Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Douliana Villas

Douliana Village, Douliana, 73014, Greece

#1 of 2 hotels in Douliana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 94 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Villa Sophie which was so dark and gloomy. The rooms were big enough and the two bathrooms were fine, but such drab decor throughout. The windows were so small with no view outside due to foliage growing outside. No patio doors so nothing other than a single small window looking onto the balcony. The furniture was so uncomfortable, clearly the most basic of price range.The balcony was small and only got a little sun in the evening. This apartment was clean and tidy in a fantastic location but just so dreary and dark. There was no desire on our behalf to want to spend anymore time in it than necessary. The coffee shop was closed as was the on site restaurant, which weren’t told about. However Poppi the manager was charming throughout and very helpful.

    Fantastic location in a beautiful village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Detached Four-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We have just returned from a truly superb holiday in Crete at Douliana Villas. The villa was beautifully presented, spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything anyone could want catered for. The pool was a delight and the well kept gardens had an abundance of olive and lemons trees. Being from the UK, the Air Conditioning helped with the heat as did our private pool ! We ate at the Kafenion and Taverna. The food was delicious and the staff were both friendly and attentive . I can't say enough good things about Popi and Michalis. They are amazing, helpful and extremely knowledgable about the surrounding area. We definitely recommend staying here - but be careful because you might not want to go home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Semi-detached Three-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lovely peaceful location. Really well equipped, spacious villa and the staff were very friendly. Lovely restaurants within walking distance. Excellent maid service which you don't normally get with self catering.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    The Diouliana Villa is located in a very nice traditional village, near to the sea and easy to discover the environment. The hosts were so kind at any time. To make your stay very comfortable for you is their only purpose. We loved the swimming pool, the nice bedrooms, the terrace for the breakfast, the very good local restaurant nearby... Surely recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be more comfortable.

    Very nice villa. The pool area with the kafenion is open with service all day long. The Douliana is a nice quiet area with very helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split level
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The ONLY thing that would have made the stay even better is to have wifi in the villa itself, but it's available at the big pool and bar area, so there is that.

    Recently returned from our vacation in Crete, and I'm really happy we stayed in the lovely little village of Douliana 'in the hills' away from the coast. The villa was spacious, really nicely decorated, and really pretty with it's old stone facade. The grounds of the Douliana villas are wonderfully 'lush' with bushes, flowers and trees everywhere. From Douliana it's really easy to get to the coast, with two different routes depending on if you're heading 'right' to Kalyves or 'left' to Amyridia. Finally, I'd say Douliana Villas is great value for money. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Semi-detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We know the area so were aware of location, if traveling to Douliana do a touch of research such as Google Earth so you have an idea of where it is, the streets are narrow but hey this is Greece,all part of the charm,worth the effort.

    All members of the staff Poppy,Michalis and Thomas were attentive and helpful, villa was very well presented with all facilities in working order. A relaxing and soothing environment just what we were looking for. Ideal local walks to to beach or nearby village,local taverna around the corner and a good one ! Bliss.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being the end of the season nothing was open and so it felt remote for a solo traveller.

    Beautiful place and scenery and the staff couldn't be more helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were extremely firm but otherwise, there were no condiments such as sugar, salt, etc. in the kitchen but otherwise it had all the dishes, pans, etc. anyone would need on vacation.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The apartment was very nice, lovely pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Semi-detached Three-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 13 nights

    - No wifi in the rooms - Whole villa booking was actually a half of the house - 6yo child is charged by full price - Villa was not cleaned perfectly from the beginning - Lots of ants in the kitchen - Cleaning once per 4 days and sometimes only if you additionally ask - Prepayment before stay, even if it announced that you pay when you stay (pre-authorisation without possibility to cancel, you pay if you come and you pay if you will not arrive) - There is a kitchen, but there was no kitchen towels, other necessary things - Staff is not always English speaking - High price, no flexibility to change the choice after the finishing of free cancellation period - Hotel impression as there is no welcoming host/owner as usual at other villas on Crete - Bathrooms without shampoo and other bath accessories

    - Beautiful location - Flowers around the villas - Late departure was possible

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Douliana villas is one of the most peaceful places we have stayed. The villa itself was lovely, traditional Greek with all the mod cons. We have to two children under three & it was great, it fitted all our requirements

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You must have a car in order to be mobile. They should give better instruction on how to get there (thank God for Google maps:-) )

    Great welcoming stuff (especially Puppy). Really nice beautiful village, and only 10 minutes drive from the near by beach. Great apartments, nice semi private pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do need a car to stay here (it's up a long winding road, a 15 min drive from Almyrida beach, 45 mins from the airport) and a couple of miles from Vamos. Finding the villas on our first day was a bit of a challenge - the address on booking.com takes you to Vamos for some reason. You need to head towards Vamos but follow the signs for Douliana/Ntouliana when you see them and the villas are then signposted. Only fault with the villa itself that the beds needed more pillows - there was only one per person.

    Lovely pool and great villa for the price. There was Aircon, a balcony with a table and chairs, a bbq outside, a TV, dining room table etc. The village itself is very pretty with flowers everywhere and nice views out towards the coastline. The onsite cafe (Kafeneion) very handy for snacks and wifi. The staff were very helpful and were on hand from early in the morning until late in the evening. There is a lovely pizzeria/taverna a very short walk from the villas.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Semi-detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure was low, I said to the manager when I left, I think it needs some tweaking.

    The Kafeneion was really nice, the personnel very friendly and their products simple and tasty! The pools are never overcrowded, in some cases we were the only users. The kitchen was well equipped with all the necessary for a family, the beds were comfortable and air conditioning was powerful. The location is very quiet bur few kilometers from the major touristic towns, for us it was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Tiny grumble - information of the area and a more detailed how to get there guide would have been appreciated.

    Most friendly, welcoming hosts. Beautiful villa and pool, air conditioning wonderful, yummy taverna walking distance. Peace haven and a real get away.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful location with very pretty gardens and semi-private pool. Friendly and attentive staff, peaceful and relaxed atmosphere with excellent taverna Ta Douliana next door. Immediately felt at home.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You definitely need car to get to this location well worth the effort

    Fantastic apartment fantastic private surroundings would say it was half size villa absolute fab

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet was insufficient and did not work half of the stay, the pillows were much to thick and hard, there were no small tables by the pool benches and it had been nice to have a stand-up shower.

    The apartment was good, clean and tidy and had everything except a toaster. The surroundings were beautiful and clean. I would recommend Douliana Villas to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much I didnt like. Great place!

    It had eveything I needed. Beautiful property!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peacefulness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds and pillows and cheap sheets

    The setting in the hills, the peacefullness.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poppy and thomas are very kind and the place is graet for vacation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split level
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We enjoyed restaurants in the area quiet a bit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great size for our family

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit isolated

    Very spacious. Lovely pool and garden

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split level
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are too hard: a small Ikea mattress would significantly improve guests' comfort

    Wonderful location, nice gardens, beautiful pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Semi-detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split Level
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Very quiet, exactly what we wanted!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the place is actually nicer than in the pictures. ,Poppy, a woman working in the compound was very friendly and helpful - thanks a lot

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Detached Two-Bedroom Villa with Shared Pool-Split level
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location, lovely gardens and village, great pool. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a large apartment for just the 2 of us and it had everything in it for a relaxed holiday in this smalll, traditional, hidden away village! The shared swimmingpool is great and almost as good as private, anyway not too crowded. The Ntouliana (pizza) taverna near the apartment is very good and had a great atmosphere! The manager was very kind and helpfull! Great location for visiting Vamos, Chania, Rethymnon and the Imbros gorge.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A great location near the delightful, small working town of Kalyves. The views across Souda Bay and up to the White mountains were spectacular. Having a taverna (with wi-fi) 2 minutes away was perfect for two daughters who were happy to stay by the pool while we explored the region. We will definitely return!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The team Popi and Michaelis where very kind The pool is perfect The villa is well equiped The area is lovely. The nearby tavern is very good We all gave it a score 10!!!

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great location (car essential). Very quiet in June. Fantastic all round views of mountains and sea. Most noise came from the bees on flowers in the gardens. Great accommodation and pool. Good local Taverna on site.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was too hard.

    Location is excellent, the house is beautiful with 3 balconies, the scenery is gorgeous, the personnel is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice place, we travel with 4 kids (17,14,11,6) The location is great, the villa is clean and very nice

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: