Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

67 Km Athens-Sounio Road, Sounio, 19 500, Greece

#6 of 11 hotels in Sounio

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 122 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    The best thing for me was a respect for privacy - the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe lack of Greek cuisine dishes in a menu. More vegetarian or vegan options and marking them in menus. Also staff was not very flexible or trained how to deal when you want to order only half of a meal or just some ingredients from it.

    The best thing for me was a respect for privacy - the bungalows are arranged in a way that you can be in a big hotel and still have a feeling of a private property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    6.3
    Renovation is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked sea view and 511 was not! Renovation is needed to the room to become 5*. We are glad we did not booked for more. Very expensive coffee and juice on the beach. The toast is of very poor quality(bread and cheese) when the salad is acceptable. No warning for the sea urchin. This is not the time of the year to work on landscape with bobcat! We came to relax even for the short time of two nights.

    Unique position in the world! Clean beach. The restaurant by the sea is a must! Excellent food. Very warm and friendly personnel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    5.8
    Perfect Hotel, Bad main reception services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Attitude of the people in main reception was terrible. They put the bill in the cont without ask as .

    Breakfast was very good. Serviz was perfect in a Restorant and reception. The hotel is almost perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    2.9
    No value for your money. Rip-off!
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really not worth the money, lots of irritations due to the bad accommodation: the door locks were very hard to use for locking the apartment, the entrance door was really heavy, when taking a bath the entire apartment was filled with steam, there was no proper air system. The terrace is not sealed of from the neighbours so we had no privacy and in the morning cleaning personnel walked by constantly so you cannot wake up naked peacefully. After finishing the bath there was water going all over the floor, and the toilet flush was broken. Also you could not put used toilet paper in the toilet which is really low class. So no value for so much money. I would advise anyone to book another hotel in this area at a much better price.

    Only the view was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    8.8
    very nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was not working in the rooms. even in the main building it was very slow. occasional traffic noise from the roads.

    very nice breakfast. extremely courteous staff. beds were really soft.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    6.3
    Great view on the bay and the temple of Poseidon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the bungalows were not comfortable at all, with a folding screen searating the bedroom from the bathroom. Doors were extremely heavy and required physical effort to close. All in all, not worth the money.

    Great view on the bay and the temple of Poseidon. Nice breakfasts and friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel for relaxing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a walking distance from most of the rooms to main building (this is to be taken under consideration if you have disabilities or young children) - though there are small hotel vehicles that can carry you around upon request. Some room details were a bit "worn off" (door handle was broken from the inside,bathroom tab a bit worn off). Not close by to a village or super market (10 minutes drive)

    Beautiful surrounding area Very nice beach and location overlooking Poseidon Temple Hotel set up was done in a very harmonious way to the surrounding nature Bar area was very nice Breakfast was very good Friendly stuff and especially the cleaning ladies were very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, lovely views, stunning main buildings, helpful staff and I will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    problems with key / locks at the bungalow. Had to get staff out several times to let us in

    We were upgraded to a bungalow with a swimming pool - fabulous Food in all the restaurants was delicious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    9.6
    friendly staff (reception, house keeping, room service) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the full moon aphrodisiac dinner was not so special as announced, especially the food and the waiters (too young and inexperienced), the top roof restaurant gives a nice view on the Poseidon temple at full moon but the restaurant itself is a bit poorly decorated.

    friendly staff (reception, house keeping, room service) and the green environment of the whole resort is perfectly maintained, congratulations!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, hotel needs updating to it's finishing touches though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of privacy in the room as veranda was on one of the main path ways. Finishes in the room feel dated and bath was damaged with marks where things had been dropped or burned.

    Excellent location and view of the Sun temple, private beach and good facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    10
    Great view and very nice staffs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I liked the view of temple of posaidon and the beach. The room was clean and staffs are all kind and friendly. They helped to call a taxi and arranged a tour for me and also prepared a bag for breakfast. Their services were great!

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for short break not far from Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No heated water in swimming pol.

    Small bungalows in the middle of beautiful gardens with views to the Poseidon temple. Private (stony) beach with bar (apparently in summer also restaurant). Fantastic breakfast. Service excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2016

    7.5
    Great place, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Regretfully only the bed in the master bed-room was prepared with bed-linen. The other two beds were not ready, with no blankest and no bedclothes. When coming back in the evening we asked to have at least one bed prepared but by the time the room service arrived my kids had already fallen asleep. The access to the bungalows which are mainly for families, should have an easy access through a ramp which we did not find (maybe our fault). We had eventually to hand carry the strollers up and down the stairs.

    The location is amazing and the resort offers a number of facilities that are easily available and at short reach. This includes indoor pool, children playground and other amenities. The personnel was professional and accommodated our requests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    6.7
    For such prices one would expect excellence. Being really good should not be enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi & TV are not working well, which is unacceptable for such a high cost hotel. Trimming a bit the bushes could work miracles for the view. The rooms need a slight refurbishing and some safety corrections.

    Personel was very polite and friendly. Best spot in Athens. Greeting is very good and farewell also. In terms of hospitality the hotel ranks really high. Well done! Very good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2016

    6.7
    Not....as good as it gets....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check in starts at 15:00, we informed the hotel that we will arrive between 15-16:00, we arrived at 16:40...we get into our room at 17:55....no reason for that (there is a reason of course - not enough personnel!!) The beach is not as clean and neat as it looks in the pictures...cigarettes, straws, plastic bags were among the things you can discover there unfortunately, despite the crystal clear waters! The service both at the beach and the pool was tragic, but not because of any behavior but because of lack of personnel.Finally you go and get what you want by yourself! We were surprised to see that some of the people that were serving at the breakfast, were later at the pool or even the night at the hotel's restaurant (understaffed as already mention). The 450euro/night room had great view and was in the wood, BUT it smell awfully from day one because of bad drains, something that the hotel's technical service informed us about the last night when we couldn't stand the smell any more and we flooded while bathing!!!! Of course the lack of a flat screen TV in 2016 in such a room (450euro/night) is a luxury that must not complain about.... All of the above made our "honey moon" staying not as dreamy as we thought it would be.... Let's hope that things get better next time!!

    The main building, the scenery, the nature surrounding the whole resort and the view are unique! The quality and variability of breakfast, the quality of dinner at Yali restaurant are excellent! The personnel are always pleased to serve your requests with smile, they are more than polite with everyone!! The welcome drink at the reception and the welcome package at the room was a pleasant surprise! Our request for a late check out was fulfilled!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    8.8
    Nice place, will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food in general could have been better, especially the dinner buffet. Would have liked to see more Greek specialities.

    The view, the friendly staff, the weather. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2016

    8.3
    Superb with some limitations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited facilities compared to other Grecotel resorts (i.e. no water-slides, bike rental or water sport facilities, etc). Another issue is that only your child can eat in the 'kids lunch' area at lunch times. So you'll be watching your children eat whilst you slowly starve.

    The facilities which are at this resort are outstanding (10/10). Rooms are fantastic with many of the apartments with their own pools (mini pools - don't try to swim in them).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2016

    8.8
    The location, the silence and the good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Bungalow with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bungalows were very expensive in comparison to previous years! 515 euros per day..We dont think we will visit again only because of that.

    The location, the silence and the good food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didnt like the bathrooms

    I liked the beach, the resort, the friendliness of staff. I also liked the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing Stay with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Beautiful grounds and gorgeous Presentation of food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Two errors on the bill.

    Beautiful grounds and gorgeous Presentation of food,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    9.6
    Opulence at it's best
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything - the view was the best. The pool was enormous and very ckean. The grounds were immancipate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    7.9
    Surprisingly family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food of the Pool's restaurant lacks taste and flavor.

    the staff was amazingly friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect short escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Bungalow with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful hotel neat the city.perfect 2 days escape!great staff and really relaxing atmosphere!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    7.1
    Good for a couple of nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    10
    A superior experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2017

    10
    Overall Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed matress was not that good, making sleeping a bit unconfortable.

    The view was magic. The surroundings great. The property spacious.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    10
    Fantastic Resort to relax with an excellent view to Poseidon temple and sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WE booked a Garden Suite and got a Pool Villa Upgrade! Fantastic! Thank you very much again😃

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location, calmness, feeling of privacy, remarkable massage services. Mediocre food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed, mediocre food, prices

    Location, massage, pool, privacy, staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, amazing facilities, amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asian night buffet

    location, facilities, food, view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    7.9
    Location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception staff, check in and check out

    Location is great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    9.6
    The kids club staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The kids club staff were great! The private beach is amazing with calm water and quite surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    10
    They were very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a construction on the road nearby the room which was at the far end of the hotel. The mechanics and the noise were very annoying but then at the week end they stoped luckily.

    They were very nice. The hotel was not busy so I hope they maintain the quality even when it gets busier later in the summer.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    6.7
    The food, both breakfast buffet and dinner bufffet where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got attacked and bitten by fleas (most likely resting on the poolside towels we used by the indoor pool) the staff were very unhelpful in responding to our call for antihistamine to treat our initial allergic reaction before we identified the actual cause by a visit to a doctor after our stay. We were given fenistil gel to treat the hives but that was after we called and asked to for it to be brought to our room which never happened and so had to go and get it from reception. We were given the option to be called a cab to take us to a pharmacy which for a 5 star resort I assume is inadequate service. Someone should had run into town and gotten one for us. But hang on its a 5 star resort it should not be infested with fleas in the first place! 4 days later and we are still suffering from the bites..:calls to the resort in regards to thr matter have not been answered adequately. In regards to the facilities, the room spacious and comfy but felt a bit dated and aged as did the indoor pool and spa areas.

    The food, both breakfast buffet and dinner bufffet where excellent! Many choices to suit every taste!

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    9.6
    We loved the resort layout, the lush vegetation and the high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the resort layout, the lush vegetation and the high level of maintenance. Perfect place for total relaxation but also several organized activities such as pilates, yoga, water gym etc were appreciated.

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    5.4
    To be fair the serving staff (breakfast & Dinner) were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We expect in a 4, 5 star hotel, better service from House keeping and I.T issues, Every day we had to phone to get coffee, tea and milk replaced, surely this is a basic service. We lost internet and TV in our room, they ran out off sparkling wine for breakfast on on Day 4 and it never returned despite numerous calls.

    To be fair the serving staff (breakfast & Dinner) were excellent. The setting was very good,

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic food with an outstanding breakfast buffet and an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room lacked cleanliness floor dirty. Some Service personnel was not very professional and attentive.

    Fantastic food with an outstanding breakfast buffet and an excellent dinner buffet. Great landscaping and gardens. Perfect view the location is just unique. Wonderful ambience.

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    10
    guests were "reserving" the front beach umbrellas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    guests were "reserving" the front beach umbrellas with hanging bathing suits from very early in the morning in order they use them much much later. Such attitude was in knowledge and in approval of the beach staff.

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2015

    6.7
    Unique and AMAZING location, the staff very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms was bad maintained and very expensive compared the price. The food should be better.

    Unique and AMAZING location, the staff very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    7.1
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of luxury is luxurious hotel. Rooms are need renovation. Very lazy staff on the beach bar - after 22:00 all tables in the first line from the sea had dirty glasse on, nobody was moving to clean it up. Dirty Ayurveda room with brocken shower in the spa (seriously is that possible??)

    The location is great! The hotel itself is nice. Facilities are many and useful. Very good Poseidon massage in spa

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    10
    Fabulous location, staff well trained, charming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fabulous location, staff well trained, charming and helpful. Food really good given the number of people they are catering for on a daily basis. Architecture of the hotel fits in with the Ancient Greek heritage and has been built to blend into the hillside.

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    9.6
    The view fr.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mosquitos.

    The view fr.o.m. the terrace with the Poseidon temple overlooking the Bay and the beach. The absolute perfect service snd the breakfadt. The dinner st the Poseidob. Try the fish and the local white wine. The relaxing atmosphere was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2015

    9.2
    The pool area was perfect for sunbathing and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    They tried to make me change rooms, mid- stay!! but relented after i caused a fuss. The walk up to your room is a fitness test! As all the villas are set into a mountain. BUT the views are worth it!

    The pool area was perfect for sunbathing and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2015

    9.6
    The pool and beach were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool and beach were fantastic! We loved the fact that there were umbrellas and lounge chairs for all guests. The breakfast buffet was delicious.

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2015

    7.5
    excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the standard room is very small. the aircon very loud. No bicicles to rent to explore the area. WIFI is not permanent working

    excellent location. great food and drinks!

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2015

    10
    Service was outstanding, excellent location for complete...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The restaurant a la carte was not up to scratch. Probably the buffet would be a better option.

    Service was outstanding, excellent location for complete relax. Breakfast buffet very good. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    7.9
    location is superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no shops or restaurants in the hotel apart from hotel's own ones. Nearest location for shopping and walking around is around 10km from the hotel

    location is superb

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    10
    Two the most amazing things:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Two the most amazing things: - view on Poseidon temple from almost all rooms and restaurants - very delicious food

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2016

    8.8
    Good location in a relaxing spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too high resorty like but with not perfect service.

    Good location in a relaxing spot.

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2016

    10
    Impecable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...

    Impecable!

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointing breakfast due to flies being everywhere!

    Perfect location Very nice resort

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2015

    10
    Nearly everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The swimming pool is too cold; the internet and channel tv didn't work too well.

    Nearly everything

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2015

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was an electricity cut and it took half an hour to restore it

    Location

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2015

    3.3
    Dirty old furnitured rooms:(((
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Dirty old furnitured rooms:(((

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2015

    3.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rude staff Room not as shown in the pics Very expensive facilities, restaurants etc

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    7.9
    Items from service didn't get collected till the next day
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Items from service didn't get collected till the next day

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2015

    9.6
    The location, the stuff is very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi was not working in all areas, beach is not that great

    The location, the stuff is very helpful

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    9.2
    Great staff, amazing views and location, fantastic food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great staff, amazing views and location, fantastic food and lot of choices

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2015

    8.8
    Delayed check in was very inconvenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Delayed check in was very inconvenient

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2015

    8.8
    Staff attitude to satisfy any customer's need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The central pool was not that clean

    Staff attitude to satisfy any customer's need

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2015

    9.6
    the kindness, service and assistance of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the kindness, service and assistance of the staff

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: