Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Divani Caravel 5 stars

2 Vas. Alexandrou Ave, Athens, 16121, Greece

#98 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1686 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Staff was friendly, pool was fine, view from there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra bed was of poor quality and without a proper cover. The pool could have been kept open until later.

    Staff was friendly, pool was fine, view from there was beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice people, nice hotel, good food excellent for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deco of the otel is out dated, the tub in the bathroom should be replaced with something easier and the furniture needs to be upgraded

    The food was great and tge staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Luxury accommodation in a really nice area of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurants around the corner for breakfasts, cocktails and dinner. Hotel Shuttle bus daily (except Sunday) drops you to the Acropolis and Syntagma Square. Taxis always on hand. Excellent roof top pool with wonderful view of Athens. Definately recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't get our free bottle of water in the room, and we were charged when we asked for a bottle. The breakfast is really expensive, but there were plenty of cheaper places nearby.

    The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall the room was quiet, clean and sufficient, the staff friendly and well organised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little far to walk from Plaka and the main shops.

    The staff were very friendly, the pool area was great. The best thing was that there were great cafes and restaurants next door to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, fantastic view from the roof top. Was very nice to enjoy the pool at the end of a long hot day. We stayed in different part of the hotel. 7th floor was great....lower floors need some upgrading but location is convenient to all. Lots of places to eat near by for breakfast, lunch and/or dinner. Subway around the corner too. A great stay overall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    good big hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Small rooms sadly - Air con. wasn't working well (on-off all time) - location is good yeah but still not in the heart of Athens, you have to walk 20-25 minutes to reach a live area or take ~7 euro taxi

    clean rooms - good in bed breakfast (should try) - smiling helpful staff - big lobby and comfortable wide hotel all in all it was a good experience in comparing with my previous experience in Athens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Not a 5 stars hotel but rather 4 in my opinion
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - We booked a room for 3 persons. We were given a room with a double bed and for the 3rd person there was an old sofa, rather worn and pretty uncomfortable. - Breakfast over priced, in spite to what the hotel people say (prices in line with other 5 starts hotels). You have multiple choices for breakfast around the hotel. - The Wi-Fi was pretty bad (rather slow and inconsistent in room perimeter). I had to use mobile data most of the time. - Not a 5 stars hotel in my opinion, but rather 4. I know what I am saying because I am a frequent traveler.

    - Swimming pool - Gym area - Air conditioning - Hotel people - The view of the city seen from the roof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    The view from the pool is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the pool is great. You have the Acropolis at clear sight from there. I like the nearby neighborhood of Pangrati, there are some nice places close to Rizari.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    5 star and Beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    Staff. room cleanliness food superb and the professionalism of the young concierge Andrea's always with a smile and eager to assist. We'll done Caravel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel at a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel, friendly and service - minded staff. Location very close to the center at a quiet area of Athens. Area has nice restaurants and cafes. Centre can be easily accessible either by metro or by walking. Roof-top pool and free gym was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and pool. Cleanliness to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room was less than I expected. We stayed 3 nights and had turn down service once. Not enough toilet paper and tissues in bathroom. Kettle did not work well. It is 5 star rated but did not exactly feel like a five star experience. More like 4 star.

    Pool facilities excellent as well as overall feel of hotel. Rooms tasteful. Location wonderful safe, taxi stand across the street, close to bakery and super market plus cafes. Also walking distacco to metro station euagelismos

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast, great pool, staff extremely helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water when taking a shower changed temperature rapidly, without touching the handle.

    Great breakfast, great pool, staff extremely helpful and tentative to anything we needed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star business hotel it lacked a good bar. The pool on the top floor was a good size but provides little shaded areas. Also the bar area was simply a couple of tables to order lunch from and closed at 10 PM (22:00). There was an area of to the side and when asking if we could sit there the answer was simply “no”. We spent the last evening for dinner at the Hilton down the street with a nice bar and restaurant on the top floor - expensive but highly recommended Finally for a business hotel with conference center facilities the WiFi was extremely poor and for the most part unusable. My kids found a corner in the bathroom to get somewhat of a signal. Overall too expensive for what you get, there are better choices in athens

    Rooms were large and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in this space, the staff were professional and helpful, all good

    A quality opportunity which is what you are paying for. My partner and I stayed two days at the hotel as we required an Athens stay before heading back home after four to five weeks travelling in Spain & Greece. The service exceptional, the food superb and the position of the hotel gives you access to other restaurants near by if required. The Rooftop Pool was a welcomed relaxation opportunity (with a view across to the Acropolis) to prepare before a long airlines trip home. Recommended

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    On our arrival, there were in the room complementary bottles...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our arrival, there were in the room complementary bottles of water but no new bottles have been added during our stay. Also, room was booked for 3 people but there were only 2 cups in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a tad small.

    The hotel was beautiful with a wide range of facilities to choose from. Unfortunately, we were only there for 1 night so were unable to take advantage of any of them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    A luxury hotel with the trappings of a fancy business and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big room, but a bit stale from past smokers. Could also use a style and technology update — no in-room usb charging, for example. Great pool but super expensive pool bar. Location is good, but about a 25 minute walk from peak Plaka/Acropolis.

    A luxury hotel with the trappings of a fancy business and travel-tour host. Great roof top pool. Very professional, full service staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Great night in Athens between flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was no good - better not to have it.

    Lovely helpful and friendly staff. The hotel was clean, comfortable and nice size rooms (although I would say 4-star decorations ather than 5). The view of the Acroplis from the rooftop area was very cool at night. There were inexpensive restaurants near by and easy enough to walk to the tourist areas. It was a great stop to rest in Athens in between the islands and going home.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Super comfortable bed, loved the bathrobes/ towels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check- in was slow (perhaps due to high season period) the decoration and some devices where old style. The mini bar was way too pricey and the garage was charged extra.

    Super comfortable bed, loved the bathrobes/ towels. Excellent breakfast!! Friendly concierge!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing, the location is far from city you need a taxi, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no service, not clean out of city

    Nothing, the location is far from city you need a taxi, the service is really poor, would never go back to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service, the facilities and their attention to detail. We were assisted when wanting a cab, to tickets for concerts or for dinner reservations. They attended to our needs efficiently and with ease.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Close to a bakery, small supermarket, eating options and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts were busy at times with some large conference groups at the same time as our stay.

    Close to a bakery, small supermarket, eating options and stop 3 for the hop on hop off bus. Great view from the room and the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door was slightly out of its place and therefore it was not possible to fully shut it.

    -The room had enough space for three people -Great location in the centre of Athens near well known bars and restaurants. -Nice pool area, clean with great view -Rich breakfast variety

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great for short stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very long wait at the elevators - there are 4 but it was very busy due to conventions.

    Overall, a nice hotel. Our rooms were descent, beautiful lobby, solid work out room, gorgeous roof-top pool and bar area. The food and service was good. Our room was on the 7th floor and was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive coffeeshop in the lobby Hot water in the shower took a really long time for it to get warm

    Liked the overall design of the hotel Good internet connection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in a convenient location. The rooftop pool is quite a good size. The quality of service is one of best ones we’ve. Ever experienced. Well done guys!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel.. friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not comfortable. Instead of having one queen bed for a couple they had to join 2 single beds which was uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent top-tier hotel ;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small bier at roof-top pool: 8 EUR - sorry even for a luxury hotel not adequate !

    Excellent top-tier hotel ; now after the crisis they have renovated most of the bag-log. Very friendly& supportive personnel at reception desk Phantastic breakfast buffet Wonderful pool at rooftop with view over Athens and Acropolis Currently the very nice gym + Sauna is included in the hotel price (Might change again - check in advance !) Easy to reach Evangelimos Subway station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel for conferences but not for tourists. Hotel clean, comfortable, bright and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is really for business users not tourists. When we arrived, there were 5 conferences taking place and the whole lobby was full of teenagers taking German exams. The atmosphere was noisy and unruly. My sister and I actually considered moving to another hotel. The rooftop pool did not match the photograph on the website. Ladder steps into pool were wonky. There are restaurants near to the hotel but nothing else so we needed to take taxis everywhere. Being in an executive room, we were entitled to free tea, coffee, soft drinks and snacks during the day but only 1 alcoholic drink per day. Concierge services poor - they seemed reluctant to help with baggage or call taxis for us. I would not stay here again. We found much better central hotels with better views, amenities and nearer to shops, sightseeing areas.

    The room allocated was quiet, beds very comfortable, light and airy room. Adequate storage space for clothes. Air conditioning worked perfectly. Bathroom was clean and modern. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Reception staff friendly, helpful and informative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place. Great people. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a old hotel with classic decor. It's grand but could use a touch of modernization.

    The staff was super helpful and courteous. Specially Xenia who was not only knowledgeable about Athens but also offered great advice on our further travel to Mykonos and Santorini. Her advice really helped us get the most out of our trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    I like booking thru Booking.com and this hotel was an excellent choice.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came back after visiting several islands into a room someone else had booked for us and I had to ask for washcloths. A minor problem as the above positives still made our decision an excellent choice.

    It was an excellent choice for us. Quiet, close to the Hop-on-Hop-off bus, good inexpensive restaurants just around the corner, safe area, good swimming pool, lots of fresh delicious fruit for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Was not worth the cash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That I did not get the Acropolis view camera I booked. The fact that the paid parking (22/day) made me have a hard time recovering the car (it's behind and underground)

    The rooftop pool & bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice Hotel well situated 4 euro by Taxi into the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The housekeeping kept taking our cups every day and they were not replaced. one day I phoned to Housekeeping for replacements they said they would send up a new tray which they did and charged me 6.00 euro for the water on the bill. The following day no cups again they were replaced the following morning. Not good enough for a 5 star hotel. We had turn down service the first night the following 3 nights they turned us down alright they never turned up.The WiFi was free, was so weak we could not get on to anything to check what we could even do in or around town, we struggled to get on to Trip Adviser, sometimes worked but would drop out. The breakfast in the hotel is 29.99 euro each person. I could have a steak meal for 25 euro per person with a large glass of wine and free sweet less than 500 meters away. No breakfast is worth paying 30 euro for. We walked to Utopia around the corner and paid 17 euro for two and with free cake free cherries free water. Take note Divani Caravel.

    the hotel is very well situated. very pleasant staff and helpful. Very close to some very nice restaurants. Can recommend Utopia for breakfast, For dinner evening meal I recommend Oroscopo which is just before Utopia and rated out of 2600 in Athens as number 11. The food is excellent 10 out of 10 We had leek and potato soup on the house and the sweet was also on the house a small piece of Tiramisu and cheesecake. A must try place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff was very friendly and as helpful as they could be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's my first visit in Athens so I can't compare with other hotels there, but the overall experience was rather decent, not luxurious as the hotel claims to be.

    Staff was very friendly and as helpful as they could be. I haven't tried any restaurant in the hotel except the terrace by the pool which was ok, but the service a little slow. The view at the pool terrace was quite nice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Big well managed hotel with pleasant pool at reasonable location. May soon need some renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some smell in the room: mould due to PLASTIC FLOORING in the room AND in the bathroom! Price of breakfast and drinks by the pool a bit "steep". Pity.

    Staff were professional and friendly. It's lovely to have a pool in a hot big city like Athens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay. Very helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps the location a bit closer to Syntagma square perhaps!!

    Excellent hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great experience from check in to check out. Breakfast set-up excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A few things. First, wifi is rather slow. Second, we have to pay extra to use the gym & sauna. Third, the hotel did not give bottled drinking water everyday. After the first day, you have to pay for the bottle drinking water.

    Breakfast is amazing. Lots of choice for muslim traveler. Location is good, clean and there are a lot of restaurant around the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    They were working on the floor above (or very close) to our...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were working on the floor above (or very close) to our room, so we were awoken on Sunday morning and also on Monday morning. They eventually changed our room on the 3rd day, putting us in a smoking suite. The stink of cigarettes was unbearable, but still better than being woken up early when on holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    It was located near a subway station (arround 250 m.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheapest bathroom products i’ve ever seen. We received sleepers and dental kit only after we asked these things. The dental kit was also one of the cheapest and poor quality i’ve ever seen. I think it cost arround 20 eurocents. Same with some drinks from the room refrigerator; something that it suposed to be an orange juice, called VIVA, we checked online and it cost 40 cents. They charged us 7 euros for this one. Another juice, also extremely poor quality, 7 euros. First moments after the check-in, going to our room, at the second floor, the carpet wasn’t clean, it looked dusty and you can even see small parts of daily trash on it. This hotel look like a 3, maybe 4 star hotel. Not even close to a 5 star hotel. Bad value for money, from my perspective.

    It was located near a subway station (arround 250 m.) The bathroom was clean. The staff was nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a large hotel, so while staff were very friendly and helpful, it just was not as personal as with a smaller hotel. Additionally, there was a large convention at the hotel, which really did impact facilities that were available to the other guests, like the rooftop pool, which was booked for private events two out of three nights. We did not eat at the hotel.

    Everything was as expected. Check in was easy, there were no hidden charges on our bill. The hotel was very clean. While not right in the middle of the city, the hotel is within walking distance of very fine sights, and has easy access to the metro. Additionally, the metro is a 10 euro ride to or from the airport. However, it is a challenging walk, and one should not attempt it if it hot, and you can’t tote luggage for 1/2 mile.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, great staff, nice view at rooftop garden, big...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom bit outdated and breakfast overpriced (but good)

    Great hotel, great staff, nice view at rooftop garden, big comfortable bed , overall great experience and would stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced short of facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No kettle in room to make coffee and tea. Every time you have to call room service to get hot water or. you buy tea/coffee from hotel at overpriced rate +15% service tax No slippers in room, no iron and ironing board available Laundry bag available but no rate list. It seems hotel want you to call them for these small things- you call room service and they will ask you to call reception and receptions guys will say politely no to your request. Costly, not value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    clean and comfortable .
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s odd that a 5 star hotel should charge the guests for using facilities . I was charged 12€ a day to use their gym . That’s too much and there should be no additional charges for using gym or pool facilities

    clean and comfortable . Good room service and house keeping . Helpful polite staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    6.3
    Does the job for a business event but could offer more value in some areas.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I booked room only. Add on breakfast was too expensive. The use of the gym should be complimentary for guests - this should have 24 hours access.

    Good to be staying at the same site where the business event is. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Staff were, overall, really very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't have the breakfast buffet but just ordered eggs, which seemed very expensive, and it was hard to convince the wait staff to bring me toast with the eggs, since they wanted to charge extra for a bread basket.

    Staff were, overall, really very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good large Hotel in the center of Athens
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast area and that the pool was closed for no obvious reason

    Nice large 5 Star Hotel with a 'little dust on it' but still very nice ! Very good quality of the breakfast, although the breakfast area is in a 'dungean' The staff was very nice and polite, the Lobby lit and polished. In my opinion it has the 'quality and feel' of a food 4 Star Hotel that needs some renovations within the next 2 to 3 years ! The pool area was closed, an instance we noticed in most of the Athens hotels ?, the Gym was small but well equipped !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    A really lovely stay that left me with a great feel about my first ever trip to Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our only surprise - and not at all a big deal - was the advice from the staff at the gym that there was a 12 euro charge to use it. We didn't take up this offer as the day was sunny and we decided to run to local parks instead.

    Loved our stay at the hotel. I was especially impressed by the lovely lovely staff, and nothing was too much trouble. The beautiful gift box with delicious chocolates as a Christmas gift was a very special treat!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was clean, concenient and had a free fast internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was given a room on the 5th floor and works were being conducted at the floor above starting early morning making it impossible to sleep

    The hotel was clean, concenient and had a free fast internet connection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing particular. everything was lovely. Curtain in the rooms are too big to manipulate manually.

    Efficient staff. We had a minor issue with a sofa bed as we entered the room on the first day. Within a very short time after a phone call, the bed was replaced and done. Again another time we ask for some extra cups and within a few minutes a tray loaded with cups and glasses were brought in. We asked for a late check out and given extra couple of hours free. The manager and the staff at the breakfast place is very efficient and helpful, so is the staff at the reception. Location is ideal. All major attractions are in walking distance. Metro is nearby, but we didn't even bother to take any public transport. Loads of good eating places next door to this hotel. Pool area is nice and it is a very nice covered swimming pool. Only thing is to use the gym you will have to pay 12 euros per day, but then I suppose it is the case in many hotels.We didn't even have time to use the gym anyway.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Everything was wonderful, except the fact that they are...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Insanely expensive breakfast

    Everything was wonderful, except the fact that they are charging 29 euros for breakfast. Unacceptable for a 5 star hotel of this stature in 2017 .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the services were very expensive. We didn't eat at the restaurant because it was too expensive.

    Great room. Great view of Athens from the pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Very gentle staff, great breakfast and roof garden with SPA...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was smelling of smoke. The rooms would be a little more bigger.

    Very gentle staff, great breakfast and roof garden with SPA and pool. Room cleaned twice a day. Wifi worked perfectly with a good signal. Bathroom well furbished.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff and good service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This isn't about the hotel but watch the taxi drivers! They seem to make up their own prices if you pick one off a rank. Example: Airport to Divani should be a fixed price of 38 euros but we were charged 48 one way and 43 the other. They only take cash. Round town taxis are cheap but it is also quite easy to walk to a lot of attractions.

    Nice hotel with clean rooms, friendly staff and good service. Good choice of food at breakfast, evening meals were nice but a little pricey, however the convenience factor was great as you could get food up to 1am in the bar or 24hrs room service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.7
    Not the best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff , no names mentioned but on check out had one of the rudest experiences . Will not be staying there again unless I can't avoid it

    Location is great and easy enough to find

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    cleanliness and attention of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My fault, but I did not realise that parking (21 Euros) and Breakfast (58 Euros) were extra to the cost of the room, otherwise all my comments would have been excellent.

    cleanliness and attention of staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Well located, excellent breakfast
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff knocking at the door of your room at 9h00 in the morning..

    Breakfast was excellent, staff helpful and well located in an area close to restaurants and transports.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    Prize not adequate to the quality of comfort.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The prize totally not adequate to the comfort. Hotel Divani Caravel has 5 stars, but for water in the room You have to pay! During the booking they don't inform You about additional deposit 50Eur per night, if You are not prepared IT is Your problem. One of the receptionist not nice, arogant. I am traveling a lot and I never met such bad serving customers. My room was in not smooking area, but every night I felt cigarets... I informed about it service, but they do nothing, don't care. Breakfest costs 29 EUR, and nothing special.. Sometimes You can pay less in other hotel and meet fresh scrambled eggs,prepare by cooker, not like in Divani Caravel. In the centrum of the Athens You can find a really better offerts, where prize is adequate to quality of the comfort. I really not recommended Divani Caravel hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect sunny weather with 27 degrees made this business trip like a mini holiday !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I proposed to the chef to have croissant French style instead of buttered croissant, which tastes more like a Danish pastry.

    The pool and pool bar on the roof with an excellent view over the city and with Acropolis in the background ! Big breakfast with everything and a very cool refrigerator for the fresh food. Liked the salmon with a lemon slice and homemade dressing very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is nicely located outside the main touristic area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breaksfast is quite expensive if not included in the price of the room. Overall, one can see that this hotel had better days and is a little bit old (but very clean nevertheless).

    The hotel is nicely located outside the main touristic area of Athens. It offers a lot of on-site services and feels luxurious. The rooms are big, clean and well equipped. The personnel of the hotel is always attentive to our wishes and always tried to find a solution. The view on the Acropolis on top of the hotel is amazing. The breakfast is very good. Not very far from a metro station and have good access to major roads.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice rooftop pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled like smoke and the decor and finishes were tired and needed to be redone.

    It was a 5 minute taxi ride to the Parthenon. The roof top pool was very refreshing after site seeing all day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel with nice service, not sure if it's worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No irons in the room and it was not cheap to have your shirts pressed either. Pool area was jam packed and not large enough to support a hotel of that size.

    Great service despite being a high turn around hotel. Many buses loaded with tourists came and went but the staff were still attentive to the customer's needs. There was a slight problem with my room which bothered my allergies and they were quite accommodating to switch rooms for me with no issues.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    It was OK for one night only stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little bit dated. Maybe it is time for a renovation. Yet, we've been in the hotel for one night only so, one should read my evaluation taking this fact into consideration.

    Good location. Hotel is OK. The view from the pool on the top of the hotel is simply amazing. Recommend for a short term stay only.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Good breakfast, very nice pool at the roof with spectacular...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for an non-smoking room but the room was for smokers. Did not try to change it because I arrived after midnight.

    Good breakfast, very nice pool at the roof with spectacular view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    Great stay!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was a bit cold so our child couldn't swim. Would be better if the water was warmer. Pool has amazing views though!

    Very nice hotel, room was clean and comfortable. We were on the executive floor which gave us that little bit of extra service. Recommend it to everyone! Staff in Browns was really friendly and helpful. Around the area nice restaurants also. Thanks for the great stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    Simply overpriced for what it is
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel just has no soul. staff is not caring and attentive. the pool would be unusable for children because its so cold. generally price-value is not good. the breakfast for a 5* hotel is rather poor. almost no vegetables or fruit.

    the pool - although I don't know why the water was so cold - it was hot all summer long in Athens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Not a bad option, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was on the high side for the overall facilities, the pool was not great and was freezing cold! The front desk staff were mostly less than helpful, not very interested in customer service, and weren't overly pleasant.

    The hotel has very nice facilities, comfortable rooms and is centrally located. The support staff (bell boys, restaurant staff, curb side staff... Etc) were all helpful and extremely pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice, but expensive for the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the main reasons we booked the hotel was for the pool. Whilst the pool itself was nice, there was only about 10 or so sunbeds for a massive hotel. We got up there two mornings at opening, only to find that the beds were already "taken", even though no one was there! I think some wealthy guests pay staff to secure a sunbed for the whole day! The second issue we had was that the hotel does not supply irons or ironing boards! We rang up twice, just to be sure, but were told that if we wanted to iron anything we had to use their "ironing service" which charged about 15 Euro per shirt! Very questionable practices...

    The hotel is very comfortable and in a decent area. The room is a good size and was nice and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    The AC system is very old it is the chillers system with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar workinh hours very bad only from 5pm to 1 am

    The AC system is very old it is the chillers system with cold water running through pipes too old not effective

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.9
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so old!!! And most of its facilities weren't free Gym business center brekfast was'nt included I donn't recommend any one to stay at the hotel !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    This was my second time I stayed at this beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my second time I stayed at this beautiful hotel. Last time it was in 2015 then I returned with a friend August this year. Love the special treatment and great service you receive from the hotel staff. Love the fact that there are taxis awaiting outside the entrance for you anytime. Syntagma square is only about a short 5 min drive from the hotel. We walked around the corner of the hotel to dine out which there were about 5 or 7 restaurants and bars to choose from. My favourite place for dining being Oroscopo. I would definitely stay at this hotel many times again whenever I am back in Athens. Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    I appreciate the hotel's providing enough smoking rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Replacement of in-room cups for hot beverages and content of mini bar, however, was either much too slow (only after 2 days) or not done at all. Bath tub is much too small.

    I appreciate the hotel's providing enough smoking rooms. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Great roof pool view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was pleasant

    Great decoration, comfortable rooms and bathroom, very friendly and polite staff. Also a nice pool on the roof with great view !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    nice restaurants close by easy acecss to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not worth of its price (29 euros)

    the people working in reception were really friendly and helpful - nice surprise as the hotel was rather typical business hotel. Breakfast not worth of its high price (29 euros)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Below average for a 5 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.We asked for a double bed and we got 2 single beds placed close to each other! 2. Outdated and tired deco 3. Outrageously expensive bar and room mini bar. Still water in room was not complimentary

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: