Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Caretta Beach 3 stars

Main Street, Gerani Chanion, 73014, Greece

#5 of 22 hotels in Gerani Chanion

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Street was not on our Google map, but we asked at the local supermarket.

    Wow we loved it here, we were like part of the family, they were so accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for them, The food was excellent. We were given some great tips on things to do and see in the area. The room was big and had a great balcony overlooking the ocean. we could hear the waves as we slept, Sunsets were magic. A great Holiday 10/10

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Good.

    The staff were so incredibly hospitable and helpful. That it was close to the sea and that it was so quiet. The Hotel was well maintained and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there was anything I didn't like, there was one of two pillows I was given that was very thin, very uncomfortable, it felt like there was no pillow there when I slept. That's all I can see that could have been improved.

    I love that the beach and pool are right there. The staff was one of the friendliest hotel staffs I've ever met. My girlfriend and I felt very welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very nice situated. Quiet place on the beach. Nice staff, owner upgraded room because hotel was not full. Room was very nice, cleaning was very good. All was perfect !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roof Garden Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit basic and tired.

    Nice little apart-hotel in a lovely location. Good value for money and really nice people that run it. Small complex with un crowded pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seaside Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not that good, could have been so much better.

    We like that the hotel is small and quiet, it's a nice silence around the hotel. And it's not far from restaurants and shopping. The staff fix whatever you like.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Roof Garden Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large room and large roof terrace. One small point: In the shower, there is only a hand spray and no hook to put it up and the shower curtain doesn't prevent the water from flowing in the bathroom. Otherwise very clean and all the comfort one needs.

    Thea and Barbara are amazing. Thea takes care of the guests and you can ask her anything and Barbara is the chef of the house: her dishes are delicious.They had a wonderful solution for my son's sunburns: put greek yoghourt on it and it helps!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Seaside Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    As always in Greece the beds are quite hard.

    The staff was very helpful, friendly and service minded. The rooms where great and the pool area was super nice. Not very long to Platanias with the bus (5-10 min) if you want to do something else. Supermarket just 100 meters away. We had a fantastic stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice peaceful atmosphere and a very friendly staff. Excellent food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problem

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roof Garden Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location near the Beach. Clean and Nice crew

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff , food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom without window, noise in the room from time to time from a pump or some drive mechanism

    Personal, swimming pool, cleaning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great food, nice staff and good location directly on the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and always smiling. We had a wonderful experience and would return. The manager Thea was very hospitable and very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roof Garden Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super location with direct beach access; quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. Spacious rooms - good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were looking for a perfect place for our first sea holidays as a family - for me, my husband and our 1,5 year old son and we found it indeed here. We stayed in the first half of September for 10 days, where the weather is still great, but the very peak season is over. While reading this, consider it might be different in July :-) If you seek for luxurious accommodation with high dining restaurant and busy night life, this is not for you :-) Hotel is very quit, small and with a family and friendly atmosphere. Pool has perfect size, with kids section, just few steps from the beach. By the pool and on the beach you will always have unoccupied sunbed and umbrella, there is no proper restaurant in the house, just a pool bar so the menu is simple, offering salads, burgers, pizza, pasta etc. Breakfast we had just once, cause we are more lunch/dinner people. During our stay there were some theme dinners which were always great. Barbara who is taking care of the cooking, is always helpful to prepare something special if you wish (eg. for kid, which we did not required) and you will just love her desserts. Thea is the one helping all the time with organization of everything and you can always ask her for help. Both ladies speak German which is very comfortable if you prefer this language (as I do) The location is very calm and relaxing, with just few hotels around, while there is lots of supermarkets in walking distance with all supplies you might need (food, drinks, beach equipment, postcards, souvenirs) and you will find also few taverns around if you need "better" dining. (we did not tried any, as we were satisfied) I have no idea about public transportation as we hired a car for our whole stay and were travelling on the island almost every day - which I definitely recommend to do. Parking, WiFi (not working very well directly in the room), deposit box, air-con, sunbeds and umbrellas are free of charge!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel should perhaps consider getting a sign up on the main road as it is quite difficult to find the first time.

    Great, little hotel right on the beach with a decent sized pool area. Everything was well-kept and clean, the staff very friendly and hospitable. The location is quite secluded, which we found relaxing and ideal when travelling with younger children. Platanias is just a short cab ride away (approx. 8 euros) for more nightlife, shops, bars and restaurants. The beach location was great, with a life guard on duty, and the beach itself was not overcrowded.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The self-catering kitchenettes are quite Spartan but very clean and serviceable. We cooked some great meals to enjoy on our little balcony, watching the sun set!

    Barbara and Thea absolutely made our stay the most wonderful vacation, ever! Right from the moment we were greeted as we stepped out of the taxi (thoughtfully arranged by the hotel) we were treated like royalty! The beach and pool were delightful, the food was great (OMG, can Barbara cook!) and the arrangements Thea made for our trips to Samaria Gorge and Balos were perfect. We would ABSOLUTELY stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ferrell cats.

    Very clean, comfortable,friendly staff. Great food. Beautiful beach.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Barbra and Thea are the lovely women who run this place. Very accommodating and great food.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Guests also reviewed these properties: