Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crystal City Hotel 3 stars

Achilleos 4 (Karaiskaki Sq.), Athens, 10437, Greece

#189 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 950 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area too noisy And from ventilation at the bathroom it was falling the dust

    Good breakfast Very good view from the roof garden And very good and friendly service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location and friendly staff in sight of the acropolis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room decor dated. Menu at rooftop restaurant limited for choice. Breakfast choices ok, but cooked breakfast bit dried up once under heat lamps for a bit.

    Good location, near metro and a hop on/hop off bus stops. Can see the Acropolis rom the rooftop bar/restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast included in price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean, reasonable hotel with parking next to the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area around the hotel is not very attractive and there are not too many restaurants close by.

    Clean and Reasonable size room, breakfast was good, had underground parking (very tricky on your own, very narrow, small cars only), close to metro, 24 hour bakery shop next door. Staff is friendly and helpful. Aircon and Wifi work well. Soundproofing of the room works well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Bed was very comfortable and the coffee shop next shop door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable and the coffee shop next shop door was amazing as it was open 24 hours. It also has the hop on hop off bus right around the corner which made touring so easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One star is too much for this Hotel . *first of all when we arrived it took from them half an hour to find the booking in their system . *2 the elevator was not working and our room was on the 6th floor . *3 when we reached the room , we opened the door and we found out that the room was already taken and someone was sleeping there and was shocked. 4* we called the reception we told them about the huge mistake , he said come down to change the room (we were in the 6th floor ) we didn’t accept to go down , we asked him to come up to us , we waited , no one showed up , then we had to go down again . 5* I booked and paid for a room with balcony, they said sorry we don’t have any . But they said they give us a room with “window” instead of balcony. How rude was that . Plus when we arrived , the reception guy didnt tell us any information, and when we asked he answered shortly. I don’t recommend this hotel to any one , it looks good from outside only .I will never ever repeat staying there ever .�����

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    3.3
    Don't believe what you book will eventuate. Stay in Plaka.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We paid for a double bed for a 3-night stay and were given two singles. After we entered our room, I went back to reception to ascertain where our room with the double bed was. "None available" I was told. "I paid for a double"..."Sorry none available". Reception staff were not very good. Also, we booked through Booking and entered the suburb Plaka into the search and this hotel came up in the results. It is not in Plaka, it is km's away. So I am annoyed with both Bookings.com and the hotel for misleading behaviour and for having been charged for something that was not delivered (a double bed room).

    Bar and restaurant staff were very helpful. Food was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Loved the breakfast and location, the room was okay for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were put in smelt like cigarettes. We asked to be moved to a different room which they accommodated however the shower was faulty in the second room.

    The breakfast was excellent and had plenty of variety. The location was also excellent, very easy to find your way to the sites and markets!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard The area of hotel is quite run down and poor Lifts are tiny

    Good value for money So close to metro Room was clean Lovely rooftop bar and restaurant this is the hotels saving grace Overall a good hotel at the price and I would definitely recommend for shorter stays

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no kettle in the room All pillows were very soft

    Roof garden has an amazing view. Good breakfast. Polite staff (reception, breakfast room, cleaning maids)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Returned from the islands for one night stay to see Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pickpockets on the metro!

    Returned from the islands for one night stay to see Athens. Located perfectly for metro to Acropolis and Airport. Best part of the stay was the rooftop restaurant; great sunset and views of the Acropolis. Also noted were the extremely friendly staff who could not do enough to ensure the stay/meal were as good as it could be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Will definitely come back to this hotel every time I stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything!

    Crystal city hotel is very well situated, the surroundings are a bit noisy but the windows are very well sound-proofed so there is virtually no noise. Beds are super comfy, wifi is very quick, breakfast is excellent. The food is very good, the rooftop terrace has got amazing views of the Acropolis (if you're lucky enough your room also has the Acropolis in sight).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.0
    I'd stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not so wonderful -- coffee pretty poor.

    Friendly place, roof garden with bar and view of Acropolis. Close to Metro though not so good for walking to main sites. Actually had a bath -- good for soaking touristed-out feet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.0
    Rooms and washroom were way too small nothing as they way it looked like in the pictures. Have learn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and washroom were way too small nothing as they way it looked like in the pictures. Have learned that we must read each and every detail about the room.

    Staff was good. And location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    the room is uncomfortable to saty. and not worth to 120euro/night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room is small which not worth to 120 euro per night, and I found hotel quote to local is 80 euro per night. I think that price is more or less right. the shower room, no matter how you be careful, the bath room is all wet after shower.

    location is great, very convenient, close to metro station. the roof garden have excellent view to see the acropolis, but food choice is relative less. and food quality is inconsistent. same dishes, one day is good, the other day is over cooked, became very dry. but the waiter and waitress is very friendly. front desk on duty person very helpful for my passport be stolen at acropolis case.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall a pleasant base from which to explore Athens. Be careful around Omonia Sq.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a disappointing buffet and the croissants low quality - the staff in the breakfast room were a tad sullen and unwelcoming.

    The reception and roof bar staff were friendly and helpful - very approachable and amenable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.0
    Stayed many times and will continue to do so in the future as this is an excellent budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large numbers of foreign people arriving blocking lifts and entrance hall

    Ability to get into room without delay and minimum of fuss to check in with friendly staff. Good breakfast. Nearness to metro. Nice clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    It was OK, but could have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were many things which could have been better: the terrace on the roof, which was in all promotion photos, was not open until the 1st of May. Would have been nice to know and make a choice based on that. At breakfast they offer instant coffee, which is not my favourite, and the good one downstairs is overpriced. I have not seen such a messy bill and complicated invoice in a very long time. On top of the fact that staff found it difficult to incorporate hotel tax into the same accommodation bill, the bank line for the credit cards was not good, and I ended up paying for myself and my colleague (my card was miraculously accepted on a second try). The trickiest thing is the location. Although nothing happened to us, our local colleague advised us to be careful, not walk around in the dark. All in all this is not the most affluent area of Athens, thus one should exercise reasonable precaution.

    The best thing was the weather- a lot of sun (which has nothing to do with the hotel). The hotel was OK, the room was very clean and some renovation happened recently, it seemed. Our room had a very small balcony and a view of an Acropolis in the distance. The staff friendly, but not necessarily very efficient. The breakfast spread was good. The hotel is conveniently located very close to the metro station, which allows you to move around easily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at an excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at an excellent hotel. The facilities were of a really high standard, and he staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.1
    Not the best, but good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more variety. I mean it is the same breakfast everyday, and it is mostly ham and some people can't eat ham.

    The staff was friendly, and the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    4.6
    Position near metro stop - the rate of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bath too little, sometimes lack of water for shower, lift too small, many school groups, breakfast no high quality (orange juice mixed with a lot of water!)

    Position near metro stop - the rate of the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Crystal City Athens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms were very warm and I could not get air conditioning to work so had the windows open but this is noisy as Athens never sleeps.

    Good location close to the heart of Athens, breakfast served in a purpose made area on the 1st floor with a bar and food area on the ground floor. All staff very friendly and willing to help with any requests. basic accommodation at a basic price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Good for Value. Friendly staff and close to sights!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be a little bit more modernised.

    The staff were excellent. Friendly and very professional. Felt the true Greek friendly nature from them. The proximity to the sights. The rooms were spotless

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flow of hot water in the bathroom wasn't stable causing water temperature variations. Not something serious but definitely something the hotel should take care of

    Nice and clean good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small.

    The location of the hotel was very nice. There is a metro station near the hotel (100 m.) The staff were very friendly and heldpful. They provide you the free cith map which is free. There is a Bread Factory near the hotel and they sell fresh bread ,cakes and desserts. The breakfast at the hotel was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is just located near the metro station (100...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room for three was a bit small.

    The hotel is just located near the metro station (100 metres) and bread factory which serves delicious cakes, desserts and coffees. The breakfast at the hotel was good. the staff were very helpful and friendly. you can walk to Monastraki square from the hotel (1.4 km) The Omonia square is 600 meters away from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    With promotion price, it is ok. Otherwise, the hotel is overpriced due to the noises.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    However, it is very much noise during the nights. I could not fall in sleep as many motocylces and cars pass around the hotel. Moreover, the parking lots are quite narrow.

    The location is perfect, very close to the metro. The staffs are nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovey hotel convenient to the main bus station in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was very small if you have more than hand luggage

    The beds and pillows were very comfy. The room was warm but there was also a window that opened to let air in. We were only there for one night as we were traveling to another Greek Island.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Excellent Business class hotel next to the underground...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Business class hotel next to the underground station and in the very centre of Athens near the national roads, train and buss station. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.0
    Good for only 2 days...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom... the water flow is low and temperature is not hot enough .. suddenly it start be cold No place to put personal stuff and there is not bath there was only shower ... and noise from refresh air system in bathroom

    Good view from room bed is good but the blanket without cover the room is clean and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.8
    Disgusting
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very dirty only nice place in the hotel was the lobby. After lobby started to be a different hotel. Beds floor and sheets had hairs possibly from previous visitors. Suspicious stains on the bed furniture. Rooms are smaller than it looks in photo. A lot sounds from the street. Dirty toilet with smell. Shower strange difficult to use, probably that's why there is no photos of showers in booking. Deep small shower about 50cm with 40cm. No possible to sit and very difficult to stay. Problems with temperature of water. Becoming all the time colder or hoter. You must all the time adjust the temperature. Poor breakfast, chair for baby was never cleaned after they buy it. We had to clean it ourshelves to use it.

    Lobby was a nice place to stay and bakery next to hotel.Everything was very dirty

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Really good trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get a room at the front there is a fair amount of traffic noise. Also, I didn't trust the lift but that's probably more of a personal thing.

    Staff, room, beds and rooftop bar all good. Location pretty good too, right on metro route and not too far to walk to most things.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.8
    The subway is in 3 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The subway is in 3 min. walking, and in very few stations you can reach the most important attractions. Also you can go to the airport connecting subway-train. Very good breakfast, rooms where small but comfortable some have excellent view of the Acropolis, excellent restaurant on the top (with great view of the Acropolis!) open till very late. There is a cafe also in the hotel. Several companies of Hop-on Hop-off buses stop right on the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    YOU GOT WHAT YOU PAID FOR. THE POSITION WAS CLOSE TO RAIL STN. AND HOP ON BUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    JUST THE SIZE OF THE LIFT

    THE LIFT WAS VERY BASIC ABOUT 1MTR. X 1MTR. STAFF WERE VERY FRIENDLY A/C HAD A MIND OF ITS OWN THE LOBBY WAS GOOD WITH IT'S COFFEE SHOP . GOOD FOR ASHORT STAY . BREAKFAST HAD A FAIR SELECTION

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Fine for the money, good for transport metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room by the lift so not fabulous. The street is noisy all night. It was adequate and the breakfast was OK too.

    It was fine for a one night stay before or after the airport. The roof garden is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.8
    I liked the old guy from the reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like that I booked a trip from the brochure that they have on the desk, and I got a different trip (cheaper) from other company. When I asked the woman from the reception why she did that, of course she started to talk with the other receptionist in greek and of course I was the crazy one. For her, SUNSET at CAPE SOUNIO was the same as DAY at CAPE SOUNIO (although in the brochure you can see clearly that are different trips). After few times that I was keep asking for my money back (because she charged me for the trip)...I got them. It was not about the money at all, it was just about my TIME and how she thought that I wouldnt notice a difference between the trip, money and companies. She didn't even apologize!

    I liked the old guy from the reception. He was warm, empathetic and knew how to listen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.8
    The hotel is next to a 24 hour bakery which was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress in the restaurant was horrible. She was very rude and unprofessional.

    The hotel is next to a 24 hour bakery which was awesome. It is also within 1 block of the train.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Great breakfast, comfortable hotel, best for short stays due to area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location felt a bit dodgy... okay in the day. Only stayed one night and didn't have time to walk around at night so can't say it was actually unsafe but it did look a bit dodgy.

    Good breakfast. Quiet room on the back side of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall, well situated for metro, bus tours of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of bathroom shelving, lack of closet space, no mini bar, only empty fridge, despite description. Lift size suitable for two thin guests. Disappointing view from room, description stated views of the Acropolis. Actual view, another hotel.

    Rooftop bar & restaurant, excellent quality of food, generous portions and excellent service from our waiter, Fotis!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    As we have stayed here many times we must like the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed not particularly comfortable.

    The ability to sit outside with a drink although the traffic is rather noisy. Staff very helpful with minimum of fuss checking in. Breakfast box provided if leaving before breakfast. Location central for Athens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was located just one kilometer from the main walkways etc. But one very dangerous looking earia. We had to always cab or uber for 3 to 5 euro.

    Great staff. Clean and roof bar ( not very happening)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two twin beds were pushed together as opposed to one full bed. Mattress was ok but not great. A wall phone was outside the room & every time it rang I could hear it in my room & it rang frequently in the mornings for the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable for a one night stay, wished I had known more of the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off the beaten track.

    A very comfortable place to stay, not much around the area to see need more information available a head of time. bakery next door open 24hours . Cakes to die for. Need to know where lift is at the metro to get down with luggage.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great value for money. Rooftop bar is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Great hotel, food was lovely. Staff were really helpful to me with directions etc. Rooftop bar has an unbelievable view. Bar staff up there were great as well. Barman gave me his honest opinions about what to do in Athens etc. Can't fault it. Rooms were clean and easy to sleep in.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    elevators were very small when you take a shower , water pressure nonstable becom hot and cold and it doesn't have shower stand

    location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was no way recommended for 3 people (no space to move), the street noise was quite annoying, the mattresses were really hard, there was not any real attention during breakfast, the cleaning was just superficial. Etc...

    Roof garden staff were doing the exemption. The food we had at the restaurant there was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.2
    Very uncomfortable and unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 10pm only to learn that our room had been given away and that we had to move to another sister hotel. I said that we then want a free transfer to the airport for the inconvenience. After many phone calls and waiting they suddenly had a room for us again. A horrible, dingy and noisy room with an incredibly uncomfortable bed. We received a welcome drink at the downstairs bar. As we got it, the bar closed and we had nowhere to sit. We asked if we could have our drink at the upstairs bar. They said we could. As we got there, they chased us away and said we are not allowed. Even though we were guests of the hotel and booked well in advance, we had no room, got treated badly and was very uncomfortable.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Not amazing, apart from the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After staying two doors down at The Stanley for the same price, it was obvious this isn't in the same league. (We had to shift due to an unexpected extra day in Athens). Dated and tired, two single beds pushed together instead of a double. An okay room but just not good value.

    Best breakfast we had in Greece. Good location near metro and hop-on/off bus tour stop. Fabulous cafe/restaurant by reception - again some of the best food we had.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water boiler in the room, the sky bar had a very nice view and the menue was quite ok (even though a bit pricy) but not too much real Greek food, would be nice to have a more authentic experience

    Great location, the metro station is around the corner, walking distance to main sights, great and attentive staff, nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Affordable room near Metaxourgeio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had a mildew odor, which could be remedied slightly by turning on the A/C. It was also a tight squeeze for three travelers - the rollaway bed took up all the additional space, and we had very little room for our bags. The neighborhood is not particularly safe, so I would definitely recommend taking the metro instead of walking, despite being very close to Plaka/Monastiraki.

    Affordable last-minute availability near a hotel we had reserved for the following night. The property is conveniently located next to the Metaxourgeio metro station. The A/C worked well, and the free continental breakfast was decent, with particularly delicious fresh fruit during the summer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy as on the main road

    Great hotel good value for money booked through booking.Com and got a great deal. Excellent breakfast and fantastic roof garden bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Great location and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was almost impossible. One way down and one way up. The bed's were extremely hard. Some kind of pad on top of it would have made it much more comfortable.

    The room was comfortable, and ample size for a family of 4. Also LOVED the fact the Bread Factory was right next door, and the location was perfect to get around Athens via METRO.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    - acropolis view from room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no boiler at room

    - acropolis view from room - nice roof restaurant with amazing view at night - "Bread Factory" right beside the hotel with wide bakery and dessert varieties and affordable prices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Good for short visits in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds and pillows are not that comfortable, and the bathroom can get quite messy as there are no shower door/curtains and no overhead shower. The elevators are small and old, quite understandable for an old building, and they failed several times in our short stay. The hotel claims great view of the Acropolis and Parthenon, which is true, but only from certain locations on their roof garden area, perhaps from some rooms too.

    The hotel is in a good location in Athens, so getting to the main landmarks via metro or the tourists buss is quite easy and fast. We would recommend this hotel for short visits in Athens.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    Value for money stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Set next to a large urban square this is a clean but somewhat dated modern hotel. Not the best location for eating etc but very easy metro access for visiting the sights and getting out in the evening. Our room had a view of the Acropolis - there are even better and fantastic veiws on the top floor in the bar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.8
    few days in Athens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the area where the hotel is is very bad...it doesn't feel safe to have a walk around the hotel in the evening. the mattress on the bed was terribly hard....it was like sleeping on wood. the room was small, furniture very old, there was a minibar but it was empty and the fridge was making an annoying noise all the time. the bathroom was clean-ish but very old. Overall I did not like it.

    average breakfast...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    5.0
    Find somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Equipment should be improved. The shower door can't close properly. The hair dryer was broken. The worse part is the night shift staff. Terrible service. Extra pillow, no way. Give u a working hair dryer, no way. We even fix the shower door by ourself, not even wanna ask. We found another hotel 3 minutes away by walk, the price is just half. So looking for somewhere else if you have choose.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    close to the metro station metaxourgio red line, easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hairdryer not working, lift so small only 2 person with luggage,

    close to the metro station metaxourgio red line, easy access from airport to hotel, cheap and delicious food in restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not that rich. No olive, feta cheese for breakfast. Not too much veggies. The roof restaurant was closed. At reservation it said that no prepayment but actually there was. We had to pay the whole amount before our travel.

    Great location, close to the metro station. Nice, friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Close to the metro station, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room needs an overhaul and the shower water temperature is like a roller coaster, sometimes hot, sometimes cold. In the last night, the fourth, the wi-fi internet connection was down in the room, but still up in the hall on the reception floor. The hotel charges the full amount of the booking before check-in.

    The breakfast was good with a mix of hot and cold snacks, they add a new dish every day. The hotel is close to the metro station (ΣΤ.ΜΕΤΑΞΟΥΡΓΕΙΟΥ), less than 100 metres (according to Google Maps). The bathroom is renovated, the room is cleaned daily and they gave toiletries every day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic experience staying in this hotel, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some guests smoked in public area...

    That was a fantastic trip for me to stay here. Staff is extremely nice. I ate dinner in the lobby one day and surprisingly the staff treated me. That was too kind and the food was good, although I had no idea why... Breakfast was also good, it provided a variety of foods. Location is very convenient, only 100 meters from hotel to metro station. If I travel Athens again, I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.2
    No internet available for the entire stay, although I asked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet available for the entire stay, although I asked the receptionist insistently to solve the issue. I choose the hotel for wi-fi access and location, but I have to pay extra euros to have my own data activated, since they were not able to solve the issue with their wi-fi. Also, the room was dark and with an unpleasant view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.3
    Helpful staff but old rooms furniture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - safety box not operational which were one of the reason why i booked this hotel - old and dirty furniture, bed side table and other furniture need some paints...

    -early check in approved by the staff as well as the breakfast upon arrival -centrally located few steps away from metro.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.3
    There are a few better hotels for the price you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac didn't work only the heat. Shower kept changing between extreme hot and extreme cold without touching anything. Beds weren't too comfortable. Wifi stopped working the last 2 Days.

    Loved the location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    6.3
    The location
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a family of 4 and they added two beds in a tinny room. We couldnt move. The brekfast was poor because they didnt have enough people

    The location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    I was very content and I would come again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be a bit more comfortable.

    The breakfast was exellent, you can have what you like from warm bacon and eggs until sweet things, yoghurt with different selfmade greek similar from marmelades and so on.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    7.1
    I had an excellent night at the Crystal City Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overnight front desk guy was very rude and condescending.

    I had an excellent night at the Crystal City Hotel. It was a great value for the price. The location was seconds away from a metro station and I found the neighborhood ideal for my partner and friends.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located about 200 meters from metro station; very convenient for excursions in city. Friendly and helpful personnel, clean and tidy room. In the plus was the fact I got a quiet room as it was a business trip. I had to leave before the time of the breakfast and thus I did not try it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    8.8
    Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning lady was a delight - friendly accomodating even though we couldn't converse in the same language. The older male concierge could not have been more helpful with any request.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy from the busy boulevard outside, but were too tired from our trips to disturb us. Also, although we've asked for a double-bed room with view to Accropolis and they confirmed by email to give us this type of room,received a room with 2 singled beds united and one more small bed for a child without the view to Accropolis.

    It was clean, excelent location near the metro station, the breakfast was good, everything fresh and well balanced. Also, nice personnel, our greeting to the Garden Bar bartender, Dimitros, fantastic and funny guy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    4.2
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel gave me a room with a pull out sofa as my one and only bed. They said there was no other rooms available. I called Booking.com and spoke to a young lady. She immediately called the hotel. While I was still on the phone, the front desk called and offered me a different room. Thanks to Booking.com. The floor that I was on had at least 2 open rooms.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    5.4
    Clean but not safe
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bag for stolen in the restaurant, during breakfast. The surveillance system was very poor (every elevator had a camera, except this floor). Staff offered us a drive to the police station, but did nothing to actually help us find the bag. They told us that it was not the first time, but then why didn't they place the surveillance cameras better?

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Great Hotel......But make sure you get the right bed......This is number one in your hotel......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was not good...... My only complaint..... We were promiced a double bed not two singles.......Very uncomtortable........ We could of complained but did not want the hassle of changing rooms........

    Perfect Breakfast....... Would stay there again.......

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    7.5
    Forgotten coat in the room, but i got no return, still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small. I was in top floor and poor wifi in the room. I forgot my coat in the room, sent an email to hotel and tried to call, but noone reached me and I didnot get any help. Please reach me, the reader...

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was great, just a few seconds from the subway. Breakfast is quite good and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Very Good Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, near everything in Athens. Very good in rooftop - they call roof garden. Staff are superb, always available to support with everything including suggestions on what to do in the City. Hotel very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    3.3
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old furniture, dirty room and stained bedsheets, walls with paint that was pealing off, unpleasant smell in the room, noisy as it was facing a busy street, hard beds. Limited (and tasteless) options for breakfast - the orange juice was probably made out of water and some concentrated powder (it couldn't even be called orange juice). Tricky to park the car in the hotel garage (since it was quite narrow and difficult to reach).

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: