Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Country Hotel Velani 3 stars

Avdou Pediados, Avdou, 70005, Greece

#1 of 1 hotels in Avdou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 125 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you aren't doing one of the activities like horse riding, it feels a bit strange, not very restful. The 'perfume' of horses is everywhere and there are lots of flies, all things I'd be happy to live with if I were a horsey person, otherwise, not so much... The main problem is that the rooms and the facilities feel way past their best, really fraying at he edges, tired decoration, tiny towels, etc.

    the view, the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled to find it. Do not let google maps take you on the ‘scenic’ route. Come via the town not hills. Unless you have a 4x4. That would have been awesome

    Staff were lovely and the whole hotel had a friendly feel about it. Views were outstanding - we loved sitting out in our garden bit with a drink in the evening just enjoying the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road up to the hill could be in better shape, it made us think that are we really going to a right place and why didn't we rent a jeep ;) Not saying it was necessarily a bad thing but a small surprise :) Some problems with wifi.

    We spent here couple of nights in March. The location on a hillside and the view down to the valley was amazing! Very friendly staff made us feel welcome. It was off-season and we were offered to have a bigger room for the same price (but we stayed in our smaller room cause we thought it was cozier). Loved our little furnished terrace. The pool area looked lovely even tough the weather was a bit too chilly yet to try it. Food served in the beautiful restaurant was excellent, we had lovely dinners and hearty breakfasts. I will definitely recommend this place to friends and come again if/WHEN we return to Crete.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of our room wasn't as stunning as on the photos on the website (but it was perfectly respectable, and included a small sofa). Unless you're there for the horse-riding (which we weren't) and/or only want to stay by the pool, it would be good to have a hire car, as there's relatively little to do within walking distance.

    Lovely, lovely location, with absolutely stunning views. The property was very tastefully designed, with three clusters of four rooms (there are only 12 rooms in total), each with their own terrace or balcony, so there was a real sense of privacy but also space. And the pool, restaurant etc were equally tastefully designed/furnished. Food and wine were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This family run hotel makes you feel welcome and at home right from the start. The food is so delicious, and the breakfast is a lovely way to awaken. Plus the rooms are clean and comfortable with luxury baths.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had at very pleasent stay in this wonderfull place. The hotel was 1. class and run by the freindly couple and a competent staf. The view was stunning and the place was very peacefull. The place had so many fine details made with love by the host. I give it my best recomendations

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't efficient. The mattress was too hard (for our taste). We would have liked if there was coffee and tea in the room.at least for the first day. There was an electric kettle.

    Quiet, secluded, picturesque.Gave a feeling of peacefulness. Pool very clean. Bathroom roomy with tub. Breakfast was superb. Dinner at the restaurant was very good.Nicholas worked very hard and gave great service. Friendly,helpful and humorous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with garden
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road was not entirely paved

    The serenity of the mountains on Crete. The greek garden outside the room with blooming flowers. Their infinite pool, with great mountain views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two nights in Country Hotel Velani, and it was a perfect place to begin our holiday in Crete! The location was great with the beautiful view and relaxed atmosphere. Food was fresh and tasty and service was always friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to relax away from the touristic areas!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only single duvets.

    The owners take hospitality to a high level.The restaurant offers amazing food with quality local ingredients. Breakfast is a must!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only got given fruit one breakfast time in four. Otherwise breakfast was fine.

    We loved the peace and quiet of the hotel and the veiws from our patio. And the wonderful home cooked food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms would deserve a bit more lovelynes in furnishing, design and atmosphere. very pragmatic.

    location is stunning! nice views over the valley. good distance to golf course. nice hiking area. the food is nice and from good quality, the beers chill, the wines smooth. good to charge your batteries for a mountain trip.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes time till the food is ready which is a little bit challenging for the little childrens

    Very peacefull. Beautyfull view.very clean rooms.the food was delicious. Wonderfull horse riding lessons and very nice owners

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice place except that it is difficult to get there if you have no car. We are happy to live there 3 nights.The only pity is that we forgot our daughter's small duvet when we left the place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had perfect three days at this family run country hotel in the cretan hills. Sabine and here partner were very relaxed and friendly. The landscaping is great, so that there's always some shade, the views are amazing, we enjoyed the pool and the riding lessons and great cooking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When windy the smell from the stables came up to the restaurant. Also, the 2km of rocky road on the way up or down to the hotel is challenging. Dust is rising and driving gets tricky. There sould be a shower in the pool area too.

    The view was great,nice gardens, very peacefull place. Our room was spacious and clean, breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    some smell is coming from the water system of the bathroom.. we have to close the doors when sleeping.

    The place is perfect, silent.. the dinner and all services are delicious. The room is quiet. The place is fantastic.. We were very much satisfied.. thank you..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During our stay there was bulding/road works in the hotel area. Really annoing and noisy but the worst thing was absolutely no reaction from menagement. No apology or anything like that. When we booked this hotel we were counting on silent and relaxing atmosphere, but it was quite difficult. No water in the childrens pool - we didn't care that much, but it shouldn't be written in hotel description Breakfast was really basic Dont count on those fancy soap from the pictures. You can buy them in reception if you want :) Menagement should maybe consider buying few bins and putting them around pool area. Guests mus carry all garbage to the rooms.

    Very good food in the restaurant - served all day Views are absolutely amazing Nice pool Rooms are clean and really good sized wi-fi in all rooms Horse riding for those who are interested I would reccommend this hotel, but I hope it runs a little bit smoother in high season

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful location with welcoming hosts.A very relaxing place and lovely pool, all well maintained.Altogether a great place to chill out and horse riding at the stables if you are inclined.Good evening menu, wood fired oven on Sundays - delicious food

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..

    Area food people

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful. Unique setting. Charming staff. Great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning views, wonderful food and amazing service and staff! Just paradise!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was incredible and the staf very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel with beautiful views. The room could get a bit warm at night. Niko was an amazing host! Food was delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Beautiful landscape around the property - Facilities available

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great and excellent staff. Also food in restaurant is recommended 100%.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hugely helpful without being imposed. Had several needs that I asked them for before I came and they more than fulfilled them Beautiful position

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault, except a few horrible guests

    Great food, comfortable room, great views from the room, just so peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con a little faulty

    Hosts were lovely, breakfasts yummy with a view to die for - so peaceful & tranquil - we will be back!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was amazing. The staff were friendly and so helpful, the situation was spectactular.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location superb food. The view from this place are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the location was breathtaking, is is a gem of a place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My horseriding ability :o)

    Fanstastic location, great staff, super horseriding, wonderful food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place and lovely family couple who run the place. Food amazing. Totally relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is absolutely beautiful and the food is delicious. Here you can relax away from the tourism.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel with delicious food and fantastic views. Nice horse riding tour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and warm hospitality Outstanding view Amazing pool Excellent food

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything.

    Wonderful hotel. Brilliant location. Stunning nature. Delicious traditional Greek food. Top class stables. Professional horse riding lessons. Our second visit to Crete and our second stay in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stumbled across this place on the last night of our week in Crete - WISH we had been able to stay longer. It's idyllic. Beautiful view, good food, nice room. Such a great place to go to escape the tourist hordes partying down at the beach resorts. Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To get there it takes about 1.5 km on a rough / unpaved road although well manageable with any car.

    very nice and quiet location with nice view on the lake and the surrounding mountains. Very friendly owners. Very good food and wine for reasonable / fair prices.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had problems with our bathroom; one day no hot water in the bath/shower and the next day a flood caused by a blocked drain that should have been regularly maintained. Also building work going on all the time, even on a Sunday. Once this has finished it will be quieter.

    Beautiful location and excellent food at dinner. And, above all, the peace and tranquility of the location in general.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road up to hotel is a challenge especially if you arrive after dark. Perhaps guests should be alerted to poor road surface especially if you are in a smallish hire car.

    The location and views are simply outstanding. The food was excellent Manolis and Sabine are perfect hosts and their two children are delightful

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ...to leave this place :(

    We really appreciate Manolis and Sabine kindness, the hotel itself, the beautiful landscape, the animals...and the tasty dishes ;)

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great view from the rooms, pool and restaurant; country atmosphere; terrific food. Velani operates a riding stable and the scent of horses adds to the genuine country atmosphere. Owner/operator very cordial and informative.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad, but a wall mirror in the main part of our room would have been nice.

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, quiet & spacious with a superb all round view. The food was delicious and there was plenty to chose from. The pool was fabulous!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from everywhere was awesome. The hotel is built into the side of a mountain, and you can see the valley stretched out below you. Manolis and Sabine are awesome hosts. Very welcoming and they treat you like family. It is very quiet and the rooms are spacious and clean. The beds aren't fancy but are adequate. We slept well while staying here.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Place was really amazing, dveryine there very helpfull. I totally recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely place, great views, nice people (and horses), super food... we will be back

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location, great restaurant, good pool, nice people, horse riding

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: