Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Village Resort 4 stars

Papatheodorou, Sissi, 72400, Greece

#13 of 16 hotels in Sissi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in a picturesque village called Sissi not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee or tea and no bottle opener in the room. No tap water served during dinner

    The hotel is in a picturesque village called Sissi not far from Malia. It has two swimming pools with bar. The room we stayed has recently been refurbished and it has a small fridge, a wardrobe, a safe. air-con. Nice shower. Big restaurant area near one of the pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    3.3
    The picture on line
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incompetent every balcony was overlooked by every other balcony,no coffee or tea in room,pool sun beds covered with towels every morning.we booked a quiet sea view superior room two months before arriving and was given ground floor next to an all night disco pub. Aircon needed attention and near a kitchen chimney that stunk of food and very loud.

    The picture on line

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Great pool, most of the time the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to beg for an extra set of towels, as it doesn’t say anywhere the hotel does not provide extra towels. We also had to ask for two more pillows 3 times. The maid doesn’t always do her job right. The waiter at the restaurant next to the pool was not nice at all. The hotel is far from most interesting places. FYI if you make a reservation *not* via booking the AC costs 5€ per day! And does not work properly. Breakfast ok, except they do not refill vegetables and for other refills takes a long time. Most upsetting was how the front desk staff made me feel annoying because I kept asking for the same thing.

    Great pool, most of the time the staff was nice. Very quite and relaxing, close to the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly adequate for us as we were travelling each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our balcony was very small and overlooked a supermarket and busy street.

    Well maintained and very clean hotel. Excellent breakfast with a vast selection of food. The bar and pool area were very attractive and our bathroom was first class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast is terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is terrible. Our terrace was open space by the only window/door of the room and the footpath to the next rooms went right through it. Very we only spent one night here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff and locals were all very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much privacy in our room, full height glass doors leading directly to outside walkway where other guests were.

    Staff and locals were all very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the slightly awkward man on the reception desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have been recently renovated and are good, but not a lot of thought has been put into functionality. ie. the wet room becomes an absolute wet room and unless you’re over 6ft like myself you can not open the window.

    Apart from the slightly awkward man on the reception desk the staff were excellent! Very friendly and they went out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and the Greek night was fantastic and the food they put on for it was incredible!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Good well run hotel in the quiet village of Sissi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not the hotels fault but the rooms towards the sea are affected by noise from the Jolly Roger bar which is next door. There is live music from 9.30 till midnight. No music after midnight. Some good bands on but if this isn't to your taste request a room further away from the sea where the music shouldn't be heard.

    Comfortable beds. Stayed on B&B basis. Breakfast Buffet was excellent. There was everything on it that people would want apart from Muesli. Decided to eat one evening in the restaurant. Again Buffet was excellent so ended up eating there three times. Bathrooms are high standard with modern fittings. Towels changed every two days but you can request every day if desired. Only a short stroll to the village. Good supermarket opposite. Quite a choice of car hire places in the village.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Fussy traveller - definitely would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms 357 & 358 need some privacy as the front door opens out onto the restaurant courtyard so all the guests will turn & stare at you when you walk out of your room. I would suggest placing 2 large planters in line with the tree so that you create a corridor, which can also line up with the doorway to the stairs, and that will give some privacy. The buffet for dinner was excellent for choice but unless you're sitting down to dinner at 7.30pm it won't be pipping hot if you eat later - would suggest investing it powered buffet carts rather than relying on boiling water underneath the trays. More handrails on internal staircases needed as the hotel attracts an older clientele. The swimming pool showers need cleaning more regularly and the water hose at the main pool needs storing elsewhere rather than being dumped in the corner of the showers. Replace the white sunloungers with adjustable loungers, like the blue ones. And dispose of broken loungers/tables immediately rather than leaving till the end of the season. Further investment in softer mattresses and provide 2 pillows per person rather than just one. Slightly bigger bath towels would be a nice touch and maybe offer a chargeable beach towel service (fresh towels every day, €10 per week?!)

    2 excellent swimming pools, the location was perfect, staff were friendly & helpful, breakfast was delicious & so much variety. The land train was such fun! Love that you are part of the charity effort to care for the stray cats. Very big hotel room & very happy to see kettle, fridge, cups/glasses available.I loved the big sails over the restaurant courtyard & the flowers/plants were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    Stay away ! 2 star at best !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was awful, really cheap very little choice, most of the time only just warm ! The staff were really not interested. Tables left with dirty plates on. Most of the time there were no tables made up ready. No tea spoons available at mealtimes no saucers for coffee cups. Definitely not a 4 star hotel . This is not being advertised properly. It is at best a 2 star hotel ! If it was not for the local area and the local bars and resteraunt being so nice . It would be the holiday from hell. Keep away do not book at this hotel!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Very nice quiet spot of Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    My room had a "ocean view". I paid a higher price. However, the hotel has parties, music organized around the pool which makes it impossible to sleep before 11pm.

    The resort is well located in a quiet area of Crete. The village has restaurant and bars with magnificent views on the sea. But the village is fortunately not a "party" village

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was v busy. Cutlery cups and glasses ran out. Good food but could do with more staff

    Location was excellent. Rooms had lovely view. Staff v helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Quiet & calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The toilets are together with the bathroom and without window or ventilator. I found it not higenic and inconveninent. There are no shower gel or shampoo included in service.

    The view. We have paid extra money to get the best sea view and turned out it was our best decision. We were on the edge of the sea and it was a super experience to breath ! The location is great because you can find peace and quiet easily but there is need for car to get elsewhere. We had one and we liked the distance from the very noisy center of Malia or Heraklion

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The near beach was not as good, lots of rocks, we had to drive to Malia for the nearest sandy beach

    We liked our stay at Castello Village, the staff are very friendly and helped us to have a nice holiday with our baby. We had an issue on the first night where we arrived late and didn't have a baby crib in the room, but the operations manager Dimitrious solved it for us in the next day early morning and he even offered us a free dinner as an apology. The hotel is located in the center of Sissi, with a walking distance from lots of restaurants, supermarkets, coffee shops and shops. We also found the car rental company named ''SMILE'' in a walking distance towards the beach, that we recommend for anyone wants to rent a car in Sissi. The breakfast had lots of diversity, and we liked the area around a lot

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately there was limited sun beds around the pool area and guests who left belongings (or just the towel) and went off for hours depriving others of the time on the beds. But the hotel did have polite notices up what more can you do? we were fine. There is a very limited bus service to the area so you need to plan ahead.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful we had a sea view room and it was amazing in the morning to step out onto the balcony and have the sea so close. The food was very good with plentiful buffets but in addition fresh food was cooked as you waited even at breakfast. The rooms and the site were kept very clean and inviting. The area is so beautiful and has lovely bars, restaurants and shops near by. Hotel and area had an up market feel to it. We loved the marina area and you must go on the Happy bus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel with super friendly and welcoming staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning service was unfortunately not good. There was always a sheet missing (2 people and 1 sheet!?) or sheets that were obviously dirty were not changed. We felt sorry for the cleaning staff because she always seemed to be tired but still...

    When we arrived at the hotel we felt comfortable straight away! It's a medium big hotel with 2 pools, of which one is the "new" one. One side of the hotel was newly renovated and the other side was/is newly built. However the sounds of the ongoing building were not disturbing to us at all! The hotel is near to the beautiful beach boufos (5-7 walking minutes) which is rather "stoney" and another sandy beach. Breakfast and dinner were good, we liked the food. The dinner included about 12 different dishes which varied every night of course. The staff was outrageous! The animator named Dali had great positive energy throughout the whole day, always happy and trying to find activities for the guests! He speaks SEVEN languages, so don't worry about miscommunication. We became friends after all! Without him and Kostas, the Barkeeper, our stay would have been half as good! Not to forget the restaurant staff, especially Fotis and Sevi! ALL of them doing their BEST to please the guests and make their stay unforgettable! The staff at the reception was always available and ready to help out with a positive attitude, NEVER unfriendly! The staff speaks mainly English and German since the Hotel seems to be booked by mostly Germans. Prices of drinks and food were rather cheaper than in the restaurants around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff, who listens to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities in the Room - we needed to ask extra for a safe, blankets, fridge and a remote control for the air conditioning. There is a loud bar just in front of the hotel, so it might get loud at night.

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly staff, who listens to tourists and try to meet their wishes. Sissi is a very calm village with picturesque sunsets. Beautiful beach 15 min walk from the hotel, but you have to climb rocks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a newly renovated room so new that there was still builders dust in the room! There was no fridge only a hole hole where it should be, no outside table for the terrace and no tea/coffee facilities only a kettle. In the description of the room on the website it states that the room is a combined living room/ bedroom but we had no chairs in the room and a stool for our room turned up on our last day. The fridge arrived in the evening of our first day but the promised table for the terrace didn't ever appear. The beds are probably the most uncomfortable we have ever slept on, so hard that every morning we had backache and only one pillow provided. There does seem to be some problems with this hotel and the ongoing room renovations. We were given a voucher for dinner at the hotel because of these issues however although this was a gesture of goodwill it was too little too late. On a positive note the shower in the bathroom is very good and powerful. Overall the staff are very pleasant and a very helpful and friendly lady Sivi (?) looked after us at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent mini break at Castello Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff arranged for food platter in our room after late arrival was very welcome! Good location for the village and the beach. Breakfast had lots of choice and a chef cooking nice omelettes and pancakes. Shop and car hire across the road. Loads of places to eat and drink within 5 minutes walk. Harbour is a lovely place for a quiet drink or excellent meal. On last day we were given a room to shower and change in before going to airport for late departure. Staff could not be more helpful! Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Bliss in Sissi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We had no direct sea view, which would have been nice, but it did not make a lot of difference as you could walk to the seafront in 2-3 minutes!

    The hotel is is in very good condition and very clean. The facilities are excellent. What really makes this hotel special is the staff. Without exception they are friendly, helpful and genuinely concerned that the visitor enjoys their stay. The barman, Dimitris, is very happy to share his passion for his work and will invent cocktails to suit your tastes. In the restaurant, Joy is a ray of sunshine, always interested in what you have done, or are planning, and happy to share her knowledge of the island. Overseeing this is Stelios, a warm, friendly man who has the operation running perfectly. A great location for exploring the north and centre of the island AND experiencing some fantastic seafood in the local restaurants!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    i had a good stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    including a bottle of water during dinner would be nice.

    Good hotel price value. The food was good and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was good, pool was great and staff were all very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior room wasn’t very superior, bed was very small and uncomfortable.

    Location was good, pool was great and staff were all very lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Great weather, lots to see and pretty Village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road could be a little noisy.

    Comfortable room with excellent shower and good view and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    very nice stay. I had a very late arrival after 10 hours traveling and they offert me a small diner,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    good location, and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Good relaxing holiday in a nice village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Beds a bit too firm.

    Good location within easy walking distance of choice of Tavernas. Friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast with wide choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Friendly staff, nice renovated rooms & en suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly staff, nice renovated rooms & en suite. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    very good..hitel not far from a lovely beach and harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all the staff were very helpful my daughter and I are vegans they went out of there way to make sure we have enough to eat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Relax and enjoy the Cretan hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location near the Aegean sea. Very helpful staff. The breakfast was fantastic with a lot of choices and local ingredients.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful, friendly staff and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful, friendly staff and very helpful. The room with the Seaview was just amazing! Had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Staff, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from bus stop

    Staff, facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Some beautiful restaurants down by the harbour with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Family Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel was very hot .

    Some beautiful restaurants down by the harbour with fantastic views .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Very good food Nice swimming pools Very nice sand beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good food Nice swimming pools Very nice sand beach

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: