Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello City Hotel 4 stars

1, 62 Martyron Avenue, Heraklio Town, 71304, Greece

#16 of 58 hotels in Heraklio Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2257 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    No better breakfast to kick off the day!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is good value for money. The breakfast is superb, and the breakfast area is very nice with a great view. The rooms are comfortable and cleaned every day. On a couple of occasions we also had dinner in the hotel's restaurant. I highly recommend especially if one has just arrived late from an excursion. The set menu for app.15 euro is changed every day and is very good indeed. The staff are very helpful and courteous. One can find a taxi stand right outside the hotel as well as a bus stop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Windsurf and Olive trees on Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very nice staff, absolutely gorgeous surroundings and a 15 min walk down to Cretes best windsurfing spot! Ar this place, you hear nothing but the wind in the olive trees!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    It's close to the city centre with an average breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At reception the greeting was not warm as expected. Paid the whole amount for our stay in advance and not at checkout + 3 euros/day in addition for tax purposes which I wasn't aware of. The bed sheets for 4 night were not changed.

    Location. It's close to the city centre. There were three small bottles of water in the fridge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Simply amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A hairdryer is the only thing missing from the room

    Everyone helping run this place are awesome, especially the 2 persons at reception who are extremely helpful with directions/suggestions and also very pleasant and thoughtful Very clean rooms Good breakfast Nice decoration in rooms and common areas Nice veranda Great location in a small neighborhood just a short walk from the centre Very cosy place

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Overall good location, and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great free breakfast and service. At the restaurant that night. The food was good and reasonably priced but,we feel the service was slow and main waiter was slow with his service to us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent. It's been the only place I stayed in in Crete were I could get a cappuccino as part oft he breakfast. The air conditioning in the room was very welcome and although a bit confusing at first, kept the room to a nice temperature. Location wise, it's not in the centre but it's an easy walk. The staff are really helpful and when it's your first time travelling and first time travelling alone, it makes such a nice experience. I would recommend here and I would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, the fridge was not working, but it got replaced after we reported the problem. Unfortunately it was put in my daughter’s room, which we booked for the day after.

    Good location, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Heraklion a "must" if you like history. Castello hotel a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To us... everything was simply perfect

    Good location within a 10 minutes' walk from the old town. very good parking arrangement in a nearby parking lot (included in the hotel price). Excellent breakfast in the rooftop restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    super great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great.

    everything! the stuff was super great! the room is clean, nice and comfort. it is very close to the central and the dinner was delicious! an excellent value for the price we paid (56 euro).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Suggest you look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was tiny (maybe 10m2, not more than 15?) with a support beam taking up ample room in the middle. Poor lighting. No blanket (!), 1 towel, no washcloth, 1 tiny pillow. Shower drained poorly. Not much could go right with the facility, which may have seen better days. Overall, I'm unclear how this could be three stars. Was glad I'd booked this for one night only between other stays.

    Breakfast was okay, staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    GOOD PRICE VALUE, CENTRAL LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything was ok

    good location to visit the city, close to taxistation, close to busstop, close to airport, 10 minutes walk from the center, excellent for 1 or 2 nights to experience Heraklion, nice breakfast and restaurant on highest floor!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    The view from the restaurant towards the sea and the hills,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food wasn't great and service was poor. They got my order wrong and took a long time to get it. The pork was hard, and the staff talk so loudly.

    The view from the restaurant towards the sea and the hills,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    It was ok for a solo person for 3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the breakfast, the food provided was very basic and cheap. In addition they were not good with the logistics, the staff would always wait until the food is finished to order new one and you always end up waiting too long. They are not well organized in general. In addition the furniture of the lobby is from the 80's and the building looked dirty from the outside. There were no amenities (pool, gym... ). Very basic service.

    I really liked the staff, they were very friendly and always willing to help. The room was nice and modern because it was newly renovated. Walking distance from the city center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady behind the desk in the morning was very little help when I needed assistance printing out my bus ticket which meant I almost missed my bus. Fortunately the overall manger stepped in right at the last minute and ensured everything was ok but this was very stressful and annoying.

    Clean room Roof top breakfast Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I ask for a double bed, I shouldn’t have to tolerate two beds thrown together that move apart all night, that was just bad! For the money, nah. If double bed, make it double not two singles that roll apart all the time

    Decent breakfast. Great views from 5th floor bar. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    Overrated Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality/price not so much. Old, with money they make per night they can renovate it a bit, come on... We arrived late no receptionist, super not on earth, repeat herself so many times. Good people but they its an overrated Hotel. Give or take 7/10 No shower and hair gel after the cleaning service has come (they should put back some) The price is 96$/night ! It must be 75$/night. Breakfast is not that good for the price you put.

    The staff is very nice and respectful. They are very kind and helpful (expect the receptionist was a bit lost)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Good location,clean and staff were pleasant but disappointing food at in house restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge was broken but replaced the next day on request. The 5th floor restaurant was lovely for driinks and sunset and the staff were attentive and polite. However the food at the restaurant was very disappointing. Everything tasted like it was out of a tin or packet. Town was close and safe to walk to for other choices.. the balcony doors are double glazed but no use against the sound systems that blare out of some cars. Not the hotels fault but earplugs are recommended.

    The room was fine and the location reasonable. Not far to walk to town centre and close to buses to both town and airport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Generally good but more attention to hygiene needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have been cleaner. Breakfast room airco vents hadn't been cleaned in a long time - very dusty. Staff door to kitchen very dirty - full of finger marks and smudges. These hands were also handling the food. Good balcony to room but no outdoor furniture.

    good firm bed. good bathroom. very handy location. Good balcony to room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Problems with noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely better options out there. Noise was a serious problem. Could here the neighbours throughout the stay (thankfully it was a short one). Main culprit was the restaurant on the floor above though - could hear furniture being moved and screeching over the floorboards deep into the night

    Reasonably clean, decent breakfast, not too far from the town centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Room was adequate, breakfast was delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors in our room were peeling and chipped laminate. The room was stifling hot and it took the AC a very long time to make it bearable. There was only one small pillow on the bed.

    The breakfast buffet was nice, as was the dining room. The staff was also very helpful and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in an amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankly, our least favourite part was leaving. We would have liked to stay more :)

    The room was great, always maintained to a high standard. Breakfast was generous and delicious. The location of the hotel was amazing, as it gave us quick and easy access to places like the city center, the port, a taxi station and a bus stop with busses going to and from beautiful nearby beaches and the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Go rather to a B and B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very noisy also with the windows closed, breakfast is really not ok, orange juice is like limonade (fresh you need to pay extra) same with coffee (extra charge for a good coffee) etc. We went to boutique hotels and bed and breakfast for the same price and with much better quality.

    Location is ok, parking is included

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.5
    The hotel is located next to Haniporta (Gate Pantocrator),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller than expected. The room had view to the inner yard, whenever I opened the window I would hear moderately loud air conditioners noise from all other rooms. Electric kettle was not working.

    The hotel is located next to Haniporta (Gate Pantocrator), which gives easy access to city center on foot or by bus. Unusually wide selection for breakfast, and for additional 15 euro you get high quality dinner. The room seemed to be recently renovated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location and very nice personal - they were really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location and very nice personal - they were really friendly and helped us with any question we had. Huge breakfast buffet - everyone could choose from it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could have been happier if there was a gym

    Excellent location, not too busy, at night very peaceful. Our room had a balcony sea view , very nice view, spacious and cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    Booked a ‘Deluxe Double Room’ only to be checked into a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a ‘Deluxe Double Room’ only to be checked into a family room with single beds. Towels were dirty (unusable). Bed sheets and pillow cases were stained yellow (ended up sleeping on top of the sheets. Upon checking out we were charged extra tax as apparently the hotel is now ‘4 stars’ - wouldn’t recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    was ok to just stay for one night passing through Heraklion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was on the 4th floor just under the restaurant and we could hear the chairs moving in the morning and evening.

    was ok to just stay for one night passing through Heraklion.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    comfortable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The space was noisy. Some of the guests were either unaware of how loud they were or that the rooms were not particularly soundproof. Traffic noise was substantial. Whether that had to do with the World Cup or was a normal level I don’t know. The food in the restaurant and especially the coffee needs a serious upgrade. The staff were courteous and helpful. That said the views from our 4th floor room were delightful.

    location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok as a sleeping place only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel rated 4 stars at booking.com but is rated 3 stars at the hotel. Would have chosen another hotel if I have know. Breakfast poor.

    Location fairly good althoug 15 minutes walk to the center of city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    We stayed there mostly during night so used it as a sleeping place only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is rated 4 star at booking.com but is in fact rated 3 star at the property. Would have chosen different hotel if I have know. Breakfast was poor.

    Fairly good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    - if you a looking for location OK, otherwise avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - really far below 4 star hotel - my rating is 2.5 star - need renovation asap - not clean, dirty carpets, bathroom fungus, etc.. - Internet - very bad, just one access point per corridor for 5/6 room - as I ask at the reception, answer is " strange, never heard about this problem" - on my reply that I come from hospitality tech. sector, then "we currently improve it" - this is common answers form hotels with bad internet - truth is that they simply did not want to invest on it and installing lowest cost equipment. Wrong move.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    It was centrally locates.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was centrally locates. Great for a short stay in Heraklion. Rooms had many beds so it was great for our family. It was clean and air conditioning worked great. Restaurant was an added bonus to have close by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous staff and great location. Very comfortable and extremely clean. Excellent restaurant with gorgeous views. Very helpful staff. I highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful stay at Castello.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Castello City Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I stay only one night, on my way to Santorini.

    Nice view from 5th floor reastaurant to the sea, good choice of food, close location to port.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room didn’t function. Hotel staff said it was working fine, but temperature changes needed to be made from the front desk. Couldn’t get the room below 22 degrees. On a hot night, that was very frustrating. Did not sleep well. Not accommodation (discount, refund, etc) for the issue. The manager offered a coupon for my next stay in Crete...but I live in California.

    Nice location and staff. Rooftop restaurant had a great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    slightly dissapointed. So will be useing another hotel in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the customer service has gone down sinice we first use this hotel. Staff need to be more customer oriantaited.

    This is the sixth time we have staied at this Hotel and have foun its standards have gone down over our last 3 visits. So much so that our next visit in September we will be useing another hotel locally.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice rooms and service but don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony could have used a little bit more color (maybe a chair and a table?). Breakfast was poor and the food looked like it has been there the entire week.

    The room was clean and the bed was spacious and comfortable. The shower was big and renovated. The location is great - just a few blocks away from city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Location is perfect: not in the noisy center but pretty near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is perfect: not in the noisy center but pretty near to reach the center by foot. Breakfast can fulfill everyone's taste: eggs, cereal, vegetables, fruits, bacon, tea, coffee, juices etc. Restaurant on the fifth flour with amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Good choice in Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything (comfort, breakfast, courtesy), in particular the restaurant staff who welcomed us even though we arrived at 11pm and at breakfast showed us all the gluten-free choice with expertise and kindness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place,staff and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust and dirt under the beds for one week of stay that’s all

    The room is not cleaned properly,there are dust and dirt under the bed but other than that the staff were nice and food is lovely specially the restaurant at the fifth floor with a nice view specially for sunset.the management are lovely very considerate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Good quality for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - no minibar in the room, - hotel is placed at a busy crossing, windows must be kept closed during the day

    - very nice terrace on the last floor with a restaurant and breakfast room, - good breakfast included - inexpensive and delicious menu in the restaurant, - walking distance from the city centre, bus stop 1 minute away, - very good price per room, - big and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only good experience

    Cosy small family run hotel with brekfast on the roof. 5 minutes walk to the harbor and there are several restaurants there. 15 minutes walk to city Center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, helpful staff, within 15 mins walk of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast, helpful staff, within 15 mins walk of the new Heraklion Museum, modern, immaculate bathroom with good shower, comfortable beds and great rooftop restaurant. Well appointed central hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    too noisy, rock hard beds, could be cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    matress far too thin, felt like lying on a wooden plate. too noisy, windows not isolated at all - impossible to sleep at night. Stairwell open from basement up to 5th floor. Restaurant only with "all you can eat buffet" on saturday evening, poor choice. Next time we would definitely take a hotel with extra isolated windows only.

    view, balcony, A/C, room size was OK. (Limited) breakfast kindly served early as we had to leave early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    i left after 1 day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cold feeling decor. Noisy location, not close to where I needed to be. Check in woman was unfriendly, till day 2. That's bad when coming from straight from the airport. Though I paid for a balcony room, and in my booking asked for quiet, she gave me a room on the first floor, where I was bound to hear traffic. When I refused that room, I had to wait an extra 15 minutes and she was unclear as to whether or not she would be able to accommodate me.

    Very clean. Breakfast good, lots of choices and restaurant has great view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel to use as a base to explore the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is not closed to the hotel if you are travelling by car. However managed to find parking near by. It’s a bit of a noisy location.

    Second stay in a spacious sea view room. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfast. Balcony was spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Decent quality hotel at reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Massive, very comfortable double bed. Location very close to city centre. Nice breakfast, lots of choice. Friendly and efficient front desk staff. Very good dinner in 5th floor restaurant, stunning city view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    A good clean hotel outside the main centre with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should be stated that parking is not at or near the hotel. Everything else met our expectations.

    The staff was professional and very helpful. The allocated sea view room was spacious and had a good size balcony. It is located on a busy round about which is a bit noisy. Coffee shops and other shops nearby. NOTE: The hotel parking is about 5 minute walk from the hotel. However we managed to find parking close by. Breakfast was good with a reasonable selection. The rooftop restaurant/breakfast area has good views and is pleasant. Overall a good experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Convenient, safe base for exploring Iraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We actually liked this in the end, but be prepared for the taxi drivers at the taxi stand outside the hotel to want to be your guide for the full day. Ours was waiting when we exited Knossos even though we had not asked him to do so. We ultimately paid 80 Euros for 3.5 hours, but saw some things we might not have, otherwise, and enjoyed learning more about life in Iraklion from our driver's perspective.

    Lovely hotel. We felt well taken care of. Great layout for parents and 2 kids (conveniently with kid beds on opposite sides of the room). Sumptuous breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel for a stop in Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress wasn’t comfortable. It was very loud outside (many cars with excessively loud music).

    Good location - easy access to the city and very good breakfast buffet included. The restaurant is a nice place for a drink at night, being on the roof. Parking close by included, which is convenient. A/C worked well. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of power plugs (we booked a room for 4 persons - one plug is not enough). The breakfast offers many choices but maybe a higher quality vs. less variety could be better. Food in Crete is so tasty that we were a bit disappointed by the taste of fruit juices notably.

    We enjoyed the view from the room where the breakfast takes place and were pleased by the location of the hotel, which is at a walkable distance of the core city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location and the breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Castello Hotel is in a great location with its convenience to the Port and the bus depot. The breakfast was delicious with nice views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Inconvenient hotel for anyone with luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Nothing in particular. No parking , entrance from busy roundabout. A flight of slippery stairs had to be negotiated with heavy luggage, no hotel staff to assist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable, clean, excellent location and very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was excellent. Taxi only €15 from Port. After that used the very frequent bus service - €1.20 most trips, €1.70 to Knossos - buy at milk bar before you travel. Reception staff very helpful and courteous. Breakfast- plenty of variety and cost of a la carte meals for dinner at night extremely reasonable and 20% off all prices other than buffet and set menu (which is only €14.90 in total and excellent value). The head waiter could not have been more obliging on every occasion. When we asked if we could have a table and chairs for our balcony, it was provided immediately. Our room was serviced daily. Would highly recommend the Castello Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place in Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No major problems, the room was a little austere and quite small, parking was quite a walk with bags but at least there was good secure parking.

    The hotel is smart and very clean, the staff were most welcoming and helpfull. Breakfast was truly excellent and so good that we decided to take dinner in the attractive fifth floor restaurant; that was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    not recommend if you want to have a good sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    super noisy in the room even with window closed because it's just next to the bus station. sadly, you can't avoid this problem with any room you choose(they all next to the street). My friend had a room with see view its even worse

    breakfast is good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Relay nice place,clean,comfortable,kind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the last 2 days of our stay in the hotel was full of Italian teenagers and in the morning in the restaurant was so noise.

    Nice Place,very clean, comfortable very kind staff, great breakfast. i recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Nicely appointed rooms, good view to city walls, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed a bit soft and you can hear quite a lot of noise from other rooms.

    Nicely appointed rooms, good view to city walls, helpful staff, parking nearby or on streets even closer to the hotel. Lovely restaurant on the top floor with spectacular views and reasonably priced meals/snacks (large portions, complimentary drinks and 20% off first meal if staying) Really enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was deluxe double and booked a long time ago but it was right by stairs and lift (and some guests were unfort selfishly noisy in corridors!). doors to terrace did not close 100% (was totally secure but did not reduce noise) we moved room due to these factors (reception were v v nice and helpful about this and smaller room was nicer and far quieter) Great location and v good value.

    Location, staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    wonderful price-quality. Very nice hotel. Good location.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location 5 minutes walk to the center. Very friendly, profissional and helpful staff, specially the two staffs from the restaurant, five stars guys, always looking forward to help. The food in the hotel restaurant is very good, well served and very tasty, all this with a beautiful view. The restaurant and the breakfast are in the top floor, always get a beautiful view.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    Really nice hotel nearby city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Really nice hotel nearby city center. Receptionists are friendly and helpful. Thank you for really delicious and variety breakfast on the fifth floor with amazing view on the sea!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    -Staff at reception was very kind and helped a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    -Staff at reception was very kind and helped a lot. -Room was big and very clean (after a very bad experience at Capsis Hotel!) -Breakfast was good! And the view of the restaurant! - service at restaurant, the cook and the waitor did their job hospitably -you should also try the meze house nearby the hotel and have a look at the art shop just across the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    We have used this hotel many times and we will use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have used this hotel many times and we will use it again. It is in a good, central location. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the facilities and comfort are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    have been staying at this hotel for many years now and have never had a problem...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the car parking facilities could have been nearer...road noise has alway's been a problem but we both slept ok...

    breakfast was brilliant with a great choice...the waiter there is excellent and very attentive....staff are great with good front desk staff as well.....car parking is included...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    It was an amazing location, the restaurant upstairs was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water was cold every day I was there even when they moved my rooms.

    It was an amazing location, the restaurant upstairs was very nice and clean. Breakfast was amazing and delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    In my opinion this is a 3 star + hotel with very competitive prices. Amazing breakfast and high standard of room equipment. Situated right at the Chania Port to the Old City.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had some issues with flooding (drain is not big enough for the amount of water coming from the shower head.) You have no control over the temperature in your room, if it's winter the aircon is on hot whether you think the room is stuffy or not.

    The beds were super comfy, breakfast was a great bonus for the price. I really liked having the kettle in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Good located place with great breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The best thing about this place is the restaurant with breakfasts. The location is also cool because it's in the middle of the beach and the centre of the town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable, well run hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Difficult to think of what to say.

    It was easy to walk into the centre of the city or to the waterfront from the hotel. The public bus to the airport goes from more or less outside it. The staff were so kind and helpful: one of the biggest assets this place has. The room was comfortable and in good condition. As previous reviewers have pointed, the buffet breakfast is pretty good and you get a nice view from the top floor while eating it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 4th stay. As always perfect service and overnight stay to travel on early flight. However good for longer stay. Sorry to miss your excellent breakfast but gave us an early start breakfast. Evening meal very good value. XX

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable room with view on 4th floor.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very comfortable room with view on 4th floor. Very helpful staff. Excellent choice of breakfast on 5th floor. Great start to the day. Well located for airport, close to town centre and National Road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Great stay, recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They told us that we had 20% discount on restaurant, but in the end when I checked the recipes, they charged us full price. If I checked earlier, maybe they would correct. A bit far from main sites

    Super friendly staff, very clean rooms, perfect breakfast, free pies during the day, fifth floor restaurant with great service and reasonable priced delicious food. Airport bus stops right next to the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    My stay in Castillo hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints everything was great i had a very pleasant stay . A big thanks to the staff and management .

    Everything was excellent . Staff where very helpful and kind . Hotel was very clean . Very nice bathroom the shower was very big not like other hotels . ( i am a big man ) so this was great for me . The food and service was amazing and i got 20% discount and 1 welcome drink from hotel . The breakfast was in the price of room it consisted of a large variety of things , i was amazed . My rating overall is 10/10 . I had an emergency and had to leave earlier the hotel did not charge me for leaving earlier for this i am very grateful and will go again .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay friendly and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very comfortable and relaxing, direct public bus from the airport stops in front of it - restaurant on the fifth floors with great views of the entire city and the coast line.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent choice at this price range.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drink and food of the Breakfast not very fresh. Not very clean.

    the dinner in fifth restaurant is amazing! They offer 20% off for their guests. Walkable distance to the old town. Nice view from the balcony

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: