Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of 'Captain's House' Traditional Hotel Suites

Main Street, Panormos Rethymno, 74057, Greece

#9 of 27 hotels in Panormos Rethymno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    A trip of a lifetime for the 'G' family. We will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It's hard to see so many plastic water bottles being used. I would hope the island of Crete could put some research interest into finding a better water source.

    What's not to like in the amazing village of Panormos. Captain's House was like visiting a bunch of old friends who were glad to see you. Georgia, the house staff at Captain's House went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. She never stopped working and was sure our room was spotless every single day. We were in tight quarters (5 family members in one room) but it did not cause any issues because there was plenty of outside area to sit at Captain's House.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay here, the location was first class in a lovely small holiday resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Other than the maid who was great we did not see any other staff. This would have been fine if this was an "apartment" but it styles itself an "Hotel" so we were a little confused.

    Very warm welcome, with excellent , friendly maid service. Sheets changed almost daily, with plenty of towels.Very well equipped property, with excellent air-con.Our room had a balcony and lovely view but the other rooms either did not have a balcony or one without a view. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    A delightful stay, look forward to visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good for us.

    Characterful hotel, with an authentic Greek atmosphere. Super clean throughout And a delightful location. Room layout was clever and useful. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    impeccably clean, very friendly staff, nice view, attention to detail ....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    the nice touch of a complimentary bag of local raisins in the room... the breakfast in the restaurant across the street with the sea view... the small internal courtyard in front of the room with view to the sea...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Very well equipped kitchenette and generally fairly spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony looks on to an inner courtyard with a view out to sea through an opening in the courtyard wall, rather than directly to the outside but it did mean that you were sheltered from the wind when windy.

    Very well equipped kitchenette and generally fairly spacious and comfortable. Lovely views of the sunset from the restaurant terrace in the evening. Nearby harbour beach or a 5-10 minute stroll to bigger beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a good recreation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We enjoyed our time in a big, silent appartement. Though it was lying in the center of Panormo with a wonderful view on the port it was silent durnig nighttimer. In our sleepingroom we only heard the ocean while we had opened our window. Breakfast was perfect and the staff always took extra-care for me as I suffer of an intolerance that usually makes some trouble with the food. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Fine for short stay in nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower base of stone- note easy to keep clean-co u or be improved. Bathroom area could have been cleaner.

    Bright interior. Clever layout. Bed for third person available- useful for small family. Proximity to good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Situated on the sea front with car park (a few steps to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated on the sea front with car park (a few steps to climb). Spacious well equipped. Whirlpool type bath. Great village with a large choice of restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    An amazing place for family with children!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing holiday because of Captain’s place and staff. We lived in junior suite and this is the best appartment for family with children. Very spacious and clean, and with all things you need. Bath for children, balcony and perfect location. The staff was very nice and kind and helpful, with warm welcome and all stay long (we stayed 6 nights) they were very friendly with us and our 4 years dauther. She loved to eat icecream in front of our appartment and did it each day, so that was the top for her :) great location and beach was so close, that you can come back when you want home, or spend all day on the beach, quiet and nice place for family. Also we liked Captain’s restaurant and home made food. We felt very cosy and safe here in the small nice village Panormos. Off course there wasnt the season peak, cause we were in the middle od April, but the weather was great for us and we swimmed and take sunbath all days :) great location if you want to travel more and to see more cretan places. Thank you Captains house staff for everything and we wish you good summer and dont get tired of tourists, cause your are the best! :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Must be the nicest suite with the best view in the nicest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite (Captain) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must be the nicest suite with the best view in the nicest hotel in Panormos. It was off season when we came so the town was quite sleepy but we really got into the mood and felt very well looked after

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Tranquil, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is so tranquil and quiet! The woman that checked us in and cleaned our rooms was very kind and friendly, and the restaurant staff were wonderful! It was low season, so maybe that was part of the reason but they kept being us “extras on the house”. We are not going to leave Crete hungry! Wonderful stay. There is a hike to a lighthouse that’s doable right from the hotel. Probably 1/2 hour out. Past the little cemetery and through a fence down a dirt path. Super fun when the skies are cloudy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Good choise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with electricity, but they solve it. The bad in lower layer was really hard, bad for my backache.

    Very kind owner and personal. Excellent view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    a real Greek experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is somewhat hard to find, especially if arriving at night. An extra sign at the entrance of the village pointing to the place would be helpful. An extra small table in the room would be nice, especially if it is too cold to use the terrace.

    Very friendly and welcoming reception. An authentic place to stay in Greece. The parking was easy and plentiful, excellent wifi, nice welcome basket, small sandy beaches close by which offer everything you need. We had a wonderful time and would come back any time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Friendly people, great location in the heart of a Greek fishing village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Captain's House is in a great location, with taverna's nearby and the beach 2 minutes away. We had the Junior Suite, which had an outside terrace next to the restaurant, but there was some screening and it always felt private enough. The staff, Georgia the housekeeper, Maria the hotel manager, and Apostoli in the restaurant were all very kind and helpful - they helped me organise some surprise flowers for my wife for our wedding anniversary for example.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Calm and relaxing right at the see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, quiet, relaxing, clean rooms ,friendly staff that can't do enough for you. There is a restaurant on the hotel which serves fresh fish and Greek dishes as well as if you book breakfast with the room your breakfast. It's overlooking the harbour . Overall we loved it and would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Nemanja and Sara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff is perfect, rooms are clean, restoraunt perfect, price good. i like rakija. nice small vilage. good location but need to have a car to go to very close nice beaches. thank you Apostolis afedico and Nikos

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Sunsets
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Suite (Captain) with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were slightly disappointed to find that the largest balcony was a covered one. The apartment was a little dated.

    The setting was beautiful directly in front of the bay. The sunsets were incredible from the large balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite (Captain) with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was large, the 6 adults had plenty of space. It was well furnished and the kitchen was fully equipped. The large balcony was well used and the view of the sea was right there. The tavernas, supermarket and shops were just up the road. Daily service by georgia was done with a smile and the bathroom amenities were good. Overall we had a fantastic stay at captains house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.5
    Promised seaview with no seaview
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The description of the appartement in booking.com is misleading. Seaview for example was only possible from a public terrace. Windows in the room showed to a parking place instead to the sea. We complaint about that at the really very friendly staff and asked therefor for the cheaper appartement, which was not specially anounced as seaview appartement in booking.com. We got it with no reduction because the owner, the staff told us, didn't want us to get money back. He offered us instead one breakfast, which was nice, but for him, he made a good deal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Perfect spot for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful welcome from our hosts and apartment spotlessly clean and well equipped. Second visit and loved the new balcony attached to our room overlooking the sea. Quiet location next to the harbour, sandy beach and selection of good tavernas. What more could you want!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous week at Panormo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    The attention of the staff was second to none. Apostolis, Maria, and Georgia did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. We experienced the very best of Greek hospitality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    8.8
    wonderful location right by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wonderful location right by the sea. The split level apartment was really quirky. loved it. georgia , the concierge was lovely and so helpful and the accommodationwas spotless. the adjoining restaurant was excellent value for money and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    2.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and they offered things that they are not real: seaview and balcony: we paid for it but we didn't have it. It was dirty. El personal y el hecho que pagamos vistas al mar y balcon y no lo tuvimos. Estaba sucio.

    The bed, la cama.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I would like to come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Clean, very comfortable, superb view and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Suite (Captain) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, very comfortable, superb view and location. All in one for a family vacation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    It is really nice at Captains house. Comfortable beds and really nice Staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My family loved everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.8
    A really enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed that our room (5) didn't have a private terrace.

    Very helpful housekeeper who was able to answer any queries we had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Best location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Suite (Captain) with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the best location in the whole village

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    It was so lovely and quaint.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so lovely and quaint. Friendly staff and very accommodating . Definitely a place I highly recommend !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    9.2
    We had an excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an excellent stay. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. if you're looking for an authentic greek experience, this is the perfect place to stay at.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.6
    Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Next time we'll prefer a rear apartment. Not the one on the street (although small street).

    Great view. Window facing the beautiful sunset, just above the dock. Very clean and tidy. Large apartment.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.3
    Young males of the town met right under our bedroom window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Young males of the town met right under our bedroom window in a corner of the taverne around 1a.m. the waiter did not care but stood with them until we told them at 2a.m. that we would like to sleep.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    We were treated from our arrival onwards in so friendly way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were treated from our arrival onwards in so friendly way that we could not but enjoy. Accomodation (two different apartments) was splendid and food in restaurant tasty. But best of all were all the people around!

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    10
    The room was very clean and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very clean and convenient. The staff also friendly. I had a quiet and great time.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Fabulous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast( under cooked eggs).

    Fabulous views. Very comfy bed. Good sized rooms

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful views,lovely taverna belonging to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful views,lovely taverna belonging to hotel. Nice, clean, convenient.We had a great time!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: