Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Byzantion Hotel 3 stars

Center Square, Mystras, 23100, Greece

#9 of 11 hotels in Mystras

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1171 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location, long opening hours for swimming pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One room smelt of cigarette smoke.

    Great location, long opening hours for swimming pool, breakfast with fresh orange juice and home made cake. Staff friendly and very helpful, except for guy on check in who was moffhand.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect. Relaxing after a magical day walking in the heat up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel could probably do with a lick of paint, but everything else about the hotel outweighs this.

    The view from the balcony window was spectacular. Family run hotel, friendly and helpful. Good value for money and would highly recommend for a short stay in Mystras.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room very small, no chance to move with 4 persons.

    Perfect position to visite the city of Mystras.. A little nice pool in the garden. A kind staff. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow was uncomfortable. Pool was not well maintained (leaves etc.). Breakfast very limited and bland. A little dated. No mosquito device.

    Superb location. Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent base to visit Mystra with a welcome pool in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room for 4 is cramped. The decoration could be improved.

    The pool, The location in the heart of the village, The breakfast on the small terrace, The morning view from our room over the Mystra hill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Good location in Mystras, a good starting point to visit the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air-condition in the room was overloaded and not really working, therefore it got really hot. Window in the bathroom was not properly fixed at the wall. Breakfast was really basic. Basic rooms, which also could be cleaner.

    Good location in Mystras, a good starting point to visit the old town, a few restaurants are close. Good parking, nice view from the balcony in the morning over the old town. Good price for the season.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Eventful. Would make excellent episodes of Fawlty Towers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels and sheets not changed Breakfast was ok Large ferocious wasp in the bath room which management only did something about when I said that either the wasp goes or we do. On the first night we had an incident where we were woken up at !.00 AM by two women who entered our room (with their own key) and were most surprised and amused to find the room already occupied. When informed, management was neither apologetic nor particularly surprised. No explanation was offered at any stage after that.

    Location View Parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay in a friendly atmosphere. Very good for a few days wind down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located in the centre of modern Mystras with a lot of restaurants across the road. The cool and romantic garden with swimming pool is very inviting to wind down after a hard days sightseeing. The very friendly owner is always around looking after things and the breakfast stuffs (including jam) are homemade. Spacious lobby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with stylish & elegant interior, and a excellent location to visit Mystras. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean. facilities were good, excellent WiFi signal to the room. My daughter enjoyed the open-air swimming pool in the garden. Breakfast was very good. Price excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    If you want to be far from tourists but not so for from civilization, Mystra is the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather!

    I really liked the location and the people were very nice. I loved it despite the fact that it rained. The food was good at a family restaurant nearby and we felt like we were visiting family. Definitely I will go back as it was one of the highlights of our trip!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Needs a makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property needs updating, it feels old and tired, almost uncared for. The aircon is woeful, it just moves air around, it doesn't actually cool anything.

    The location of the property is great. Really good access to the ruins but you would still need a car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a fantastic couple of days in Mystra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The a/c was a little slow in cooling the room down.

    The hotel is in an excellent location with on site parking. The breakfast was very good, with lots of choices to eat. A short stroll takes you to the main square where there is a good selection of tavernas. There are a couple of good walks into the hills, starting from the hotel. Our room and ensuite bathroom were both above average size, with a good view of the Kastro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Lovely character property in the heart a a BEAUTIFUL little...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Lovely character property in the heart a a BEAUTIFUL little town. Breakfast was great & pool & lounge areas very comfortable. Off-street parking, lift available. We had a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice location with wonderful views of mystras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was a bit dirty Shower en bathroom is small

    Nice location with wonderful views of mystras Great value for money! Freshly (self-squeezed) orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in a unique location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water wasn’t on in the evening and I had to ask for a plug for the bath - but they put on the hot water and gave me a plug without any trouble!

    The bed was extremely comfortable! Breakfast was good and overall it was a pleasant stay. It’s a little dated but still clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    Location close to Mystra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only good thing for this hotel is the location that is very close to the site to visit, and the pool. Yet the pool had bugs and leaves compared to other pools we had. The personel of the hotel is nice, the room was big but the room in itself and bathroom are quite old and need to be renovated so the price is a bit expensive compared the other sites we visited and stayed at hotels with higher standards but at the same prices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sleepe because of the noise of people in the bars in front of the hotel. At 2 am it began to become more quiet as we asked to.

    Swimming pool. Breakfast. Balcony with sight on Mistras ruins.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Welcoming family hotel with lovely pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool area was very relaxing with plenty of shade. Breakfast was good. This was very convenient for visiting historic sites nearby. We enjoyed being in a village and going out to restaurants in the evening close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    TOP marks for the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have loved to use the pool but time did not permit. Beds and pillows are far too soft.

    TOP marks for the bathroom. A decent size bathroom with glass walls around a large shower. Room has a lovely balcony that you can see the village restaurants from and the ruins on the mountains short distance away. Breakfast is better at the hotel than restaurants close by. Air conditioning not strong. Wifi worked great. Could be more plugs in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like more plugs in the bedroom. There was only one! :(

    Very friendly and kind staff. They made feel like home. Perfect location to visit Mystras Castle and Ancient Sparti. The room was clean and in perfect condition. When I left, I told the manager that there was a tiny problem with the shower flow and he went to fix it right away. I’ll definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a quiet little village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel in a charming little village. The room was clean and comfortable with lovely views of the Mystras Castle. The staff were friendly and the Continental breakfast was enjoyable. We made use of the swimming pool set in a lovely garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value option in Mystras, with a very generous buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Friendly and excellent value, right in the heart of the charming little village of Mystras. The room was comfy, with a clean bathroom and a great little balcony looking out towards the castle and mountains. There was also a very nice garden with swimming pool. Highlight, though, was the buffet breakfast, which was really great, and very generous, considering the modest price of the place. Recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is a bit small, but functions excellently, is in accordance with the type of room.

    Very good matrasses, nice lichting; no streetnoise at night; very nice terrass for a good breakfast. Excellent price/ quality relations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Large spotlessly clean room, comfortable bed ,good shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large spotlessly clean room, comfortable bed ,good shower. The hotel is right in the centre of the village with plenty of places to eat. Balcony looks out over the village to the mountains, lovely. Good pool to cool off in and everything you could want for breakfast. Just a short drive up to the archaeological site of Mystras.( or a walk if you're keen )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for visiting Mystra.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the setting which had lovely views of Byzantine Mystra in one direction and of the surrounding green mountain in the other. Breakfast was excellent with fresh orange juice on offer. Garden with pool looked lovely too and was overlooked by the restaurant terrace. Only downside was bed making seemed to be hit and miss unless the beds were left completely untidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice choice near Sparti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small. Could be cleaner.

    Staff very helpful. They noticed us struggling with heavy bags and took them from the street to our room for us. Good breakfast with fresh OJ to make yourself. Comfortable beds, good WiFi, good lighting. A beautiful view from our balcony to Mystras Castle and over the orange and olive trees to the mountains beyond Sparti. Nice quiet area with several tavernas within a 1 min walk. Private parking. Nice areas to lounge on the reception floor. The pool area was pretty however we didn't have the opportunity to use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    One can feel at home away from home here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One can feel at home away from home here. The staff are helpful and happy. Perfect location to explore Mystras. Beautiful views of the mountains and the castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location with a friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one electrical outlet in the room ?? Some how they need to update the room for the 21 century.

    Location right at the town square. Several nice restaurants in the square . Right at bottom of the mountain. old world charm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff, very comfy beds and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the main street of Mystra which could be noisy daytime due to passing tourist coaches or lorries if windows open.

    Very friendly staff, very comfy beds and clean rooms. Great selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    A really comfortable hotel, in a great location, about 30 seconds walk from the "town centre".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Nice hotel in a great scenic location. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had some issue with the aircon but it was sorted fine. The best thing is that this hotel has foam mattresses! I travel a lot to Greece especially the islands (maybe 20 trips so far) and always have a hard time sleeping on the very hard beds. But this was just like home! Really wonderful. Everything worked; shower, wifi, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful stay with friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Excellent amenities at a very well kept property with the best possible location in a beautiful part of Greece. This place could have easily been somewhere that we just stayed for a week.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Quiet night was enjoyable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in my room on the 3rd floor - had to go to lobby. I met a fellow traveler because of this so it wasn't so bad really.

    The location was close to the centre of Mystras. I had a view of the castle from my room. It was very quiet and made for a great sleep after a busy day traveling through the sites Tegea and Sparta. The staff was courteous at the front desk and in the dining area. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, a garden and a pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was awful and they wanted us to pay extra for our cappuccino's (in the end we didn't have to) because they did have a machine. We got the impression that the manager (owner?) was pretty hard on his staff.

    Location is great. Private parking for the car. The swimming pool and garden! View from our window to the castle and ruins of Mystras.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Highly Recommended!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good!!

    This is a great place to stay - it has everything needed especially to visit Ancient Mistras and then recuperate after the half day or so it takes clambering around the steep site. The rooms are a good size, have all the facilities needed, a roomy balcony and on top of that a great view of Ancient Mistras. The rooms are very quiet and clean, staff were very freindly and helpful. Car parking is available at the side of the hotel. Even though road works prevented car park entry when we arrived the owner assisted us find another area to park. The breakfast was amazing and the wifi very good. Nice pool area. Good restaurants close by. We could not fault it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Just right for visiting Mystra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the old-fashioned decor, but some might not.

    An unpretentious family-run country village hotel. The best in the village beside the famous Byzantine ruins of Mystra. Very helpful and friendly couple running it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Nice hotel in a place full of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect. It is the perfect hotel for visiting Mystras. The room was very comfortable for 4 persons, it was clean. The lady at the reception was very polite . We liked the breakfast. I also liked very much that there was plenty space in the well decorated sitting room. Super....If l visit Mystras again I will go to the same hotel. Thank you very much!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    2 reasons to stay here: location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an old hotel. Some things were broke: chairs near the swimming pool, glass in the shower.

    Location was very good nearby the archeological site of mystras. Rooms are old but clean and you have a terrace!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.4
    if you fill like leaving in a boot camp conditions its a great place to visit mystras and sparti
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the shower and toilet room is a shame to to any place, small, no place for personal things, closed room with no venta working

    the location, the view from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place for a Mystra visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with some off season heating in the pool. Information on breakfast (included or not) and cost wasn't on Booking.com

    Breakfast good, comfortable bed. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were a little off putting to start with but soon warmed to us.

    It was homely & the breakfasts were fabulous. The hotel was close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel doesn't have much "personality" ( but the garden and swimming pool did!) They didn't have fruit for breakfast, but I think it was just finished and they usually have.

    Very comfortable bed. The breakfast is simple but far than enough, and it is very nice to take it in the terrace with views to the swimming pool and garden. Real natural orange juice that you can make yourself. The swimming pool was still open at the beginning of october, and we really enjoyed beeing there alone, at the sun, relaxing. The staff is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.8
    68 Euros for a place hardly worth half
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. The place has a monopoly for staying in Mistras. Breakfast was definitely poor for that price. The room an ill smelling and cramped place. The bathroom a mouldy experience.

    Nothing actually

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Fantastically hospitable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Getting to the parking area near the church can be hampered by idiots who think it's OK to park in the road.

    The guesthouse is a restored traditional building with some very nice rooms. I'd recommend the summer room for sheer size. Our hosts were brilliant, very, very, hospitable and fun to spend time with. The breakfasts are legendary and vary depending on what's cooked that day. The village itself is really well worth visiting at any time of year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Hope to Return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to be improved. Perfection.

    This is an excellent hotel with regard to breakfast, swimming pool and views to dream about. The staff are kind and helpful and we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    An enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy at times with traffic passing close by

    Liked the swimming pool set among olives trees and other shrubs in a garden behind the hotel. It wasjust about big enough to have a swim not just to jump in and cool off. Central location in the village with a choice of eating places and near enough to walk to old Mystras.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Comfort surrounded by quiet beauty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything!

    I love everything about this hotel. The location is perfect, the staff was friendly, and the rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to go back if I were in the area again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.5
    Tired but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean, the hotel appears tired and the male reception staff were rather sullen & unsmiling, (the lady appeared much more welcoming and friendly). A very large & extremely noisy air conditioning unit beneath the breakfast terrace spoils the peace of morning breakfast.

    The staff at breakfast & the breakfast itself were very good, the proximity to Mystras is good albeit resuirzs a short drive or taxi to the bottom or top gates of the Byzantine ruins.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Very interesting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A good hotel, in the center of Mystras village, close to the archaeological site (10 - 15 minutes walking, 2 minutes with the car). The staff was polite and helpful. The breakfast was good, the natural orange juice (which could be prepared by the guests) is a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    An ok hotel to spend the night before visiting the monastery and have a dip in the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and the rooms are dated. If you like a clean, crisp and modern accommodation this should not be your choice. However if you just want to spend a night to visit the monastery and have the availability of a pool, it's a good choice.

    The swimming pool, since I don't know of any other in the village, this was the reason to book the byzantion hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was AMAZING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby was not air conditioned and a bit hot, but the rooms were very comfortable.

    The breakfast was AMAZING!! The staff was very helpful. The location was convenient to restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is a little gem and we would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay at Mystras. The hotel is in an excellent position in the town, so close to the tavernas, and our comfortable and clean room had a super view. The breakfast room is a calm and spacious area, again with good views, somewhere to eat and enjoy the variety of breakfast dishes on offer. We especially liked the idea of pressing and squeezing your own fresh orange juice. You can also eat breakfast outside on a small terrace. The staff were extremely pleasant and the pool area a bonus at the end of a busy and hot day exploring the wonderful nearby sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for our family stay for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could be updated.

    Nice hotel, a little bit dated, but still nice with clean room and decent bathroom, a nice garden with pool at the back, a good buffet breakfast from 7.30, several restaurants nearby and a short drive (or a substantial walk!) to the site of ancient Mystras.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location but all a bit dated and in need of some repairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's all a bit aged and tired. The pool had numerous broken slabs around the edge and the liner was getting slightly worn at edges too. The sun beds were broken, some dangerously so as the sharp metal edges could hurt someone. (I hope they remove and replace these soon) PLEASE NOTE Mystras is lovely but note it's a tiny town so no ATM and even the pharmacy was closed for holidays.

    Great location bang in the centre of Mystras. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was good, Greek and fresh fruit etc. Nice large bathroom. Small balcony but mosquito season so not used much in the evening, great view of the mountains. Aircon OK, wifi good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of outside air conditioning

    The location. Is perfect to visit the Mystras site. And from some of the rooms you can see the site. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Best stay to visit Matras !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    Everything; location, just in front of mystras in center of town; rooms; balcony with view on mystras; Nice hotel with Good breakfast and cozy lobby; Nice pool in green garden; Excellent pricing in high season.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, friendly staff, quite close to Mystras
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is very small and with a few trees in the middle. If crowded it's hard to get out of it

    Nice place, friendly staff, quite close to Mystras

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It felt as a big, unpersonal, commercial hotel. It's good for a night, but it's not a hotel you'll remember for the next years for a reason. Simple.

    Room was clean, staff is friendly, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly staff, easy parking and great location for visiting Byzantine Mystras. The pool area was nice, although the pool isn't enormous and there aren't heaps of recliners available. In reality, you don't come here to spend ages by the pool, you're here to visit ancient Mystras, so this doesn't really matter much! The aircon wasn't the newest in the world so a little noisy, but our room had a nice balcony overlooking the Castle Restaurant and with views of the castle and old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Just in the center of the small Mystras and close to ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost impossible to handle the room temperature... The (understandable) need to close windows to have aircon working didn't match with a centralized and almost impossible to finely tune aircon... In the night the choise was either to keep windows open (and lack of mosquito net negated this!) or to freeze with aircon/ boil without...

    Just in the center of the small Mystras and close to ruins. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A cozy hotel set in a quiet place. There are orange trees all around the property. Here I discovered for the first time orange jam which I simply love! ( it is served at the breakfast ). Very nice place to stay in Mystras. If you pass by you have to eat the oven lamb at Mystras Inn and drink some rose wine. And the orange jam :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in center of Mistras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel could do more with their pool. Not really a good restaurant on walking distance

    Nice hotel with comfortable rooms. Good value for money Really in the center of Mistras

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location, pleasant with a pool & good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to lose the wallpaper & update the upholstery....a little dated.

    Good location full breakfast with fresh squeezed OJ. Friendly staff & a pool... something unusual for a boutique hotel. Large bathroom. Great location for Mystras

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.0
    In need of an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ageing hotel. Quite in need of an upgrade. Decoration, style, more like 80s than this century. The bathroom is particularly old looking with old plastic shower curtains and tub mat. I nearly electrocuted with the hair dryer but the owner offered a small discount in compensation.

    Nice garden on the back to relax next to the pool. Good location for the visit of Mystra

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.1
    Small swimming pool in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small, with minimum facilities. No breakfast included meant it wasn't as good value for money as we thought

    Small swimming pool in the garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very small. Receptionist was efficient but not friendly.

    For an overnight stay when we were passing through this was cheap and had easy access to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Mystras HQ
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family-run hotel in the middle of Mystras - lovely views from all of the balconies clean, quiet, excellent value - 15 minutes walk to the Mystras Archeological site - so much better than commuting from nearby Sparti

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a jewel of a tiny hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. This hotel is not new but it is lovingly cared for and is close to the archeological site at Mystras and to various cafes and restaurants.

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a small balcony with a table where we were able to eat our lunch. It was an extremely hot day and we enjoyed the shade in the back yard as well as a refreshing dip in the pool. The air conditioning worked well. We enjoyed our breakfast on the patio of the restaurant and were able to squeeze our own orange juice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, very welcoming, perfect for exploring Mystra archeological site. Easy drive into Sparta for an evening, and quickly onto good roads heading back to Athens the following morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Easy access to Mystras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large hotel with nice clean rooms. we had one with a balocny overlooking Mystras which was why we came here. The WIFI was good. the pool and surrinding garden was a delight.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Great little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit old, no tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Great location, friendly staff and a secluded garden and swimming pool. Good selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    MYSTRAS & SPARTA GREECE - BEST HOTEL BET!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better bed and linens could make it that much better.

    We had a great time staying here. We enjoyed the back garden area with pool - with orange trees around it and birds singing. The view from our room was perfect - of the ancient hilltop of Mystras. At arrival we were greeted by owner, who offered us fresh orange juice while our room was being readied (we were early). Great location when visiting Mystras and a short 5 minute drive into Sparta - very easy. Also the breakfast was good. Room was small, but clean. The bed was hard however.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice place for few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good Wi-Fi, plenty of hot water, bench to sit a suitcase, nice balcony, good bed, big bath towels, minibar with freezer, several power points, very close to supermarket and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing village hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View over the ancient city of Mistras. Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, on the terrace overlooking the Sparta Valley, from the orange trees in their garden. Friendly staff, quiet comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Mystras is only 7 km from Sparti, 7€ by taxi and a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mystras is only 7 km from Sparti, 7€ by taxi and a beautiful village with interesting ruins, surrounded by olive groves. I highly recommend visiting this village, we are so happy we stayed overnight here instead of Sparti

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Great location - not so far from the main road, but enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - not so far from the main road, but enough far from hectic traffic and dirty surroundings. The surrounding woods are magnificent - this gives you a flavor of antique. Nearby you can find fabulous affordable restaurants. Mystras is 1km away - even accessible on foot. Blossoming orange trees added to the whole pleasant picture. Breakfast is served on the terrasse - you start the day with a wonderful mood.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Byzantion Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: