Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elotia 3 stars

Agii Apostoli, Kato Daratso, 73100, Greece

#66 of 74 hotels in Kato Daratso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.8
    All in all a very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms might need some refreshment - on the other hand one cannot expect more from a 3-star hotel

    * Staff were very nice and helpful. * The food was good and well worth the price. * The ladies who made the cleaning did a very good job * The location is very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for couples, avoid if you have a family of four or more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were advertised as having two double beds each. We booked two such rooms but were allocated 1-double bed and 1-double+1-single bed rooms upon arrival and were told those are the largest they have.

    Location is good next to a quiet beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location.Great local food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The internet connection was really poor,couldn´t get any in our room.

    Great location,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek cuisine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in a great location for a "fly and flop" holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Loved the choice of salads at dinner but would like the hot food to be "hot". Great to have a fridge in the room but having arrived after a long journey when it was really hot, it would be nice to find some bottled water in the fridge on arrival. Just minor points from someone who used to have a small business renting holiday villas. Other than this excellent and would very much like to return!

    Great location, 5 minutes or less walk to a Blue Flag beach and less than 10 minutes walk to 2 well stocked supermarkets. Plenty of tavernas nearby. Bus stop to Chania just metres away from the hotel. Quiet and peaceful. Small family run hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. Good variety of home cooked typical Cretan food at the buffet dinner (feedback to management that the food wasn't always as hot as it could be). Small clean pool. Really like the design of the hotel and the gardens and the fact that it was sympathetically designed making a feature of several old trees and built around them. Airport transfers were arranged by the hotel and they were efficient and well organised.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool could be bigger

    Small family hotel. Great local food, variety is not very high, but food was well prepared, very close to three different beaches, right next to bus stop to chania, great taverns near by, lidl very close;)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    One week of sightseeing the nature - first time in Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Manager's mom - owner of the hotel - was smoking cigarettes in the room where guests were eating and she also observed what guests ate - it was very inconvenient and unprofessional - showers could be a bit better as for 3 stars hotel

    - good location (2 markets - lidl, inka - 500m from hotel, 4km to old town of Chania) - 150m to nearest (quite small but very nice) beach, 700m to two other beaches - manager of hotel - Manolo - helpful, outgoing and reliable guy ;) - many local cafes and few restaurants in the neighbourhood - quite calm and silent area - rooms are renovated - according to the photos on website - meals were nice tasty (we are quite demanding when it comes to food but we could find sth for us every time) - we recommend to rent a car in order to visit and admire the stunning nature (Elafonissi, Falassarna, Balos, Khatoliko, Seitan Limania beach, Therisso Gorge, Samaria Gorge)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    The best holiday in Greece until now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just a small bathroom, especially shower place. Small for bigger people. But maybe in other rooms it is OK. Nothing more.

    Location of this hotel is very good, beach is near, approximatelly 200 metres. We could choose from 3 beaches. Next to the hotel is park where is possible place to running. Rooms were very nice, with new furniture, every day were cleaned up, towels were changed 2 times per week. Very nice scenery (high mountines over 2000m). Maybe 400 metres from hotel are situated two supermarkets (LIDL and YNKA). Front of the hotel is public transport stop. To the city center going bus nr.21. Next to the hotel, in camping Hania we can bought a ticket to bus (1,2€ - are cheaper than in bus - 2€) Food was excellent - breakfast and dinners - each days varied, greek meals

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.3
    Small, friendly hotel in lovely Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desserts. View/noise from bedroom, asked for a sea view room which we got but next door a hotel was being built. Lots of noise & building work going on

    Pancakes were amazing! All food at breakfast & dinner were cooked well, bed comfy & shower worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Definetely we'll stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lack of good espresso machine.

    Very pleasant hospitality, friendly staff. Very clean and freshly renovated rooms. Good location between three beaches. Located out of crowd but close to old town, few supermarkets and quite good restaurants. Breakfast and dinner +++.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay at Elotia Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Towels are not changed every day, but every two days, that could be changed.

    First of all we got into our rooms several hours earlier than we should and BIG THANKS to the owner because of that, we didn't sleep for more than 24h before that and that was really kind of him. We didn't get into the room we exactly reserved at first but after we told the owner about the issue we've got our room and it was perfect. The food is really nice, every day is something different and you have enough options to choose for both meals, breakfast and dinner. Since we reserved 10 nights and we were staying 11 because of our flight we also managed to stay one more night in hotel because the owner let us pay for that night also and stay in hotel and that was really great and made things a lot easier for us, thanks again. It was really pleasant stay and if we come again we will definitely stay in Elotia Hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Location near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs renovation. Food recycling 3 days in a row was not cool.

    Location near the beach. Personel was nice. A lot of markets in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    King size bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room and bathroom could be bigger.

    King size bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location,quiet place,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good location,quiet place,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek cusine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Relaxation,feelgood hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Problem with unlock door.

    Good location,quiet place,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek cusine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek cuisine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location,breakfast,dinner-traditional greek cuisine. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    Probably the best holidays we ever had .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet needs to be modernised.

    Probably the best holidays we ever had .The hospitality provided by Mr Manolis and Mrs Helena have been beyond the excellence. A family run hotel provides you all types of comforts what make you feel at home . we stayed 5 nights in a room facing towards sea. We had half borard included.Thanks to Helena for such nice meal and complimentary coffee every evening. just 15 minutes from the centre.well connected with bus no 21 right from outside the hotel(1.20euro each way). We highly recommend this place for a short or long stay .

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Pros: very friendly owners: mama and her two sons, we felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cons: really small bathroom, no seaview (the trees must have grown:)). Food is well prepared and tasty but the seafood is next to none

    Pros: very friendly owners: mama and her two sons, we felt welcome during our entire stay. Location is the key: very close to the beach, to the main shops (INKA and Lidl)and Pergola Taverna is just next door! Bus stop for Chania is literally 20 metres away.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    10
    Really cool atmosphere in this hotel called Elotia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really cool atmosphere in this hotel called Elotia! It has 3*, but feels like all 5*! Stuff is very kind and speeks more than 2 languages! The owner talks to his every client to make sure that everyone is pleased. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    The rooms were nice and clean, the location very good, near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was poor and cold, not many choices.We booked half board and we paid too much for the overall provided services.

    The rooms were nice and clean, the location very good, near Chania and other sights.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    4.6
    The location to the beach was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was too small--couldn't even open the door entirely because it bumped into the shower. No shampoo or lotions provided. The showerhead was missing. No art or wall decoration.

    The location to the beach was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.6
    It's a perfect location if you came for beach holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the only one disadvantage is that it's no any wifi internet in the room. You can only get it sitting in the dinning room or in the centre of hotel on the steps which is not always comfortable for you to talk or for others to pass by.

    It's a perfect location if you came for beach holidays. it's only 3-4 mins to the nearest beach but there are three others near by. If you want to go the centre you can get the bus. Very tasty meal and very hospitable owners always ready to help.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    Great family hotel in all ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cant say anything negative.

    Great family hotel in all ways. Great room, tasty food with a lot of variation of different dishes for all tastes. Always there to please and great you.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    5.8
    - TV working fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Expensive as for 3* stars - Bathroom needs renovation - Shower head spray water into the sides - Water from conditionair goes in the balcony in plastic bottle and often are fullfilled, then the whole balcony is sinking because of the water - Room cleaning service goes into the room from 10 till 12. So it is a big drawback for "sleepers", who want to take a small nap after breakfast. - The owner of this hotel (during breakfast and dinner) was the biggest drawback of our trip. She was smoking near the tables where people are eating almost every 10 minutes, always looking what you are putting into your plate and what you are eating. Always giving that inconvenient look because of nothing. That was very rude and unprofessional. - Food was poor. small choice, the same meat everywhere (in pasta sauce, in stew, in salads), no free drinks during dinner.

    - TV working fine - Comfortable beds and beautiful rooms (except bathroom) - Conditionair helped us to get through +40 degrees - Friendly staff (reception man and a curly-hair woman in restaurant were awesome! still... I will say some words about the owner later in this review) - Hotel is very close to the beach and a bus stop - Swimming pool area often is empty so you can have it on your own

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful views,free wi-fi, great location, clean room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Terrible food, probably makes them amateur Cook, small choice. The owners all time stand next to food and looking how many who takes on a plate. Mrs Helena( The owner) smoking at the table where guests eat. It's not very elegant

    Beautiful views,free wi-fi, great location, clean room, near to beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly accommodating staff, clean and comfortable rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Satellite TV was not working at all.....

    Friendly accommodating staff, clean and comfortable rooms, generous breakfast and dinners, stones throw from the beach....Perfect!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Very good staff, gentle and happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good staff, gentle and happy. I like Greek food. The position was good.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    Delicious homemade food;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Delicious homemade food; warm staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: