Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Elpida Village 4 stars

Main Street, Istron, 72100, Greece

#22 of 31 hotels in Istron

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 98 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    A place for Relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average and not much drink choice for all inclusive. Nothing to do in the area, entertainment was in Polish, as were the majority of the guests so they don’t interact in English much at all.

    Amazing views, good pool, lovely hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    A truely authentic and memorable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t say it is a ‘dislike’ however the location is a little bit on the middle of nowhere. However it is perfect for anyone who just wants to relax and chill for however long you are away for. I would recommend hiring a car from the hotel and explore the surrounding areas for a couple of days as it is stunning. (Although make sure you have enough fuel as we drove for quite a while before we luckily found a petrol station) Lastly if I am being really picky there could be more of a selection in the all inclusive drinks menu, ie maybe a few cocktails could be added to the menu, however for us the drinks selection was fine.

    It’s harder to ask what we didn’t like. I have stayed in many different hotels around the world due to the nature of my work and this is one of the few that stands out to me in a good way. The whole design I thought was fantastic. You really get a sense of authentic Greece. We had a lovely room with a big terrace, the views were amazing. The staff genuinely could not have been any friendlier if they tried, they really made our time in the hotel special. From the minuet we checked in, to the minuet we checked out, they made us feel like part of the family, always greeted with a smile and were always asked how we both were. Nothing was ever too much trouble, infact quite the opposite. Hotel facilities were more than adiquate. There is something there for everyone at any point of the day. We went all inclusive and it is worth anyone else doing the same as not sure I would trust some of the restaurants in the local area. I personally thought the food selection at every meal was amazing and I loved the fact it was different every day we were there. You are only a short walk from the beaches which are also amazing as well. The hotel also do a free shuttle to the sandy beach. I would 100% recommend this to anyone and for anyone who can’t make their mind up about staying here, just book it as you will not regret it. We would 1000000% go back without second guessing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria from the snak bar very unfriendly, when we ask here about the price list she shouted at us that we suppose to know all the prices from reception. We paid for a room with see view, but we had a room with a palm tree view because that palm cover the amazing view.

    The room was big and clean. The lady from reception very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Good view, good room but not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The food (breakfast every day and only 1 time dinner) has extremely low quality. Although it is varied you can feel that the food comes probably from cans. But you can still have a good breakfast, fruits, vegetables are fresh and yogurt with honey and nuts is always a good choice. For the dinner I would recommend the tavernas, much better food there and half the price. Another unpleasant thing is that they make you pay extra for almost everything and the prices are not that low: safe deposit costs extra and internet in the room as well. The free internet was only at the reception and it was soooooo slow

    The room hat an amazing view, I could stay on that balcony the whole day. They had also a room with billiard and table tennis, which you could use in the evening. The location is good if you have a car, you can be very fast at some nice beaches and areas. There are also many good tavernas in the near. The bacon at the breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    Awesome sea view from the restaurant and some rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Slow wifi and only in the lobby. Limited choice of beverages for breakfast.

    Awesome sea view from the restaurant and some rooms. Nice pool. Comfy chairs outside the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    An idyllic quaint Cretan Hotel. Be prepared for the hill climb up to the Hotel but it is worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Not much at all! The shower was a bit of hard work as there was nowhere to rest the shower head so you have to hold it all the time.

    Every single member of staff from reception staff to pool cleaner were friendly and went the extra mile if you asked for anything. The whole atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. The two 'entertainers' worked hard with the children especially around the pool and were great fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Although the area is fairly remote, the hotel provides a minibus to a wonderful beach down the road. Would recommend hiring a car to visit the surrounding area (can do this at the hotel for very good rates).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    good in general but some down points
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Shower didn't work well, and it was way too small. - Breakfast was awful, we ate breakfast out every day, the quality of the food is not very good. I do not recommend it at all, specially comparing to any half decent restaurant in the area. - Wifi ONLY in the reception :(

    The hotel is actually better than it looks at first instance, the beds are confortable and I really like that they offered a pillow choice, I was super happy about that. The ambiance is relaxed and filled, not fancy but not poor neither. Location si good but you need a car, there are a couple real nice beaches walking distance (10-20 mins) but you need a car if you're going for longer than that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    20 mins to sea by walk, but big pool inside hotel. Rent a car is very good choice for this spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfasts are same without any changes.

    Dinners are interesting and every day is different. Wifi was on every places and table pc is available for free. Great view from dinner's room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely Greek Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The all inclusive drinks could have been better but you can't get everything at such a reasonable price.

    Pool was lovely. The food was actually better than expected. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    We loved it as a great base to explore Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family One-Bedroom (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of guests were polish Entertainment sometimes didn't even bother speaking in English

    The views from our room overlooking the pool, the sea and the mountains The staff coudnt be more helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel with stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Food. We paid for half board and I regret that we had not chosen just breakfast option. The option of food was poorly. The breakfast were ok but dinner quite disappointing. There was not big choice of food and just two types of desserts. I was sorry about missing traditional Greek food to try. I truly believe that trying of traditional food of the country you are in makes a big part of the experience. I used to work in Greece in 3* hotel and we had this option at least twice per week. The next time I would paid just for breakfast and hired a car to have option visit more local restaurants. The location is not the best if you like parties or any night life. The nearest city is 12 miles away, but it wasn't a big deal for us.

    A small hotel with stunning view. I think all rooms got a sea view, which was amazing, you could see it also while you're having dinner or chilling by the pool. We got also Wi-fi access in the room (not the fastest one) despite the fact you should paid extra for it. Animation team was great, but they made animation mainly for Polish people so maybe some English families will be disappointed. This holiday matched exactly our expectations, which were just relax and do nothing. Stuff was really friendly except a gentleman at reception, who was grumpy and not too much helpful, but that wasn't an issue. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at Elpida.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment was pretty poor

    great food every night! Traditional Greek food simple but good 😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Best choice for me
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpfulness, nice location, quiet neighbourhood, good beer

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    We take Half Board and than change it to all Inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The village is very dark at the night.

    We take Half Board and than change it to all Inclusive. Voukisma is wonderfull beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2-4)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking terrible. Signage terrible. Small flying insects in room. Mattresses poor. Dormitory-like.

    Good breakfast. Manager helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    10
    A charming hotel on a steep hill with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honestly can't think of anything important

    A charming hotel on a steep hill with great views. Rather quite since it was the end of the season, but for the best. Friendly staff, good food a cozy - if basic - room.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.3
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too many stairs to walk for a family with young children or elder people! No wifi in the room and no refrigerator in the room while others did have!

    Great location!We really enjoyed the view from our balcony and the pool outdoors! Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.9
    A quiet sandy beach was a short walking distance with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi is probably the only downside to the hotel, with everyone having modern mobile phones and tablets the only wi-fi access is by the lobby and it would often cut out, especially when everyone is trying to connect. They need to provide it to more places in the hotel even if not available in the rooms. They also needed to label the food so people know if they need to avoid any due to allergies.

    A quiet sandy beach was a short walking distance with a couple more a few minutes further. The staff were always pleasant and the rooms were cleaned every couple of days with the cleaners working hard in the communal areas every day. There was a variety of different food options each day however they need to show labels and possibly add a bit more choice (there was a meat stuff with then either a pasta or potato, however there was always a good selection of salad and cold side dishes). A lot of people complained about breakfast but there was always cereal, a cooked option and fresh fruit and yoghurt which I felt was sufficient. The pool was warm and there were plenty of sunbeds. The outdoor cinema was a nice feature. The evening activities were a little basic and catered a bit more we felt towards the other European nationalities as both 'entertainers' were of the same culture however the daytime activities seemed more enjoyable (we only participated in the evening ones as we often spent more time away from the hotel during the day).

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: