Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Calergi Residence

Atsipopoulo, Rethymno, Atsipopoulo, 74100, Greece

#2 of 9 hotels in Atsipopoulo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 35 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful accommodation, perfect hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    recently been there, it is a wonderful place to have a nice holiday. We were received very hospitable. The apartment is perfect. we enjoyed our time there

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Great holidays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The hosts made us feel like friends or family and were really trying to make us feel at home. The location is just as in the pictures and away from all the city hustle but with everything you need a short walking distance. If you want more action, the city is not even 10 Minutes away by car.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Awesome and very lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Super friendly warm hearted family runned hotel with nicely and lovely decorated rooms. We had a very great time and thanks for all recommondations and care. Manoli and his family are having always some nice recommendations for restaurants beaches and everything else. If you need something they will always help you with anything. The free Breakfast is very nice with coffee, tea and nice pastry. The sundeck has a really nice 360° view. Supermarket, restaurants and bakery are all within a 5 minutes foot walk. Definitely we will try to come back soon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Idyllic stay in a and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have just returned back to the UK, after a wonderful week long holiday for our wedding anniversary at Calergi Residence. The location is perfect as its nice and quiet but you have everything you need and want within a few feet including a local supermarket, cool bar and lots of lovely local restaurants that are extremely good value. Our apartment was excellent and had all the facilities we needed including a lovely comfy bed and great shower room. It also had a balcony where we often ate overlooking the pool. The roof terrace was also a bonus, great for chilling, reading a book or taking a bottle of wine up to, to watch that glorious sunset. As a welcome gift, we also were greeted with complimentary strawberries and a bottle of fizz. Breakfast was very nice too with a mixture of things to accommodate all tastes and served at a time which was great for us so we could have a leisurely lie in. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Connie & Duncan

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Our holiday was made extra special by the warm welcome we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our holiday was made extra special by the warm welcome we received from the owners, Filista and Manolis. The little extras (the gifts, the lovely cakes and pastries the orange juice from their own trees) made us feel like long-lost friends! The accommodation is such a beautiful place to unwind with peaceful courtyards and roof terraces and of course the fabulous little pool to cool off in. We had a fabulous fortnight here and will certainly return one day :-)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful stay, very clean and comfortable, pool suitable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wonderful stay, very clean and comfortable, pool suitable for children very friendly stuff and the owners very helpful and kind! Would stay again and definetely recommend it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Absolutely faultless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn't a fan of the church bells ringing at 7am on a Sunday, but the view of the beautiful old church from our balcony, more than made up for our early wake up call! Absolutely faultless!

    Calergi Residence is a great base for exploring the whole of Crete, as it's pretty central but only a mile from the beach. The village of Atsipopoulo is pretty and quaint, yet it has plenty of local amenities, including two authentic Greek restaurants within walking distance. The food at both was delicious! Everything about this accommodation focuses on comfort, relaxation and making the guests feel at home. The owners treated us like long lost family, and nothing was too much to ask. The beds were super comfy, the rooms all individual and unique and full of added luxuries, such as fresh flowers, fluffy robes and slippers, and even complimentary Ouzo and snacks on arrival. The cleaners kept our apartment spotless, with fresh bedding and towels daily. The communal grounds are pristine and beautifully planted with lemon trees and scented flowers, and the view from the rooftop terrace, where you can catch the last few rays of the day, are spectacular! You can do a full 360 of the village rooftops, with the sea, mountains and two pretty churches all visible. A fab place to share a cold bottle of wine and watch the sunset. Although the family offer breakfast, we stuck with Felitsa's complimentary Greek yoghurt, homemade cakes, pastries and fresh brewed coffee that she served from morning to midday. Her cakes are out of this world! We spent 11 nights at Calergi, and when we left, it felt like we were leaving family! The feeling must have been mutual, as all four of us were given little gifts. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Family break in Atsipopoulo
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly family owners Great local tavernas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and well appointed apartment in a good location for visiting this part of Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking is a bit difficult.

    Very comfortable apartment. Very clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed the the sign to the hotel and our hire car became stuck in a narrow lane. A bigger sign in the last 10m would be very helpful

    Helpful staff. Advice about nearby restaurants

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    One of the best choices my whife and I made during our trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One of the best choices my whife and I made during our trip to Greece. Lovely location at a small village, 10 minutes from Rethimno. The owner and the staff where very warm and helpful. The place gives you the feeling of coming home. We intend to come back in the future

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Convenient location , very beautiful village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You need a car to reach beaches, town etc

    Convenient location , very beautiful village. The Hotel is so cozy, that we did not want to leave it. Filitsa and her team are very attantive to every guest

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    This place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    This place is amazing. The owners are so welcoming. We had a health issue arise while we were there and (Dr) Manolis was extremely helpful for which we are very grateful. The apartments are well decorated and comfortable. The outside areas including the pool are all spotless and lovely to relax in. It is a few minutes drive from Rethymon but that is part of its charm....very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.8
    The owners mood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location. Very very slow Internet and lost of connection. Swimming pool very small and no privacy. Access to the room very bad. We had the room on top. The sink broke water out everywhere. The bathroom small not clean and the hose was broke. No ventilation on the bathroom. The word drove very very small. Electricity gone so room was very very hot due to no air conditioning.

    The owners mood. They were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    We loved so many things about Calergi, where to start? For...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved so many things about Calergi, where to start? For us the personal and cosy ambiance in a well kept and comfortable setting contributed the most to our daily delight being there. Secondly, we were very happy with the good restaurants in the not to forget beautiful village of Atsipopoulo. Keep up the good, dear Kallergi family!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Excellent, comfortable, clean accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent, comfortable, clean accomodation. Really felt like a home from home. We enjoyed the quiet and peacefulness of the residence, with the pool and rooftop terrace, but also enjoyed being so close to rethymno with plenty of restaurants and things to do. Staff couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful. Would have no hesitation recommending to anyone! And we have!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly, calm, you sleep well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly, calm, you sleep well. The little village is also charming. If you rent a car it is an ideal place to spend your holidays. Excellent breakfast as well.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    I love the small village it is located in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love the small village it is located in. I am not sure however you could get around if you did not have a car. With the car is easy access to the town. Also love the courtyard the gardens and the common sitting areas. Family hands on operation.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Very nice people and welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The showerhead was broken off so you had to hold it while showering.

    Very nice people and welcome. Clean, lovely roof terrace and beautiful gardens. Clean towels every other day (I think). Bed very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.0
    Location - convenient (with a car only)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front desk mostly unattended Some (small) maintenance/decor refresh issues

    Location - convenient (with a car only) Pool and courtyard Friendly hosts

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    The welcoming and very friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no bad experience at all!

    The welcoming and very friendly hosts. The design of the building which allowed for interaction with other guests but also privacy and quiet whenever required. Manolis (x2) and Philitsa go out of their way to make your holiday wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    The studio apartment we had and the communal areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The studio apartment we had and the communal areas (pool/sun terraces) were so lovely and comfortable. Family run and their advice was invaluable and made our stay even better. Very welcoming, but also quiet and felt immediately relaxed.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    8.8
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed firm and may not suit al visitors. Area suits those travelling by car best Best Selection of restaurants down in main town about 8 minutes drive away

    Quiet location. Studio unit and adjoining garden court unique.Walking distance to restaurants including one unique place called Manolis. Excellent self catering facilities. Most gracious English speaking hosts both from professional backgrounds. Spotless well kept pool. Very good breakfast with fine china.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.6
    The feeling of having your own apartment in Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    The feeling of having your own apartment in Crete. All individual styles, not your average block. Good restaurants within walking distance, supermarket nearby. Superb breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Great hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower problems but quickly fixed

    Great hosts. Good recommendations for food and places to visit. Charming and tastefully restored 16th C building

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly hosts, comfortable rooms and quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly hosts, comfortable rooms and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    Great location to various interesting sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location to various interesting sites. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness, helpfulness and genuine sincerity of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness, helpfulness and genuine sincerity of owners and staff. They seemed to love what they were doing.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: