Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Donna's House Santorini

Main Street, Pirgos, 84701, Greece

#4 of 42 hotels in Pirgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about Donna's House. The location was tops, the room was gorgeous, the breakfast was amazing and our hosts, Lina and her partner were fantastic. I would recommend the hotel to anyone. Pyrgos is such a fabulous area to stay while in Santorini - well away from the maddening crowds...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Missed the fact that there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room itself, however, when we wanted a coffee late one evening before reception closed, the owner was happy enough to make us one and even carried the tray to our room for us.

    Hospitality, from the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome! Location, away from the square where the shops and restaurants are mainly based, but within a 2 minute walk, therefore, giving quietness and fantastic views, we enjoyed it all!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Donna's House was a beautiful hotel to stay at on Santorini. The location on the island was perfect for getting around and seeing all there is to offer on Santorini. Lina was so helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very fresh and we had plenty to eat. The room was very large and we had plenty of room for our family. Lina helped me find a rental car company near the hotel. I wish we could have stayed a longer time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A peaceful location but close to the centre of the town. Great room and views. The staff could not have been more helpful and polite. Breakfast in the beautiful courtyard was superb. Great place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was superb but Santorini is very overrated. Views are spectacular but roads are terrible, beaches are dirty sand and place was overcrowded even in May.

    The location was great away from the crowds of Santorini but central to the islands sights. Room was beautiful and very clean. Lina was a fantastic host meeting us in the early hours when the ferry docked and helping with our luggage. Breakfast was delicious. Views from the property were spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lina is a lovely great host! She took care of my wife and I as we were family, delicious breakfast, really good tips to enjoy Santorini, and the room very confortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find anything we didn't like... towels too scratchy & hard is possibly the only trivial criticism!

    Superb view.Superb breakfasts (the best we've had) in a superb courtyard. Superb hospitality (THANK YOU, Lina).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, elegant rooms with super Wi-Fi and welcome hot water; fantastic different breakfasts each day; terrific location in the middle of Santorini and Pyrgos, which still feels like a place that locals actually live in Santorini; and most importantly, at Donna’s House, they make you feel like family. Special love to hostess with the mostest, Lina, who sincerely goes the extra mile. I did not want to leave.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very polite and gentle host. Mr. Manolis (the owner) and Mrs. Lina are really customer centric people, with a smile and with the desire to serve you best! I was amazed by the warm hospitality and generosity! I was positively surprised!!! The location is a "straight 10", especially for Easter holidays. You will experience Greek orthodox Easter like never before. Also April and May is a great season to visit the island. Breakfast was also very complete. Thank you for everything!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is public parking close, but you do reach the House on foot.

    A beautifully appointed welcoming guest house with wonderful views of Pyrgos and beyond. The village is unspoiled and not driven by the large scale tourism of the rest of Santorini. We walked up to the top of the village through a maze of alleys and were rewarded by magnificent views of the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the toilet cistern kept up a drip,drip,DRIP all the time, Mario did his best to fix it but was not able to so we turned the water off when the cistern was full and turned it on again when necessary.

    breakfasts were delicious, the garden setting for meals was truly delightful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Donnas House is situated in a beautiful tranquil area of Santorini. The room and facilities were perfect for what we needed and breakfasts each morning were fresh and tasty. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful providing additional refreshments and useful advice. Would certainly recommend to friends and would use again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Everything was just perfect!

    Donna's House is perfectly located in a very nice village Pyrgos and from their you can easily reach other places by car. Very nice, and clean hotel with all the required facilities + Mario (the person managing the hotel) is very helpful and have a very good sense of humor. Very good breakfast!. I highly recommend this hotel as all our experience was awesome!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think off!

    The host Mario was super friendly. He Gave us a good run down on the island and where to find nice beaches and restaurants. The rooms were very clean and location of the property was also great. Would love to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room could have been more stronger.

    Mario was very welcoming, funny, informative and gave excellent recommendations.The breakfast was excellent and very tasty. The area near our room was quiet and relaxing. The restaurants near the hotel were delicious, and there were minimarkets.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit hard

    The breakfasts were amazing and Mario was a lovely and helpful host. The rooms were beautiful and clean and the location very central

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The staff is really kind and helpful. The breakfast is good and variety. The house is well located in the way to the top castle and the views from the terrace really noce.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing

    The relaxed and extremely friendly atmosphere. We had such a good time talking to Mario and other quests. Pyrgos is the place to stay in Santorini. Away from the tour groups and cruise ships. A nice layer back village. And Donna's is the best.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to find. Ask someone!

    Well-appointed rooms, copious breakfasts, different every day. Friendly and helpful manager, Mario. View from terrace: sunset view, view of the village (lit up with candles on Good Friday.)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing not too like.

    Mario is very friendly, chatty and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. He arranged our taxi to the ferry port and even accompanied us down to the main road to meet the taxi and see us off. Our room upstairs was spacious, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and had great views over Pyrgos. There was always plenty of hot water in bathroom too. There was a bottle of chilled water waiting for us in the fridge when we arrived. The breakfasts were excellent and served in the delightful garden. The hotel is in a good location for a variety of tavernas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very friendly staff. The owners, Mario and Lina, will attend to your every need. Pyrgos is a good option if you want to stay away from the crowds and noise in Fira and Oia. If I ever come back in Santorini I will surely stay at Donna's House.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking some distance from property, but little that Donna could do about it.

    Excellent location away from the crowds, with very friendly and knowledgeable host

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. The building amazing. The staff perfect. We really want to thanks LINA and MARIO for their help and their smile..Two persons that they make our holiday more fun and great..

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I highly recommed this place. Nice place, increíble breakfast, located in one of the most beautiful towns of Santorini. Mario is a very good guest, friendly and give us good advises and recomendations. the only problem is that you have to rent a car if you want to enjoy the island! the island is incredible and you need at least 4 days to visit all!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is in a wonderful quiet village away from the noisy streets of FIra. Service from host Mario was exceptional. He helped us with the quadbike rental and even to carry the luggages. He even upgraded our room to top floor and prepared a daily delicious breakfast. Bathroom clean and water pressure very good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and professionnal owner. Family room very cleaned with a typical decoration. Really good breakfast. Hotel located in the center of a lovely village where you will see the sunset if you go up to the top.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Mario is the perfect host, very attentive and always prepared to give you the best service - and so are the others. Beautiful garden and very comfortable rooms. The breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    pyrgos is a central village, near the airport and the village of thira, out of the noise of the city. the guest Mario is very nice and helpful. our room is comfortable and characteristic. the breakfast included was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our service was excellent all the staff were great and couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lina was the most helpful staff we have ever met! Helped us with all our problems and gave us advices

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great friendly staff. Nice ambient. Good location. near to all the interesting places of interest at Pygros.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location n friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a car, getting anywhere from Pyrgos is a bit difficult

    Charming, pleasant, beautiful, welcoming, relaxed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    so friendly, welcoming, beautiful views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillow

    Excellent breakfast for our needs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet system , unable to flush toilet paper was a problem

    Very pleasant hosts & very good facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mario was a very nice host. His house is well located in Pyrgos and all services including breakfast are excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, very comfortable and clean, very nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very quiet location for Santorini. You will start your day with an amazing breakfast in a calm patio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal service Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location, wonderful staff, AMAZING breakfast. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hosts are extremely friendly Breakfast is amazing Location and view is perfect I would go there again for 120%

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard (Upper Floor)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Excellent location, excellent manager, excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking at location. Available 50-100 meters away. Need to carry luggage a distance.

    Friendly staff and good service

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somehow simple rooms

    Great staff, nice location if you prefer a quieter stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Upper Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have loved to be able to make tea or coffee in room.

    Breakfast beautifully fresh every morning .Staff so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Freindly, helpful, and utterly charming staff make Donna's House a fantastic choice whether travelling alone or with a family. Literally five minutes walk through picture-perfect Greek streets to the central square, everything is just on the doorstep from markets to restaurants. Ten minutes walk from the best vantage point to watch those famous sunsets, or just watch them from the hotel balcony.. Breakfasts are filling and Mario keeps the drinks priced very, very reasonably. WiFi is available on request.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pity that no free pick-up and drop-off from/to the ferry or airport is offered for a stay of 3 or more nights. Therefore a rental car is a good option.

    Mario is a very nice host who gives good tips and information and is always ready for a laugh. Thank you Mario! Beautiful secluded and very relaxing garden to enjoy a nice breakfast. Some more variation would be an improvement though. On the first floor a large balcony around the whole house and thus can be used from all guestrooms on that floor. A small table with 2 chairs on this balcony at every room.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you should have a car to feel comfortable there

    great place for that price, it is located in the centre of island, so it is good base for investigation of the island

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice with a pool.

    This hotel is different from many of the greek hotels, it feels almost as a french hotel. A bit more decoration in the traditional style. Very comfortable room with everything you need. And the breakfast garden is very nice as is the breakfast. And Mario does his utmost to make you feel at home.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Couple

    Unfortunately there is no pool and you aren't close to the sea. We were only there 2nights so this didn't really bother us and the rest was so nice it made up for it. If you have access issues it is up a slight hill and there are some windy steps (again fine for us but not for everyone)

    The breakfast was fantastic, Mario on reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, shower was good (not too weak!). Only a minute walk from a lovely restaurant called Cava Alta (go late and get a seat on the terrace but book), also very close to the town square with a couple of cafes and a mini market.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is like a dream. Rooms are very clean and calm. And there is so beautiful view from the terrace. The breakfasts are served in the small garden and are diverse every day. The staff (Mario) is always very kind and supportive - for sure without him this place wouldn't be the same ;)

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mario (the owner) was a welcoming and amazing host. The location of the guesthouse was perfect; in the heart of the quaint, beautiful village of Pyrgos. Breakfast was delicious each morning and we thoroughly enjoyed eating it in the picturesque garden terrace. Rooms were clean and spacious with good airconditioning. We had a fantastic stay and hope to be back soon!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We checked in late around 11pm, and our host was still friendly with us though he had wait us for 4 hours. The next day, he gave us suggestions on places we could visit, which is really helpful and good choice.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard for my liking

    Mario the owner cannot do enough for you. Very friendly and helped with quad bike hire and information regarding the island

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location. Great host (Mario is funny and helpful. Very proactive attitude too). Great rooms, comfortable bed, air con working well. Excellent overall!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This place is great, we loved the the town and loved our stay. We recommend this place to anyone. We stayed 2 nights in Fira, but we felt like it was a big tourist trap (same with Oia). My wife and I were on our Honeymoon, and the second part of our stay in Santorini was at Donna's, and we couldn't have been more pleased. Mario, the host, did everything he could to make us comfortable, he had an ATV delivered, negotiated a deal for us, and even let us check out a bit later so we could shower before our flight! We cannot say enough nice things about our stay. Beyond that, the town was incredible, we thought it was more beautiful than anywhere else on the island. Sunsets were gorgeous, and the atmosphere was great. We finally felt like we were in Greece and not just another tourist.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pyrgos is the perfect place to stay in Santorini. Close to everything but far enough away from the overwhelming crowds of tourists in Fira and Oia. Donna's House was perfect! The hotel is absolutely lovely and Manolis is fabulous. We would stay there again any time!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mario, the co-manager (I think), was very attentive, always ready to please and an excellent source of information and useful advice. He couldn't have been more helpful, and achieved a good balance of friendliness, service and a very professional manner.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences to report. The wi-fi was spotty at times, but they were quick to sort it out. Not a big deal with so much beauty to explore.

    Great location for getting out and exploring Pyrgos and the surrounding areas by foot. The staff was very personable and accommodating. Very welcoming place. They served a nice breakfast with a personal touch. The Good Friday procession through the village is a must to see once in your life. An amazing sight to behold!

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place to stay in Santorini, recommend 100%

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice place to stay! Mario will make you feel at home with his kindness.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All was very nice!

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: