Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Economy Hotel 2 stars

5, Kleisthenous str, Athens, 10552, Greece

#105 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1588 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.5
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing and attentive. I was unaware of the difference in plugs in Europe and I got a proper plug to charge my phone courtesy of the hotel. The gentlemen at the front desk, I am ashamed to not remember their names, were excellent with suggestions on what to do in Athens and available 24 hours! How cool! Location was conveniently next to Athinas street and near Monastiraki square and Omonia station. I always felt safe. Breakfast was excellent! The only thing is the room was abit small for two people but only because I don't pack light :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Good budget hotel - would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, shower was difficult to use

    We looked for a low cost option as only had one night stay in Athens, landed in late and was flying out early the next day. The room was basic, bathroom was small but would definitely stay again as for the cost it wasn’t too bad. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area although in a good location for getting to things felt a bit unsafe. We got a taxi from the airport as it was late but to get the metro there in the daytime and walk would be ok

    The staff are friendly and helpful, breakfast was good. Although the bar on the roof wasn’t open you can take your own drinks up there and enjoy the view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Good for a few nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is definitely a point to improve!

    The staff was very nice. Big plus there! The room was nice although old and clean. Good aircon. Good location for sightseeing as well as restaurants/bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Great for those travelling on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little small, beds were a bit to firm for my liking and could have done with an extra pillow, but overall ok.

    Location was good, was within walking distance to the Acroplis, the Flea market and Plaka.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location and quality-price relation, professional...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms need more electric plugs, and others more space between we and shower in bathroom

    Excellent location and quality-price relation, professional staff, very correct breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good for few nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room an bathroom are pretty small. But i guess it is okay for this price.

    We were checking out early in the morning so they prepared 2 bags of take away breakfast. Pretty simple inside but still nice. Location is close to Monastiraki square, Acropolis etc and near the metro station. Guy at reception was very friendly and help us out with where to go as we had limited time there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Excelent location, near Monastiraki metro station (5min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air conditioning, at least from my room, was not working properly and the room stayed a little warm during the night. The curtain of the shower didn´t stay fixed on the corners and it was impossible to take shower without wet the floor of the bathroom.

    Excelent location, near Monastiraki metro station (5min walking - the line to airport), Plaka neiborhood (10min walking - place of the restaurants, bars, souvenirs stores, etc) and of the beginning of the way to Acropolis (15min walking). Besides Plaka, there are some other restaurants in the neiborhood but after 10pm I thought it´s not so safe to walk by the streets. The staff was always ready to help with city information and every early morning prepared 2 packs with a type of "breakfast express" for us because we had to leave the hotel to much early (around 3h30 am) to go to the airport to fly to the islands. Taxi service also was scheduled punctually all times requested.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    I was returning to the hotel early in the morning hours and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the nearby rooms were getting cleaned I would be wakened by the sounds, but I was sleeping quite late. I believe for people with a normal sleeping schedule there shouldn't be a problem.

    I was returning to the hotel early in the morning hours and there was always someone available. As a hotel, it was what I was expecting based on the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Location is great, short walk away from Monastiraki.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is quite small. Maybe more elevators would be good.

    Location is great, short walk away from Monastiraki. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped. Breakfast was very good. Recommended for a short Athens stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    My room was compact and simple but clean, convenient and...
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location looked a bit dodgy and run down, but maybe it's not very important and I guess that's Athens in many areas. Breakfast was ok, but could be improved

    My room was compact and simple but clean, convenient and comfortable. The staff at reception were friendly. I recommend it teehee the

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Great staff, nice breakfast and unbeatable location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect, but the shower curtains and it's size were the only negative part.

    I absolutely loved my experience at this hotel. The staff was so kind and helpful, the location was AMAZING, close to nice bars and restaurants and less than 20min by feet from main monuments, and the breakfast was great. The pictures don't do justice to the reality. Rooms and common areas look a lot better in person than in the pics I saw here. I highly recommend the place and definitely would come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    We would like to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price you pay, everything is ok.

    The location is great, near the Monastiraki metro station and a big market. The Monastiraki area, full of good restaurants, is at about 10-15 minutes. The terrace view is great. The guys from the reception are friendly and helpful. You can park your car near the hotel against payment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal was very rude. You have to leave the key of the room every time you go out. The area is very central but very dodgy. They charge the amount of the payment in the card you booked with, so if you can't pay with it you can pay with other method, but they have to unblock the amount already blocked in the other card with the bank, which will take days.

    After complaining about not having a double bed they acceded to change rooms. Breakfast was good. 20 min walk from the Acropolis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The staff were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff were exceptional. Upon checking in Yanis immediately made us feel at home and walked us through a map of the city detailing all the key locations and provided helpful tips. All the other guys at the front desk were so nice too although I did not get their names. We had an early flight on our last day (left at 5am) and the front desk guy (older gentleman) had two breakfasts bagged for us. It was such a kind gesture. Other than that, perfect location, great modest accommodation, and the breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Perfect economy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gentleman at the reception was really nice and helpful. On our checkout day we were leaving early morning and the put our breakfast in boxes for take away, awesome! I had never seen such a thing before in any hotel. The lady in the restaurant was also really nice; instead of waiting and staring at our table (as it is in many hotels), she let the guests have their breakfast on their own pace. Thanks team!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay at Economy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room sometimes noisy due to thin walls ... and depending on your neighboors !!

    Perfect location to visit downtown Athens, to to catch a ferry in Piraeus or to the airport. Omonia and Monastiraki metro stations are only 10 minutes away on foot. Confortable room with air conditioning, very nice and helpful staff at the reception, superb buffet breakfast (which has been improved from last year). We stop over twice at Economy Hotel each Summer on the way to the islands and when we return. A very good quality/price ratio - I strongly recommend !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    This was the second time I stayed at Economy Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was the second time I stayed at Economy Hotel. This time only for one night. Kind and helpful staff. Clean room with renewed bathroom. Very good balance between price, services and position. I left too early to have breakfast at the hotel, the staff prepared for me a packed breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    We liked all the explanations we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the sympathy of one of the staff, although later changed. The breakfast was very simple and always the same which after 4 days it becomes annoying.

    We liked all the explanations we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Difference in staff behaviour at same hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 of the staff members was very outspoken and trying to push for things we weren't ready or interested to buy

    2 of 3 staff members were very polite and helpful. Also guided for tourist places(Look for Aries and Janis)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was patchy, but it really wasn‘t a problem.

    This is a really good budget hotel, with all the needs met. Even the toiletries are nice. It is really cheap and convenient to Monasteriaki square and the metro and to many sites. The staff is friendly and helpful. The price includes breakfast. So, the place is great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location near all the important sights, very good value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power slots in all the room except near the door, small bathroom

    Good location near all the important sights, very good value, good sized room, they provide nice baby cot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Reasonably convenient but not in the centre but reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms rather small and shower stand is laughable.

    Reasonably convenient but not in the centre but reasonably short walk to all attractions. Double double glazing keeps noise and light out of bedroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice find for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area, although quite in the city center

    Welcoming and friendly staff, they gave us a lot of information and also helped us with some recommendations. The location, within walking distance to most of the city's attractions and to the public transport for the airport or the port. The room was clean and comfortable and had a little balcony. The breakfast was better than we've expected, it had all you need to start the day. All in all, we had a very nice stay and would stay again next time in Athens. Tottally recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean hotel with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent value for money. Close to Monistiraki metro station for travellers who want to avoid taxis. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean. Room could easily fit two people even though I was travelling alone. Would stay again when travelling on a budget. Front reception was especially friendly and smiley!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, you can get all sight by foot, a lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At night a district seemed to me a bit uncomfortable.

    Great location, you can get all sight by foot, a lots of restaurants, shops and market nearby. Very nice, helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Great breakfast, very good location, friendly staff, we left...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the noices from the corridor, also the bed was not comfortable for me, although my husband loved it

    Great breakfast, very good location, friendly staff, we left early in the morrning so breakfast packages were prepared for us to go

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, we booked a room with double bed, but received two single beds. Wi-Fi doesn't works . Terrible bathroom. There was no powerplug in the room. Run Away.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi could have worked better

    We stayed there for one night, hotel was located close to the main attractions, staff very helpful. Rooms quite basic but sufficient for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    It's a small and quiet hotel near the Plaka which has lots of restaurants and small shops. Stayed for a two day business meeting but also did all of the archaeological sites (Akropolis, Agora's etc) by foot. The peoy at the hotel are very hospitable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great budget hotel at Athens close to Monastiraki square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff are very helpful .Location is great, close to wholesale fruits market and 10 minutes walk to Monastiraki square.Great view of Acropolois from terrace of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an economy hotel, basic things were missing like an electric kettle in the room, however the staff got us hot water in no time. The only uncomforting thing was the bed, they gave 2 single beds however we requested a double bed.

    Extremely helpful staff. Great communication and help by them. One of the best I have seen till date

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Happy to have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to Plaka and Monastraki and Metro. Tons of restaurants around. We had an early flight, after checking out front desk sent us off with a bagged lunch. Such a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel is located within the walking distance to the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located within the walking distance to the main attractions of the city. Rooms are a good size with air conditioning and with comfy beds and breakfast with good selection of foods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Very tidy, clean, compact hotel in a good location for exploring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The part of town seemed a little scary at night, but by day it was really interesting. There were wonderful little stores for the locals, rather than the tourists, opening up on Monday morning as we were leaving. We wished we had time to poke around them.

    The location was very good. It was near a metro green line station which was convenient for us arriving from Pireaus Port. The next morning we walked to the metro blue line station for the train to the airport. Both stations were a 5 minute walk. Also close to the Agora, the Acropolis and Ermou Street which are major tourist areas. There was a very nice breakfast included. Continental style with lots of variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Definitely worth the money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillows are not really comfortable.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Payment by card is possible. Breakfast is very good for such price. Very close to all Sightseeings, but located on calm street. No noise at night. Couple bottles of water for free, also soap and shampoo

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Polite, clean, fit for price and purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None. Most dislikes occur due to unreasonable expectation, personality, and of course that rare circumstantial random occurrence one might focus on. Photo art galleries expected at solisfotoart.tumblr.com

    The feedback is objective, not subjective, and is precisely written to be the best possible informational guide for fellow travellers. My travel agenda was specifically for all day sightseeing, museum and city culture soaking, not night time socialising and fine dinning, sophisticated or seedy, it can all be found. I had researched locations, areas and it was near exactly what I expected and suited my needs, clean room and bathroom, amenities, breakfast fresh and unostentatious variety, etc. As described on site and clearly from the images; a touch dated, to be expected and satisfactory. Yes, city areas are run down; the Greeks have been hammered and there is unnecessary poverty and homelessness like in every city. The location allowed me walking or short commuting to the places I wanted to see; leaving me as much time for my visits. Spending for a higher level of luxury was unwarranted. I was exhausted by early evening every day. Reception staff were pleasant and very helpful. Having worked in the service sector within several professional industries, the following applies; honey always works better than vinegar when requesting service, unless paying and expecting faultless five star high lux, and those who are said to be customer service experts, don’t actually like to deal with customers personally. Always complain to supervisors or management whenever possible. The shade higher price than some other places is probably a combination of the location with offered services within that tight frame; there are acceptations to the rule. If you are looking for an inner city short break, sightseeing, overnight or short stay between other travel plans; like clean, polite and unembelished; it’s more than fine. With the number of hotels and not having checked them all; by all means you might be a shade luckier or shave a little off the price. It is what it is, it was what it was; I have no complaints given the stated. I hope this is helpful for other travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    When we announced at the reception that the bathroom door...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we announced at the reception that the bathroom door did not close, the boy at the reception told us he did not understand what the problem was. After two nights I received another room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Another great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small but adequate and the beds are comfortable and good.

    The breakfast food is good and very adequate. We like the convenient place of this hotel and the staff are always so helpful. This is the third time we have stayed and each time we have enjoyed our stay and been very well looked after. It is close walking distance to so many places in Central Athens from the Acropolis to the Parliament and you can walk to and from the Metro and Bus stations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable and nice economic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor internet - not always connected and sometimes doesn’t work. Limited options in breakfast Noisy neighbor hood

    Near by from main attractions Very Friendly staff Clean and nice Cozy and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the breakfast should be more variate.

    It is a nice hotel, good value for money. Close to the center and at a walking distance from Monasteraki metro station (650m) - from the airport you have a direct line to Monasteraki. Also, is very close to all the major tourist atractions. So, don't think to much when you want to make a reservation. Just do it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quality/price relation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just they should put more plugs in the room to charge the mobile phones. There is only one.

    Excellent location, very kind service, clean and convenient. Good relation quality/price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff was polite and location is great during the day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was polite and location is great during the day. Very close to train station that goes directly to airport. I would recommend this place for someone traveling for a short stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was rather basic (missing oats, soy milk, more types of cheese and/or meat) but for this price and position it is hard to expect more.

    Great staff always ready to help. Interior is simple but always clean and sufficient for the purpose - to sleep after all-day walks. If you do not need extra luxury, this hotel is a warmly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Worth the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little bit noisy sometimes, but anything that could bother that much.

    The hotel is simple but it has everything you need, good towels, good breakfast, good bedroom, etc. And the staffs were very helpful and kind. Also, the location is very good! It was worth the price!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.9
    Good accomodation but refusal to allow a stated guest to visit room is a reason not to use it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Notified reception of a guest to visit our room, to receive appauling response that guests are not allowed to enter the hotel. Simply, unacceptable rule. Should at least be stated in hotel policies!

    Cheap and quite clean, good wifi, average sized rooms, comfortable bed. Sociable receptionists, very helpful cleaning and catering staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the morning was a little cold. The bed could be more comfty.

    The staff really good and polite. The breakfast is good. Good value for money. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Good Stay and Excellent location, Hotel team and booking.com kudos to you !!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that was an issue for me. People had commented earlier that omonia square is not a safe place, but I didn't find anything strange as we came walking at 10 PM without any nuisance on the streets.

    Excellent location and the hotel staffs. They were simply amazing, very helpful and very cooperative. They assisted me in booking a taxi and explained us major tourist points in and around Athens. The points particularly Temple of Zeus and Acropolis is in a close proximity. We took uber, which has the best and the cheapest rates in Athens. It costs around euro 10 to reach Acropolis from here and euro 29 from Airport to this place. I will also recommend and trust Uber as they have a flat rate in Athens which is much cheaper than Local Taxi. I was bit skeptical about booking.com as this was my first booking with them, but it went flawless and very happy that I could trust them for other bookings in future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    I was travelling alone and I felt safe at the hotel and loved the convenience to all the sites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cars little noisy at night but did have double doors so did not worry me too much.

    Staff were excellent. So helpful and friendly. Breakfast great for me and less than 10 minutes walk to the shops and square near plaka.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t expect any kind of extra comfort. The room is small. The air conditioner works only with doors closed, so who smoke , maybe be loked outside!

    Well located. Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Simple clean hotel in the center of Athens, great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple clean hotel in the center of Athens, reasonable walking distance from main attractions, and from Metro station. two XXX stores/cinema are just across the street from the hotel. The staff ( especially the receptionist who works in the afternoon shift ) is very helpful and knowledgeable. They do their best to help and supply great service. Overall - great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    • Keycard didn't open the door so to return to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    • Keycard didn't open the door so to return to Reception. • No list of telephone numbers in the room, so cannot call Reception about safe option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    I would certainly recommend and return to the Economy Hotel. Great location and good pricing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rowdy street noise in the early morning hours one night, but that was all, and, certainly not in control of the hotel staff.

    The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The location was very central and made walking and exploring Athens by foot very easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    budget accommodations very well suited to getting around athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    budget accommodations so not high quality, can easily hear what is going on in all rooms near you. for my room the cleaning crew storage room is right next to my room so i would hear them going in and out over and over again starting early. bed was hard as a rock. im just listing realities but i would still stay here again, the price, staff, and location was very very good and made up for everything else.

    location was great, staff was super friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.1
    Good budget hotel with central location and basic amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom (shower) was quite small, you couldn't move much without having water spray all over the floor. There should be a water absorbing mat in the bathrooms.

    The hotel is what its name is: Economy. Good enough for 1-2 nights stay. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. Hotel was clean and well cared for. Breakfast was typically continental, but nice and filling. Locality is not that great but close to Monastiraki Square. But if you want to stay close to Touristic Area in Athens it is same everywhere, crowded and old buildings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and in a scruffy part of the city, but.... it was also close to everything and had its own charm..I would stay there again

    The staff were excellent...they were friendly and polite and spoke excellent English. .. they were a wealth of information and went out of their way to assist....breakfast was great too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Short by
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dodgy sex shops next to entrance of hotel but know that's just unfortunate for the hotel.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Proximity to town centre was very good. Staff were very accomodating. Felt safe inside.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice place with amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast had limited options, & could be much better to include additional food varieties.

    The hotel location is very strategic, & very near to the Hop-On Hop-Off bus which you can use to visit the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.5
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty basic but ok if travelling on a budget.

    This was just a fill in as our flight was changed and we arrived a day early. Reasonable value for money. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Great location and super friendly stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms(furniture) are pretty old, a bit too expensive for such an old hotel

    Location is perfect, close to two metro stations and very very helpful stuff. Fresh fruits for breakfast and greek yoghurt. Rooftop with a view to akropolis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    It's a solid no-frills choice for the budget-minded traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved. The legal receipt/invoice should always be provided to guests, without them having to ask for it. Avoid the area behind the hotel, it's dodgy and potentially dangerous. - stay on Athinas Street as you head towards Monastiraki for your night drinks.

    This was the third time we'd stayed at the hotel, as it's ideally located between the Monastiraki Metro Station (direct connection to the airport) and the Omonoia Station (direct connection to Piraeus), right beside the Town Hall. The staff was extremely professional, as always. The room was OK size-wise and reasonably clean. There several restaurants nearby. There's also a super market down Athinas Street, as well as the outdoor fresh-fruit market.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was quite small and the shower leaked a little bit.

    The staff at the receptacle amazing! We were greeted with a five minute introduction to all the sites of Athens and the best way to visit these sites. We were also advised of the train schedule on the day we were departing to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is what its name is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the location too is not for family with kids. The hotel ia located at the place with nude and sex bars. On our last night, there was a rally on the square and we can hear thr noise outside even all the windows were closed. The breakfast is just fine not too much not that less.

    The hotel is what its name is. We got a room not okay for family, but I think thats my fault and the receptionist still accomodated us. We got 2 babies (2 and 1yr old)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    A no fuss hotel that was a great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't exactly a pretty hotel but for the price that didn't really matter.

    A no fuss hotel that was a great value. Helpful staff and decent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff was really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly. We had lo leave the hotel at 4 a.m. and they had prepared us the breakfast to take away (although we hadn't asked for it).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertised Free Parking-- This is off site. We arrived around 12 noon and were told that the free car park would probably be full by that time of day. The hotel arranged car parking at a hotel across the road from them (underground and secure) at 15 Euro per day.

    Very clean hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and have a good knowledge of Athens. To stop in the middle of Athens at the price we paid could not be beaten for the type of accommodation. Probably 1/4 mile from Plaka (Restaurant area)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff is friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast is nice but with limited choices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in a sketchy neighborhood with too many suspicious men lounging around. Even our taxi driver warned us not to walk in the area at night. No restaurant nearby.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous economy priced place in very central location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the fanciest hotel in the world, but it's not meant to be. Great value for the price and for its class. A few others on here commented on the neighborhood. Basically it's poor if you walk in one direction, but my Athenian friends assured me it is generally quite safe. But in the other three directions you have quite nice commercial areas. Don't be worried--is fine!

    Great place to stay in Athens! Very close to a subway station, making for easy airport transfer and travel around town. VERY centrally located--could easily get to any other neighborhood, which is good because that's what I had to do for work! My room had a small fridge-don't know if that is standard, but it was a huge help. They also sell cold beverages in the lobby at all hours which is a big help when it is 42C. Sounds like a little thing, but when you are totally dehydrated with heat exhaustion, it is a big thing! Had amazing black out blind system so I didn't have to use a ton of air con even though it was 42C. I did use enough air con to say it really works quite effectively. That kind of climate control is essential. Finally to say the staff were fabulous. So friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    A value for money hotel in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is poor but as you pay for a value for money hotel, you should wait for this. You don't stay hungry, in any case. The hotel needs renovation, too.

    Value for money hotel. Close to the city centre. It's personell is very kind and helpful. It's what you are looking for a cheap staying in Athens for a couple of days.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Always a good place to stay in Athens !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the wifi usually works corrrectly in Economy Hotel, I had a problem with my smartphone this time since I could not connect at all despite all my attempts and all my configuration checks of the device (I did not bother to report it to reception desk since it worked on my tablet). Anyway this method of accessing the wifi with a unique code per device and per day is quite strange : I have not seen it anywhere else during my multiple room rentals in the islands. It is usually simpler and more straightforward ...

    Since we go to the Greek Islands every Summer, we stop over in Athens for 1 or 2 nights each way at Economy Hotel. - The hotel is nicely located half way between Omononia and Monastiraki - The staff at the reception is always very friendly - The room is quite comfortable and it is has a good value/price ratio for Athens - The breakfast buffet is quite nice (it could be "officially open" a bit earlier for the guests who have to catch a boat early in the morning since everything has been set-up on the tables the night before- Anyway now we know we go to the breakfast room at any time we need to, so as to be on time for the boat departure in Piraeus !)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Our stay in the hotel was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffs are very helping and provided all the information without any grumble. The location of the hotel is excellent. Very close to hop-on-hop-off bus stop, Omonia square, Monistiraki Square .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Adequate but not a lot of fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything! A very seedy area - better to stay a few streets further over in Kookaki. The room was tiny and the bed very uncomfortable.

    The room was clean, the location very central and it was good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Great option in central Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was below average. Also, the cleaning staff entered the dining room before breakfast ended to start mopping the floors--which would be fine except that the cleaning product they used had a very strong chemical odor. There was an odd smell in the room, too, though everything seemed to be spotlessly clean and the staff deserves kudos for that.

    John on the hotel staff emailed us with clear directions to help us get from the airport to the hotel. That was very thoughtful. The front desk person (neglected to get his name) was super social and very welcoming, and was a highlight of our stay. The A/C worked great and the hotel was super clean. Despite what some other reviewers have said, the neighborhood was great and I'd definitely recommend walking to the nearby Pl. Iroon area for dining ... it was way better and closer than the more touristy Monastiraki or Plaka.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    Brilliant budget choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area behind the hotel was the start of the "bad side" of town. Accidentally walked down there one day and it was horrible. Very intimidating for a woman.

    The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the local area. A welcoming email arrived a few days before our trip which was a nice touch. Hotel was clean and well cared for, with maid service every day. Breakfast was typically continental, but nice and filling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable Economey Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilets pipe work was very loud after you flush and made nosies for like 10 minutes after. The shower was very small and you couldn't move much without having water spray all over the floor. The location wasn't in the centre but once you were use to the area was only a short walk

    The staff were very helpful. Prior to arrival they informed you via email/bookings website of options of travel to get to their hotel. We used the train which was easy with their instructions. Room was nice and comfortable. The breakfast there was really good and even better that it was included with our booking. We did d enjoy our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: