Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elounda Mare Relais & Châteaux Hotel 5 stars

Main Street, Elounda, 72053, Greece

#16 of 53 hotels in Elounda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 52 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was some garbage in the sea at times and the sandy beach was in fact a bit small. Also, the prices in the restaurants are way too high so it made more sense to grab a taxi and have lunch and dinner in Elounda paying in total half the price with the quality being the same.

    Absolutely fantastic property with excellent facilities located ideally at the beach. The staff is amazing, very caring, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and large room but lacking in charm . Wide sea view terrasse that could have been better decorated

    Location. Scenery. Wide choice of excellent restaurants with great food and nice setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved everything about Elounda Mare!!

    The Elounda Mare is a very special resort. Everything has a very personal touch. The staff was extremely attentive, the food was excellent and beautifully served. The property is very well maintained. We can't wait to return!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One Bedroom Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average food choice. Most activities and restaurants require shuttle or 500m-800m walk. WiFi miserable.

    Outstanding staff. Very nice property with character, directly at the sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I found the mattress a little hard for my tastes, but only a small point.

    The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely restaurants in the hotel. Air conditioning was quiet and very effective. If you like a walk it is about 25 minutes into the town, or 5 minutes by car. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked hotel for 30th Birthday celebration. Excellent hotel and the facility of the SPA in the sister hotel amazing. The service and food very good. This was our first time to Crete but We will be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Bungalow with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Spa (Six Senses) is a short drive / walk away from the hotel. Not a problem in good weather. Also to be fair the complementary car / golf buggy with driver provided by the hotel was always punctual.

    Fantastic views, grounds, private beach. Spacious and quiet villas providing just the right amount of privacy. Staff very attentive, helpful and accommodating. Excellent food and good choice of local and imported wine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    buildings need an update, Asian restaurant in sister hotel was very basic food at a hugely inflated price

    the staff are fabulous, the swimming pool, the breakfasts, the old mill restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Bungalow with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To walk to elounda village is possible, but no pavement for part of the way. Only 2 or 3 dining options In the resort, and we recommend doing your own research and asking hotel to book tables in local restaurants - they do recommend places but we weren't convinced.

    Had a 2 bed bungalow with private pool which suited our needs perfectly. Lovely little sandy beach, also nice rocky areas to lie in. Although the hotel was quite full, there was lots of space and tranquillity for everyone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Amazing hotel with amazing staff, restaurants and location! We enjoyed every second of our trip! Andreas is an amazing guy who makes the watersport actives even more enjoyable! If you want to have best service, best food, best sea - this place if definitely for you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great food, great service and a great experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Nothing was ever too much trouble

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything 💜

    Spectacular hotel with gorgeous old world charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One Bedroom Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could have been a little larger

    Attentiveness and willingness of staff to ensure the quality of stay was maximised

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable views

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Bungalow with Private Pool
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have known this hotel from previous stays. We think that mostly everything remained excellent like years before.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very beautiful. We've enjoyed spectacular views, a wonderful sand beach with chrystal clear water and exceptional staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Elounda Mare has its own quiet elegance, the staff without exception are all wonderful, working tirelessly to make our week in this magical place everything we wanted it to be. Thank you to all of you and we will be back !

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had to leave!

    Gorgeous hotel, attentive yet non intrusive staff, and access to a beautiful spa and other facilities at the big hotel up the road. Most of the time we were perfectly happy just to be on our little beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful place,nice hotel,good service , friendly staff,tasty food, nice hotel transfer , cimpliment on arriving and departure. I recommend !

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very unprofessional and slow service, although they are trying to do a good job, it is not working. A lot of detail is in severe need of updating.

    the location and the facility itself (the buildings and the garden) are really good. Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The sausages for breakfast

    The facilities and staff are outstanding

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Food was excellent. All in all a first class hotel worthy of its Relais & Chateaux membership.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    overpriced, amateurish staff, outdated interior design, facilities on different sites

    location, cleanliness, size of room, gorgeous outdoor areas

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: