Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Creta Hotel

Sarolidi street, Agios Nikolaos, 72100, Greece

#25 of 71 hotels in Agios Nikolaos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air cond in all room so some parts hot but so spacious that’s a small issue

    Love the location - close to town & the beach! but far enough to not be noisy!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have mobility issues you might find the hill difficult.

    It’s really well located about half way between the beach and the harbour on a quiet street but with a view of the sea. The women who run the place are very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding parking was not too much of a problem as long as you are prepared to walk a few blocks.

    Little apartment with cookplate, microwave, fridge and balcony. Staff were great. 10mins walk to the main centre, and easy drive to nearby towns for a look.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos predominantly shown on booking.con only represent a small percentage of the available rooms, particularly with regards to the balcony and the general size of the room. It's very misleading and they should be clearly labelled with the room types.

    The staff are always smiling and happy to help - the hotel is nice and clean, but they're definitely the best thing about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We reserved "Apartment for 2 adults" It was a very dark room, level with back street, with smell of moisture. I recommend you to ask which room (and floor) you will get before you make reservation. Because rooms are different like night and day in this hotel. I added the pictures. Parking is a problem. One evening there wasn't hot water. Fridge wasn't cooling enough, it wasn't capable of making ice. There were bugs in the room. There's an inventory list in the room with their prices (What's the point?)

    Large Room. Silent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism but unless you are in a taxi or know the exact location there is a 150m walk up hill from the free car park.

    Friendly staff, spotlessly clean well equipt apartment. Nice quiet location overlooking sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wake up call service. No exhaust fan in bathroom.

    Central location. Staff extremely attentive and helpful. Nothing too difficult. Very very clean rooms. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning ladies are making a lot of noise during their morning shift.

    Excellent location, everything is within walking distance. Nice clean room. We arrived late at night (after 1:00 am) and there was a receptionist that welcomed us. Overall is a great value for money accommodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    amazing property! hotel staff is nice and helpful, rooms are clean and spacious. Amazing view from balcony and bedroom windows right on the sea! Location is great - very quite and almost hidden, but in fact is 5 min away from the very center and also there are several nice small beaches with crystal clear water in 5-30 min of walking, see fee pics. Some are with sun beds and umbrellas and bigger, and some are small hidden gems:)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wonder where all cheap ugly furnitures from the 80.s went? Look no further. Terrible lighting, furnitures are horrible, that only Germans can like. no decorations nothing on the walls. Wifi of and on, Our room had an annoying echo. I can stand most of it if it wasnt for the ugly stains.in madrasses and sofas.makes it not worth the already cheap price.

    Location is nice. Seaview at some rooms, staff is friendly. Kitchenette is good looking and it works, ok equipment.located on a hill

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Not the hotel's fault but because I found no reference on Booking.com or Tripadviser to the hotel's position high up, we were totally unprepared for its inaccessability for someone like myself with mobility issues. We've been to Aghios before but when you're viewing and choosing a hotel based on a proximity location, unless someone flags up the issue of steepness you're not aware so hope this will help inform choices.

    The staff were outstanding. Huge thanks to Bernadette and Suzanna who were always smiling and happy to chat and rescued us with our luggage when we were stranded on the lower road and faced with 65 steps to negotiate and me with a hip that needs replacing!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We didn't like that the king size bad is actually 2 mattresses. The kitchen has a lack of basic things like salt paper or oil. We had to by it on our own.

    Very nice hostess, help us to look for an opening hours of some sights on their personal computer. Also they were very smiling and nice to us among all our visit. The room was clean and also the cleaning lady washed our dishes and made our bad and gave clean towels daily.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Bernadette. Room and bathroom large with separate kitchen area. All very clean. Fantastic view from balcony. Great value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There isn't anything to not like.

    We liked everything. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. We had a lovely private balcony with a view of the sea - in fact you could lay in bed and still see the sea! The owner and the staff were really nice and helpful whenever we asked for anything. You are close to a beach and restaurants and bars, but don't get any noise as you are just a couple of minutes walk off the coast road. Its perfectly situated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    Although we only stayed two nights everyone from owner to all staff couldn't have been more helpful. The breakfast was very good and it was possible to ask for different options for wife a vegetarian.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The location was brilliant, close to all amenities in Ag Nic. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all perfect

    Everything and the staff were perfect so helpful couldnt do enough

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from fridge

    Great staff, nice quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have some teabags in the room.

    Great hotel in a lovely location! Amazing view and the staff was lovely.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tout était plus que conforme à notre attente On aime Bernadette !!! We will be back...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking

    friendlyness of the staff and owner, location superb

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really clean, bed comfy and balcony was sheltered enough so even on a breezy evening you could sit out and star gaze!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Wonderful view over the sea from our very large balcony

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff knowledgeable & helpful with everything. Apt spotless & well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfer from the airport took forever but that is not the hotel's fault!

    Very friendly staff and excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Beautiful apartment and location. Sea view apartment excellent also very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy access. Not suitable for older people or people with disability problems or knee problems

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility was a little dated but still had everything we needed.

    Fantastic location and great views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location- 5 min walk away to everything you could possibly want. Amazing staff, super friendly and always available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes the shower hot water needs 10 minutes to become hot

    Position is good, just a couple of minutes to be in the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio For 2 People With Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic views from our Balcony, comfy bed and compact kitchenette

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficulty in finding a parking spot close to the hotel.

    We loved the huge patio, the good size rooms, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Excellent hotel in a prime location, very modern, clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment for 2 People with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing views from the front rooms. Pay extra for this memory.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old style - could use a refurb

    good location friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The fridge was rather noisy at night time but we got used to it. The kiddie's fun fair at the harbour was really loud in the early evenings but it closed by 10.30pm.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Great location, very convenient for beach and shops yet still really quiet at night. It was great having a kitchenette. The view was amazing from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant enough hotel but disappointing view. The advertising implied brilliant ocean views. I requested views and would not have booked if I knew that the apartment was at road level with virtually no view.

    The apartment was roomy and within walking distance of Ag Nick. Interesting town to visit - spectacular double port.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly welcome from Bernadette, felt relaxed right away. The room was more like an apartment with a spacious balcony with the most beautiful view of the sea and the cruise ships. The rooms were so clean, they clearly work hard to keep up the standard. It was a quiet area but only a short walk to the beach or into town. We wail be back for sure!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, with the city centre just down the stairs (in the beautiful Agios Nikolaos); very nice staff; great price for a easy-going, clean and comfortable room!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Absolutely no complaints about this hotel

    Super clean. Gorgeous location. Quiet but near beaches/bars/restaurants. Beautiful views. Friendly staff. 10/10

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 3 night and each one of them we had troubles with the hot water of the shower. The first two evenings we had to ask for hot water and once prompted it arrived. The third night we asked before entering the room if everything was fine and finally gave up and did a warm/cold shower. It's a shame because everything else was fine!

    The owner of the hotel was lovely and cozy

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms were extremely outdated. And the hotel smelled a little like smoke. While not uncommon in Greece, it was still a deterrent. The wall colors were atrocious. The place very likely hasn't been updated since the 80's

    Free wifi was great! The rooms and balcony were huge!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position was super. The owner and staff were so helpful and friendly. The view of the sunrise from our balcony was breath taking. The ascent to the Hotel is quite steep

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pokey, and noise from other guests coming home late at night woke us. No view, which was unfortunate.

    The owner is very helpful. The kind of person that makes a difference.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of Hotel Creta at Agios Nikolaos was great with a two minute walk down the stairs to a lovely clear beach surrounded by lots of good taverna'S. The family and staff at Hotel Creta were very friendly and spoke english which was great for my wife and I from New Zealand. The owner even dropped the two of us and our suitcases down to the bus station at 6:30am on the morning when we left Agios Nikolaos to catch the ferry from Heraklion to Santorini. There were lots of nice shops and places to eat within 5 to 10 minutes walk around the port area to the centre of Agios Nicholas one restaurant we would recommend is Ble KATSAROLAKIA @ 8 Akti losif Koundouroa St You catch a lift up two floors from the street and the balcony overlooks the port and lake area, the food is delicious served by friendly staff and doesn't cost a fortune. We ate there twice during our week in Agios Nikolaos tOur lamb, chicken and pork meals were accompanied with a very nice house red wine and follwed up with complimentary Raki.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Water took a while to run hot, otherwise no complaints

    Loved the fold-out ironing board, balcony was good for drying clothes. Good selection of secondhand books, location very central, between beach & harbour, all kitchen facilities, having elevator was good!

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It was March and was quite cold weather and although there was a heater in the air conditioning unit, we were quite chilly and needed the extra blankets at night. (We're spoilt with central heating in the UK!)

    Bernadette and Michalis were such fabulous and friendly people. They were so considerate towards us. Parking was never a problem because they always saved us a space right outside! Very clean room. Huge balcony - room 304. Towels, soap & handwash, teatowels, extra blankets, hairdryer, electric kettle, microwave, grill and even lemon / orange squeezer provided as well as all the usual basic kitchenette equipment. Very good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great view - 3rd floor

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely host always with a smile. Fantastic location overlooking harbour area.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

    Staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic central position and staff ready to over service your every need. Huge apartment. Excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice and helpfull staff. Short way to the beach. Nice wiev. Very little noice from the streets.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location, nice staff. Large room with large balcony with great sea view.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Kind and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exactly what we wanted from a hotel to stay one night in Heraklion

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: