Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Civitas Boutique Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

20 El. Venizelou Str., Rethymno Town, 74100, Greece

#34 of 115 vacation rentals in Rethymno Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 656 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    9.6
    Found paradise on crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The roof windows in our bathroom were a bit unfortunate. It became very hot - even though we had air conditioning.

    The atmosphere, the room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the shower was cool, everyone working in the hotel was very nice. We would love to come back sometime! The hotel was very close to the old town and the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Nice especially for young couples.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was rather poor . I mean that there is so good Cretan food and drink that the lesser you may expect from a traditional hotel in the old town is to offer local products , especially bread , butter , cheese , honey and even marmalade .

    It is an old building with a nice location in the old town. You are coming out of the hotel in the middle of Bars , Cafe , restaurants and touristic stores. The disadvantage of the building is that the rooms are long but they have a narrow facade. However , it is a descent hotel , that I would recommend especially to young couples .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended - the place to stay in Reythemo for the view, food, and quality of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We loved everything - could not have been happier.

    We did not have a good start to our vacation - the first hotel and town we stayed in were a bit disappointing - but staying here turned our vacation around. The staff went out of their way to help us with everything we needed, the breakfast, in the sidewalk restaurant on the harbor was fantastic (we ate dinner twice at the restaurant sine the view and food were so good), and we loved our hotel room. I want to personally thank Ahappy - forgive my phonetic spelling- and Chrissy for all the did for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is very good located and the staff is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is to small for longer stays. We were there only for a night, so it was perfect, but I don’t recommend for much longer periods.

    The hotel is very good located and the staff is really friendly. The bathroom is very good equipped, with good hair dryer, good amenities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only stairs and after showering, the drain smelled a bit. But good thing, we were able to close the doors so the sleeping area was separated.

    Great location. Loved the fact that the shower stall was separate from the rest of the bathroom and water didn’t get all over the place. Glad the room had AC as it was very hot in the skylit area (restroom). Friendly staff. Very cute and charming remodeling.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and very friendly personeel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and very friendly personeel. However, for business I would have liked to have breakfast earlier (started at 8:30 but we had to be at the University already at 9:00). Also the room was a bit dark, having just one window at the very end.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Very good breakfast selection,excellent location,very friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unnecessary and inappropriate music especially at breakfast.no non slip mats in shower.No shower curtains

    An interesting hotel,very comfortable with lovely staff.Personally disappointed with our original room as it had no view and little light, The second room was so much better and had an excellent view from the balcony,in my opinion better than that from front of hotel.The problem with this room was more stairs to climb to get to bed and the toilet downstairs ,which was difficult for my wife

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    10
    Friendly & welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the room was big it was quite dark, but still comfortable.

    The staff were friendly and welcoming The room was clean and tidy and very unique. The only negative was the room was quite dark, but apart from this we had a great stay. Breakfast was buffet style and had most things you could want for breakfast and good coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place at perfect spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a problem for us but be aware that you can’t park your car at the hotel. There is enough possibility for that on walking distance (free of charge) and you can unload your luggage in front of the door.

    Everything was nice: beautiful building, good room, cooling, food, staff, etc. All by all: we had a good time although it was a short stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Spacious rooms, great wifi, helpful staff, convenient...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No "food" service apart from breakfast even though the room had a coffee machine (no extra cost) and free water.

    Spacious rooms, great wifi, helpful staff, convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    9.6
    lovely place lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    if they had a pool it would have been perfect , but beach is only short walk away though

    the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. location really good. just a really relaxing holiday. you can do as much or as little as you want from this location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    Very recommendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just a little thing: there has been a desk and two chairs but no folding luggage rack. Just for 2 nights I didn't want to get all off my suitcase - and I didn't want to lay it on the bed - so I had to put it on the bottom of wardrobe. With a luggage rack handling would be easier.

    The staff has been very nice and helpful - from receptionist, breakfast- or dinner-crew. All of them very attentive and kind. Nice and big room, interesting bathroom-solution with a modern and good working shower. Breakfast with fresh made scrambled eggs if desired and good options for dinner. Hotel is located at the mainstreet along the seaside. If you arrive by car it's allowed to park in front of the restaurants for a few minutes - so you can bring in the luggage and make the check-in and after that they will show you some options for parking (as example at the harbour).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.8
    Unusual room but perfect location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room had a mezzanine floor and was very dark- especially the marble bathroom. Everything could do with updating a little. The 'fully equipped' kitchen had little in it but staff were happy to provide additional plates etc.

    Agapi was extremely helpful and friendly. Great location for exploring and for the beach. Sunny (and empty) rooftop terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in the centre of Rethymno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathtub height could be tricky, you've got to watch out for that slip when coming out of the shower

    Great location, helpful staff, beautiful surroundings. Nice interior architecture, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    3.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It could be cleaner and more well described on the website, more photos needed I didn't understand it was a two floor room. Plus there was no warm water one night, no breakfast and no parking at the property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    3.8
    Location ONLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It will be a long list. We stayed in one of so called superior suites. In reality 45sq meter suite was 13m (50 feet) long corridor with no usable furniture and just 1 window in far end. Dark gloomy and claustrophobic place to put your shoes, no hanger to put your jacket. Bathroom was squished in 2m2 , smelly, bath tub leaking, dark. NO HOT WATER AT ALL for our 4 days stay. Loft conversion to allocate bed and cupboard in complete dark.Not a single photograph of apartment was actually taken in it. Every possible excuse given by staff, starting with historical origin of building (only true one) to DENIAL this water is OK to me. Staff only acts friendly when guests are not reporting problems. If ANYTHING is rised only answer is arrogance and lies. Worst of hotels (compared to advertise) I have stayed in years. Soundproof rooms ??? If you are deaf than maybe ... fully equipped kitchen??? You have to beg for pan and pot to warm water for bath... on departure, and only on my request , I was given invoice showing someone's else card being charged for my stay. Hope Tax Man will investigate as I'm going to report it. Booking com was involved in this , they were great, but couldn't "arrange acceptable solution with hotel" . To show hotels level of arrogance - they offered generously to lover my 1 day (of4nights) fee by 50% as for lack of Hot water 😅😅😆😆😆. Can carry on for long but there is no point.. my personal WARNING on this hotel.

    Location ONLY

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    9.6
    Great location-best staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Little bit noisy for us at night

    Nice big room but the thing that stands out most was the friendliness and care of the reception staff. It made our stay perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    10
    The room was excellent and was cleaned to a brilliant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was excellent and was cleaned to a brilliant standard daily, as was the whole hotel. Breakfast was very varied and there were many delicious options available. The staff were a joy to deal with and could not have been more helpful. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    We arrived a little later than expected and they were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived a little later than expected and they were very accommodating. The customer service was excellent and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hotel in very nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a sea front room. The shower was great but the toilet may be a bit small for larger guests if you need to shut the door. The bar a few doors down played its music until about 1 o'clock in the morning but only noticed this the first night. Car park is about 5 minutes walk from hotel but can stop outside the restaurant to unload luggage. But would come again. :-)

    Brilliant sea front location, very helpful staff, good restaurant out front, nice building. Bed was very comfortable. Included air con.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    We had a very welcoming relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Balcony worth having but could be a little noisy from surrounding area at night for some people

    All the staff were very pleasant and helpful,breakfast was good quality hot and cold.liked the music playing in hotel and restaurant Our room had a balcony worth going for this option great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2017

    8.8
    Stylish boutique hotel by the sea front, in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower looked cool and stylish, but unfortunately the water was lukewarm and the pressure very poor.

    Beautiful, stylish hotel, spacious room, very comfortable bed. We didn't pay for the sea view, but had access to a lovely shared terrace overlooking the lovely Venetian architecture of the town. A short walk from the harbour and main alleyways of the Venetian old town. Very quiet for sleeping!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    10
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave ;)

    Absolutely lovely place. The building is charming and quiet even if located in the seafront alley, and has a very nice terrace where to relax. The girl at reception was super nice. The room was lovely decorated, confortable and well equiped, with a huge confortable bed. Breakfast buffet was very good and complete. A really good stay, not to be missed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    9.2
    The staff was especially friendly, and helped out with any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Balcony and City VIew
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was especially friendly, and helped out with any questions asked. Size and equipment of the room was as pictured and it was nice and quiet at night even though the hotel has such a central location. Cleaning was carried out every day and was very flexible according to the guests schedule.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2017

    6.3
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is too old hotel in the middle oh the city. Room was dark, room view bad. Room was narrom.

    Location is very good. Near hotel many restaurants, beach and infrastructure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    10
    Great location if you stay for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Omelette was a slightly disappointing cos it was so plain. Would be nice if it has some extra like feta and some Vegs.

    Receptionists were so helpful and friendly. Staff at the bar n restaurant were also very polite and humble. The room was perfect with the sea view. Love it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2017

    9.6
    The room is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking it was complication.

    The room is beautiful. I think the best choice for young couple, because you can hidden from the world :) The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2017

    10
    A top Class stay run by top class people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That we could not stay for longer.

    Everything, The Hotel staff were simply top class and could not do enough to help us during our stay. Really was an excellent stay. I could not recommend it enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2017

    6.3
    Lovely staff - not so keen on the music
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were difficult lay out bed upstairs, bathroom down, my partner was not long out of hospital so struggled with this. We didn't like the music in the restaurant so didn't end up eating in even the food was good. On the Sea side the rooms were noisy

    Staff were lovely and quick to act when there were issues

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2017

    7.5
    Great location, fantastic breakfast and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would def book a room facing outside as I booked the one in the atrium and it was quite dark. No shower.

    Nice big comfy room and the breakfast was fantastic. Easy walk to beach/restaurants and shops - great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    5.0
    Prefer not to stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The facility at the room seems too old, the hot water function at bathroom cannot work so that I cannot enjoy the hot spring spa. The light is too dim for me.

    Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Rethymno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heat and the sewer smell in the bathroom (but do not impact the bedroom)

    The location is perfect just near to the old Town and along the see shore with all the restaurants and bars for day and nigth. The Hotel is very quiet and the staff is gentle, helpfull and gobe very good advice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    The staff is great, super nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is great, super nice and friendly. They have great suggestions for sightseeing. Great breakfast buffet (they prepare omelet at your request, free of charge). The location is amazing, in the old town and next to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    8.3
    Boutique hotel best accessed without a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was only available about .5 km away in a charged public car park. There was no where to unload luggage outside hotel. Wifi did not work. We has a junior suite- bed room was upstairs from bathroom and sitting area.

    Small boutique hotel with attractive furnishings. Restaurant on terrace outside hotel. Good breakfast. Receptionist handled our concerns about no parking on site well,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2017

    10
    We enjoyed the balcony and the fact that our room had two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the balcony and the fact that our room had two levels. The downside was that the harbor area in front of the hotel was not at all suited for swimming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2017

    9.2
    Good address for a couple days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is average. Parking to the marina is a bit far when you have luggage

    Receptionist very nice and helpful. Comfortable, calm, close to the old town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2017

    7.9
    Young lady on reception was really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't great quality. Downpour of rain during our stay. Rain came under balcony door and flooded our bedroom floor!

    Young lady on reception was really friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2017

    8.8
    Location ideal for town and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of parking. Rear terrace still being refurbished.

    Location ideal for town and restaurants. Friendly staff. Lavish and unique room interior. Comfortable Bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    8.3
    Well located hotel near the old port, castle and city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spacious but had some limitations due to long and narrow design, resulting in limited view. Bath only and no full shower also a minus. Decent breakfast but with poor filter coffee. No elevator

    Great service, excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    8.8
    Stylish little hotel, well located for exploring fabulous Rethymno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy at night as revellers head home and the very early with shouty refuse collectors. That's what you'd expect I suppose for the location. Take earplugs if it's an issue, or don't have a room at the front.

    A very well located, stylish hotel with great sea and esplanade views. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony watching the world go by. The town itself is well worth a visit. Do go to the port and the castle, but better than that for us was a slow amble through the streets behind the hotel, where you will find many a small square by a church with a taverna or two. Wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Venetian style property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Loved Rethymno and the Civitas was a real find. Excellent and worth having the suite, very large and spa bath perfect after just a shower beforehand

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2017

    9.2
    Great location for city break and buses to east and west of the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv..? Not able to get English speaking channels. Only there one night so not a problem at all. And reception was so very friendly.beds comfortable and clean. Great decor.

    Great location near many lovely places to eat. Really attractive decor. Rooms stunning. Breakfast nearby at Stellas kitchen excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2017

    7.5
    Maybe better in high season.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most important thing for me is, a clean room. They didn't pay a lot of attention to cleanliness and comfort, maybe due to the fact that it is off season. The floor of the room was very dirty and dusty. They woke us at 07.45 in the morning by hitting sounds...we realized they are renovating a room exactly outside our door. We left earlier that morning due to that.

    The staff was very kind. It is located in the center of the town, sea front. It has nice furniture features. The shower is great, with water massage options. I think that in high season, the hotel should look better than it is right now in low season.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2017

    10
    10 all the way.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast, not even a cup of coffee.

    The whirlpool was awesome . the mattress was the best, the view was excellent , the towels were new and fluffy. the decoration was super.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2017

    9.6
    Right on Sea Front. Quaint old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There seemed to be a bit of a smell at the main entrance, could be just "old Building" smell or a problem with the drains, however, this could not be smelt in the room.

    Situated right on the main Marina with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. In December some of these were closed and pretty quiet so there could be some noise in peak season due to being on the main drag. The receptionist (male), when we arrived, was very welcoming and offered to carry our bags to the room. Room size was adequate, well furnished, with the most comfortable beds and pillows I have every experienced. Great nights sleep. The receptionist (on leaving) checked with us that we were happy with everything before we left. A small suggestion was made but nothing that would impact my review of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: December 22, 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic mid-winter mini-break in the heart of Rethymno Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchenette lacked some amenities, eg, a kettle was provided, but only one cup. Nice wine glasses, but no cork screw. Receptionist did get that sorted though.

    Warm, Clean, Spacious, Good Wifi and a Fab Spa Bath. Perfect central location on the Old Town Promenade. We'd definitely go back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2016

    10
    Wonderful stay in Rethymnon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was upgraded to a superior suite for the same price since one was free and was amazed at how lovely the room was. Two stories, a jacuzzi bath, a chandelier, a balcony and lots of space. I needed some help the next day figuring out how to get to Heraklion by bus, and the staff were extremely helpful and made sure I knew which busses to get.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing hotel with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy from road (during summer season apparently that road is closed, but then you get the restaurants/bar noise I think) and as windows don't close all the way you get the full blast. Took the nice guy from the staff over an hour to get the TV to work. Same for heater. Only one pillow per bed. Room decor very empty/functional, no charme. No restaurant facilities in winter, also meaning no breakfast which I didn't know. Not what I expect from a so-called boutique hotel.

    Nice staff who tried their best to accomodate me and provided me with a water kettle for my tea etc. Clean room with balcony, good bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2016

    9.6
    A unique experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Suite we stayed in was a very charming two level room with the bedroom on second level and the bathroom on the first level. A little inconvenient if you need to use the bathroom many times during the night.

    A unique experience! We enjoyed our stay very much and would book this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2016

    9.6
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Balcony and City VIew
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was equipped with a two ring hob. We didn't need to use it, but should we have wanted to there were no pots and pans in the room, making it rather superfluous. While the bathroom provided plenty of very good toiletries, some sachets pf coffee/tea and milk to go alongside the kettle in the room would have been well received.

    Double room with balcony with city view from rear of hotel. No noise at all in the evening and during the night although restaurants at front of hotel along the sea front were busy. Room well equipped and comfortable, over two floors (bedroom on mezzanine). Very helpful, professional and friendly reception.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2016

    9.2
    Nice Hotel in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking is a little bit difficult, but not impossible, at least if you want to get a free parking lot. And the bathroom is very tiny , means it's hard to close the door behind you. A sliding door would have been the better option.

    Nice little Hotel at the seafront in the old town. It's perfect if you want to walk around and explore the city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom has no ventilation and the humidity is a bit high after showering. Hot water has moments when is not really hot, as they use solar heating.

    Friendly staff. The beach is a short walk away. Breakfast is good, on the terrace facing the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, between the old town and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No balcony. Very small WC, you have to sqeeze yourself inside.

    Perfect location, between the old town and the beach. Excellent breakfast on the terrasse. Very nice decoration inside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    8.3
    Right in the thick of the nightlife district, overlooking the port!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too much clumpy 'venetian' furniture kitsch makes it feel crowded, and is unpractical. Suitcases only fit downstairs, the wardrobe is upstairs. So you end up hanging everything on the stair. (...which someone decided needed to be wrapped in red tulle.....🙄) A simple luggage rack would be useful. Then you could actually sit on the sofa..... In spite of 2 TV's, we couldn't use them. A simple instruction card and channel list would help. As they add rooms, one can only hope they simplfy the furnishings and reduce the number of different colors, wallpapers and woods. 🤓🤐

    Georgia, at the front desk was a joy, charming and extremely helpful. Bathrooms using beautiful marbles. The balcony overlooking the port and bustling nightlife was great for cocktails and nightcaps. The deep sonorous horn of the arriving ferry heightened the romantic maritime setting. The breakfast staff adjusted the set menus to make us happy. Good wifi!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2016

    9.2
    Just a great interesting Hotel ,Very Good Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    personally don't care for boom boom background music in the background of the restaurant / breakfast area but not too in your face Guess its a young outlook thing !

    very pleasant staff , excellent breakfast nice location just on the edge of the " action :

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the music outside.

    The View, the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    The receptionist was a star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Open plan shower room but that is just personal! A kettle and tea and coffee would be good,

    The receptionist was a star

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough choices for breakfast and awful sewage smell in the toilet. Not really sound proof

    Nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.5
    The bed too big in the small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed too big in the small room. My wife hit her head badly on the former fire place, bleeding extensively

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, smart staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It s noisy No much choice for breakfast

    Perfect location, smart staff Nice decoration

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great base for exploring Reythimno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little too big for the room, which made moving around to the far side awkward.

    Classy place with nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not so sunny

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    The fact that bath and bed were separated by a steep staircase should be mentioned in description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steep stairs to the bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    It's location and uniqueness and it offers a fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's location and uniqueness and it offers a fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely clean, comfy rooms in a great location. The reception staff were fabulous: friendly, helpful and informative.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    8.8
    Ideal place to stay a few days in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was very friendly. Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, great stuff but very dark rooms
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No parking at the hotel although they offer it

    The size of the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    9.6
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite with Atrium View
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much natural light in the room: only windows to the hall which has some light through a ceiling window..

    staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit noisy

    Nice centrally located hotel Friendly staff View from room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    10
    Wonderful staff and clean, cozy rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful staff and clean, cozy rooms, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    9.2
    Terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were amazing-they were extremely helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere with amazing location away from touristy places
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location. Lovely breakfast by sea and veranda outside rooms. Super friendly staff and really flexible with times and luggage etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    A wonderful place and we will certainly come back to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    It's got the most amazing location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2017

    10
    We recommend Civitas hotel to all our friends and family. A big thank you to all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Atrium View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was very good we had a good choice We love their yogurt and being outside was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    Am not vegetarian so not able to answer about that
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Am not vegetarian so not able to answer about that

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75