Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Congo Palace 4 stars

Posidonos 81A, Glyfada, Athens, 16674, Greece

#205 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 630 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel! Horrible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very rude and nothing is easy. The rooms are apparently renovated which is not true- everything in the hotel looks like it’s about to fall apart. Bathroom tiles are uneven, stains on carpet, shower is ancient and water just goes everywhere, no lighting in the rooms at all - there are only lamps. The “lifeguard” by the pool tried to keep our 50 euro deposit from the towel rental claiming he had no record of us renting it. He eventually found the little scribble he made on a piece of paper after us trying to remind him of it. Be careful and ensure you get some sort of ticket in order to get your money back when you return the towels. The vibe of the hotel is just terrible. Staff have horrible communication and make you feel uncomfortable, particularly the reception staff. The attitude at Congo is that you owe them something- they have no interest in being there and clearly hate their jobs. Their obnoxious and very unprofessional. Food is never served as the menu states and very overpriced. Coffee is 3 euro but you just walk next door to the cafe and it’s 1.5 euro. Only thing going for this hotel is location but there are many others in a great position. Don’t waste your money and get ripped off here! BEWARE!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed it, Staff was friendly and most of them spoke english. will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At night the noise from traffiic the main road was intrusive and interrupted sleep. Next time we will ask for a room away from the main road. Pool opening hours not convenient - pool closed for swimming between 6 - 7 pm we would have loved to be open to come back to the hotel and have a swim to relax untill +- 8pm even if we needed to pay more for it. The open gate at the pool area to the street was off putting. Not enough information regarding sea conditions e.g. barnicles on the sea bed causing injuries - would recommend wearing water shoes.

    Adjustable aircon, very friendly and helpful staff, balcony with seaview, bar fridge, Easy access to public transport which is very cheap, Good choice breakfast and lunch served at pool area was very good value for money with excellent service. Very good coffee shop next door served coffee untill 11 pm - loved it. Booked a taxi to returnt to the airport - service was 100% on time and very professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    Pool area was very nice with a pool bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was dirty and beds weren’t comfortable. Room was very outdated and had a smell.

    Pool area was very nice with a pool bar. The lobby and restaurant areas were very modern and clean. Food was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    The staff was very friendly and cooperative.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were very bad maintained: the floor was damage including holes, very dirty and old carpets, the bed sheets were dirty, in general it was not a pleasant stay due to the condition in the rooms.

    The staff was very friendly and cooperative. Very good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful lobby and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms seem to be out dated. Attachment to hold shower head was broke so only could use by holding. Air conditioner in room was very noisy could hear it from the elevator.

    Beautiful lobby and pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    The staff were so welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. We were staying in one of the old rooms which had not been refurbished but it was still clean and comfortable. The shower head was not attached to the wall so taking a shower was a bit tricky but it was not a huge problem.

    The staff were so welcoming and helpful. Great location with a lovely quiet (but stoney) beach just across the road. The parts of the hotel that have been refurbished look amazing and as work continues I can imagine this hotel will just get better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.8
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the breakfast very weak for a 4 star hotel, there was no fresh fruit. The only part of the hotel that deserves the 4 stars is just the reception, the pool space has nothing to do with the photos here on the booking. The rooms do not have a blackout, when the day comes the room is full of light, I informed the reception of this problem nothing was done. In the corridors of the rooms there is a lot of noise, always a lot of people talking loudly and not respecting the rest of the guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the old style room was large but with dirty carpet, old bathroom and conditioners with filters never cleaned. absolutely not 4 stars!

    Good location, very kind and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.9
    Horrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty. The room we were assigned to was in terrible condition. The curtains falling down, the carpet was dirty and burned in some spots. The "beautiful view" was the wall of the next building. We couldn't open the curtains to get light in because it was nothing behind them. I will not give this hotel not even one star.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    The location was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that in their website they said that the pool was refurbished and ready while when we arrived that wasn’t the case. And it was one of the main reasons I booked that hotel. Also it wasn’t value for money.

    The location was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    Generally good value and location was good just behind glyfada centre but rooms need refurbing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very old much in need of refurb, the lighting in the rooms could be better too. and the pool was closed, the air conditioners were noisy and had to pay for ironing services because they didn’t have irons availible

    Lobby was great...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very helpful and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise!! 3 nights in a row we had multiple families travelling together and the parents clearly got annoyed with the children so popped them in the hallway to play. That’s fine at 3 in the afternoon but not at 11 at night. Even after asking them to go back to their rooms they continued running up and down the hallway yelling and screaming. And the pool was closed. No mention of that when we booked. The last time I stayed somewhere and the pool was closed I was notified and given a reduced rate...

    The staff were very helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Good for children, Near the beach!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old and need to be renew, receptions needs to upgrade to help more, The weather was enough OK to swim in the see, but the swimming pool was closed becouse of weather!!! No free water and slippers in the room.

    Breakfast, location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    It seemed really busy in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seemed really busy in the hotel... but not with guests. Bar staff couldn't be bothered to serve me. Pool was closed for some unknown reason (really bad as it was the main reason I selected the hotel!!). Road and AC were both incredibly noisy.. so sleeping was not good !!! Breakfast was chaos !! You get what you pay for - and I didn't pay very much !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Close to the beach and tram station, easy to reach city...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (4 Guests)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old room, family room has one bedroom and one folding bed in a wardrobe in the hallway with no window and any fresh air. Felling like Harry Potter sleeping in a cupboard under the stairs. Aircondintioning is extremely noisy. Soundproofing is awful, especially in this hallway-bedroom, you listen to everything going on in the corridor. There is no curtain and shower holder in the bath. For 125 euro per night and 4* conditions are very disappointing. On Saturday swimming pool area was closed because of the english exams going on in the conference room. Quite strange idea during holiday season, they dont care about guests interests this way.

    Close to the beach and tram station, easy to reach city center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The public transport is perfect, if you have many time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast and the beach - in this area - is weak. The hotel far from the city center.

    The public transport is perfect, if you have many time... but it's far from the city center - 60 minutes with train. The breakfast is weak. The location is appropriate, if you spend your time in this district (Gryfada). But there are many catering facilities, restaurants, bars, cafes... So, the location is nice from this point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Not coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel around the world all the time and this was one of the most inferior hotels I have stayed . If hotel reception decor was 6out if 10 then the rooms were 2 out of 10, the hotel admin didn’t Think it was actually more appropriate to furnish the rooms in the same manner as the reception , booking.com pictures overly glorify the place , it’s a tiny little hotel squeezed between buildings, really wasn’t worth the money the room was so basic that even a 3rd world country hotel has better facilities - I have never been to a hotel where they didn’t provide a free of charge bottle of water at least one bottle ridiculous, they charge you for water . mosquitoes in the room yet no mosquito net or electric repellent is provided. My shower cubicle was so tiny and the curtain so short that the bathroom would flood after shower then you get your slippers and socks wet, plus can’t see how anyone bigger than size small can fit inside (I am petit and didn’t have enough space to move under shower) . Breakfast was EXACTLY SAME BORING ITEMS every single day - first time seeing such robotic lack of variety like you know EXACTLY same items prepared in exact same way zero variety in any way plus very poor variety only 3 different types of eggs, some cheese and cereal, WORST BREAKFAST I EVER HAD IN ANY HOTEL . There were other small details here and there like card not working every evening etc so overall will never visit again

    It was in a quiet neighbourhood

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Clean and comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was noisy. Moved rooms to the back of the building because the road was constant traffic. Very accommodating staff to achieve this.

    Clean and comfy room. Good breakfast. Superb service from staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice location, the staff are excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Coffee could be better Juices did not taste good the air-condition in some rooms were not good an noisy

    Staff were excellent, especially Mr. George from reception and Ms. Eleni from reservation. I use this hotel for all my travels . You can always count on their professional staff;

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.8
    The location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room is very ordinary as a 3 stars hotel and you hear the voices in the other rooms and even when they are using the water too!!!

    The location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice room but very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In our floor(first floor),many rooms were boy students,it was very noisy and we weren't comfortable and the street noise was very loud.

    I booked renovated room,it was nice and big,The location was good in Glyfada.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dingy and the beds were too soft. The rooms are in need of a total renovation!

    The location was excellent The breakfast was excellent! The exterior looked really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    I would come back to this hotel again.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needs a bit of attention, especially for us big guys. The toilet was a bit too close to the huge sink thus making sitting a bit awkward. The TV is in a very bad spot. It is located on top of the fridge and in between the cupboards thus making it very difficult to view it.

    The service from reception, cleaning staff etc was very good. I liked the fact that our room was away from he main road thus it was quiet and that our balcony was big enough to actually fit two people to sit on.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.7
    Okay.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The foyer is really grand and stylish...exactly what you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The room however, was dismal; very outdated decor; heavily stained carpet; shabby bathroom. A real disappointment.

    Friendly staff and great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Considering the good and the bad this place is average, the price should come down some.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked the room for 2 adults one teenager and an infant, came into to the room with one full bed and I asked for two double beds, bathroom door was squeaky and would get stuck when trying to close it, also baby’s crib was stained with old food, walls were thin could here the neighbors conversation and I’m sure they could here my son crying

    Nice staff, good location , nice view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    The location is good and there are many shops around, the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilty is not good enough compared with similar cost hotel. The bathroom is very narrow and no fan for air exhausting, no coffee refill for the room. Not many options for breakfast.

    The location is good and there are many shops around, the restaurants nearby are good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    Stayed there with my wife for 6 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed there with my wife for 6 days. Definitely not 4*s, I wpuld rate it a 2/3* Hotel, The room and toilet was such a disappointing. We had gone there for our one year anniversary and wished we booked a better hotel somewhere else. The Hotel left like it was short of workers the cleaning time wasn’t consistent and sometimes really late. The was only one person in the reception desk, Who we could never contact from our room and the room phones were never working. Pool at the back was also very small, Breakfast buffet was very basic. We ate the same thing for 6 days. The hotel is a good place to stay if you’re just passing through but definitely is not for any special occasion.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    not a 4 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was really small and hold style. The shower is a shame.

    People working there are friendly and helpful.The place around is cool with lot of restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    2.9
    Prefer to forget this hotel !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise / pictures doesn t show the reality of this hotel !!!

    All pictures on booking are only suites who are only 4 or 5 available. All other rooms are very poor. The hotel is Very noisy. No real apologize. We decided to leave after one night and they decided to invoice the 2 nights !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay very friendly and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing i didnt like.

    The Hotel is located very near to the centre of Gylfada, as far as i am concerned an excellent location to everything, The staff were very helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    The only good thing about this hotel is the location - &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The non-renovated rooms are simply...awful;carpet is disgusting;no insulation either.

    The only good thing about this hotel is the location - & the only grandeur is its lobby & Kinshasa room; breakfast is served until 10h30 am SHARP -they literally turn OFF the lights...the lost Congo it should be called....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning is not regulated in the room. Leaves are not removed from the pool. No ping pong or something like that...

    Good breakfast. Assistance from the staff. Good balcony allowing to sit at the fresh air. The sea is close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff was very nice and keen to help and advise about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you see the new renovated lobby you expect the same on the upper floors and in the rooms. Which wasn‘t the case. Bed was unconfortable.

    Staff was very nice and keen to help and advise about transportation or sightseeing or any other question. Renovated lobby. Location was good - 3min walk to the shopping street and 3min walk to the see side.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    this hotel is saved by its location staff and breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room , carpet in room , bathroom so old, shampoo was not refilled, the ceiling is falling to pieces, needs repainting asap , towels were not replaced , no mini bar not even water in the fridge

    good wifi good breakfast excellent reception staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.6
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the reception and the common spaces are renovated the rooms are outdated with dirty carpets, old furniture and very bad beds from the 1980s.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed something unusual ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just that the child was crying in some room on our floor - but apart from that everything tip top :)

    Very nice hotel, staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed something unusual ;) Big selection for breakfast will meet everyone's taste :D

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    good value for money would happily stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool attendant was very overbearing

    Good value for money, good breakfast, good swimming pool bar and reception area. Room a little bit tired but quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Very good place, nice staff, good Quality/Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like, and it's very easy for the hotel to provide better! Was the quality of the breakfast!! The hotel is supper nice and modern, but breakfast could be much better!! I have to be honest Juices really are not good and coffee as well!! Good food can really help the mood of the guest!! It's very easy to the hotel to improve the quality of the food and drinks for breakfast! It was very disapointing detail!

    The receptionist was super helpful and recommend me a very nice place for lunch! Staff was very warm and always ready to help with a big smile! All was good and I was super happy that I chose Congo Palace cause I was close to book in Goldes sun with all my friends and they all very desapointed with their hotel and they payed more than me!! Thank you very much to all staff! Specially the gentleman who received me on the 15th morning at the reception and helped my with the early check in!! Bravo All Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.3
    Congo palace is a good place to be .but need to be well organised .thanks
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room are too small,the staff are not friendly and taking long to serve ppls especially at the pool bar .we use to find no one at the bar .poor service

    The distance ,it's very near the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff, very accommodating with the baby and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful staff, very accommodating with the baby and our early check out. They provided a boxed breakfast since we couldn't make the hours before check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay there again until i know that their rooms have been renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was absolutely horrible. The carpet was completely ripped apart, there were 2 safes in the room and both were not working, I thought I walked into a twilight zone when I opened the hotel room - it was really not what I was expecting after viewing the pictures and after walking into the lobby.

    The location was great and the lobby looks beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    As you walk into Congo Palace the foyer/reception area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently the whole hotel is slowly getting a refurb we had booked with friends and family that were staying at the same hotel with us, so in our group we had singles, couples and family of 3. All of us got the old outdated and very very tiered rooms our room when you showed the water come up through the drain on the bathroom floor, lighting in the room was terrible, at night you couldn't even see what was in your suitcase. So I guess if your lucky enough to get a renovated room which I wouldn't think are that many of, that's fantastic. But if you get a room like ours or like any of our family & friends don't say you weren't told!! Also the hotel provides kettle with coffee, tea ect..in your room (which I love) but these were not replaced daily when room got cleaned in the morning. And one more thing!! The young lifeguard at the pool is a real jerk "not sure what his name is but he was the one with more shifts I guess as he was mostly there during the day.. he's always telling the kids off for the stupidest things "like playing" splashing water out of the pool, doing bombs in the water, jumping in the water ect.. (and just a note) i have adult children so no I'm not defending my kids.. and yes I have a pool at home and know about being safe around a pool.. but this guy was just a young man that thinks by being a lifeguard he had authority and it really has gotten to his head!!! I don't believe the kids were unsafe or dining unsafe things. They were just being kids having fun in a pool.

    As you walk into Congo Palace the foyer/reception area is beautiful. Staff at the property where friendly, helpful and always polite especially Sotiria at reception she was amazing, everything we asked her she gave us her suggestion, recommendations advice and knowledge around Athens. Pool is a great size & breakfast buffet had variety and was plentiful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the matress were a little hard

    the locality of the congo palace was brilliant with it being right next to Glyfada shops. parking for my car was easy and the pool was great. staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer kept over heating and stopping. Powerpoints loose and not working. Cockroach on our balcony. Someone's leftover body lotion left in bathroom on our first day. Aur conditioning to cold and unable to adjust.

    Swimming pool. Staff very friendly and went out of their way to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Great for Athens Stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Decent pool and close to a beach club, easy to get taxis anywhere into the city. Reception arranged a well priced transfer to Rafina ferry port. Overall happy with the hotel and price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.7
    Staff was amazing , helpful and very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean however bad smell was quite intense. Swimming pool only until 19.00 and the view at the back where my room was located not so nice. Therefore I found it over expensive.

    Staff was amazing , helpful and very friendly. Location also pretty good- very close to the sea and to the center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.2
    First time in Athens, first time at Congo!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It was a bit too cold and the heating system was not properly working. I did not complained about this since I am from Romania and we have -15 degrees, so I am used to that. I also assumed Greece is not really prepared for below zero degrees, however this could be improved as we all can see that the climate is not quite the same as in previous years and it is getting colder and colder in Greece as well, even heavy snowing.

    Everything, the view was the best.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.9
    Twice a year we stay there and we will continue to stay there. Rooms need to be updated .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dark, the faucets were making loud screechy noises, the carpets are awful also it needs the walls on the balcony painted very dirty.

    The staff are very courteous and very helpful and always with a smile. It's in the best location and breakfast is the best.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    Glyfada is a gem outside of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Glyfada is a gem outside of Athens. Although we did not have a renovated room, the hotel was nice and they allowed us to check in early after taking an overnight ferry from Santorini. Breakfast was plentiful and location is close to beach and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location, rooms just acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were old and our A/C was so loud it keep us awake. The Foyer is new, pity the Rooms weren't done up at the same time. The bed was hard.

    Very good location, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    10
    Recommended. Especially for groups of friends or couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool hours are short for summer, especially closing time - its too early as 6pm is the loveliest time in August. Extra hours - late check outs are quite pricey.

    Excellant location, only 20 mins by taxi (euro15) to Athens central. Close to beaches, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location, not so great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not friendly (front desk clerk was almost rude on our arrival). We opted for a double bed but instead got two singles pushed together. The rooms were not particularly nice either.

    The rooms were secure. The location is great, right on the main strip in Glyfada and just a few minutes walk from shops, bars, and beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    was OK for our purposes for our last day in Greece, we want to stay close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    we ask for the family room, we've been told that we've been upgraded to a suite but it was one space with two extra beds for our children in the middle if the room

    location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.8
    Ok for one time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was too expensive for what the hotel was worth. We had an old room in which the aircon didn't even work until we had to get moved Hours later.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.8
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything that I read in previous reviews about the room is true. This kind of room is acceptable only in 2 star hotel..

    Nice staff, sea view, next to the beach, Glyfada area is fool of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    It's better than any 4 star hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only drawback is that no one cannot use the pool after 6.30pm - Would be nice to have a swim in the evening!

    Excellent Location. Excellent Breakfast. Amazingly clean. Hotel smells nice. Friendly Staff. Would definitely visit again!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice Foyer but disappointing interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedrooms rather jaded. Cracks in walls, and chunk of plaster missing in one place. Shower broken - not free standing. Bedrooms need much refurbishing. No safe in bedroom. Toilet brush quite disgusting! WiFi in 10 minute limits in bedroom.

    location convenient for central Glyfada and beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    3.3
    Bad value for money, will not return and not recommend to anybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Our allocated standard room was dirty, smelly and the bed was uncomfortable. There was no central air conditioning but could use the fixed air conditioning unit which is noisy and took us a while before we could figure out why it kept cutting off every hour. We decided to upgrade to an executive room for €50 per day extra. The room was very nice unfortunately it's facing the highway so it was extremely noisy, right through the night. When we moved into the new room, we noticed that there was water dripping down from the ceiling (and we don't mean droplets due to condensation). We decided to go out to let the hotel time to repair the leak but when we returned after 5/6 hours, it was still not done. We had to wait at the lounge for a further hour before we could return to our room. Adding to our misery, we shared the same floor with the Hellas basketball team who do not stop making hell of a racket constantly all through the night. The hotel is about 150m to the beach but you have to cross a very busy road to get there. Even the beach was pretty mediocre compared to the others we saw. In our opinion, and we have stayed in many hotels worldwide, the hotel is definitely not a 4 star. I would rate it a 2

    None, unfortunately

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    4.6
    Dont get what you pay for, luxury foyer unlike rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dirty, not as described on the internet, air conditioning was stuck on 27 deg even though it was hot. Pool stunk of heavy chlorine. Not worth the money and the beauty of the foyer was a false draw of luxury

    Petros was very helpful and did his best to fix things for us. Made our stay accomodating. Moved us to a suite to accomodate. Foyer was glamorous

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    5.4
    Room not like advertised on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (4 Guests)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above, room was outdated and sink did not drain. Maintenance person was rude.

    Everything was great except the room. Said rooms renovated but this is not true. Very old beds, furniture and bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    9.2
    Great place renovated rooms only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms that have not been upgraded are horrible. The front street side can be very loud early morning and late night.

    Great place ONLY IF YOU GET A NEW RENOVATED ROOM, AMAZING. Breakfast was excellent. The pictures you see are the new rooms.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    George in reception was very helpful and supportive and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working properly and it voice was very high

    George in reception was very helpful and supportive and smiling

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Evrybody and Evrything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Evrybody and Evrything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very tired. Carpet tatty. Shower sub-standard. Bathroom door didnt close. toilet stuck

    breakfast good. Pool nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Good locality but noisy in the front bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room at front and renovations in corridors ongoing

    V good male receptionist on last day

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Congo Palace is starting to look dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were rock hard

    Great location, with great access to Athens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.0
    AC very bad not cooling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC very bad not cooling.Beds not comfortable.Furniture very old need to renovate the the rooms in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was not working No lock for toilet door Floor carpet very old

    Location Staff Toilet Bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great.ròom cery comfortable breakfast was good .staff were very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    location, breakfast, hall
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms

    location, breakfast, hall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dark and gloomy and beds not comfortable

    Great location. Close to shops and beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    its just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    from the early morning there was renovation works in swimming pool

    close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired - and rooms could go with better finishing

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: