Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cascade Holiday Resort

Askeli, Poros, 18020, Greece

#43 of 50 hotels in Poros

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 270 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Won’t be cascading a reference for this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a premium price for a room and the stay and room was way below substandard, there was mould in the bathroom, soap holder was broken and just left on the floor, the room was 80% underground and like a dungeon, the double bed was two singles put together and it’s wasn’t that clean at all and you had to go to communal areas for the wifi to work, will not be returning again

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was only slightly noisy due to the water park next doors.

    The stuff was really really friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean and the facilities in general were to our satisfaction. At a convinient location with a lovely beach within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Really bad hotel and I really feel that I dropped 160 euros for 2 nights in trash
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi signal was really bad. As a result, I consumed my mobile internet data package. The room was dark and the lights in bathroom didn't help. When we came back after our first swimming, we couldn't imagine that we have no place to dry our clothes. The aircondition didn't work properly unless it is open all day. No view. The swimming pool was for small kids and not for adults. However, the worst impression was after first night when they didn't even change the towels.

    The bathroom was really big and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    The pool and the friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really disappointing. Old bathroom which was the total opposite of the pictures shown at booking.com. A bit disgusting honestly. The noise during night from the nearby pool (neighbored bar) was also very annoying. In total: not worth the money at all.

    The pool and the friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    Friendly staff - clean room - toddler friendly pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is old with cracked sealings, window+shutters didn't properly open/close, very old dated and damaged "kitchen" and fridge, horrible shower, no hot water, no pressure, no room to move around. The property is just not taken care of, the scenery neclected. Other than nice staff and clean room I wouldn't recommend this place.

    Friendly staff - clean room - toddler friendly pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    25th May I booked a trip for 6 nights from 26 June to 2 July.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    25th May I booked a trip for 6 nights from 26 June to 2 July. I booked a family room with a double bed and two single beds, because we were one couple with a baby (2 months) and a mate. We could get this room if there was availability to it. I wanted to make sure that I could get a double bed since I wanted my baby to sleep in bed and not in the baby stroller for a week, so I sent an email to the hotel via Booking on May 29 to ask if it was possible to get such a room. I got the answer 3 June that they would like to give me that, but only if there is availability. Fair enough. But suddenly on the 24thof June, 2 days before our trip, I suddenly received a Mail from the hotel. I received a confirmation that I would get a family room with a double bed and 2 single beds. This was absolutely amazing! June 26th when we arrived we met this nice guy, Dimitris. What a lovely guy! He was full of energy and he was always smiling. We got room number 1 ... Here there were 4 single beds .. I went out and told Dimitris that there must have been a misunderstanding. but obviously not. there was no room available with a double bed. Strange enough, I received a confirmation on Mail .. The trip I looked forward to, turned the first day we arrived ... Dimitris called the people who had sent me the mail an he told me that they were going to call me, but I have not received this phone call yet, not even a mail. Anyway, we did not wanted to be bitter the whole holiday so we tried to make the best of it. We tried to live with the room we got .. There were plenty of facility that was included. Cooking plates, TV, balcony, we could even use the grill in the garden etc.. But in the room there were no cooking plates, the only kitchen stuff we had was cups and a kettle. The TV was there but did not have any signals. The room is for four people, but the balcony is the space for one person, maximum two. The grill that the hotel offers, this could not be used...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    No hot or even warm water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot or even warm water. They didn't inform us at any point about that. Not a very clean room. The breakfast was until 10:30. Around 10:15 they started to take the food away. Not good value for money. People were very polite though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The price was amazing, as was the location and the staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication beforehand could have been better...but all ok in the end

    The price was amazing, as was the location and the staff, especially Dimitri. Great pool, perfect for my toddler and also the older kids enjoyed the main pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Maria and other staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria and other staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast were great, right outside by the pool under olive trees. Nice pool, clean rooms, beaches and tavernas are near (about 5-10 minutes depends on which beach you choose).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Possibility of a pre-booking a transfer from port to resort would be useful - it was very busy when we arrived so no taxis were available.

    Staff very helpful - helped us book our onward ferry tickets from Poros and organise taxi to port. Lovely location for breakfast - by pool, sitting under olive trees. Children loved playing in the pool all day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Relaxing short break at a lovely resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Bedroom Semi Ground Floor Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs at the front. We had a stroller that had to be carried up 5/6 steps at the entrance of the resort which was a minor inconvenience for us so didn't bother asking if there was an additional entrance with a ramp.

    Cascade is a good family friendly resort in a great location, short walk to Askeli beach and restaurants as well as a kids play area/park right next door. Our room was very clean & beds very comfortable. The best thing about Cascade though is the staff who were all very friendly & super helpful. Maria, the manager, is an amazing manager who tended to all our requests and responded professionally. We would definitely stay again. The resort is very good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    3.8
    Would only recommend it if all the refurbishment is done
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff has made an effort and offered an upgraded room in the refurbished side of the hotel. The room's bathtub had a serious leaking issue (water leaked from bathroom to main room area), furthermore the room had some wires hanging from the wall. For me there was not an issue since my child is young, but for families with older children it is an issue. Breakfast needs improvement. In a three night stay i had to speak out to change sheets in the room. Unaccetable.

    The location is right next to a private kids playground with a water slide. This is great for families that want to spend all day by the pool without visiting the sea side. overall nice and quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Great island, nice place - but not quite as described
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation description wasn't entirely accurate: there was no kitchen equipment apart from a kettle and three sets of glasses, cups and cutlery for four. The photos show renovated rooms which are very different to the rooms we had with their very basic and tired bathroom. Some people might feel a bit mis-sold by this considering the price - partly ripped shower curtain, random rawplugs in the wall and a noisy plastic toilet seat. We're not fussy, but our expectations were dented on arrival. We were offered a move to a newer room three days in but it was smaller and had a leaking bath. Some basic orientation materials in the room (bus timetables, vehicle rental options, a map - the standard stuff) would have been nice. Staff were nice but a bit unforthcoming - completely different to our experience at the other four places we stayed on our holiday. It was surprising that the bar had no price list available on show or request and prices 'depend on your room''. Prices were actually reasonable, but this seems a tad iffy.

    Poros is fabulous and Cascade is a nice place to stay (nice pool, nice breakfast), but....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    Clean, laid back, relaxed stay at Cascade with lovely help from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road up to the hotel is not particularly picturesque and doesn't give a good impression on arrival. Also quite dark for walking home at night. We hadn't researched Askeli resort before booking, it is basically a main road with restaurants and bars one side and shingle beaches with sun beds in the other. It is VERY busy in high season, and although the sea views are amazing, the walk in to Poros town is not 'pretty Greece' . We did live the fact that is was a holiday resort for Greek people however with Brits few and far between!

    Maria the manageress is FABULOUS. The pool and bar ha a very quiet laid back vibe. Breakfast was simple but fresh and plentiful. Rooms are a good standard for Greece! If the hotel keeps up with Maintenance, cleanliness etc this will continue to be above and beyond average Greek accommodation . We stayed in the new refurbished rooms 16 and 17

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    Nicely decorated modern rooms but avoid the ones at swmi ground. Ours smelled humidity. Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool. Seemed dirty....

    Room was spacious, modern and nicely decorated with nice bathroom and shower A/C was luckily quite strong as it was 40 C outside Smelled humidity upon our arrival and we complained. They couldnt do anything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Booked for one family room with one double and two single...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked for one family room with one double and two single beds but we got a four single bed room despite same was specifically included in our reservation. Photos from the reservation were showing the renovated hotel section but we stayed at the old non-renovated section and despite the excessive high price we have paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Great place, wonderfull staff!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was really good, no complaints.

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff brilliant, Maria wonderfull, clean rooms, big, clean swimming pool, near to the beach and shops, price really good. What else you want?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    The pool is very nice and particularly kid-friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of rooms differs a lot, only a stay in the new building is comfortable.

    The pool is very nice and particularly kid-friendly. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.9
    The rooms are beautifully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are beautifully decorated. But they were a lot of things we didn't like. There was no big mirror so it was to get ready at night especially for four people. The air conditioner was in the bedroom and not the main room which didn't cool off the whole place. The pool was dirty with bugs and no one would clean it. One day I saw other resent's kids clean the pool. Even at times when the stuff was doing nothing the pool stayed unattended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Pool area was nice, could use at any time day or night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to find resort, not very obvious location and no instructions were given on how to find it. When we arrived we were told our room had been given to someone else for first night, so we were given a temp room which was below ground level, very small and cramped and no wifi access. We weren't even offered a drink as a gesture of apology. We were swapped to family room the next morning but bathroom was very small again and tiny shower space, very difficult to manoeuvre yourself. Fridge had not been cleaned or defrosted and water had spilt everywhere onto the tiles , had to ask them to clean it up. Air conditioning was only in bedroom (not indicated as such on website) and therefore sitting room/kitchen got very hot and uncomfortable. Would not revisit in future nor would l recommend.

    Pool area was nice, could use at any time day or night. Location was perfect, quiet but close to where all the action was. Great beaches and service. Friendly staff but could be a bit more professional.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.6
    Exceptionnal quality for the price
    • Group
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit far away from the harbor and the nice beaches however there are bikes for free that you can use at the hotel which is really helpful and great. I loved this.

    This hotel was perfect. The person who runs this place is the nicest, the breakfast was really good too in front of the pool. This is not luxury but the staff is doing everything he can to make customers happy and we can feel it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    Very Happy overnight stay at The Cascade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at Cascade couldn't do enough for you, very friendly and helpful, would certainly visit again when in Poros

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was excellent and very very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    We have only stayed for one night and was perfectly adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning need improvement in the guests rooms.

    Friendly and efficient staff who are happy to help with anything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    The pool was amazing for us as not all kids can swim.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool was amazing for us as not all kids can swim. The location was also lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was very satisfying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from the port by foot

    The breakfast was very satisfying. Nice decoration. The swimming pool was very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    The small simple white houses , the nice modern rooms (...
    • Couple
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small simple white houses , the nice modern rooms ( particularly the bathroom ). the staff professional and nice .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    we enjoy it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It as grate. I'd like to thank Maria for everything. Hope next year to be there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    me and my family really enjoyed the stay and would not hesitate to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Maria,john and the rest of the staff were great,very friendly and helpful. Very clean apartments and pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.1
    needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs renovation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Manager friendly, but having to get taxis to and from main centre was expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of the main port, no fly screens, Shower tiny and no laundry services

    Nice pool area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.8
    very poor
    • Couple
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place of basement,

    It was very expencieve 100 euros foe a basement room and to ask you to pay 3 euros for a coffee of the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    warm, homy, generous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    maybe the AC in my room but it went good generally

    I liked the rooms decoration and mostly I liked Maria the house director she is a great host!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    The location was perfect; beautiful scenery! Maria was so helpful! We loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, pool and Maria

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    The accommodation is just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The accommodation is just amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful island and lovely hotel. Swimming pool and breakfast were both excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer Premium Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen facilities were a bit basic.

    The manager Maria was lovely. Super helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location to visit Poros
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not all rooms are renovated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Semi Ground Floor Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and lovely. We got a great special through booking.com.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Semi Ground Floor Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    I would definitely go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious clean rooms, amazing bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.9
    Very nice and friendly team there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towels haven't been changed for 5 days although a cleaner came every day. The bottom of the pool was a bit dirty. And the breakfast was ok.. I was expecting to have a bedroom advertised on the photos while booking but overall it wasn't so bad. The shower is tiny and water goes everywhere.

    Very nice and friendly team there. Very good value for money. Very near the beach. Great service. Nice pool. We had a lovely 5 night trip there,

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    The owners were very kind and helpful and the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners were very kind and helpful and the room was beautiful. The only disadvantage was the fact that the wifi was not working in the room and the towels were not very clean but they changed them emiadiately so everything was fine :). Very nice, pleasant and relaxing environment!

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: