Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danaos Hotel 2 stars

Akti Papanikoli 23, Chania Town, 73131, Greece

#62 of 93 hotels in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 836 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant even characterful hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee could have been better . Some muesli and fruit for breakfast instead of cakes and salads!

    The location was excellent next to a sandy beach and only 10 minutes walk from the old harbour . You could hear the sea all night which was wonderful, otherwise it was very quiet . There was a little lending library which came in useful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    The hotel is situated in front of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is situated in front of the sea. The view from the double room with sea view & balcony was amazing and you could take a seat in the balcony (there are table and two chairs) and enjoy the panorama. The room is comfortable and clean. Friendly staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed every minute of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not enough towels in bathroom.Actually had to argue with cleaning staff for more, however, the front desk people took care of it right away

    Adequate facilities, great breakfast selection.Friendly, efficient, caring staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast staff and night receptionist were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised when after the room has been cleaned, my towels weren't changed and I got no new shower gel. It's summer so u have to shower at least once a day and we only got one bottle shower-shampoo for the whole stay. The towels were only replaced once and I stayed there 4 night. And when the 2nd night the TV stopped working, they said they would fix it in the morning which didn't happen so we had to TV at all. And there was no phone in our room.

    The breakfast staff and night receptionist were great. He may be too "Greek" in his way for tourists but very helpful. The breakfast is good and u can eat it at the front porch looking at the sea. Beach at the front was really good but if u ask they say its better to travel away for the great ones.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi was weak enough. To hook up the network, we had to go closer to the door. Perhaps this is due to the thickness of the walls or something else ..

    We stayed only for one night there, but it is a pretty good place to spend even more time. Location is really great - clean beach with the sunbeds just near the hotel, city centre in a small comfortable walk. If you want you can find a good place to eat and few small supermarkets near the hotel. Great breakfast just near the sea gave us very relaxing mood for the whole day! :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Basic, for rather short stays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tiny balcony, noisy AC.

    Small hotel located 1 km from Chania port in the residential area, by the beach (sunbeds and umbrellas available). No traffic allowed in front of property so fairly peaceful. Parking is something like 5-7 minutes from the property. Plenty of restaurants around. Rooms are clean, breakfast acceptable. Good communication, no problem with check in and out. Recommendable for short stays.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    We had a room with balcony overlooking the beach and ocean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We had a room with balcony overlooking the beach and ocean, and amazing sunsets. Neo Hora beach is just across the new walking promenade, and it's a very nice beach. Old town is in walking distance, only 1200m, ca. 15 min. The staff at the hotel and bar was so friendly and helpful, we had 12 very good days here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    On departure I left a new expensive shirt hanging up, once...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On departure I left a new expensive shirt hanging up, once I noticed an hour after departure I called the reception to organise to pick it up and they said there was no shirt. Quit obviously the cleaning staff took a liking to it as it still had the new label and price on it. I wouldn't trust this Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location on small beach 10 minute walk from old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really - would prefer safe in the room but they do have safe deposit books in reception.

    Excellent location on small beach 10 minute walk from old Chania Town. The staff were excellent and very helpful. They booked for us to join an excursion so we could walk the Samaria Gorge and when we needed a chemist on a Sunday, they provided details & map of where we one was open. Top class staff! The road in front of the hotel is being developed into a pedestrian only which will improve the area. Excellent fish tavernas frequented by the locals close by. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain. All good for the price.

    Right on the beach. There is a bar in the front of the hotel as well, that serves drinks on the hotel beach. There are also sunbeds for 5 EUR (2 sunbeds + umbrela) on the beach. Rooms were clean, and hotel staff very friendly (including the ones at the bar). The breakfast was ok for Greece. If you have a car, the hotel has a parking (not very close, so it might be a problem if you have many suitcases). We had a room with no sea view, but was ok, even with the city view. All good and clean. It's similar with other 3* hotels in Grece (not 2*)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent I would like to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic continental and could be a littke bit more imaginative

    Staff were chalming and so helpful Loveky hitel overlooking beach with phenominal view Owner is tgere and si pleasant Wish I coukd have stayed tgere fir 5 days instead if 2

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.8
    The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely unhelpful, trying to get any basic information (such as the time of breakfast, wifi password etc) was like trying to get blood out of a stone. Most importantly however was the fact that the bathroom was filthy (with a pubic hair in the shower) and despite pointing this out, they failed to clean this at our request. Furthermore the air conditioning unit was faulty and their solution, rather than to change rooms, was to put a piece of plastic into the shutter. Overall very overpriced for a substandard room.

    The only good thing about this hotel was the breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    What an incredible place, unforgettable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms are smallish, but again not a negative considering what you're paying. There's no in room safe, but you can use their safe in the lobby.

    I couldn't believe that this place is a 2 star hotel. The location is exceptional, the beach is just 10m from the front area of the hotel, and it's just far away from the old port for it to be quiet and peaceful, yet close enough for you not to require a car to get to the old port area of Chania (in fact I strongly recommend you do NOT try to drive there - parking is a mess). The staff are extremely friendly, and they have lots of helpful hints and tours options plastered all over the property. For this price they charge, this is the best value for money I've ever had. The rooms have an aircon, a balcony and a washing line with pegs to hang up your swimming trunks etc (not a single 5 star hotel I've ever stayed in has this). Now you're not going to get the full continental breakfast experience of a 5 star, but their breakfast is more than adequate and with the bundle you're saving, you can buy yourself breakfast anywhere you like.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast in front of the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in front of the beach, very nice place to stay, definetly reccomanded! People working there are very friendly and kind, not much touristic place as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel next to nice beach offering value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Comfy bed, balcony with sea views, good size room, away from busy centre, nice beach to swim in, good Wifi, generous breakfast options, close to nice restaurants, old town pleasant 20 min walk

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Perfect place to stay in Chania. The staff were fantastic, breakfast was great and the location was perfect. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was shocking. Had to ask for elevated mattresses as the ones they had were below the timber line, done reluctantly. Some staff were not as pleasant as should’ve been, although stayed a few longer hours on departure due to Late flight.Heard them talking behind our backs in Greek thinking we didn’t hear them. Showers way too small

    Excellent location and position right in front of new xora beach lined with restaurants cafes and supermarkets. Although a little walk to the old harbour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    A fairly priced hotel with excellent location within a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on the oldish side, but given the price and the short stay (1 night), I think it is a good choice for someone looking for cheap and central accommodation in Chania.

    A fairly priced hotel with excellent location within a walking distance (10 mins stroll) to the old harbour of Chania with the sights and restaurants. Good beach just across from the main entrance, perfect for a morning swim. The rooms were very decent for the price and they were quiet (my room overlooked a rather shabby backyard, but me and my family got a good night's sleep there).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Staff were absolutely lovely, really comfortable bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really tiny shower 😬😬.

    Staff were absolutely lovely, really comfortable bed, spotlessly clean, great location, gorgeous view. Beach opposite fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioners a little quirky

    Very helpful staff. Arrived early and was allowed to check in early at no additional charge. Staff helped arrange excursion.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice place to spend the night in Chania, Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would rather have had a room with a balcony overlooking the sea. Our view was of other roofs and balconies. We should have made our reservations earlier. We found nothing objectionable about the property.

    We wanted to spend one evening wandering around Chania so we stated here. It was clean, in a good location, and suited out purposes fine. The beach was a fine family beach, not exactly what we like. There are a number of very nice family style eateries near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Cute place on the beach, friendly staff, nice restaurant,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute place on the beach, friendly staff, nice restaurant, good view. We were checking out before breakfast hours & the staff arranged to make us coffee and a small breakfast before departing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    would diffidently go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved it all

    the location was great , just a short walk from old town ....we had an ocean front room with a balcony , great for afternoon drinks and morning breakfast .......chania is a fun town to hangout in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Basic, but good hotel. Friendly staff and excellent location, 15 minutes walk from old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very creaky and not the most comfortable, but apart from that, the room was good and cleaned very well each day. At the time of our stay, there were some works being done to the pedestrian area outside the hotel, which was a little dusty and noisy at times. However, I don’t think this is anything the hotel had control over.

    Staff were very helpful and the beachfront location were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    It’s right at the beach, very close to the old town but just...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    It’s right at the beach, very close to the old town but just far enough to leave the noise behind. There is a terrace for the room looking at the sea - priceless :)The staff is extremely helpful and nice! And they make excellent cappuccino ;)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location on the beach and a short walk along the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location on the beach and a short walk along the seafront to the old town and port in Chania. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable with a nice buffet Mediterranean breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Nice and clean hotel. Good value for money. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to mention.

    Nice, clean hotel, which is more than adequate for its two stars status. The room/douche were clean, the towels and bed sheets were clean as well. The rooms, facing sea provide a stunning view over the beach and harbor. The hotel location is its highest point - right on the beach. The beach is nice and sandy. Shallow water makes sure that sea is warm even at the end of April. Hotel is situated in the quiet part of the city (comparing to the center). There are a lot of restaurants in the close vicinity. We found Portes the best one. The hotel staff is very nice and friendly. They helped us with all kinds of questions and were just fun to talk with.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, very friendly, 24 hour reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was rennovation work going on at the seafront during the time we were there but am glad I didn't know because may have chosen different location which would have been a shame. It was still great and actually sort of interesting to watch.

    Wonderful staff, very friendly, 24 hour reception. Right opposite a nice little beach where we swam every day. If you feel like hearing the waves while you sleep then just leave windows open. Also has it's own nice little bar. Beach has view of a small island (or mythological monster?) and friendly beach dogs. Breakfast ok but basic - nice bird avery outside breakfast room though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    A stay in Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel lift! It just needs a sign to tell you to push the door open when you are inside it.

    Great value for money, friendly staff, very safe area. Lots of restaurants nearby and a mini-supermarket. Old Town is only a gentle 15 minute stroll away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly team of staff... please give the birds space to fly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two beautiful birds, in a very small cage... and visibly distressed!

    Great beach front location, easy access into Chania Old Town and historic sites. Friendly and personable staff. Excellent breakfast selection. Very clean and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Great beach and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was so small but that seems the standard in Crete. The pillow cover was not so clean. The balcony is almost shared with the neighbors except for a small short wall. The breakfast didn't have any fresh fruits (other than orange) or vegetables. The hotel itself is old but renewed in some parts so it was fine.

    We went in October and the beach was so clean and empty. We loved that we could walk from the bus station to the hotel and also from the hotel to the city center. Everything was so relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfectly clean, well maintained, adequate hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was surprised that the sunbeds on the beach opposite were not free for hotel guests. The breakfast was a good choice, though nothing hot (other than boiled eggs) and it was the same every day.

    A perfect location facing the beach (just need to cross the road in front of the hotel) with a choice of restaurants and tavernas extremely close by, and the town and venetian harbour about 10-15 minutes walk away. Nice and peaceful at night (apart from the sea!). Hotel very clean and all fully functioning. The beach was very well looked after, raked daily!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    This was my third visit and it wont be my last.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Nothing to dislike although fresh orange juice would have been nice at breakfast.

    The staff were really helpful and friendly. Danaos is a genuinely Greek hotel with a lot of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Good place close to Nea Chora beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was not very comfortable. Staff at the breakfast place was not very friendly.

    The location is good: close to the beach and restaurants. The Old Venetian Harbor is about 20min walk. The room was clean and had enough space. Breakfast was good. There are some beach toys available at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was not good as you have to close yourself together with WC when taking shower. Staff was not always at reception. Once I wanted to ask for a hairdryer and needed to leave without drying my hair because there was no one at reception.

    Hotel was located at walking distance from historical center. Bed and pillows were confortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.3
    I won’t advise anyone to stay there I won’t say hotel because it’s not
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is the worst hotel I’ve ever go to why ? Because the ants are all over the room it’s so dirty hotel , I asked if them the second day to change the towels they told me every three days we change them , first time in my life I hear that thing a hotel every three days change the towels , the room is so small and horrible the toilet as if we are in year 1930 s and no shampoo in the toilet they don’t have only they have one small soap have no smell

    The location of the hotel is near the beach it have good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent base to visit area of Chania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle, hairdryer in room. Didn't realise you coul ask on reception until we left. No safe in room although safe deposit facilities in reception.

    Location excellent walking distance to old town. Restaurants near hotel excellent food and value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely simple but clean hotel with amazing views of Neo Chora beach Friendly staff would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Danaos Hotel is in a perfect location for a relaxing beach holiday but only a beautiful stroll from Chania old and new town. Easy access to public transport and sight seeing tours etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Perfect location: directly at the beach, the city center is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were at the 3rd floor and in the evenings the water pressure was weak.

    Perfect location: directly at the beach, the city center is about 10-15 minutes walk. Clean bed, sheets, towels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    I realy enjoied my stay at Danaos hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is not Russian channel in TV.

    The location is totaly great.Cleanliness of the room and the whole hotel.Staff were super friendly and helpful.Mette (young lady in reception) was a wonderfull,every time helped me with anything I need. Location was walking distance to Chania old town.Quiet and relaxing atmospher.Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.0
    Find another hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small ,the air condition old and damaged, and at 09:00 am ,workers were hitting our wall with a hammer.

    It is close to the sea and the center of Chania city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent quality for the price, room was clean and recently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality for the price, room was clean and recently renovated, staff was super friendly and helpful and arrangend us early check-in and ordered taxis when needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is across the road from beach wonderful view , 25 min leisurely stroll to chania harbour with lovely sea views. staff helpful and friendly they will lend you hairdryer , kettle etc free of charge , hotel very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.5
    Nice rooms with good aircon, lovely man working there waited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for sunbeds for hotel guests and charged €10 per person to use a shower after check out was a bit cheeky

    Nice rooms with good aircon, lovely man working there waited for us to arrive at 1am and was so welcoming. Great location right opposite the beach and near the town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel owner,was very rude, I will never go there again, I was expecting to get the room that I paid in advance, 3 months before I arrived, and not getting it , instead I was abused by the owner verbally, I had paid a double. bad see view room and I got 2 single bads , I just want it what I had paid, I got instead a bad attitude and not even apology, very unhappy over my stay there.

    The beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    The view,easy parking for the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnished room,poor breakfast,non smiling owner.

    The view,easy parking for the car.It was pleasure for us to talk with Mihalis,in return to the hotel(he is in the reception).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Chania: best place in Greece
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I miss a swimming pool, but the amazing beach in front of the hotel compensate this. The air conditioner was with problem in my stay. The hotel hasn't a parking, but is possible park in the streeets nearest to the hotel free taxes.

    Great place, good breakfast, amazing beach in front of the hotel. I loved Chania.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture a bit dated but served the purpose. Sometimes had to wait for hot water in the shower.

    Excellent location, walk out of the hotel and onto the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice location, nice staff, 2 star is about right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extremely basic, you are better off going out to a local restaurant. The shower was old , weak and sometimes didn't work at all. The tv picture was terrible, we did report it and a guy came out 2 days later. He fiddled with the tv and the cabling, this made it slightly better, over the next five days it slowly became worse and worse until it was a radio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    The sea with its big waves is really just across the street,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very welcoming, city map only on request, breakfast hours also on request, no word extra as it seemed. Room was ok, way too expensive and sticky. Old type of furniture and ancient tiny TV.

    The sea with its big waves is really just across the street, almost at the entrance! Amazing! Breakfast is quite good, they keep canary birds in the yard (which would be nicer, if they'd clean the cages better).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren't very many beach chairs and people would get up at 6am to put their towels down and "reserve" the seats.

    We had an ocean view room and sitting on the balcony was my favourite part of the stay! The people were friendly and helpful and helped arrange a trip to Samaria for us, even offering breakfast early at 5am for our journey. Breakfast was adequate with eggs, cheese, ham, yogurt and bread.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Warm welcome in Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a fridge in room, but not mini-bar, you can buy cans and bottles from bar or even mini store next door, to stock as needed. This is not a dislike ~ I was very happy to drink iced coffee or iced tea at front of house, just mentioning it as information. Air conditioning can be loud, of course not everyone switches it on.

    Top quality staff, full of friendliness, care, and cheerfulness. A pleasure to meet them all. Good quality continental breakfast; good small evening bar to enjoy right on the seafront. Rooms are good size. Air conditioning in room. It is about 15 minutes a pleasant sea front walk to the main Old Town of Chania. Nea Chora is quieter family area, with good restaurants on the same street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Less busy beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Select restaurants nearby carefully. All appear to have basically the same menu, and promote fresh seafood, but the one we went to was awful with frozen and deep fried fish etc (unfortunately can't recall name). Reviews online should be considered, as well as the amount of people in the restaurant!

    Staff were helpful. Beach outside property was relatively quiet and cheap to rent a subbed for the day (2.50 euro)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    We had a lovely staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hosts were very nice and kind. The room was lovely, simple and clean. The location can't be beat, right by the beach and 10 mins walking from the old harbor. We booked a room with a city view, and I was afraid that it will be loud and unpleasant, but it was quite the opposite. very quiet and intimate. I'm really happy that we chose this hotel, we enjoyed every minute of our staying.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Ok hotel on the beach
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioning made noise and only blew one direction, down on my bed!

    Proximity to municipal swimming pool (we were there to partake in swimming competition).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.8
    A very good base for a first experience of Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balconies would have benefitted from a partition between neighbouring apartments. It made sitting out in that lovely location a bit awkward at times. The breakfast buffet really was not very interesting or even remotely appealing if you're a person who likes breakfast. Better to pay a little more and go out to a neighbouring cafe.

    The location, beach immediately outside the front door, the balcony, and the proximity by easy walk along the seaside to all the evening charms of Chania's old town,..... all made for a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    great beachside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom was very small with the toilet being about 2 inches from the shower. Didn't feel when we checked in there was the usual friendly Greek welcome but I only saw the man who checked us in on that 1 occasion. The regular receptionist, bar staff and breakfast ladies were friendly.

    The location was excellent. The beach was opposite the hotel and had enough sunbeds for comfort but wasn't crammed full of them and had a nice relaxed feel. The rooms were exactly as shown on booking.com. The breakfast was enjoyable and typically Greek with unlimited coffee. There were many good tavernas nearby and although Chania itself was nearby, I enjoyed eating nearer to the hotel rather than in Chania. I was fed up being asked in Chania if I wanted to go in restaurants and this is not what I have experienced in Greece before. There was no pressure in Nea Chora where Danaos is situated. The rooms were clean and basic with towels changed every day and the bedding was changed regularly. We had a nice sea view balcony with new furniture. The toilet rolls were good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    The location is wonderful and staffs are friendly and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit shame that we couldn't have a double bed, even though we requested earlier. It would have been better to be noticed before the arrival.

    The location is wonderful and staffs are friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    An okay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, it was really very loud at the hotel. There was some construction site nearby (drilling sounds from 7 AM) and the staff was noisy in the morning (but i don't think they meant it). The door are made of thin wood so we really could hear everything. So if you are a long sleeper-get your earplugs. The beach directly in front of the property could use a little more pampering...

    The bed was comfortable and the AC/balcony were a plus. There is an amazing beach 30 minutes away (by foot).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant location on the sandy beach and a 10-15 minute...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location on the sandy beach and a 10-15 minute stroll into the old harbour in Chania.. Really good value for money, comfy beds, very clean if compact (economy room) and a decent breakfast. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and were all lovely. Very warm welcome. Lovely bars and restaurants locally and a mini market next door for essentials. Great hotel, highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    - Location right in front of a nice little beach, with...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Location right in front of a nice little beach, with freely available umbrellas and deck chairs - The owner and staff are some of the most friendly and helpful people you'll ever meet - Room I stayed in (a double/triple) was comfortable and fairly spacious - Lots of extras for a 2 stars hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning coffee in Dining room cramped dining room till we discovered possible to bring a tray outside. Sun beds not included in stay for hotel guests. Bar could have more selection food and drink. Did not like the hustlers outside most restaurants in the area if I want to go in I will go in no need for someone trying to drag you in. This was worse along the old port

    Basic but adequate convenient location nice views. Staff extremely pleasant .Not a lot of choice of drinks in bar no small bottles of Prosseco or full sized bottles. Basic red wine to be avoided. Good selection of Coffes. Bar food could be more varied and exciting. Dining room for breakfast very cramped but trays provided to bring your breakfast outside to eat on terrace which is very nice weather permitting

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.7
    The balcony and view from our sea view room were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not very good. Limited choices and no hot food. Shower was poor. Sometimes the water supply disappeared (early evenings when everyone wanted a shower).

    The balcony and view from our sea view room were lovely. Very convenient location. Quiet in the evenings -no disturbances.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast was good mostly cereal, toast and some cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was good mostly cereal, toast and some cold meats. The location was amazing you fell out of the door onto the beach. It was around a 15 minute walk into the centre of town where the bus station was so not bad during the day. The staff were amazing and the room was fairly good quality bordering towards good. For the price it was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    A value for money hotel in a great location within walking distance of Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathrooms are rather small but adequate. Breakfast was okay the greek yoghurt was delicious, no variety from day to day as to what was on offer though, limited fruit despite other fruit being readily available in local shops.

    This hotel is in a great location far enough away from Chania to be quiet. In front of a pleasant beach with a fabulous sunset. It was great to be able to walk in to beautiful bustling Chania Old town and harbour to eat in only 15 to 20 minutes. There are also nice restaurants right on the doorstep . The hotel was clean, comfortable and friendly. We were in a room at the back so no real view other than buildings and distant mountains but it may have been quieter away from the beach and street in front.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.1
    Old hotel next to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor pressure of water, washing of long hair was taking a long time... Everything in hotel is old and that would be ok if there would be nice atmosphere but we didnt feel it. We had a room for four and the view from the room was not so nice, I think the seaview rooms are more nice.

    Nice location next to the beach and about 15minute walk to the town. Hotel did book a taxi for us. We arrived 11am and the room was ready for us:) Refridgerator in the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    7.9
    My stay was very enjoyable because of the kindness and attention of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maybe a bit more variety at breakfast but otherwise I wouldnt change a thing

    The beach was literally across the road. Breakfast was a bit samey but normal for Greece, the pleasant staff made up for it

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, good location by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room doors could get better sound isolation if possible. Talking in the corridor and slamming the other doors is too well heard in the room during the nighttime.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, good location by the sea close to the old town, a lot of good restaurants in the neighborhood. Perfect value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    An excellent, convenient and comfortable base for a stay in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine as far as we were concerned.

    We stayed for four nights. Although we were unable to have a room with a sea view, the room we had was of a good size with plenty of storage. The balcony was larger than average, and received full sun until late lunch. The breakfast was more than adequate, making the room charge very reasonable and it was a bonus to have a bar and snack area on the spot. The hotel is situated very close to a number of well regarded restaurants serving lovely, authentic Cretan food. And of course, there is the beach just opposite with easy swimming in the sea. As far as we were concerned, it suited us perfectly, and we shall certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Perfect spot for a beach holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neighbours smoking in their balcony. The smoke came to my room when my balcony door was open.

    Very friendly staff in reception on arrival and on leave. Beach just accross the street in front of the hotel. Quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    The location, the size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator a bit old

    The location, the size of the room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Chania town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is both in Chania town and on the beach ;) Very friendly owner and staff. Warmly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    The price is correct for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is correct for what you get

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Location, Location,Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet

    Location, Location,Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    View in the balgany with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower small as water splash uncontrollable

    View in the balgany with sea view

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: