Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Doryssa Seaside Resort 5 stars

Main Street, Pythagoreio, 83103, Greece

#8 of 19 hotels in Pythagoreio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    This is a family-oriented resort which is located a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not ideal location and better for families rather than couples.

    This is a family-oriented resort which is located a little way outside Pythagoria, but easy walking distance. Understandably, lots of kids at the hotel pool and for this reason we preferred the beach, although they should remove the additional fee for sun beds for hotel guests. Friendly staff who went out of their way to store some of our luggage for a few days while we visited Patmos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice and helpful staff, upgraded us for a better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool a little bit crowded.

    Nice and helpful staff, upgraded us for a better room. Good beach. 20 minutes walk or a short taxi ride to the centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    the location of the hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had to pay for the sunbeds and umbrella at the hotel's beach even if we were staying at the hotel which is not something we experienced before, normally if you are hotel guest, you use the beach facilities for free. The hotel had family club for all inclusive Tui family guests and other kids (staying BB or otherwise) are not invited/accepted to the games -shows for the kids which we did not like because kids want to play and enjoy together.

    the location of the hotel was perfect. Potaki beach was in front of the hotel and very nice. The village center and the main shopping street and restaurants were 5 minutes drive away. The staff were friendly and helpful all the time. the hotel was child-family friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, pretty gardens, direct access to beach,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So close to the airport that planes fly too low overhead multiple times a day—extremely loud! Food options for breakfast were decent, but need Greek cheese and better hot items. I was appalled by the charge for lounge chairs on the beach, especially given the price I paid for the room. And after staying here four times over the years, there’s been a big change toward a family resort with lots of family activities and a separate breakfast for all-inclusive guests, of which I was not one. Separate breakfasts is a bad idea and creates a caste system of guests. And too many family activities and cartoon characters makes other guests feel unwelcome.

    Beautiful setting, pretty gardens, direct access to beach, large pool, short 15-minute walk to downtown and port, and extremely close to airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Short Business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provided services did not reflect the high prices. Too much focus on all inclusive. No same day ironining was provided and no airport transfer

    Location and design

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The dinner was okay but there was a big selection to choose...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not come with shampoo or conditioner.

    The dinner was okay but there was a big selection to choose from. The breakfast was outstanding and the pool side and beach service was amazing. Drink prices were reasonable and the staff was always there to get you what you want and need!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Likely the best resort style property on the island of Samos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C could be stronger.

    Good location. Very nice beach and service on the beach. Excellent food. Convenient to the town. Large junior suite with modern, minimalist furnishings. Great for families.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect! Perfect service and rooms and beds and cleaning and location... But you should keep this in your mind, Samos has wonderful beaches and you should see other beaches also. If you want to spend your all time in hotel and do not want to see another beaches, this hotel for you... But you should rent a car and see other beaches also...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Worth every cent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They ask for 3 euros per sun bed in the beach. I learned the logic behing this but it still does not make sense. If you want to get money from your guests then add it hiddenly to the cost of accomodation. When you go to beach and someone coming and asking for money (despite the guy was very kind) it annoys people.

    Location was great and very close to Pithagoria. It's one of the best location in Sammos to accomodate. All food was good and qualified. Staff was amazing, all the people in the restaurants, cafes, recepiton and even beaches were smiling and very kind. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Especially there was no label for meats given for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Especially there was no label for meats given for the breakfast. We could not understand what kind of meat. But this is a common problem for samos hotels. Very close to airport so a bit noisy during the take off airplanes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    ok but thats all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The whole place is packed with scandinavians and created to suit the scandinavian taste. You can stay in the "village" and live in a kind of Greek theme park. The place is so big and most of the time packed with (scandinavian) people. Most of the time there is an activity going on with shouting instructors on a speaker. The food is quite ok but gets a bit boring after a while. The drinks and food you buy has scandinavian pricing level.

    The beds were the best we had in Greece. The staff were polite and helpful. This is a place to go if you really dont won't to leave home but are looking for a weather guarantee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Room , beach, location , breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport too close, medium leve for cleaning, non suggested by the reception the cheapest restaurant but only the main one mutch more expensive

    Room , beach, location , breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Location, facilities, helpful personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The presence of TUI Groups that had almost "invaded" the hotel in a way rather unpleasant and annoying for the rest of the customers.

    Location, facilities, helpful personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.3
    overestimated , poor stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    poor breakfast , no fresh orange juice , they offer tapped water and not in bottle . price per night does not correlate with what it is offered , pool was overcrowded as it is only one for adults

    beach bar asterias nearby , cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    Great resort with beautiful concept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sunbeds were not included in the price which does not make sense for a expensive seaside resort.

    Great resort with beautiful concept. Amazing nature, beach and sea. Very professional and attending staff. Great breakfast. Lovely gestures in our room for me and my wife as this was part of our honeymoon. Very close to Pythogorias which is a very sweet little town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Sun&Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have enough information about to book beds at the beach because a lot of people that are not allocated at the hotel are allowed to enter and sometimes is too busy and as a client you can't get a spot at the beach.

    The spa treatments are great, the staff is really profesional, friendly and helpful . You should know that locals are allowed to enter the premises to be at the hotel-beach so as a client you should booked the beach-bed through the manager of the bar or maybe don't get a bed-beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.8
    Nothing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was rude. Very niosy at night. We had an early flight and couldn't sleep due to noise. Our rate was supposed to include breakfast but they never provided us breakfast. They put us in a room that was not the room that I paid for and they then refused to change our accommodations. I would not recommend this place.

    Nothing .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Greek hospitality coupled with 5-star luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small number of overly demanding tourists belittling the staff.

    The staff were caring and genuine . The property caters for everyone. It's also walking distance from the centre of town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    The sea, the food, rooms, staff they were all wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Beach Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can complain is that you have to pay for sun beds at the beach of the hotel. Which makes you feel uncomfortable. Not much but still weird considering the amount we pay to stay😳

    The sea, the food, rooms, staff they were all wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good and bad at Doryssa.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The real problem is that if you check on Bookings or even the hotel site it is nowhere mentionned that in fact you are in a holiday club. Tui family life all inclusive !! That is NOT the class five star hotel you expect ! Than you have to pay 3 euro per person for a bed at the beach (even if you just say for 3 hours one morning) but at the swimming pool it is free but there it is so crowded with children you can not even get into the water !!! Neglected gardens… Breakfast buffet is also very poor. No one making eggs, no fresh orange juice, fruit without taste. You have to get coffee and tea yourself, paper napkins, no tablecloth. The night we wanted to have dinner the beach taverna was closed so the only option was to go to the buffet. The public price is 40 euros (we had a reduction of 50 % for one evening) but it was not even worth 10 euros. When we arrived the table was dirty and is wasn't cleaned properly afterwards, no tissu table cloth or napkins as you might expect in this kind of hotel. Very unfriendly waiters (of cause there is NOT enough waiters al all so we can understand it gets difficult). We waited 20 minutes to order drinks. Than we had to get the ice by ourselves because nobody took any notice. After the entrees (not a lot of choice) nothing of the food was temping. It all looked dry and cold (which it was - they explained the next day that they had a problem with the heating system-). Very little choice and some vegetables from the freezer. So we asked and they said "one minute". We stood there with our empty plates for ten minutes and than decided not to eat. We asked for the manager. We saw the food and beverage manager who listed to our complain and took away the bill. We didn't eat anything else and just finished our drinks. Maybe if you are in half board you accept this kind of buffet but if you just go once it is terrible.

    We have been upgraded to a junior suite thanks to a friend of a friend etc. So we had a very nice junior suite. Just strange for a five star that you only have a queen size bed. No king. Next to the port and airport. Mrs Eleni Papadopoulou du Guest Relations Department who does a great job.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Beach was easy to reach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked for €3 per beach beds. No shuttle to city center. It was like a 4 stars hotel instead of 5 stars. Rooms did not include tooth kit. There were no shampoo or shower gel in bath. A clean and nice hotel but A very poor cost/performance rate. Won't plan to travel again.

    Beach was easy to reach. Rooms were clean. Kid club seemed to be functioning. Animations were nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    A haven amongst waves of smiles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unfortunate dynamic between the waitress and the cook in the tavern where we ate one night,where there was high tension and argument between them that was palpable.

    The managerial staff especially and all the others were very cordial and helpful.I would highly recommend this hotel purely on service(not to mention it's other attributes).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Overall a good experience
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit overpriced and it could have been at least a bit bigger for its cost and the bathroom could have been more comfortable (it is super clean and modern designed but still small).

    The resort is build upon a unique idea and it offers great facilities and access to a great beach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Relaxing family holidays near the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants have limited alacart selection. Furthermore, Asterias beach restaurant offered a menu with ammended price list for example the prok chop had written price 25 euro and ammended 75 euro!!!

    Very good landscape, excellent view of the sea, clean beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cleared too early (10am) for a vacation hotel. Should be at least 11am

    Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Confort of the room we stayed was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort of the room we stayed was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Good times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Crowded and somewhat impersonal. Close to the airport

    Professional and friendly staff. Close to a beautiful beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets very windy and sea is very cold

    Nice location and good friendly professional staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff is great. The beach is a pebble beach so that was a bit disappointing. Other than that great hotel. Very clean and great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable, beautifully organised and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Close to Pythagorian - rooms Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun beds towelled by 8am Useless WiFi Poor Bar and lack of staff

    Close to Pythagorian - rooms Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.3
    Next time i visit Turkey we will seek a first class hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out Not super clean Hallways dirty Smoke smelling room

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice rooms and athmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to pay for beach

    Very nice rooms and athmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Location of the hotel as well as the beach was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel as well as the beach was great. The hotel was very modern, and they have all the services which you may need in a holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Perfect family vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach, activities for the kids, food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Last year was very good. This year it was crowded and noone was giving instructions on how to behave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely crowded!!!!

    The garden of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Top Place Must Do
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't Fault Anything

    Nothing To Complain About Awesome Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff and great location conviently located to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and great location conviently located to beaches and town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Perfect perfect perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, wonderful staff and excellent service. I will derinetely come back. Thank you very much for your kind hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Eveything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eveything. Calm and easy. Beautiful sea. Good food. Buffet breakfast. Architecture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    10
    Excellent location,on the beach,confortable rooms,beatiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent location,on the beach,confortable rooms,beatiful view,good breakfast.quiet and peaceful.Near the town of Pythagorion you can go walking.Good WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    6.7
    Hotel beach although it is by nature, is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is empty, nothing to find in hot corner. During our stay we and the other guests are the last accommodate guests, no service...

    Hotel beach although it is by nature, is good. So close to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    Loved the location it's right next to the airport with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None !

    Loved the location it's right next to the airport with even the planes passing by its still lovely. The pool is wonderful as well. We have a chance to stay in a room with three balconies and the views are spectacular. The hotel staff are awesome very very friendly and very helpful. Along with that we also had a chance to meet the owner of the hotel as well which was very great. The hotel has two parts a modern side and a more Classical Greek village style which is great.. Strongly recommend since it's also close to a small town called Pythagorean which is very very lovely.. Definitely going back again.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location, nice people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The day that we spent in the hotel we couldn't connect to the internet through the wifi..unfortunately there was a problem in wifi all day

    Excellent location, nice people! Everything was beautiful! The sushi bar Unan worth to visit!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.6
    Great staff thanks a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff thanks a lot

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    10
    Great views from room, breakfast, staff, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Great views from room, breakfast, staff, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Staff was very polite and interested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very polite and interested. Breakfast was good. Reaching to hotel is easy and location is enough near to the center.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Fantastic hotel - beautiful beaches and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotel - beautiful beaches and views. Great location - near airport and walking distance to the town

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: