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful small hotel in old Chania, right opposite the Byzantine walls. Friendly and attentive staff, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very small

    The breakfast was lovely and to have it outside was enjoyable. The fresh orange juice was delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    expensive for no reason.

    traditional house in the center. clean and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast Great location Nice staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If too many guests used the shower at the same time, the water wasn't warm enough.

    This is a genuine Cretan small hotel. Breakfast selection of local cheeses , cold cuts, fabulous yogurt and honey was a great start to the day. Antonio, the manager was cheery friendly and very helpful. The location of this hotel in the old town was absolutely ideal for us. We were delighted with our stay and hope to return next year.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was nothing I didn't like

    Antonio and Maria were so friendly. I actually felt more likes house guest than a hotel guest. My room was beautiful and again more like a home than a hotel. clean and beautifully kept

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the location !! into the heart of Chania Old City and a short walking distance from the old port ! Cozy ,traditional rooms and most important very clean. Light breakfast but very nice . Antonio was an amazing host. Thank you so much for everything!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water very intermittent. Two cold showers and one hot one during our short stay. Two single beds instead of a double - and with a big gap even when pushed together.

    Location was great. Down a side street which was quite pretty. Quiet. Five mins walk to the old harbor. Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Antonio was so kind and friendly. We really felt at home. The location is PERFECT, rooms are clean and welcoming, breakfast is light and delicious.. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you for everything Bozzali, we will be coming back!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaning staff didn't replace towels (which were left on the floor) or empty bins during our stay. The water to the shower was frequently cold. The breakfast fruit selection was not particularly fresh.

    The owner was extremely friendly and very welcoming. The location is excellent. The rooms retain a quaint but romantic atmosphere. Due to a mix-up, we were upgraded for the first three days to a magnificent ground floor suite which was absolutely terrific. The remaining two days were spent in a decent room at the top of two flights of stair cases.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, very kind staff, generous breakfast. Antonio was also very helpful with advices on how to get around the island, where to rent a car, etc. There are a lot of books around in the hotel, including many Greek and Latin classics, which I have really appreciated, and guides of Crete in several languages.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great location, warm and friendly host, lovely room.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and the overall charm of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Quiet location but close to everything. Very helpful host. Good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location in center old town, easy access to everything, homey atmosphere, very clean, great restaurant by same owner ( night only)

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendliness of owner and location.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole building was smelling a lot from the kitchen of the restaurant in the ground floor

    Excellent location!

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was an amazing building , very traditional and the hospitality of the owner is amazing

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Small hotel in the old town, minutes walk from the harbour. Quiet and great character. Super helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy sometimes with the timber stairs.

    Antonio is a fab host breakfast and freshly squeezed orange juice. location to all amenities

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely breakfast. Great location. Beautiful room.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: