Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cecil Hotel 2 stars

39, Athinas, Athens, 10554, Greece

#171 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1985 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had no internet connection, the WiFi was only available in the lobby or the breakfast area. My sister was coming last minute and I called to check if there was another room available and they say no. When I arrived to my room, the room had 4 beds, so very bad communications from the reception. No willingness to help me and they gave me a room with enough space for her, but she had already booked a different place because they say no. Then no where to plug and charge my stuff, no WiFi in the room. It’s a good hotel if you like old style, tv with cable, keys you need to leave at the reception and that’s it.

    It’s a good location, walking distance to most places which I think is the reason why they don’t care about customer service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at a busy noisy street, so get some ear plugs for the night if you are noise sensitive. Some small remarksabout the bathroom.

    Very clean and tidy hotel. Helpful personnel. Wonderful location 5-6 min on foot from Metro, Monstiraki and the main shopping streets and sites in Athens. Walk a few metres UP the Athenas street (where it is) and check out the lovely small cozy Athenas 51 restaurant with tasty and cheap traditional home made food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked for bed bugs, didn't find any, but the mattress cover had lots of hair and other build up. The sheets were nice, soft, but mine had a cigarette burn hole. The toilet was impossibly close to the sink.

    Nice staff, good breakfast. Fast internet in breakfast area. I downloaded four episodes of game of thrones.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a bit of an ant problem the first night. Not sure how they were getting in but cured the problem with insect repellent.

    Location was perfect - walking distance to Monastraki and Syntagma squares, Parthenon, restaurants, markets and bus/ metro to airport. The breakfast which was included in room rate was just fine. The rooms were clean and done daily. The rooftop had a view of the Parthenon lit up at night! We appreciated the 24 hour checkin/checkout service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed alone the night before flight home after visiting the islands with friends. Was clean, comfortable and safe!! The hotel is old, but the location, friendly staff and price make it an excellent choice. I will be back!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit ‘tired’, but a lot of character and comfortable enough.

    Amazing location. Good breakfast. Less than five minutes walk to Monastariki and Plaka.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi doesn’t work on some of the floors but it wasn’t a big deal for me.

    It is a great little hotel that has a great location (I wouldn’t have asked for better), was very clean, excellent air conditioner, and amazing value for money. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The five of us arrived on a Saturday and had a horrible night. We all agree that the mattresses were as hard as rock and the street noise was constant. I am glad we only spent one night there.

    The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. The location was near a big busy market. Breakfast was minimal but tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no ventilation in the WC (and they told us that there wasn't in any of the rooms). The elevator, although it was very beautiful, needed an internal door. There was a big gap that was rather frightening and especially dangerous for small children such as ours.

    The staff was very polite and helpfull. The area is great, walking distance from many atractions and a very lively neighborhood that can offer a variety of entertainment. The room was very clean and the breakfast though not very tasty had variety and fresh fruits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Moscitos and noises from the street - hardly slept that night.

    Close to the main sightseeings and to metro station with connection to the port and airport. Breakfast is simple but enough to start a day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi just until the first floor however the view from the 4th floor could compensate everything

    Great location, wonderful view from the rooftop, very nice staff and good breakfast. The room was absolutly ideal. Small but adequate and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was rather shabby and the shower was barely working because of old age and lack of maintenance. There were holes in the bed sheets and the air conditioning was not functioning properly, meaning that the room was either stiffing hot or freezing. The hotel is on a very noisy street.

    Great location, close to monuments, shopping areas, restaurants and metro. The room was clean. The breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An old fashioned charming hotel with a wonderful view of the Acropolis from the roof. The rooms are small but comfortable. Breakfast is very good. Wifi only available on first floor landing. There are refrigerators available on every floor to keep your drinks cold, as well as a small book swap area. The staff are very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was not fantastic . Shower holder was broken and bathroom door just managed to get past toilet. No problem for us but would have been , if being a larger person.

    Simple bedroom, small bathroom, friendly staff, close to public transport, breakfast is good and included in the price. Room service, bed made when we returned! Hotel is easy to find.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location close to the Acropolis and some pretty good eateries. Easy to get to by train from the Airport. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have wifi in the room on the second floor instead of having to go to the first floor but this was not a problem

    The breakfast was good, the location better than we had expected even though we were familiar with the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower needs an upgrade - it leaks and the old shower curtains don’t close properly. No wifi above the 1st floor.

    This basic, old-style hotel is in the Monastiraki neighbourhood near loads of restaurants and bars. This is a scruffy area with lots of graffiti and shuttered buildings, but it felt safe enough to us, even late at night. It’s a 15 minute walk from Syntagma Square. Breakfast was basic but acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room that was facing the main street next to the hotel, and street/vehicular noise was quite audible. This wasn't an issue in another room we had that was facing away. Would be good if the soundproofing could be improved on those street facing rooms.

    Very well located - <5mins walk to the central market, under 10mins to Monastiraki square and it's metro station. Comfortable beds, decent-sized rooms, and surprisingly good quality towels. Also great that there was a lift - had checked similarly properties around the neighbourhood and many that were at similar pricing didn't have lifts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited breakfast choice, small rooms, no services, no wifi in rooms upper 1st floor

    Clean, Very good position at the centre of Athens close to all major attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unsafe surrounding the hotel. One can not easily realize the innocent looking people are among the cunning thieves. We were unfortunate to be the victim of these thieves. Everything (passport, boarding passes, cell phone, my life saving medicine, US$ and Euros etc)was stolen from us in a blink of an eye in front of the hotel in a restaurant. After this event we were told that this area is very unsafe even if you are very careful. We have travelled a lot of places but never encountered this kind of event.

    Good location for catching sight seeing buses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location can be dodgy especially at night and the Internet only works in the dining room (but in a way this is part of its charm)

    Old world charm. The hotel was built in the 1920s and retains its classic elegance. It has fantastic views from the roof of the acropolis and is in within walking distance of almost everything. The location gets a bit dodgy at night, but this is really the only complaint. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was good. Overall, it was a fab. stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad. We’re very pleased.

    Absolutely loved everything. Friendly staff, George was wonderful and helpful. Great location within walking distance to everything. Sufficient breakfast to start your day and the view from the rooftop was amazing. Will definitely return to Cecil .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You had to leave your keys at reception every time you left the hotel, and could pick it up when you returned by quoting your room number. It didn't seem like great security.

    The room was clean, bed was comfortable, and location was ok as it was within 5 minutes walk of Monastriki metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was the same weak during the whole week. You may choose from bread, bread and bread =) With some additions, but the most nutritive was bread. Only one type of tea, no vegetables, no hot meals. The second room was booked last moment and was for smokers, but we do not smoke and tried to survive in this smell... Beds are small, and duvet covers are absent (what seem to be normal for Greece). So you do not know who did what on these duvets and when they were cleaned - you have only one sheet under it which should protect you. TV is extremely small and has no international channels (only BBC world news). And the center of Athens is not the best place in Athens. It is good for walking and sightseeing but, together with that, it is dirty, many vagabonds, street commerce, strange smells, closer to Omonia square you may meet drug addicts.

    Location is in the center (Monastiraki) with even walking distances to Acropolis, Syntagma square, Omonia Square, Panepitismio metro station. The building is vintage-fashioned, has the great old elevator. Price worth it among similar variants. We were able to book it just being in Athens with a reduced price and were grateful for that. We lived here twice per vacation - 3 nights and 2 nights in different rooms. First room 106 was on the 1st floor, it even has a weak wifi signal. It has a more spacious shower, however door was broken to bathroom and room is close to breakfast\public zone with its noizes. Second room 309 was on the 3d floor, without wifi but with the Acropoli view. A shower is very small and uncomfortable there, but the area is quieter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A seedy section of old Athens. The streets are covered in graffiti. Street people sleeping on the sidewalks right outside the front entrance. The room itself was small, with the bathroom even smaller.

    Good breakfast, and relatively well located near the main attractions like the Acropolis. Fun vintage elevator.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbourhood a little seedy.

    Location was around 400 meters from Monastiraki flea market and subway station with direct train to airport. Ermou shopping street also nearby. Room rate inexpensive. Free but basic breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS FINE

    THE BEDS WERE CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE THE TOWELS WERE CHANGED EVERY DAY THE STAFF WERE POLITE AND HELPFULL WILL STAY HERE AGAIN VERY NEAR ATTRACTIONS AND CENTRAL.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Currently only the rooms on the 1st level had wi-fi, so it would have been nice if all rooms had wi-fi.

    Location was excellent - just 2 minutes from the Monastiraki Sqaure and you're there. I chose a single room online and the available option I selected was a room with a double bed and single bed so it was good value for the money I paid. The basics are there. Beds were comfy. The hotel looks just a teeny little bit worn-down (rustic charm perhaps!) but it meets my basic needs and I was out the whole day so I did not complain much. I met a total of 3 staff. 2 were a little quiet and could have been friendlier! 1 whom I met was very helpful with my questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room could have a little more space.

    Nice old building, good location near Monastiraki, but quiet enough to sleep, even on a Friday night. Fine breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs a renovation, its old and small, however it was clean.

    Value for money. Clean. We had a problem withe the flushing system of toilet and the receptionist fixed it immediatly. Is found in the center of the Town very close to Metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annoying thing was the shower, the head did not hook up so we had to hold it. And the water went cold very quickly. Also was a bit annoying have only wifi on th first floor/it was very slow.

    The location was great, near plaka and very close to many archaeological sites and the Acropolis. The rooms were clean and tidy and spacious. The breakfast was simple bread, cereal etc, but nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, very loud, of aico motors going on and off all night despite the closed windows made sleep almost impossible. I won’t be going back... So an 8 rating would not apply, nice room, but ...

    Nice central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very frustrating that the WiFi went offline until 1pm on the first day. Was referred to the nearby Bet Cafe, which I visited (not so sure about the connection security there). Fast when working.

    Excellent location, a short walk from Monastiraki metro station, possible to see the Acropolis from the room window, freshly refurbished, clean and bright. Modern supermarket about 80 metres away. Good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    At the night when we came the guy at front desk was confused about our booking - wasn't sure if they still have a double room left and didn't know how many nights we are staying, but he gave us a family room instead for the same price. Third day other guy was looking little bit suspicious at us when we had our breakfast, asked in a bad tone for our room number. He needs to improve his skills how to approach guests and to be more professional.

    The location is really close to the heart of Athens - Acropolis, restaurants, museums. There was a nice view to the Pantheon from the hotels rooftop. Also they have a nice vintage lift. Housekeepers did their job well - the room was tidy every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi only available at first floor.

    The perfect budget hotel: great location, gorgeous staff (specially the receptionist Michalis), clean, nice views even to Akropolis (from third floor rooms). And a surprise: a great upper terrace with outstanding views to Partenon. For a low price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I wish my stay was longer. Maybe if anything the breakfast area could be opened earlier.

    I think it is in the very best area in Athens. Right in the heart of the Monastiraki area. Really close to the Metro line. And super close to the start of your ancient wanderings. Close to the ancient Agora and even closer to Hadrian's Library and the Roman Agora and the Tower of the winds which brings you very close to the northern entrance to the Acropolis complex. Perfect place to stay. Breakfast was good and the room large and comfortable. Very very helpful and super friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower curtain needed to be able to protect the while shower, as everyday the bathroom was one big puddle. It was rather noisy as my room was right outside the kitchen, so every morning was woken up to plates banging. Also, the wifi was poor.

    The location and the price were amazing for a weekend stay! It was extremely clean and the staff were amazing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Think of Athens or Cairo circa 1985 and you've got this place " and you've also got the state of the internet. For one night its totally fine to have to stand in the hallway in your towel as you try to check in for your flight... but for any longer it would be very frustrating.

    I needed to be near the metro for an early flight on to Greece so despite some questionable reviews chose this hotel. It was way nicer than I had expected. It had something of an old world charm that has been completely lost in most modern executive / designer hotels. The hotel staff were a bit shy but all perfectly jolly and pleasant. The lift, the circular marble stairs, the dining room with big windows and a view over the melee below all reminded me of Athens hotels of the 1980's...something I miss. In view of what i was paying (€39) the room and breakfast were completely adequate. For a night or two and to get away from those awful corporate box type hotels I would recommend this place. Think of Athens or Cairo circa 1985 and you've got this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wifi didn't reach the rooms, but you could use it in the breakfast room. And since we were there in winter it would have been nice to be able to make some tea in the evening, but ok, it's nothing one can't live without.

    The location was superb! 3 blocks from Monastiraki and 5 from the heart of Plaka, everything in walking distance and you just walk 3 minutes to the Metro to the airport. The surrounding streets might look a bit intimidating by dark, but is very lively and we felt very safe. Syntagma, Omonoia, the market, the commercial streets, everything is in 2 or 5 min walking! The breakfast was simple (like home style) but good, greek yogurt and fresh fruits were a highlight. Although the terrace is not intended to hang out there, it offers an astonishing view of the Acropolis, and it's super beautiful to watch the sunrise over the ruins. Overall is very clean and fairly comfortable if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room (but come on, you are in Athens, there is plenty of things to do!). The staff was always very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean comfortable room within walking distance of the metro and many sites. Includes a simple breakfast. The wifi works well. The Cecil is a good budget option for a short stay in Athens.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fairly tired. All a bit off hand, but fOK and good value for money considering a fantastic location.

    Amazing ancient lift in wonderful circular central stair tower. Old and characterful. Nice breakfast room overlooking interesting street scene with OK breakfast. Location is great - easy access to the metro and very short walk south to the Acropolis etc. Short walk north to the fantastic Archaeolgical Museum. It's that bustling souk-feeling sort of area - if you want Holiday Inn, stay away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not available if you are on a higher floor...only on the first floor that you get connected.

    The location is great with a magnificent view of the acropolis...very close to Monastiraki square where u can get the Metro directly to the airport and walking distance to all traditional markets in both Monastiraki and Plaka 😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet it was very bad and not working in room and all the time server down And no hot water in the bathroom The room very dirty and bad smell

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from my room was a falling down building with rubbish on the ledges. That could be remedied with some potted plants maybe on the hotels ledge outside the window. Besides that it was nice on the inside.

    Very nice once you are inside.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom quite small.

    Hotel is located in city center. Next to Monastiriaki square. From the rooftop and you have fantastic view on Acropol. The staff very polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in room, basic breakfast, not very informative staff, renovation works or something noisy like that as of 7am disturbed sleep.

    Good location, comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came for one night only, on our way to Naxos We arrived late and left early the next morning The room was just right for a short night sleep and the only thing we enjoyed was the closeness to Monastiraki metro station where we caught the train to Piraeus port

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very good for the 2-star category it is in and you get fair value for the price you pay. It is located in a very central location, conveniently near to all the popular tourist spots, which makes up for its small rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise at nite was intolerable....... a disco beat the living hell all nite from 11pm until 5 am. Had to ask for air conditioning to be put on. No wifi......only on the Second floor and even then when we needed to make urgent bookings the connection died. It's basically a step above a hostel

    IF you want no Thrills for no spills and it's only a cost issue u may be happy. It's tired.An old room with a toilet cubicle perched in it. They did allow a 12 pm book out and looked after the bags.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you choose a quiet room, you get a splendid room with a rather oppressive view on the back of every other building. Not enough space in the breakfast room

    It is an attractive but rather old-fashioned building with an old-fashioned small lift - but in good working order - with a person on duty at ground level. Nice sunny breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom curtain was dirty and also shower head holder was broken. Noisy at night as you can hear the traffic noise while sleeping.

    The room was clean, location is central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi, uncomfortable bed

    I stayed here with my family (including a young child) for a few nights en route to mykonos. for the price the hotel is really good. only downside is lack of wifi! so I would not stay here for more than one or two nights. the staff is really nice!!! very clean and although the area is gritty i did not feel unsafe. it was very hot and the air con worked fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tiny and breakfast was not worth having.

    The location is lerfect, very close to Monastiriki markets and Metro and lots of shops and eating places. If you want somewhere just to lay your head at night and nothing else very good. Very good value. My score may appear low but i was only there for about 12 hours overnight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not always a lot of pressure in the shower and the temperature of the water fluctuated. The curtain of the shower is not long enough so the floor of the bathroom is very wet after a shower.

    The location is perfect if you want to visit the Acropolis and the historical center. It is also 5 min walking from the metro station to reach the airport. There are also a lot of restaurant to have a dinner. We had a good surprise to get a room on the roof top. The roof top has a direct view on the acropolis. The breakfast is correct. It is nice to have it included in the price of the room. There is a very nice lift inside the hotel !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being centrally located, the area isn't the nicest. The bathroom needs updating, with the toilet and sink almost on top of each other. Water pressure wasn't good in the shower. Staff was overall unfriendly and not welcoming.

    Room was a decent size, view was good, and it was clean. Had air conditioning and a tv (managed to find a few English shows to entertain ourselves). Fine for a nights stay, but wouldn't want to spend all my time here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy - Asked for a quiet room as I was arriving late and wanted to sleep a bit more. I got a room just next to the breakfast salon. A lot of noise from the street also. The wifi was not reaching the room. The bed wasn't much comfortable but ok for 1 night. Didn't find the staff that nice. Overpriced.

    Breakfast was a surprise. Very Central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A second bedside table would have been useful and it would have been preferable for the bathroom fan to have been wired in!

    Did not expect breakfast, so a bonus. Using the antique lift was a real experience! Great view of the Acropolis from the roof terrace. Very friendly and helpful reception. A short walk to Monastraiki and Plaka for good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nowt

    perfect location just five minutes walk from Monastiraki metro (the stop att he bottom of the Acropolis) and just two minutes walk to a very lively square with lots of places to eat and a bar with dozens of real Greek beers from microbreweries with six of them on tap, tasters provided free. Happy hour from 1600 to 1700h (2 for 1).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hostess was grumpy and removed everything 15 minutes before closing. But there were still many guests coming for breakfast.

    Very nice room at the top of the building with view on the acropolis. Comfortable beds. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room and no coffee making fascilities.

    The staff at The Cecil are really lovely. This hotel is very affordable, very popular and usually booked out last minute because of its perfect location. It is about 100m from Monastiraki and the metro, loads of shopping in the area and close to Syntagma Square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room did not have a fridge and it was quite noisy, facing the street. Moreover, it was getting really hot during the day. Nevertheless, there was airco in the room, to compensate.

    It is a clean and friendly location. The quality of the staff and the guests of the hotel gave me a safe feeling, considering that I am a female that traveled alone.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather cramped, plumbing ordinary, wifi only on 1 level. Also advertised roof garden which was non existent which is a pity as there is a great view.

    Good location, obliging staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms small and bed old springs but ok for a night or two.

    Great location close to train station and short walk to restaurants. Great old building with unique lift too. Price is good given location and enjoyed the breakfast sitting in lovely room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are simple and slightly small but it wasn't a problem for us as we spent most of our time visiting the city.

    Perfect hotel for some days in Athens. The location was excellent and breakfast was good. People at reception were very nice and helpful. Area is safe. It's close to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was not reaching all rooms. We were in the second floor and the wifi was on and off available

    The location is excellent. It is cheap and clean and the people are very friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a lil bit bigger and bathroom looked a lil old and small.

    Location, staff was so welcoming and helpful, includes bfast (not a lot of options) but def saved us a meal. Wifi was ok we stayed on the 2nd floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not have a bar. But there are bars everywhere in Athens!

    I love that this was old Athens. I always follow Matt Barrett's recommendations for a more authentic experience. The area is not for the feint hearted or for t hose wanting pristine streets. I love the proximity to the market and that you can walk everywhere.monstriaki metro is an 8 minute walk and is the direct route to the airport. Be warned it is always booked out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had bed-bugs (Wanzen!!) in our bed!!! we killed 2, but i anyway have been bitten - for the first time in my life!

    The room and the hotel itselfe was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in room 109, very near the kitchen and noisy early morning because of the preparation of breakfast and washing of dishes.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good to be in the thick of the action but after a few days I enjoyed going to a more relaxed area.

    Excellent location. Manger very helpful. Amazing value for a.c. room and breakfast. Basic but worth it for what I paid. Waking distance to everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Safe in room

    Cecil is a low cost hotel in a very convenient area. Great Location and value for money. Room is good size. Bathroom is compact but functional. The room is very quiet even though we were facing the street and also very clean. Breakfast was very good as well We were fortunate to have a view of the Acropolis from the Balcony. And hotel also has a view from the roof top (although no facilities on the roof top.) The staff as also friendly. May not appear that way to start, but they are friendly when engaged. Location -to the right is the Plaka and to the left are the food markets (amazing fresh fruit and olives and cheese) Also "antique" shops overflowing with everything from Chinese bowls to crystal vases to brass statues. A homeware shoppers paradise!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff. Easy to access; 1 metro directly from the airport... just a few minutes away from Monastiraki metro station. Airco was working great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. It looked like the hotel might have been nice years ago - it has a kind of faded glory. Would be nice if it could have a bit of a facelift!

    Great location on the main street to Monastiraki station. Good, cheap, clean hotel with a lift and 24 hr reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like about the property.

    This was a cute place to stay. Small, but comfortable & clean. I had a rooftop room, with view of The Acropolis. Friendly, helpful staff, and a good location. A nice breakfast was provided, and I loved the lift! I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. There could have been more nuts and fruits to go with the yoghurt. And croissants.

    Quaint, charming hotel, love the tall ceilings, the old fashioned elevator. Great location in an interesting area.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: