Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ecoxenia 3 stars

Main Street, Oia, 84702, Greece

#81 of 119 Holiday rentals in Oia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 58 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Quiet, pool to ourselves, friendly and accommodating, perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a bus that came down the hill rather than having to walk down but that's me being lazy!

    Lovely quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle of Oia, staff couldn't do enough for you, very friendly and accommodated all your needs. Great bus service every 20-30 mins into town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hospitality. Wished if we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The double bed was bit too small

    Eva, for excellent hospitality and all the information given to us. The two ladies serving food and cleaning our room are so wonderfully positive and helpful. Wished if we could have stayed there longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    A good place to avoid the crowds and read a book by a good pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't really eat in-house although they did make us some food.

    It was a friendly, clean place with a good pool and excellent wifi. We caught the bus up the hill to the tourist area for dinner each night and walked home. The walk was well lit and we always felt safe. I liked that the fridge was empty so we could stock it with some things from the supermarket.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfy and a Friendly hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner did not send a airport shuttle for us on time during a late flight arrival and had to wait an hour for the shuttle to come and pick us up. Owner refused to accept his fault or his driver’s fault in us having to wait for them to get us picked up.

    Clean, comfy and a Friendly hotel staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Good and Homely Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather is a bit unpredictable in Santorini specially during winters. it can have mild to heavy rains. We weren't quite aware that the Santorini tourist season starts from April to August so we were a little surprised to see that only handful of restaurants open in kamari and Oia during November 1st week. However Santorini is a costly affair, specially for the travel by taxi and food atleast for us. Taxi charge around euro 250 for taking to all major places in Santorini and from Airport to this place 30 euro one way. So couldn't really understand the rationale behind this as from Airport this place is around 15 KMs any other city will charge lot lessor. Simple veg Pizza with one beer 50cl cost around euro 25 for non peak season. But Oia view is amazing and one should not miss it.

    Close proximity to Oia village and exceptionally good host Christopher and his staffs. Christopher is very quick in answering our queries much before the actual travel and also arranged a taxi from Airport. He explained us all the important locations in Santorini and also provided us information on exploring these places. One appreciation to the lady (I don't know her name) who prepared a wonderful omelet for us at the bar. Overall very good stay and recommend everyone who intends to stay and enjoy Santorini on a budget. But please do keep a note that oia village is around 2 KMs from here and its best to have either your own vehicle or taxi as by mountain bike or walk, it is a bit steep hill to reach there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Perfect it was our honey moon and everything was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great

    It was perfect and staff is amazing Christopher sat down with us and showed us everything to do and restaurants to go to. They helped us with everything and it’s just north of oia with only a 20 min walk we didn’t rent a car for the first couple days

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Good budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware that you get what you pay for. The room we stayed in was older style, shower was not very good, and the hotel is a 20-minute walk to the centre of Oia.

    Good value for money, very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    An island of piece and culture
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. In particular, Marianna. Extremely available, kind, informed about the place, the history, etc. and of great support. She gave us a lot of suggestions and practically organised our cultural program:) The location is very beautiful and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ecoxenia is really a nice place to stay Really Comfortable and the owner and the stuff are so nice. Ecoxenia is close to everything but far away from the crowd of Santorini Is the perfect place if you really want to relax. Me and my boyfriend will go back again for sure Thank you Christopher... we loved your place!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service, clean, would go again in a heartbeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was a bit hard and I got some neck tension from lying bad but that might just be me. You also really want a scooter or car to get around as the walk to Oia is a looong one.

    Marianna was excellent in explaining the island and it's perks to us. She also organized transport for us immediately which was a relief. All was clean and professional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed could have been a little bigger Bathroom could have had a little more shelf space.

    Very nice place. Near Oia -- 1 km. Nice people Cozy room -- pretty decor Nice big balcony with a great view of the ocean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    Relatively quiet and still within reach of Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a little outdated and limited in space when staying with 4 people. Might be expected for Oia though. Wouldn't recommend the breakfast: no choice what you get and overall quality less than expected.

    Fantastic welcome, helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Wonderful garden & view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. It's better to have a car if you are not comfortable with walking under the sun for 25 minutes.

    Friendly staff! She helped us with the cruise booking, and recommended us nice restaurants and tourist spots! Nice garden, a quiet and beautiful place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Slightly off-center apartment hotel - value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard bed. Like all greek mattresses, it is not very soft. But we survived. To be fair, hard mattresses seems to be the standard in Greece, so this hotel is not uncommon in that respect.

    Clean and spacious rooms. Nice balcony with seaview.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Adorable relaxing villa with all of the benefits of being a few minutes outside of Oia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a beautiful little place outside of the craziness of downtown Oia but only a short walk away. They had a great garden and sunset view. A better sunset view than the top of the hill in Oia in our opinion.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Quiet friendly clean location with all you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in the hotel, but Oia is expensive! Especially following the slump of the pound post brexit vote!

    Marianna in reception was fantastic! She told us all about Santorini on the first day and helped organise quad (atv) hire and restaurant bookings. She was also really friendly - a real asset to the hotel. The location is perfect for those who want to stay away from the busy streets of Oia but still have the option to visit at quieter times (i.e.not between 3 and 9pm). You do need transport as it is too far to walk, but a quad is perfect and relatively cheap (35 Euros a day). The beaches on the north side near hotel are really nice and quiet (Baxedes) and there is a beach bar or hut to get drinks in a couple of areas. Oia is extremely pretty and the sunset definitely worth seeing from the castle. It gets really busy with visitors from the rest of the island, but if you go to the castle at about 6:30 pm (with drinks and snacks) you can get a good view if you are happy to relax and watch the scenery/people for a couple of hours. Katharos beach is also worth visiting in the afternoon. There is a really nice bar/restaurant and you can also see the sunset. Amoudi bay is great for fish rstaurants. You need to book for good tables.We had a really relaxing fab time!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Awesome place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome place!!! Everything is just perfect! Like a piece of heaven! And Eva, Maria and the other girl are so kind!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Great place and love to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very peaceful and pretty with a lovely sea view, close to oia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Location it's relax and easy going.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location it's relax and easy going.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful place for a wonderful holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Ecoxenia is not walking distance away from Oia. But I still love the place a lot!

    Beautiful place and wonderful people!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful setting and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Property is s 20 min walk from central Oia. Ideal if you have a car, otherwise be prepared to walk a little. Kristoffer offered us lifts into town a few times - that was extremely helpful.

    Beautiful setting and garden. Sea view. Rooms were good - comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    10
    Lovely and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish I stayed for longer.

    Lovely and friendly staff. The owner was very welcoming and helpful. He told us where the interesting places were and which restaurants were the best, providing a map. He was able to arrange a number of interesting activities for us to do (e.g. a boat cruise etc). It was all a very personal experience.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    10
    Oia is gorgeous and a pleasure to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oia is gorgeous and a pleasure to visit. But to really appreciate the island of Santorini consider staying outside the hillside city. We chose EcoXenia Studios with a view of the Aegean Sea and NO crowds. We walked to Oia (15 minutes) to enjoy the caldera views and ample restaurants (Skala was fabulous!) but our stay was all the more pleasant because we could leave all the bustling/intensity behind. Tour companies came to Ecoxenia for pick-up and when we decided to rent a car, the company brought the car to us! Christopher and Maria were available and attentive, the grounds are well-landscaped and the studios are darling with individual patios, fridge and double hotplates. There is no greenscape in Oia – at EcoXenia there are grounds to relax in and a sea-front view from every room. Choose the upper floors for the best view!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    The peaceful place far away tourists and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the hotel is more suitable for self driving because about 20 minutes walking to the Oia town and best sunset view point

    The peaceful place far away tourists and noisy. Beautiful sea view room and garden. Very helpful staff that help us to rent the car and ATV. Will chose this hotel if I can visit santorini next time

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.0
    Christopher is very nice and feeling warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not easy to go to down town by walk actually. Cannot see the sunset at reserved room but beautiful star night when out of power occationally.

    Christopher is very nice and feeling warm.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    The location is perfect for exploring Santorini island by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wish we spent there more than we did

    The location is perfect for exploring Santorini island by car: it's close enough to Oia to get there but it's aside from the crowds. You can get to the nearest beach quite easy and won't find crowd there too. The hosts are very welcoming and polite. We were greeted with cold drinks and detailed description of places all over the island. The rooms are very clean and nice, equipped with kitchenware, fridge and air conditioneer. Though, the main thing about Ecoxenia that it is a peaceful oasis on Santorini, and you enjoy every minute spent there. It even worth to just sit there and enjoy the view with a glass of wine.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    6.3
    Christopher was polite and informative, giving us good tips...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cut short our stay, as bed was too small for the two of us (double) and felt the facilities and decore needed an upgrade. Also quite far from and downhill from Oia. You need a car to stay here.

    Christopher was polite and informative, giving us good tips for things to do.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly and accommodating host, beautiful view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and accommodating host, beautiful view and comfortable room!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    10
    Christopher was very kind and very helpful to discover the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Christopher was very kind and very helpful to discover the places to see in Santorini. If you want to avoid tourist paths, just ask him !

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.6
    peaceful location, nice appt , very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    peaceful location, nice appt , very relaxing

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    The host Chris was a fantastic guy who made us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of breakfast included in the price

    The host Chris was a fantastic guy who made us feel very welcome

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.3
    Christofer was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beach was far away

    Christofer was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Location, staff, value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, staff, value.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: