Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Doupiani House 3 stars

Kastraki, Kalabaka, 42200, Greece

#5 of 52 hotels in Kalabaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1814 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Quality accommodation with very personable and helpful staff. Wonderful and quiet setting and an ideal base when visiting Meteora. Local tavernas close at hand. Good breakfasts . Shots don't do it justice .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If arriving by train like I did (& I’m sure many more will) then the location might present some challenges. I love to walk so I walked here from the station (~30min) but for those not keen on walking (you’ll def need to follow along google maps) then I did see a taxi stand & number to call from the train station.

    The property is pretty charming! The outdoor terrace with incredible views from breakfast is the perfect way to start your day exploring the region. A short walk to good restaurants for dinner. For the adventurous it’s definitely possible to walk from the hotel to at least 2 of the monasteries, I did and it was so great staying so close to them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only stayed one night. We will definitely visit again and stay longer.

    We loved everything about this hotel-the traditional building and room decor, clean rooms and comfortable beds, the attentive professional staff, amazing buffet breakfast, and finally, the tranquil outdoor dining area with the most amazing views of Meteora.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi a little slow at times.

    Breakfast was wonderful, with local specialties, well prepared. Staff take pride in their hotel and work. We loved the patio, where we enjoyed our breakfast, but also to enjoy a glass of wine before dinner. The hotel is in a beautiful setting close to the monasteries in Kastraki, which we found quieter and friendlier to Kalambaka.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel was absolutely perfect.

    Views are fantastic, staff were wonderful. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Location is great. Had a wonderful 2 days there and everyone agreed we would like to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was that the wifi was slow and dropped out quite a lot. There were a few options to join and some proved better than others but it was too slow to download large messages or upload big pictures. Still you'd be mad to want to work or spend much time on line in somewhere as lovely as this!

    Wonderful location with spectacular view of Meteora from the Terrace and from the front bedrooms. Lovely hotel with stylish furnishings, comfortable rooms, very nice inside sitting area for a drink at night. Beautiful swallows nesting on the outside of the building swoop over you as you have a drink or breakfast on the terrace. Easy walk (for most) into the village for a meal but you need a car or taxi to get down to Kalabaka for a wider choice or to shop more seriously. Great range of excellent food for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow WiFi, and I can't help but feel that it is a thad bit early to start housekeeping at 08.30-ish

    Very nice hotel and very friendly staff, they advised me on a very nice hike and I then discovered that it is possible to reach all monasterys by foot from the location of the hotel, amazing experience, got to see sights few tourist being bused around gets to see, ask the staff about the hiking possibility!! Breakfast was great with lots of choice, room was nice and comfortable with modern furniture and comfortable bed and a fridge to keep ones drinks cool. Very nice view from my panorama view room! Easy to find and ample parking outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only, only thing we would have changed is the music they are playing. We could hardly hear the amazing songs of all of the birds and really connecting with the superb, unique view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christina who works at the reception desk is absolutely incredible...you could not expect better service and she went above and beyond for us. The location of the hotel is perfect with an easy less than 10 minute walk into Kastraki and adjacent to the starting location for hiking up to Meteora. The breakfast buffet was fabulous, especially the locally made yogurt! There was something tasty for everyone to enjoy and a beautiful garden seating area to have your meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we paid a high price for the room, the view we received was the hotel's back parking. We were told that the parking pictures affect the site and in general this is a problem we have not noticed. We were very uncomfortable with the matter, but we were told that there was nothing to be done about it. Our room was on the first floor and turned the parking lot we heard the cars park and we had to keep the curtains closed to prevent fetal glimpses into our room

    The hotel is located in a gorgeous landscape, but about half of the rooms are facing parking, so we could not enjoy this view. Breakfast was good and satisfying with lots of different vegetables and salads. Most of the staff were really nice women who tried to help in whatever we needed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well equipped.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely with a wonderful terrace and views if Meteora. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was excellent and the breakfast was exceptional. I would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.I would have loved the hotel to serve dinner,they do just breakfast. The night I came back from sightseeing was raining badly so I did not go down in the village.

    The location was great,in kastraki village so extra quiet,close to meteora mountain so at night there is no noise. Few restaurants in the village. Great bed,great breakfast,I thoroughly enjoyed it,the best I had.both girls at the reception were lovely,Christina the blonde one and the brunette one with very long hair ,I forgot her name,she is very sweet.I was in the room on the back side,with partially meteora view but I did not mind as I was there for one night only and I was sightseeing anyway. Overall everything was amazing,love the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and halls were a little dark, and our room was overlooking the parking lot, which wasn't ideal (but we also didn't pay more for a nicer view).

    The property is lovely, with a nice patio area outside for breakfast or relaxing in the afternoon with a view of the rocks. Decor is formal, but night. Breakfast was delicious, and the staff took the time to explain all the traditional Greek food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in our room. But this did not detract from the overhaul delightful experience.

    We had a wonderful stay. ALL staff were very attentive and customer focused. The room was tastefully decorated, in keeping with the rest of the hotel, and the view from our superior room was breathtaking. The bed was comfortable and was made with fresh, premium cotton sheets and duvet. The view from our superior room was simply breathtaking. The breakfast was superb. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to not like

    They had a wonderfrul buffet set up for breakfast that was delicious. I especially appreciate the tags and explanation in front of each dish as I am vegetarian and dont want to have to guess.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view, quiet place with garden, very friendly staff, close to the nice village and tavernas as well as to the touristic hotspots! I liked the breakfast on the terrace!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow had plastic type protective covers which were uncomfortable and sweaty at night. Staff very abrasive about us taking these off to be able to sleep. Water pressure poor in shower.

    Beautiful location and stunning view. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Brilliant location with fantastic views, quiet & peaceful with a gorgeous garden terrace to relax and take in the rocks and sunset. Comfy beds. Homemade produce on buffet breakfast - didn't need lunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance road was narrow and on a hill and you could not always see ahead . So we drove slow

    Rooms were all remodeled 2 years ago to US 4 star standards . The view can not be beat . Right at the base on the monasteries . Sunset view . Hotel was built in the 1850’s and they kept part of that charm on the first floor . Larger shower area , upgraded beds .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing to improve in my opinion is to add the choice of slices of fresh fruits to the breakfast instead of canned ones

    Everything was perfect. Period!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillowcases and bed were wrapped in plastic. This made for horrible sweaty bed so had to remove them. This practice is unpleasant.

    Locations great t breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.....well a kettle in the room with tea and coffee would be a bonus!

    Breakfast was fantastic, really delicious local fare. The views were stupendous and the location very good. We could get to the monasteries really quickly.I would return in a heartbeat if I ever come back to Meteora!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Intermittent WiFi was the only issue.

    Breakfast featured local selections and was hand made. Porch overlooking the mountains and monastery was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and corridor were bit too dimly lit.

    Small charming hotel, well maintained, Good breakfast spread, lots of homemade good tasting food especially the yogurt. Good view of

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Panoramic Meteora View and extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are handicapped you need to book the groundfloor because no elevator in the building. But you have fantastic garden rooms with direct acsess to the garden.

    The staff is very professional, service-oriented and very friendly. The rooms are very clean. Breathtaking view from the balcony (if you book mountain view). Breakfast is very fresh with locally produced products

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Excellent location with great rooms and wonderful view. Very clean hotel with welcoming reception. Helpful and advising staff concerning every quation. Very close parking place and delicious rich breakfast. The best location for traveling and hiking meteora!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful and cozy place. Lovely staff and delicious breakfast. Magnificent nature and views. Tranquility and silence, the air is filled with pleasant smells, singing of birds is heard from everywhere. I want to come here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. A bit of a walk to the village but it was not an issue at all. Good exercise.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and staff. Breakfast was excellent. Views were stunning from the hotel. Lovely restaurant Taverna Gardenia Plakias in the village. Hotel is tastefully furnished, clean and well maintained. I would highly recommend this place in Meteora. Trip to monasteries is a must.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that we only had one night to spent there.

    Fabulous location with wonderful panoramic view! Room was clean and pleasant with 3 beds. The lady who greeted us & checked us in was very warm. It was towards the far end of the town with plenty of easy onsite parking so it's perfect for visitors who would drive there. Breakfast was delicious. It was so nice to walk around the pretty yard and take in beautiful views all around the property. Great place to stay when visiting monasteries as they are all close by. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have booked the Panoramic Meteora view. There was nothing wrong with my room however.

    This hotel was the best hotel on our trip in Greece! It had a beautiful view of Meteora and garden with this view where we ate breakfast. I will recommend this hotel to family and friends! The price was very reasonable considering what we got!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi : internet connection did not work at all in room 35. Both the network from the city and the local wifi have poor bandwidth.

    Excellent view to the Meteora mountain (for the best rooms) Comfortable hotel with cosy atmosphere. The heating through reversible air conditioning is efficient but noisy. Using the existing classic radiators would be preferable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a bit stiff and uncomfortable. I had booked a room with Meteora view, but I had to hang off my balcony to actually see a couple of stones. I would recommend booking a panorama view room, or else, just book the cheapest option as the view from the middle option is not that great.

    Very beautiful common spaces and terrace to enjoy the views of Meteora. The breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Panoramic Meteora View and extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was super slow. Only good for email and WhatsApp, but not even that at peak times.

    The views and design was amazing. Great breakfast too. We loved sitting on the balcony at night. Perfect location. Close enough to walk to hiking trails and restaurants, far enough for peace and privacy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. It might be nice to have coffee / tea facilities in room.

    Nice hotel with beautiful surrounding and views. Authentic interior design. Parking just next by. Short drive to Meteora Monasteries as well as to town center of Kalambaka. Comfortable beds and very good breakfast. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff's service can be improved. the breakfast had nice options but some of them were finished pretty early and they didn't refilled them allthough we asked them to. we got 2 single beds that didn't mash well together to make a double bed.

    the view from the room's balcony was realy beautifull. the room was clean and well furnished.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're arriving later in the day or into the night, heads up that no meals are available other than breakfast - at least not in the shoulder season. There wasn't any assistance in bringing suitcases upstairs to the rooms either, so be prepared to lift.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are awkward & water pressure on shower head is very weak.

    Great staff, awesome room size (superior), delicious breakfast, perfect location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The property was very clean, stylish, friendly staff, room was spacey and comfortable and of course the view from our balcony was to die for !! We would definitely come back and recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish the bed were little more firm and the bathroom and the room wasn't so congested. The TV need more English channels.

    Everything was great about this hotel. Breakfast was very good and authentic Greek items. Great location. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cramped for price, but everything else was great.

    Great breakfast, nice lobby and room was quite comfortable. Great views from our room. Easy to park and get around the town. Friendly staff, easy to communicate in English.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV Channels - no English language satellite TV

    Beautiful view of the rock formations from the bedroom balcony, very comfortable room and bed. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Delightful property, magnificent views, superb breakfast -- we absolutely loved staying at Doupiani house and wished we'd had a whole week there. Even though it's a touch pricey, just the breakfast spread made up for everything! So don't think twice, stay here!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was OK but not on a par with the excellence elsewhere on this charming hotel

    Well worth the extra to have the panoramic view rooms. Staff very friendly. Lovely pieces of decor throughout the public rooms and wonderful outside terraces

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Panoramic Meteora View and extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think I was just a little bit unlucky that had "party neighbor" right next door. Sound from next room annoyed me until almost midnight.

    Good Location for those who travel by car. Every staff was ready for excellent service. Room was very nice and clean with a fine view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, high quality linens, furniture. Newly renovated. Balcony with a great view of the rocks. Nice breakfast. Great staff. Parking on site. Easy drive or walk to the sights. They claim the 'best view' and they should! High marks for this place. Look no further.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would be a great addition.

    The location of the hotel was perfect. It was quiet, being slightly out of the village and had a wonderful view of the rocks. Rooms were a good size and breakfast was varied and of good quality. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast scrambled eggs were cold. Safe could not fit a laptop. Wifi could be a bit better. Small beer at the bar was 3,50€, which I find a bit much (but on the plus side, we had a fridge in the room so we could bring our own from the village). Overall I had wished for a better value for money, but we really enjoyed our stay.

    We had an amazing stay. We loved the location and that vieeew!! We hiked up to the Varlaam Monastery right from the hotel and did a loop via the Holy Trinity and then Kalabaka. The people in Kastraki were lovely (best restaurant: La Gardenia which is a 10min walk). Room was great, we were there on a rather cold November day, but heating worked fine. Breakfast was OK, typical for Greek hotels but with some lovely touches like olives from their garden (you have to try the olive paté; also the yoghurt with local honey...delish!) I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold at night... central heating not switched on.. Airconditioner in the room not effective... Owner brought us a small electric heater that worked on one (noisy) high speed only... this helped partially... Pity, as we spent two nights at the hotel and chose the more expensive room and would have expected, as a minimum, not to suffer from the cold...

    Great panoramic views from the room and from the hotel grounds. Comfortable rooms as in the pictures on the booking.com site. Nice breakfast with some interesting "homemade" dishes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet wasn't very big and didn't have a large variety. The listing should clarify the difference between "Meteora View" and "Panoramic Meteora View"

    The views from every angle of the hotel are wonderful. We were upgraded to a "Panoramic Meteora View" (which is apparently different from the regular "Meteora View") and it was absolutely terrific. The staff in the hotel was also very friendly and it was an excellent stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there s a problem in the booking system and i find it somehow dishonest . when u book a room with Meteora view , u are given a room with view on nothing exept the back parking lot , although the picture shows u something differant on the booking page . When u complain about it , u are told that the rooms with the Meteora view are called Meteora Panoramik view" and u end up paying 50 usd extra per night for the view u expected. So there s an ambiguity in the names of the rooms that i find dishonest , a room with "Meteora " view doesn t have a view at all . 😞

    The Location , the breakfast , the view , the rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Beige walls and 1940's furniture were somewhat depressing. It is badly in need of a renovation.

    The front desk staff and the restaurant servers were wonderful - very helpful and kind. The hotel is ideally situated - approximately 35 minutes from both Athens and the airport. But, a five minute walk behind the hotel is a tram that goes right into the heart of Athens. It runs frequently and is extremely comfortable and convenient. As well, there is a myriad of shopping and restaurants again, a 5 minute walk behind the hotel. Furthermore, there is a beach in front of the hotel!! The hotel also had a pool, which would be ideal for families.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the view from the terrace was spectacular. However, note that when you book the room with simple "meteora view" it means that you receive the room on the backside of the hotel with the mountains as well, but not a sunny side the bed was very comfy, the breakfast was delisious. I suppose that this hotel is the best in Kastraki on a hill with a view at Meteora mountains

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no options for preparing coffee in the room and also the bar was closed until 10:00 in the morning, so we were told to wait and went for coffee in the center of the town. At night it wasn't pleasant to walk to the center, it's better to use the car. The place is a little bit old....

    The view from the triple room that we received after upgrading the double room we reserved. Breakfast buffet had varied choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't think of any

    The location was perfect, the room with the view was an amazing upgrade and the breakfast was the best we ever had at a hotel. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the hotel itself is beautiful and pleasent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is wonderful about the family-run boutique hotel but if I have to point out anything at all, I'd have preferred brighter lighting in the bathroom and better quality or locally produced toiletries.

    The view from my room is more than what I had anticipated. It is priceless! I was told by the local tour guide that this is the best hotel in her opinion, which I agreed wholeheartedly. The owners of the property are friendly and approachable. It is a perfect place to rest and relax.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had private balcony room overlooking mountains, terrace and entry - there are tables on the terrace and the smoke from people smoking on the terrace came up to my balcony and room; there were speakers on the terrace playing music, but music level was loud for breakfast; the bed was uncomfortable and sagged in the middle, and support frame squeaked when I moved; there were cats roaming over grounds and came into common areas and almost into breakfast area (not appealing when trying to eat).

    Hotel is in remote, quiet location on the edge of the village, on a hill overlooking the Meteora mountains; there are landscaped terraces (some with fruits/vegetables used in breakfast); the hotel and common areas are well-decorated; front desk staff is helpful; the breakfast buffet had many selections, including local dishes, but the plain wooden seats on the chairs were uncomfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unique and mesmerising views of the pinnacles from balconies and from a gorgeous patio. We stayed 3 nights and fully relaxed from driving. Hospitality delightful, breakfasts, hotel bar, and local tavernas all good quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed our stay in Hotel Doupiani House this past weekend at lot! Staff was great, and helpful, it felt like being part of the family! Location of this hotel is great, close to everything, but also secluded enough to give you some privacy, and the best possible view of the Meteora! Room was clean, breakfast exceptional, I would recommend it to anyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for the service There was no iron Part of the staff was rude Breakfast was Not ready at 7 am as they said not until 7:35 am.

    Room but no tools as there was ni iron in the whole facility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The term "Meteora view" ended up to be view to the back and parking lot. If future guests want a room with a view they must order "Panoramic view". This was not clear on the website. Disappointing. Other than that the place is very good. Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Earlier check in would have been ideal

    We stayed for just one night, having driven from Lefkada. We were offered a room upgrade for just 10 euros which we accepted. We had a fabulously clean, triple room over looking Meteora. The shower room had underfloor heating, shampoo etc supplied. Breakfast was more than ample with plenty of choice. There was a bit of a rush at 7.30 possibly due to a large party needing an early breakfast to commence a tour? The queue was managed well and there was seating for all inside and out if preferred. I would recommend this hotel and Kastraki over Kalambaka as there is more of a Greek village feel and the tavernas are easy to walk to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very uncomfortable and had plastic mattress and pillow covers therefore we could not sleep. 3€ for a tea bag in hot water was a cheek! Also our room (38) was above fans/air con from kitchen that were noisy most of the night and meant we were unable to open balcony doors.

    That they were friendly to the cats and the fox. The outdoor terrace was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet could improve. Maybe some water bottles and tea/coffee making facilities might add more value.

    The property was managed very well. The staff were overly helpful and nice. The location was amazing and the views were breathtaking. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the area and it's well worth it for the price. Visited with my parents and in laws and they had a wonderful time as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi. My room was facing the back yard with very partial views of Meteora despite we have booked a room with Meteora view.

    Very confortable bed. Excelent breakfast with homemade food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    dim lights in the room and bathroom. no stopper in sink nor bathtub. no coffee machine (for me important. for many may be not)

    the view! fantastic. nice garden with flowers from which you can see Meteora. Cosy inside on a cold winter day. nicely appointed breakfast. good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving.

    Hotel was excellent in every way. Our local guide told us this was the best hotel in town. We enjoyed the short walk to the village and an outstanding dinner at Gardenia Taverna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast buffet that included homemade jams and some regional dishes. In a few words, the hotel offered spectacular views of the monoliths, comfortable rooms, top notch and pleasant staff at the front desk who provided info regarding taverns and access to the monasteries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flow in the shower were poor.

    The hotel was excellent. It located in good place. Very great view of Meteora cliffs. The stuff very friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is very good and varied. The wi-fi is good. Recomended hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loved the whole place - fantastic staff that made the difference - so helpful and friendly. Room was lovely and had a fabulous view of Meteora - we will definitely stay here again - it was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could have worked better, i.e. the stand could have held the arm of the shower better. This is really not important, but serving snacks with the drinks, such as local olives etc, would make that pre dinner G & T in such a great location, wonderful.

    The staff were really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area and where to go. Beautiful setting and great location for getting out and about. The hotel was very peaceful and a great get away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! A pool would give a score of 11/10 but we understand there are local restrictions on installing one.

    A real find on the edge of Kastraki. Quiet location, prefable to the hustle of Kalambaki. Very obliging, friendly staff, excellent location for exploring the nearby monasteries of Meteora, good breakfast, comfortable rooms, some with amazing views. Lovely outside patio for tea, coffee, drinks. No restaurant but a 3 minute walk to nearest taverna with a bigger choice of eateries in Kastraki village centre, 9 minutes walk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were SO friendly, really made our stay amazing. The breakfast was great, and the room was very comfortable, but the best part was of course the view. It was absolutely breathtaking!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all. It was perfect.

    The most beautiful place to stay. Traditional hotel with lots of quirky furniture and wonderful rooms with views of Meteora. Amazing breakfast and terrace area where we watched the sun go down with a drink and a full moon come up over Meteora. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic Meteora View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very helpful. Views from the room were amazing. Location in the smaller village was perfect. Facilities are of a high standard. Breakfast was ample.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Meteora View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has the best view and positioning to Meteors. Very nice, polite and helpfull staff. The rooms are very nice and clean but we caught one in the back with where the view is not so stactaculare as the front one. The breakfast was diverse and nicely presented by our guests. We felt wonderfull even thou it was a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Doupiani House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: