Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carolina Hotel 3 stars

55, Kolokotroni Street, Athens, 10560, Greece

#188 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1138 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff member on the front desk was very helpful with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff member on the front desk was very helpful with information regarding where to eat etc. Very close to everything. Restaurants right next door, Railway station only minutes away that takes you to Piraeus or the Airport and Acropolis only a 10 minute walk. Great location!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    Do not take the top floor with terrasse!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not take the top floor with terrasse! It is just a trick. Everybody has access to that terrasse and you will just hear how people talking when you want to sleep!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is well located in a central area close to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is well located in a central area close to many attractions. Walking distance to Plaka district, the ancient Agora and the Acropolis. The subway stations to and from the airport are also within walking distance even with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.8
    The location is excellent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very unfriendly and unhelpful. One of the issues we faced was that they did not want to move a baby's crib from a floor to the other, but wanted us to switch room instead, with 3 kids. We ended up moving the crib alone to avoid switching rooms… The facilities are poor, there are no even cupboards in the rooms! The buffet breakfast is fair, but choices are limited.

    The location is excellent; a few minutes walk to Syntagma square, to Monastiraki and to the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    City center hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and in need of repairs. The breakfast didnt have a lot of choice. The price was too high for the commodities offered.

    The bed was comfortable and the location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Hotel is in great location and a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in great location and a great price. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful with my questions. I had a question about my ferry ticket and the front desk called the ferry company to clear up an confusion. The morning breakfast was fresh and filling. As we ate the cook was making fresh batches eggs in the kitchen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    good value fantastic location very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i was in a nicely renovated room with super comfortable bed, and one of the best showers i have had on my 7 week trip in Europe. Super clean super central. property has a lift wifi, only one issue which for me not a problem as only one night stay -was no small fridge in the room. My room also had a great view of the Acropolis from my small balcony, which was nice to sit and see it in all of its colors as light changes. right in the thick of everything Ermou st is a 2 minute walk. Cool bars and restaurants surround you.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Summer Break
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at 6pm & discovered we couldn't flush the toilet, wash our hands or take a shower because the local authorities had shut down the water to do some upgrade work. We were really annoyed that we couldn't have a shower because we had been travelling all day & the weather was really hot so we needed a shower. The hotel said they didn't know the water was being shut off. I thought under the circumstances they would have at least offered a couple bottles of water to wash your teeth with but they didn't. There are a few noisy bars beside the hotel they play there music very loud, so don't expect to get a good nights sleep. Sadly there are quite a few homeless people living on the streets very near the hotel.

    The location is excellent. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Good, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower, could do with a screen/door as curtain did nothing to prevent the water from flooding the bathroom

    Good, central location. Comfortable. The receptionist Katrina was very nice, always cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Unfortunately disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard. Pillows too thin. No coffee or tea making facilities in room. Many cracks in the bathroom tiles. Very basic. Over priced. Could not get up to the roof to see the Acropolis at night as was featured online. Staff did not offer to help with our bags up stairs to store in the breakfast room which I thought was the least could be offered at the room price.

    Location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, close to Syntagma subway station, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old hotel, rooms need a bit of improvement, especially in the bathroom.

    Great location, close to Syntagma subway station, which takes u directly to the airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    All staff was very nice and kind and there’s someone at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night the air conditioner didn’t work, so we complained about that, they fixed it and it worked during the evening, but at night it stopped working again. They didn’t give us any compensation for this despite we paid for an air conditioned room

    All staff was very nice and kind and there’s someone at the desk to help you 24hours/day. It is very close to Monastiraki square.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    The location is great, you can walk everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No place to pack your stuff, had to keep everything in the suitcase, which was annoying for four days. The breakfast is edible, but I had the feeling the milk was gone bad the first day. Don’t expect too much here.

    The location is great, you can walk everywhere. Try the bar booze cooperativa next door. It was clean, and we had a roof top room with access to the terasse. Great for late night wine and olives. All in all good price-value ratio.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    We'd love to stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really loved the room, it was big and very clean. The balcony was great and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was really nice too, with plenty of things to choose. Location was also great, since the hotel was close to the metro station and to the old town (Acropolis, many museums, Plaka or Exarchia are within a walking distance). And of course the staff was extremely helpful and kind! They really made us feel at home. We would definitely stay there again if we come back to Athens!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, helpful staff, good location within walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, helpful staff, good location within walking distance of major sites, near metro station. Nice rooftop garden. We stayed in a recently renovated suite on fourth floor and didn't find it to be noisy at all. We did have the windows closed and the AC running.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/ tea facilities. The breakfast lady never Smiles- she shouldn’t take her troubles to work! The late shift receptionist never do eye contact with people, while the morning receptionist is friendly. We ordered one king size bed and two twins, upon arrival we were pushed into 4 single beds- why do you give the choice online then?

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Historical stay in a wonderful neighbourhood, but a little noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room. Quite noisy - the lively streets are nice, but require top-notch soundproofing of windows and rooms.

    Nice hotel with a long and interesting history - including apparently one of the oldest elevators in Athens! Friendly staff. The neighbourhood is lively and nice, a welcome change from our last stay in a run-down 'hood not far away. When in Athens, examine the location and surroundings well, such as by Google maps.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location was excellent. Walking distance to a lot of the main attractions. So many restaurants nearby as well. Staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms were always clean and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Ideal location and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For sensitive sleepers, nightlife is not far and background noise can be heard.

    Clean. Ideal location. 15 min walk to acropolis ticket desk. Breakfast good. Value for money. 10 min walk to syntagma square. 7 min walk to monasteraki station which is on airport metro line. Shops and bars within 1 minute.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    The location is great , close to the center .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise during the night since there are bars near the hotel , and the water from the toilet was not flushing

    The location is great , close to the center .. 5 min walk

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    I liked the staff was very frendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value of money that we payed is not worth it for the room. The picture of booking.com are different then the reality. The rooms are very small.

    I liked the staff was very frendly .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    We had room at the top 5th floor of the hotel with terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small Bathrooms and cleanliness has to improved, Staff were friendly.

    We had room at the top 5th floor of the hotel with terrace and it was really fantastic, I would say fascinating, room on 1-4 floors where our friends stayed were okay. Location is great <3 Elevator is awesome, such old and historic one :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Central place for visiting the city and near many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem of water and strong smell of sewage in the bathroom during the entire stay. Quite expensive for this kind of service.

    Central place for visiting the city and near many restaurants, lively neighborhood

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was close to the restaurants, the shops and Plaka,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the staff were welcoming, onlybthe reception girl on the night was very welcoming, the fridge in the room was empty.

    The hotel was close to the restaurants, the shops and Plaka, it took us 15 min walking to Acropolis, the Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    All in all a good place to stay, but for a couple of days
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My main complain is related to the bathroom, which really needs a restoration. the cold water tap was not working properly (very slow water flow), while hot water tap was good. The shower was really small. The breakfast should be improved (for an Italian is limited). The hotel is in a crowded street and noise (with open balcony) stops only after 1/1.30 am (but this apply to all hotels in that zone). A hint to the hotel property: I would have appreciated a safe in the room (to be clear it wasn't included in the description of the room but I'm used to have it in my room).

    The hotel is located close to the Monasteriaki metro station, and it is in a very good position for bars and restaurants. The room was very clean, and the air conditioner properly working. The room at the third floor is quite silent (with the balcony closed) and this helped for a comfortable experience (I don't know if it would be the same at the first or second floor).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice! We will be next week! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room is too small Shower is too small and not very comfortable With open windows it is very loud

    The location is perfect and the stuff is super friendly and available to helps

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Female Stuff of the Hotel is excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The male stuff in the reception was not that much supportive (One of them even made us to pay the most expensive price for the bust tour tickets) . Better to apply to the reception if you see a female stuff there:))

    Female Stuff of the Hotel is excellent! Very supportive and always ready to help. They had the best answers to all questions and requests. Highly recommended. Excellent Location for business and any other purposes in the City Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was central to everything we wanted to do. We were able to walk to the Acropolis and around Plaka from the hotel. Our room had a wrap around balcony which was really nice to be able to sit out on and was surrounded by restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. They accommodated us with three beds for three adults which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient location and the interesting vintage lift...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was well within my expectation.

    Very convenient location and the interesting vintage lift system. Simple yet very practical to use. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay in nice hotel central to points of interest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, but adequate.

    The location was great. The room was clean. The service was great by all except one person, who was okay but not as friendly. This person seemed almost bothered by my questions. Breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A hotel I'd love to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly nothing I did not like about this Hotel

    Location is in the heart of Athens, stuff are so friendly, breakfast is very good and have a wide selections, view is in nice narrow streets of Athens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproofing which means you hear everything from the hallway and from the streets and there was a lot of noise. Some other guests were yelling in the middle of the night in the hallway

    Wifi worked, one of the reseptionists provided excellent service and gave us great tips on what to do in Athens. The breakfast was not special BUT it was the best breakfast by far that provided in any of the 6 hotels we had stayed in during our 2 week stay in Greece. Clean and nice room The location was perfect. You could walk everywhere. Monastiraki and Syntagma just couple of minutes away. Walking distance to Actopolis and Lycabettus hill. Nice shops and restaurants just outside the hotel. Very nice area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the beginning they gave us a bad room (like a little birdhouse in the rooftop). But we asked for a change and they did it.

    Nice location. Staff available for help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.0
    Good location but wouldn't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to be moved rooms due to the smell of the first room we were put in. Second room was nicer but towels smelled old.

    I liked the coffee at breakfast and the location was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel. Close to historic centre and Metro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom very small and I got tangled into the shower curtain every morning

    Decent location close to the old centre of Athens. Nice restaurants and pubs next door.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallways and common areas smelled of cigarette smoke. It was unpleasant. We just aren’t used to that being from Canada.

    This hotel is a 15/20 minute walk to the Acropolis. It was 5 minutes from the metro linking the international Athens airport. This was very convenient. The breakfast for 8 euros was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Spacious rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very central but in a seedy district, noisy at night, no way to park in front of hotel—narrow 1-way street with continuous traffic. Extra steps to reception and lift tricky if you have heavy luggage.

    Spacious rooms. Great central location unless driving or going to bed early. Convenient drinks fridge at reception. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    I like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the price is a little to much

    I like that is close to all atraction. Has big rooms and very clean and look like a 4 star hotel From the room you can see the Acropole. I whant to come back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed somewhere central for a couple of nights and this hotel was perfect. Close to Monastiraki Square, and walking distance to the Acropolis. We loved the restaurant and bars next door which very untouristy and cheaper than those near the Square. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money hotel in the most interesting part of Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had the feeling that some of the people working here, are tired and a little edgy already before start of high season...

    The location is great, but there is a lot of noise from the nearby bars. Try to get a room as high as possible. The bed was comfortable; as far as I understood, all old beds were replaced by new ones end of 2017. Admire the first elevator in Athens!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Difficult
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was not working (found out too late and didn’t even bother to ask the reception for assistance) and the beds were super narrow and uncomfortable. Also the fact that I could hear members of the staff shouting at 5.30am at the lobby.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    The staff was very kind and helpful at the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extremely small room, the door to the balcony couldn't even open because of the bed, sliding glass door to the bath room did not shut properly-no privacy-,the second glass door, to the shower , did not shut properly either, water ran on the floor all the way out to the entrance of the room. Handle to balcony door was so dirty we thought somebody had made it by purpose. Long black hairs on the floor. I will add that we did not have breakfast, can't review that.

    The staff was very kind and helpful at the reception. Very nice big towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist wasnt helpful nor friendly, the room was waaay too small for 4 people, barely no wardrobe, shower wasnt easy to manipulate (hot/warm), too pricy for what u get

    The location was probably the only good thing! Safe and near everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos looked as if the rooms were equipped with the typical tea & coffee making station but our room had nothing at all. Just a couple clean glasses. It was super disappointing for us as we had to leave for the airport at 2:30am and a coffee sure would have helped!

    Fantastic location! Easy to get to all the main areas of Athens. Helpful staff member at the desk (female - not sure of her name). Simple, tidy, clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    The location and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building (as most of buildings in the area). The furniture, bathroom, etc. look old. (Still, it was not a bad experience)

    The location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great for a 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several items in room not working. Breakfast was poor...should just be included in room rate. Elevator dangerous for children. Immediate area is not that nice and noisy at night. 3 bed suite rooms are over priced

    Staff was helpful. Roof top area nice. Very clean rooms with updated baths and furnishings

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Good location but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street was incredibly loud and we couldn’t sleep until after 1:30-2am which was purely exhaustion. The room was on the first floor and despite the double glazed windows the sound of the clubs music was very loud still. In the morning we could also hear the trucks and cars clearly. No early nights or sleep ins.

    The hotel location was close to the city centre and train wasn’t to far away. A great cafe nearby for buying breakfast more than the simple 8 Euro buffet. From our first floor (Rm108) balcony you could we the Acropolis.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable stay, Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of noise from the street, but we expected that given the location. The shower curtain wasn't very useful in our room and either stuck to you, or left water on the floor. The hallways smelt of smoke. The lift worked well, however it could be dangerous given there is no inner door and kids could get their fingers stuck.

    Beds were comfortable, staff were lovely, breakfast was what we expected and was adequate for what we needed. Great location. Staff helped us with tourist information and booked taxis for us etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly-located budget hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet was there but not quick; maybe just a short glitch.

    Perfectly located budget accommodation. It is 10-minutes by walk from the airport bus (Sintagma), from key historical sites and has few wonderful bars, while nice eating places are again at short walking distance. The staff went at length to be helpful : they allowed early check-in after our early arrival on all the rooms, helped with identifying cultural events and best transportation options for airport to mention a few. While it is a relatively simple hotel, my room was really spacious and incredible price (but one of the rooms that we chose was without normal windows, and I personally did not need windows :)). I have not tried breakfast as we were just passing through Athens. All clean and comfy basics was there; maybe some, especially with a short skirt, would have issues with the open construction of a vintage elevator (though it works well!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Location was awesome. Acropolis was 10-15 mins. walk. Nice restaurant are very close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl at check counter (on 25 afternoon) was very nice, helpful and polite. I can't remember her name. But she was very courteous and professional. Very impressed with her professional customer service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    We love the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great!

    We love the place. The staff was always kind and the breakfast was delicious!!!! If we come back to Athens we'd definitely go there again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Even if the room was equipped with air conditioner, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even if the room was equipped with air conditioner, the room was quite cold. We left the air conditioner open for the whole night and the room was still cold.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.0
    Just horrible. If they can't do anything about the deafening music they should close or warn their
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I spent the worst possible night. The music was so loud that no earplugs could help. The staff was really rude. I even had to apologize because I woke them up! Thay said they couldnt do anything about the noise. Eventually ot stopped at 5.30 in the morning. Really really horrible. If you want to sleep don't go there. There are cheaper place if you only need to leave your luggage.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Couple with a child
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Roof Garden Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was pleasant

    The staff are very helpful very friendly and the location is right at the center of Athens, many cafes, restaurants and shops. We stayed in the top floor it was very quite where you can see the acropolis the view was fantastic I really recommend it. We liked everything about this hotel and surely will stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Basic and clean, staff was friendly. A reasonable stay for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I always get "icked" by the bright white lighting hotel rooms use - it makes the room looks so sterile and stark. Changing the bulbs to warm yellow would make the room looks so much cozier.

    The room was very basic but comfortable. Our particular room faces the restaurant downstairs so it was pretty loud, though it wasn't too bad with all the windows closed - just kinda like white noise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.3
    Close to major attractions and lively nightlife area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms on the street front are noisy, the street is narrow with many mopeds racing. Mould on the ceiling in the bathroom.

    Close to major attractions and lively nightlife area. Historical looking building interior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel needs some maybe some renovation (e.g. old elevator), but in principle it was not really missing anything, very good for a short city stay

    great location, good though simple breakfast, good value for money considering the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    We would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, it was an excellent spot for discovering Monastiraki, Syntagma and the Plaka

    Unpretentious, but spotless, compact room with wonderful little balcony overlooking an interesting street. The bonus was a roof garden with a good view of the Acropolis and over the historic quarter of Athens. The breakfast in the dining room was very good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, perfect wifi, professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    my 4th time in the city this year, so far the best hotel I stayed. + strong wifi - very important for me + even big room + spacious bathroom + small balcon + nice staff, with good English + very clean + great location, safe area, good night life - tasty hamburger bar, open long hours the bed not very comfortable but this is 2 star hotel so one has to evaluate each point taking it into consideration breakfast - just typical, but once again look up a bit noisy - but this is cite center:) a bit strange smell in the room - till today we do not know what it was i will be back :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location but extremely uncomfortable beds and pillows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stone hard beds and pillows!! hard to sleep good! that was a thousand times worse than the street noise which was expected anyway. But those stone hard beds and pillows were terrible!

    The location most of all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, breakfast is basic but enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's close to Monastiraki station, walking distance to all the tourist attractions. The staff is quick on email to reply and gave good instruction on how to get to the hotel from airport: You will use the Blue Line, direction to Agia Marina. You will stop to "Monastiraki" station, follow the exit "Athinas st.", cross over the street and walk to the left till you find a street named "Voreou" [there is an ALPHA BANK on that corner], follow this street , all straight ahead after some meters begins the "Kolokotroni st." where our Hotel is located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean good value for money room in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but as expected for an economy room in a central part of athens. The mattresses were quite hard for our personal preference.

    The staff were really helpful and attentive. The room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Athens great. Hotel Carolina is fine but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the first time I have been disappointed enough in a hotel choice, that I'll write about it. Mostly it was the balance of cost versus the blandness of the stay. I chose a place with a higher price than normal because I assumed that would be a gain in some way over my usual price level. It was not. Room is bland and basic, no decor other than one bright painted wall (at least they have that) and a mirror, not somewhere to enjoy an hour two, just somewhere to put your head. No warmth to it. No water to welcome you as I had in other cheaper hotels. If I had been paying 50-60€ a night then I wouldn't write... but not at 90€ a night. I had a nicer place at Hotel Anemoni at the Pireaus Port for 45€. The staff at Hotel Anemoni weren't just courteous but friendly, and personally escorted my to my room, and carried my backpack; the room was warmly designed, not stark. The photo of the hotel in booking.com is not this hotel but another building, and it must have been tweaked in some way 'cause the narrow streets in Athens in no way have the room the photo implies. I have uploaded a photo of Hotel Carolina (unfortunately it uploaded sideways). The breakfast is not worth being part of the room expense: bread, jam, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, little sausages for 6€. Better to buy a sesame bread or something else at the nearby bakeries. In the evening the noise pollution from street and loud music from neighbouring bar is something else. I didn't spend my evenings out late socializing, the noise of the bar was very apparent. Turning on air condition as white noise helps a bit (lasts long enough you can get to sleep). Air conditioner fails sometime in middle of night and makes a loud noise that wakes you...but at least it works when you go to sleep initially. Little bed lights don't seem controllable from bed, you have to get out of bed to reach the button.

    No smoke smell in room (only hallways) which was good. City is saturated with it. Staff are courteous. Very clean. Beds are the hard beds that Greece seems to have, which I really like. Location is close to Monastiraki Sq. so it's easy to get back to the Hotel from the main sites in Athens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Excellent rooms, breakfast,location and staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second time staying at Carolina Hotel. The staff are fantastic. The rooms are clean and the location is the best. I highly highly recommend this Hotel and when I stay in Athens in the future Carolina will be my first choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved Athens, Everything close together. Lots to do and vibrant feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with some improvements such as fresh paint & refurbished bathrooms.

    Fantastic location. Basic room but with everything we needed. Staff very helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The budget double room was small and immediately above a busy street. This renders the balcony useless during the day due to traffic fumes and noise. Key needs to be handed in when going out which is a small annoyance when busy or reception isn't manned. The experience was below expectations so made the most of the brilliant location

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay here again ... terrible breakfast (ended up buying something), and poor cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould on the wall, the shower was the smallest I've ever seen and the breakfast was appalling! So disappointed as our previous Athens hotel was fantastic :(

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Centre of Athens and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and in the heart of Athens. 24hr reception desk helped us out when we arrived extremely late (early?) and everything was smooth. Nice breakfast included.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great staff, charming place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The property was decorated so fun, the staff was very helpful - they assisted us in booking an overnight ferry for later in our trip spending a considerable amount of time on the phone on hold and then speaking for me to help insure the reservation was correct. They went above and beyond.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.2
    Great accomodation leading to an awesome vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not take the breakfast cause it seemed expensive and value for money was at closer eating places. There was limited TV channels in English although BBC was available but then this how good holidays should be spent: minimum time for TV viewing (ha ha).

    Absolutely helpful and friendly staff. The place is in a convenient palce accessible to major tourist sites and the city. There is a swimming pool in immaculate condition and this facility gave us a space for relaxing after hectic days out. The air-conditioner was on tip top condition. I recommend this hotel. It is 2 star rated but delivers to treavellers on a 3 star scale.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The location of this hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is excellent. The staff was helpful with our questions. We thought the linens & bath were very clean and had a good night's rest. Our room was small with 4 beds but we had enough room for what we needed and weren't there much anyway. Loved the small balcony to sit and drink wine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    We had room at 4th floor, t very well renovated with a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed brekfast

    We had room at 4th floor, t very well renovated with a new comfortable bed and pillow. Our friends were on the 2nd floor and the room was poorer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    It's right in the middle of a new Chic district with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Interior Economy Double Room - No View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The less expensive room was not very comfortable.

    It's right in the middle of a new Chic district with lots of nightlife restaurants and shopping. Any Solo Traveler would feel safe and would have fun as you could walk to the Acropolis or a host of other wonderful sites from this location. Overall the property was excellent however our initial room was a budget room with a horribly uncomfortable bed. I actually awoke with a headache from the stiff pillow and was sick most of that day. However when we upgraded to a more expensive room it was absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    A place to stay, but don't expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is very compact, simple, with all the needful facility, though need some imagination to place our suitcases. The Shower curtain is nightmare, you have to use it to prevent flooding the toilet floor, but it will stick on your body when shower, very uncomfortable.

    Location is very nice, walking distance to all the main attractions. There are lots of restaurants, bars, shops nearby, very convenience. The night bars nearby were quite packed, I was worrying it would be noisy at night, but it came out quite ok. And because of that, it is pretty safe to walk around even at late night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    An affordable and convenient spot to stay that isn't too "touristy."
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a little on the hard side, and their corners are easy to trip on. The "vent" in the bathroom is actually a window that connects to another room. One night we could actually hear a guest in the other room snoring.

    The staff was friendly and superb. They directed me where to get fabulous shwarma. Additionally, my husband hit his head one night on the bedside table, and they were terrific in helping me out with ice and band-aids, etc. The location is very central, but of course, that means there will be some noise from the street. The included breakfast was wonderful, too.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: